IMDb > Scary Movie 4 (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Scary Movie 4
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Scary Movie 4 More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 41:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 409 reviews in total 

165 out of 235 people found the following review useful:

No brains were harmed during the making of this production.

6/10
Author: Torgo_Approves from El Paso!
17 April 2006

Scary Movie 4. Is it an example of good film-making? No. Will future film students study this movie and its revolutionary techniques? No. Could I have written this script in half an hour while stoned? Yes. Can I remember the last time I laughed this hard? No.

The key to enjoying a Scary Movie is to see it as a series of sketches based on popular movies, rather than a stand-alone film. The spoofs are extremely obvious and require as little thought to understand as it must have taken to write them. But as far as juvenile humour and crude visual jokes go, David Zucker does it right. You might question Zucker's actual skills as a director, but I dare you to call any of his movies unfunny.

Another reviewer mentioned that he missed the Wayans' style of comedy and brought up the scene where a blind Carmen Electra mistakes a church seat for a toilet as one of the funny scenes. Funny how I thought that was the only scene in the entire movie where the comedy fell on its face. The Wayans' relied far too much on lame sexual humour and gross-out jokes and I enjoy slapstick far more than that.

Not that Scary Movie 4 doesn't have its fair share of (hilarious) crude jokes. I won't spoil all the fun for you, so I'll just mention my favourite: Charlie Sheen, haunted by his past, tries to commit suicide, unfortunately the sleeping pills he swallowed turn out to be Viagra. That's the level of the humour in this movie, and if you are entertained by violent slapstick, people getting hit by cars, sexual jokes, and brilliant dialogue such as:

"I saw this face..."

"With a nose?"

"Yes."

"Hmm. Sounds like a face."

...then this movie is worth buying a ticket for. But if you can't stand lowbrow, dirty, and obvious comedy, you better stay away. Personally I thought 4 was the funniest in the entire series, after #3. If a movie can make me laugh for an hour and 22 minutes, I can't hate it. While Scary Movie 4 definitely isn't a "good" movie, it's hard to put down comedy this funny. Craig Bierko does a very good Tom Cruise impression, as well. If you liked the other movies, especially 3, this is a must see.

Dirty, juvenile comedy is rarely this funny. Strongly recommended if you're in the mood.(r#16)

Was the above review useful to you?

115 out of 180 people found the following review useful:

Still got the jokes...!

7/10
Author: when_anna_attacks from United Kingdom
13 April 2006

I went into this film a little hesitantly...How can there possibly be a fourth Scary Movie that still keeps its humour? Well, it was (half) possible. Although the overall structure isn't as tight as the other three, the jokes are often still 'fresh' and there's a lot of slapstick, which, although predictable, is still funny! Anna Faris (Cindi), as always, is still on top form, as is Regina Hall (Brenda) and together, they deliver some fantastic comedy.

If you're looking for a new, original comedy, perhaps this isn't for you. However, if you're a fan of Scary Movie 1, 2 and 3, then how could you boycott this one?! Go for it, even if it's only 80 minutes for a laff and a haff!

Was the above review useful to you?

53 out of 68 people found the following review useful:

Pleasantly Surprised

Author: El_Sid from United States
4 February 2007

After reading many reviews from people who said Scary Movie 4 was crap, I was reluctant to go and see it. But I did, and take my word for it, it was well worth it.

Scary Movie 4 was hilarious. I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard. Its parodies of films such as "The Grudge", "War of the Worlds", "Brokeback Mountain", "Saw I and II", and "The Village" and many others work well to make an entertaining 80 minute movie. And lets not forget the parodies of celebrities, which includes Tom Cruise and Micheal Jackson.

The Plot Basically goes like this: The dumb witted Cindy Campbell (Anna Farris) has taken up a job as a house caretaker for a old lady that is said to be cursed. While she is doing her job she discovers that the house is haunted by a ghostly little boy. But thats not all. Giant Tripods are coming out of the ground and killing everyone, and aliens are taking over the world. With the help of newly befriended neighbor and failed father Tom Ryan, Cindy sets out to get some answers on a long hilarious journey...

Scary Movie 4 is a silly movie. If want a deep, thoughtful film that makes you think, this is definitely not for you. If you want a few good laughs then this is what you're looking for. Just empty out your brain and enter the cinema or put in the DVD. I almost didn't see it, and if I had I would have unknowingly regretted it.

Was the above review useful to you?

53 out of 79 people found the following review useful:

Extremely surprised!

7/10
Author: LoneWolfAndCub from Australia
14 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I went to this movie with very low expectations. After watching the trailers, I thought this looked pretty lame and a real waste of money. Boy was I wrong!! This turned out to be an extremely funny movie, which does an extremely good job at parodying movies such as Saw, Saw II, The Village, The Grudge and War of the Worlds.

