IMDb > Raise Your Voice (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Raise Your Voice
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Raise Your Voice More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 22:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 214 reviews in total 

79 out of 116 people found the following review useful:

Heartfelt...most underrated film of the year!

Author: Smurfette_Smurf (Smurfette_Smurf) from London, England
26 October 2004

I went to see Raise Your Voice expecting the worst. What I left with was a lump in my throat and a sincere admiration for this young actress/singer Hilary Duff.

People are so hard on her and she just seems so unworthy of such criticism. Sure it's a squeaky clean Fame...and it's kinda cliché. But...the performances of Hilary as well as her supporting cast were honorable. This movie certainly doesn't deserve the bashing it's getting.

I was especially impressed with the young supporting cast including Kat Dennings, Johnny K. Lewis and Dana Davis. Not to mention John Corbett who by far was one of the greatest things in this film.

I cared...I cried...and when it was all over I honestly felt inspired.

I give this film a 6 out of 10...because it makes u care..it really does.

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Tragically Predictable

Author: Ddey65 from United States
7 June 2005

In my review of "Cheaper by the Dozen"(2003), I mentioned the difficulty Hilary Duff is going to have breaking away from typecasting as Lizzie McGuire. The fact that this movie was a Brookwell/McNamara Production, a staple of the cable network that made her famous may be another obstacle from that typecasting. Make no mistake though -- Hilary Duff *IS* a talented actress and singer(in spite of corporate punk pretensions), and even with this formulaic material she proves it. But the way things are looking now, she couldn't break out of the Disney universe if she did hardcore pornography.

Terri Fletcher(Duff) sings in a local church chorus, and for her own personal enjoyment. She also thinks her singing can make her a star, and so does her brother Paul(Jason Ritter) who secretly recommends her for a scholarship to a school for the performing arts in Los Angeles. But her father(David Keith) wants her to stay at home and wait tables at the family diner. After she and her brother sneak out to go to a concert one night, some drunk driver plows into them on the way home. Her brother dies, she survives and is left with crippling flashbacks and survivor's guilt. But just when she thinks she's going to have to spend the rest of her life at the bottom of the barrel, along comes that scholarship to the performing arts school she didn't even know she entered. Of course, the only reason she doesn't want to go is because she's afraid to face the wrath of Dad, so Mom(Rita Wilson) and Aunt Nina(Rebecca De Mornay) tell Daddy she's going to spend time with her aunt, while smuggling her off to that school. And the rest of the movie involves Terri trying to make friends in the big city, cover-up her lie to her father, and deal with her own fear of bright lights, courtesy of that random drunk driver.

Too much about this movie is predictable; The overbearing father, sympathetic avant-garde artistic aunt, the tragic car wreck, the boyfriend with an ex-girlfriend who won't let go(who Terri catches putting the moves on and thinks is unfaithful to her), and yes even the triumphant concert at the end. Having said all that, I must reiterate that I don't want my criticism of this movie to be interpreted as another Duff-bashing tirade. Because regardless of the cookie-cutter plot line, Duff is still outstanding. Yes, she's a better actress than a singer, but both of these aspects of her are far superior to the movie. And if you DON'T believe she can play anyone else but Lizzie McGuire, you should've seen her in a highly publicized episode of Joan of Arcadia from the Spring of 2005. So while it's nowhere near the fluff-piece that her first big series was, it makes you wish there were more parts out there that are better for her.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

Raise Your Voice 9/10

10/10
Author: joaniekilbride from DG, IL
11 October 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In RAISE YOUR VOICE, Terri Fletcher(Hilary Duff) has always had a close relationship with her brother, Paul(Ritter). When they sneak out to a concert and get hit by a drunk driver(Terri survives the accident,leaving Paul dead), she feels terrible. She then loses her passion for singing. She was hoping to attend a summer music program in LA, but her father(David Keith) says she can't go. Terri's mom and aunt sneak her in and tell her father that Terri is spending the summer with her aunt.

I am surprised that people didn't think this was a great change for Hilary. All of her other roles were the same; but in this, her character isn't all that different but the heartfelt script brings much emotion into Terri's role, giving Hilary the opportunity to show everyone that she can do a drama. She convinced me.

A lot of sadness is brought in through her brother's death. Hilary Duff is good at crying and the rest of the cast is pretty good. Oliver James is great at Hilary's boyfriend, Jay. And John Corrbett is fine as the loose music teacher.

Good job, Hilary. I hope to see a movie like this from you again: smart, thematic, romantic, and humorous. Mostly the thematic.

PG- thematic elements, mild language, and brief sensuality.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

A little formulaic, but still provides 'that peaceful loving feelin'

6/10
Author: H. Martin (~AleXa~) from Everman, TX, United States
8 June 2005

Hilary Duff stars as Terri Fletcher, a 16-year-old anxious to explore her musical talent at a performing arts academy in L.A. for the summer. After a little persuasion, she makes it there, and the movie is more or less about her exploits therein.

The film starts well; the Three Days Grace concert helps set the musical tone for the movie. That was an unexpected surprise, although I suppose I'm partially biased since I like the band.

A beautiful performance by Hilary Duff. I am more and more impressed with her with every movie I see her in. She brought me to tears twice in the first twenty minutes of the movie. I was impressed by the colorful array of teens at the school, even if they were chosen primarily to make it believable that they're in L.A. I appreciated that none of the teens were written to fulfill any particular stereotype and all seemed like real people, for stereotypes are a sore spot for me, as my teen years were not all that long ago.

