IMDb > "Nip/Tuck" (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Nip/Tuck"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Nip/Tuck" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 15:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 144 reviews in total 

122 out of 145 people found the following review useful:

Disturbing, Addictive, Truly Entertaining

Author: supermike158 from mississippi
18 November 2004

The first episode I caught of this show involved a talking disembodied head and a poignant suicide set to Elton John's "Rocketman". I was hooked! As soon as the DVD set of season one came out, I bought it and watched it within a couple of days. This show is completely immoral, shockingly disturbing, undeniably fascinating. It is like a bad car accident... you know you shouldn't look, but you just can't help. By far it is the best show on TV now. The stories are entertaining, twisted, and smart. The acting is what makes this series great. Dylan Walsh, Julian McMahon, and Joely Richardson give some top-notch, powerful, and gripping performances on this show!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

116 out of 136 people found the following review useful:

no wonder the networks are having such a tough time

Author: blanche-2 from United States
26 September 2004

Competing with cable is a tough job for the big networks with shows like Nip/Tuck around. While the networks are busy giving us "The Bachelor," F/X is giving us a beautifully written, gorgeously acted show about plastic surgeons. I have to say that this season is even better than last, definitely a more intense experience for me, anyway. The Siamese twins episode, the stigmata episode, the custody episode, the blind woman episode were all outstanding. You never know what you're going to get from this show - sexually explicit talk, soft porn, gut-wrenching drama, humor - it keeps you on your toes. As a side note, the episode about the blind woman getting the eye implants was remarkable for its accuracy. I have experience in the prosthetics field and it was right on, 100%. Very interesting to watch. I really love this show, in case no one noticed.

Some trivia - one of the producers is Lyn Greene, who starred in her own series in the '70s, "On Our Own" and later played the young Dorothy on "The Golden Girls" in several episodes. Bravo, Ms. Greene, you are a multitalented and remarkable woman.

Was the above review useful to you?

120 out of 148 people found the following review useful:

Best show on television next to The Sopranos

Author: Cpartak from United States
16 February 2005

I began watching Nip/Tuck by renting the first DVD of season 1 and since then I've been hooked. I'm a fan of other TV dramas like Law & Order and The Sopranos, the latter of which I think is the best drama of all time. I have to say that I never thought another drama could even come close to The Sopranos in terms of writing, direction, and acting. But in my opinion Nip/Tuck is as close as it gets. The first few episodes of season 1 draw you in by the sheer audacity of the subject matter. (I don't want to get into any details because I would hate to spoil it for anyone who hasn't watched and would like to start.) However, in episode 10 of the first season the show takes an unexpected turn and actually reveals a lot of heart. This came as a complete surprise to me because prior to that episode I watched the show as a guilty pleasure. From that episode on, I watched it because it was a powerful and gripping drama. And I must say that I haven't been disappointed with the show since. In my opinion what makes it so great is the fact that it tackles issues that are rarely seen on other dramas. And the way that the issues are presented oftentimes makes you think and form an opinion of your own. I don't think you can say that about many other shows. I haven't caught all episodes of season 2, although I have seen most of them. Luckily, the sophomore season of the show doesn't let up a bit and is as entertaining as the first. I recommend Nip/Tuck to everyone who enjoys superbly written and acted dramas but is sick and tired of the same cops, lawyers, and doctors formats that are prevalent on network television. Lastly, be advised that this is not "The OC" or "Judging Amy". This show deals with disturbing subject matter, and is not afraid to graphically portray any of it.

I just finished watching season 2 reruns on F/X and am at last caught up with the show. I felt compelled to come back to IMDb and add a comment about the second season. In one word, this show is nothing short of amazing. Just when you think that it can't get any stranger or more outlandish, it hits you right between the eyes with subject matter that would make a sailor blush. On Nip/Tuck, truly NOTHING is off limits. Every facet of human behavior, no matter how deep and dark, is covered with such brutal honesty that you don't know whether to look or turn away. However, at least for me, turning away is nearly impossible. This show is an addiction, and I'm afraid that I'll go into withdrawal until season 3 comes out. When season 5 of The Sopranos ended I thought that nothing would be able to fill that void, until I started watching Nip/Tuck. Now I can honestly say that it is the best show on television, an absolute masterpiece in its own right. I may start sounding like a broken record, but I'll say once again...do yourself a big favor and rent Season 1 on DVD. Whether you love, or even hate, the show...I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

102 out of 115 people found the following review useful:

If you wanted "Father Knows Best," this is not it!!!