This movie has a plot, but it is all over the place. It starts off with Dr. Phil and Shaq chained in a bathroom, for anyone thats seen Saw, they cram the bathroom scenes into a 2 minutes. We then go to our hero from the first three, Cindy Campbell (Anna Faris), who has taken a job looking after an old lady in an old mansion. She meets Tom Ryan (Craig Bierko) and they bond pretty quickly. A few days later the world is under attack by TrIpods. Cindy and an old friend, Brenda Meeks (Regina Hall) go on a quest to try and defeat the aliens.

As I said before, I was VERY surprised by this movie. I found myself cracking up at most of the jokes, some of which were very clever take offs. The acting is OK (Leslie Nielson particularly funny as the whack President of America) for this type of movie and we shall be expecting a fifth installment shortly. I would rank this second out of the series, just under the first one.

3½/5.

Was the above review useful to you?

55 out of 86 people found the following review useful:

"By keeping the parody and humour so tightly focused, they've generated more laughter than any other movies this year.. so far.

7/10
Author: I_Like_Turtle_s from USA
14 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Scary Movie parody wagon has been rolling since 2000, when the Wayans Brothers pooled their considerable comedic talents and came up with a kitchen sink flick that riffed on mainly horror movies — with just a little Matrix thrown in. The second Scary Movie, also from the brothers Wayan, riffed on The Exorcist, The Legend of Hell House, Poltergeist, Little Shop of Horrors, A Nightmare on Elm Street, The Shining, and Hannibal. Non-horror targets included Dirty Harry, Charlie's Angels, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, and again, The Matrix.

A couple of years passed, and the directorial torch was passed to Airplane! genius-with-a-joke David Zucker for Scary Movie 3. Without Wayans, the genre widened a bit to add even more non-horror movie spoofs and much more current films. It was a box-office hit, so of course you knew what was coming…

Scary Movie 4, with all the core regulars back in action, makes fun of War of the Worlds, The Grudge, The Village, Saw and Saw II, Million Dollar Baby, and Brokeback Mountain. With a better through-line connecting all the stories than its predecessor, Scary Movie 4 is a refreshing (albeit rank) addition to the series. Anna Faris and Regina Hall are back as the clueless Cindy Campbell, and the sex-crazed Brenda Meeks, respectively.

When Cindy takes a job as the caretaker of an elderly woman (Cloris Leachman), she runs into some scary ghosts with a grudge. But things start looking up when she meets her handsome new neighbor, Tom Ryan (Craig Bierko). Unfortunately, Tom is distracted by troubles of his own — namely a bitter ex-wife, two clingy kids, and, oh yeah: An alien invasion, sparked by the ground-breaking appearance of the "iPods". When Tom, his family, and Cindy are forced to flee and find a way to beat the huge, deadly alien-machines, they take a few side-trips.

One such trip takes Cindy and her best friend Brenda into The Village, a place where time stands still and the resident blind girl (Carmen Electra) can't find the outhouse. Returnees from Scary Movie 3 include Charlie Sheen (spoofing Bill Pullman The Grudge; turnabout is fair play, so Bill Pullman is also in Scary Movie 4), Simon Rex, Leslie Neilsen as our Commander in Chief, and Anthony Anderson and Kevin Hart who've changed their Eight Mile tune to the Brokeback Mountain hoe-down/get down.

I was impressed not only by the logical knitting of the story lines (only Brokeback Mountain is forced to fit, but it's okay as a flashback), but by the attention to detail. The sets and set design, especially for The Grudge and Saw, are flawless and even the costumes are perfectly fitted to the characters for each skit.

The only bet they really missed was a zombie movie spoof (when Brenda returns from the dead — The Ring curse killed her in Scary Movie 3 — it's just glossed over).

Despite too much scatological humor (just a personal bias of mine), Scary Movie 4 is a laugh-out-loud funny, well-directed and well-acted comedy that's a perfect kick-off to the summer popcorn season. To say much more would spoil the surprises, so all I'll say is: If you like the Scary Movie franchise, be sure and catch this one on the big screen.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 79 people found the following review useful:

About what I expected.