I loved the scenes with Denise playing the violin; again, very refreshing and stylistic. John Corbett turns in a innovative performance as a progressive music teacher, breathing a little more life into the film.

The direction really helps to further the movie along, as it is pretty anti-climatic. The 'unwanted kiss' was a bit predictable, however an element of predictability is generally assumed in movies of this persuasion. The make-out scene was completely unnecessary and should've been cut.

And it should be noted that the film is more or less like a Crossroads (2000) for a slightly younger generation, but despite that, it still maintains its own life.

I absolutely love the last song in the film—that was the perfect song for the theme of the movie. And I don't care what anyone says, Hilary Duff is a true performer, even if she isn't that great of a singer. She just always has this glow about her, and no matter how I feel, seeing her perform always makes me smile, and that's something to be commended.

VERDICT: Very enjoyable musical film despite its predictability. Recommended to anyone with kids, who's young at heart, who likes Hilary Duff, or just needs a good smile, but be forewarned—you might get a little teary-eyed before that smile reaches your lips.

6.5 out of 10.0

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 55 people found the following review useful:

The movie does NOT suck...

10/10
Author: dawnkelley from United States
19 December 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm so sorry to see so much negativity about this movie. It's apparent to me that people that don't see the value of it, just plainly don't like Hilary Duff. Whether you like her or not, this movie has great potential.

I am an adult with a teenage daughter, and I happen to love the storyline...it showed great character in how some kids deal with adversity. Never mind, that we all knew Hilary would be a great singer, and how it was portrayed. So what? I enjoyed the storyline, and was caught by surprise on the tragedy. Note in the end, the prize went to her friend, and it was a great moment.

I guess I just enjoy a great movie when I see it!

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

Amazing Hillary Movie!

10/10
Author: Riley Hudson from United States
29 August 2005

I thought this movie was amazing!A lot of people don't like Hillary movies but this one is worth seeing.There are parts that made me wanna cry and other parts made me laugh.I think this movie is really heart-warming so all girls should see it.Guys may like it too but I think it's more on the chick-flick side.The issues with Teri are very real and the movie is played out really well around them.I really enjoyed watching it.Even if you don't particularly like Hillary,you should still see it because this is one of her best movies.It's different than her other movies and she really shines in this.Oliver James is also very good in this movie along with the rest of the cast.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Disappointing and cheesy...

Author: pinkishdarko from United States
28 June 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this movie already expecting it to bomb, and boy was I right. The acting is cheesy and bland. In one part, Terri Hatcher (Hillary Duff) confronts Jay Corgon (Oliver James) after getting into some fight tor hissy fit about something. He says : Lets go somewhere, I mean the bag wont get up and go by itself" or something like that. Hillary follows by saying "How do I know you wont?" GIVE ME A BREAK!!!!!! No teenagers say that!! All the parts where Hillary was singing were completely fake and you could tell she was lip syncing...proving that she in fact cannot even really sing very well....

disappointing, I don't recommend it at all unless you are sick and are only watching something so you can fall asleep.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Awesome!!

10/10
Author: SquishyPretzel from United States
10 May 2005

I love this movie and find it inspirational. Some people may not, so why even bother watching it? You don't have to like it, but anyway, if you do, then great. This movie is unlike all those other pointless movies (Ex. Confessions of a teenage drama queen, Freaky Friday). Instead, it proves a point. If you're suffering currently, you're not alone. Just know that someone's got it worse than you and sometimes you just have to push your limits and as the movie is mainly about, raise your voice. Don't hold back because eventually, you've got to let it all out. I think Duff portrays her character's role rather well. It may contain some profanity, but I'd still advise people of all ages to watch it.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Raise Your Voice is great!

10/10
Author: janismmork7 from United States
3 April 2005

Raise Your Voice was a great movie! Hilary Duff plays a small town girl hoping to get in a summer music program in Los Angeles which is a big city. Terri gets in and her father doesn't want her to go. So, Terri's brother Paul makes a DVD about why the school should take her and he sends it. Well, when Terri gets there, she makes friends and has a boyfriend. She sings 2 of her songs from her self-titled album: Hilary Duff. Raise Your Voice is a good movie but it is very dramatic and some parts, I want to cry because it's so sad. Hilary Duff fans, if you haven't seen this movie yet, watch it please! It's really good! Hilary Duff acts good in this movie. Even though, there are some bad words, you should still see it. I really like the movie and even if you're not a Hilary Duff fan, you should watch it and I guarantee that you too will agree that Raise Your Voice is great. Riase Your Voice is nothing like any other movie that Hilary's been in. This movie is unique and different.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

-="Heartfelt , Sad and Beautiful"=-

10/10
Author: Conrad Carlo Venzon from Philippines
21 February 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Whoa, this movie received mainly poor reviews from critics and did not live up to box office expectations garnering just $13,573,284....

Now that's bad... But none of those critics saw the potential of this movie.... OK, the plot is a somewhat common in the world of movie industry. OK maybe many people expected more out of this. But think outside of the box for a moment. Watch the movie but first of all, take your egoistic-critic-character out when you do. Now, that's it.

You would never see anything beyond what you think of it. Pay attention to the movie's moral lesson. Look at it closely. Then rate it...

I, myself, have seen many movies that received really high reviews from critics but when I watched it, it doesn't really add up to the fact of its high ratings.

I love this movie... Period... See it for yourselves but remember to throw away your... aw, you know it already so whats the point it saying it..

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 22:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history