7/10
Author: Aaron1375
20 April 2006

It was rather funny, as to be expected the jokes were hit and miss with there being more hits than misses for me. I thought once again it could have been funnier and there were some unnecessary jokes, but all in all it was a rather funny flick. This one actually plays like a sequel as characters from the previous flick are explained why they aren't here rather than just being ignored all together. For this one the required viewing or basic knowledge of a movie that you need for this one is mainly "Saw", "The Grudge", "The Village", "Million Dollar Baby", and for me the best one "War of the Worlds" (a movie that needed some fun poked at it). There is also something in there making a bit of fun of a movie pretty much you don't need to have seen are know all that much about...you will get it as long as you watch a bit of television. The "War of the Worlds" to me seems to be the main film parodied, however the other films get their fair share of the jokes as well. The opening is rather funny with Shaq and Dr. Phil doing a "Saw" recreation and there are other celebrities who make short visits as well however it is still the same group who forms the core of the cast. Worth a look see, however, if you did not care for "Scary Movie 3" I would say you probably won't like this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 47 people found the following review useful:

Fun and entertaining

6/10
Author: dhellculvers from United States
5 May 2006

I had heard the buzz about this film being a bit crappy, but had to go check it out anyways. I have to admit that I laughed out loud a lot throughout the film. The plot involves Cindy Campell, star of all the previous Scary movie films, moving into a new house. But there are bigger problems than the job of house cleaning, as she soon find out her house is haunted by a little boy. To make matters worse, alien "TrIpods" are taking over the world. How is she ever going to escape this scenario? Scary movie 4 is filled with laughs, but cheap laughs as you would expect from a Scary Movie film, but it doesn't make it not fun to watch. So if you find yourself bored with nothing to do...why not see a funny flick. Definitely entertaining and will pass the time. My vote for this film is 6 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

OK - so its not great art!

5/10
Author: hesketh27 from Southport Lancashire Uk
11 June 2007

Its pointless trying to analyse this film as some reviewers have obviously tried to do here. Its not hilarious by any means but it does pass an amusingly enjoyable 80 minutes of time. The gags are mostly clichéd and predictable, there's lots of tired old slapstick but when there's nothing else on TV (which is why I watched this) it certainly fits the bill. As for the appearance of 'Michael Jackson' in the film, I'm still laughing every time I think about it - heaven knows how they got away with it, but its certainly a funny moment!! Im' glad that I had seen all the films that this tries to spoof and the re-creation of the sets for War of the Worlds is fantastic. Its so close to the original.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Pleasantly Surprised

7/10
Author: SuperSonicS from Hell
6 October 2006

After reading many reviews from people who said Scary Movie 4 was crap, I was reluctant to go and see it. But I did, and take my word for it, it was well worth it.

Scary Movie 4 was hilarious. I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard. Its parodies of films such as "The Grudge", "War of the Worlds", "Brokeback Mountain", "Saw I and II", and "The Village" and many others work well to make an entertaining 80 minute movie. And lets not forget the parodies of celebrities, which includes Tom Cruise and Micheal Jackson.

The Plot Basically goes like this: The dumb witted Cindy Campbell (Anna Farris) has taken up a job as a house caretaker for a old lady that is said to be cursed. While she is doing her job she discovers that the house is haunted by a ghostly little boy. But thats not all. Giant Tripods are coming out of the ground and killing everyone, and aliens are taking over the world. With the help of newly befriended neighbor and failed father Tom Ryan, Cindy sets out to get some answers on a long hilarious journey...

Scary Movie 4 is a silly movie. If want a deep, thoughtful film that makes you think, this is definitely not for you. If you want a few good laughs then this is what you're looking for. Just empty out your brain and enter the cinema or put in the DVD. I almost didn't see it, and if I had I would have unknowingly regretted it.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 63 people found the following review useful:

Makes Scary Movie 3 look like Citizen Kane

1/10
Author: DarthVoorhees from United States
21 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The funniest parts were in the trailer and even these scenes weren't that funny. 50% of the movie is sexual jokes and the other 50 is people getting hit by heavy metal objects.The movies that are made fun of are War of the Worlds,Saw, and The Grudge but the movie has no real plot. In my opinion the movie should have primarily been a Saw parody.The character of Tom Ryan had potential but he is shown as a dumb ass when he should have been a direct parody of Cruise.Yes there are moments of potential but they are too few and far between. David Zucker is not trying at all anymore,perhaps because his prime audience is now ten year olds who snicker at the word penis. The other films in the series took time to set up jokes and obscure jokes were passed out. Killing off Charlie Sheen was a bad move because he was the funniest character in 3.4 has the most celebrity cameos but they don't take advantage of the talent. The talented Anna Faris needs to realize she is more than Cindy Campbell and she can move on to bigger and better things. Leslie Nielson the master of the spoof genre is not used at all. Sadly I think the days of the spoof film are numbered. Sad really because the genre has brought laughs when other comedies failed. Airplane was a great film because it had a brain behind the silliness. Writers are using the spoof genre to churn out brainless garbage to earn a few million...

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 41:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history