Author: Dr-RJP from United States
27 August 2004

I have little patience for people who get bent out of shape about TV shows like "Nip/Tuck" that push the envelope when they are warned, up front, that the show contains material not suitable for the average viewer.

There is a lot of mindless, self-serving crap on Network TV today with all the reality garbage that only appeal to the lowest common denominator. Thankfully, "Nip/Tuck" is not one of them. What makes "Nip/Tuck" different is not that it seems like a cross between "ER" and "Jerry Springer," -- which it is -- but that it keeps the viewer engaged by being both off-the-wall and unpredictable.

Yes, all the characters on the show are dysfunctional (with the possible exception of Liz), but they are far more realistic than all the characters on "Father Knows Best" where everyone only had a good side.

On "Nip/Tuck," both the good sides and the dark sides of each character are brought to the fore. Irony has a field day on this show as those who you deemed to be stupid and insensitive turn out to be just the opposite when situations change.

The main problem with this series lies in where you, the viewer, make your entrance. You will be at a great loss to figure out what is going on now if you have not followed the show from its inception. Every successive show builds upon the events of all the previous ones, straight back to the pilot episode. For example, the turmoil in Sean and Julia's marriage was there from Day One as was the competitiveness between Sean and his womanizing partner, Christian Troy.

At the core of it all is Sean's ongoing identity crisis in which he has gone from a prudish wimp to a man at war with himself and everyone around him.

Although the tagline of the show is when Drs McNemara and Troy ask patients what they do not like about themselves, the underlying theme is about all the things that these two perplexed plastic surgeons hate about their lives. In trying to make others "feel better about themselves," they confront their own inadequacies, and invariably direct their hatred of themselves towards others.

Psychobabble aside, the show is damn funny, too!

Was the above review useful to you?

103 out of 121 people found the following review useful:

Pushes the envelope in cable television

Author: bondgirl6781 from Florida, USA
30 June 2004

The first time I heard of Nip/Tuck I was hesitant and reluctant to see it. Plus I felt that the show was not going to last and that it stereotypes plastic surgeons. But as I continued watching the show I got addicted to the offbeat humor, the gross surgical procedures, and its characters. Julian McMahon is sexy and gives his character a vulnerability and humanity that is not typical in sex-crazy handsome male characters. He gives his character a reason to like him and yet he will also give audiences a reason to despise him. Dylan Walsh shines as Dr. Sean McNamara. Proving himself worthy as an actor, he shows us a character with everything in the world and yet has inner self-destructive part that is hidden from everyone else.

Additional performances by Joely Richardson as a woman who may have some skeletons in her closet and is loved by both McMahon and Walsh. Excellent writing and dialogue that leads you to want more.

Was the above review useful to you?

84 out of 92 people found the following review useful:

Nip/Tuck is a breath of fresh air!

Author: Krystie Parshall (thekpfactor@sbcglobal.net) from San Jose, California
20 August 2004

It's riveting, it's controversial, it's explicit, and it's steaming up the small screen! Nip/Tuck is certainly not your average cable television show, but its material is presented in such a way that you're hooked after the first couple of episodes. It's real, it's bloody, and it gets under your skin. But personally, I think Nip/Tuck is a real gem - and the acting is totally off the page. Just when you think it can't get any better, Ryan Murphy throws you another delicious twist. I recommend that everyone watch at least one episode. This show offers the opportunity for talents like Dylan Walsh and Julian McMahon to shine in truly unique roles. FX definitely scored with this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

Can't wait to see more - certainly, one of the best TV dramas today:

Author: Galina from Virginia, USA
8 August 2005

"Nip/Tuck" is one of the craziest, outrageous, most graphic, and fascinating shows I've seen. It is a story of two Miami based plastic surgeons and the drama of their friendship, careers, personal lives, and other social difficulties. From the first second, it is a wild ride – amazing pace, incredible situations, twists and turns, and it is very well done. I did not watch this show when it first started but my younger son is a huge fan and he always tells me how much I've been missing. Finally, he gave me the First season on DVDs for my birthday. I trust my son's taste in shows – because of his high recommendations I started to watch "24" and was completely blown away with its first season. Anyway, "Nip/Tuck" is very controversial, and its graphical surgeries moments are difficult to watch – do not watch it when you eat or right after your dinner – but it is entertaining, twisted, smart, and disturbing.

After having finished watching the complete First season on DVDs, I can say that "Nip/Tuck" is certainly one of the best dramas on TV now and I am looking forward for the new season that will begin in September. I hope that Season two will come on DVD soon because I want to see it before Season 3 starts. The creators of "Nip/Tuck" did a really great job on the show with truly interesting characters - no one is perfect, they all are flawed but compelling. The twists in plot are always unexpected, the visual effects - eye-popping and jaw dropping, the acting - first rate from everyone, and then, the episode 10 comes - the crazy mixture of surrealism, dark humor, and highest drama. Fascinating.

Was the above review useful to you?

85 out of 135 people found the following review useful:

"ER" meets Pornography and deception

Author: Randy Schornack (captaincrook22@aol.com) from Austintown Ohio
10 September 2003

Okay, Okay..Some people do not like this show, for its graphic material, and mature subject matter. I on the other hand Love it. The show is a little fabricated, not every Physician is screwing there clients..but it is such a great step out of reality. I think it's very entertaining. I am 17, and from a teenagers standpoint, they really catch the feeling of being his age, with hard situations when it comes to sexual preference on oneself, and towards girls. Actor John Hensley Who plays "Matt Mcnamara" (The one I am talking about) In my eyes is pretty gifted. Not every guy deals with his girlfriend going through a stage of same sex interest, but it's a common story...Also, the whole thing about being circumcised, and dealing with parents (Dylan Walsh "Sean McNamara" and Joley Richardson "Julia McNamara") who are going through a shaky marriage. It's a very strong storyline, that makes sence, with a dark twist. Great selling point! Then we have Julian Mcmahon Who plays "Christian Troy" Who spices it up with every attractive female client that "Mcnamara Troy" get. He's a very interesting character, and it's fun to see what he does next.

I honestly can't see why people talk some much smack about this show? Look at the other shows on F/X. Shows like "The Shield" and "Hitch Hiker Cronicals" They are obviously shooting for the 16-25 crowd, with horny minds, and vivid imaginations. I think it's excellent. ER is too bland..and porno....well porno doesn't always get the job done, It's redundant. Combine the two, Good acting, and provactive situations..and you hit the jackpot.

10/10 stars, this is my favorite show on T.v.

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 62 people found the following review useful:

Enthusiastic and open-minded.

Author: Alice Schaffer (alikays) from Corning, Iowa
22 August 2004

This is one of the biggest surprises of my 50+ years of television viewing. I love this show! The characters are complex; the story lines are interesting and entertaining. I think the show is so well done. The special effects to depict the surgeries looks so real. I didn't watch the first season because I thought it would be superficial but it is so much more than that. I rented the first season on DVD to get caught up from the beginning of the series. It is intoxicating at times; funny, diverse, with the plots intertwining. Walsh's character is mostly good; McMahon's character is more the bad boy but they show the opposite sides in both making you love both for the all their attributes and flaws. We love flawed heroes. Thank you FX for some of the best dramas on television.

I want everyone who has access to FX to watch and give it a chance with an open mind.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

Nip/Tuck breaks new ground

Author: flickling from United States
14 July 2004

I eagerly anticipated this series because of my admiration for Julian McMahon (Charmed). The entire cast is great, and the subplots are the real masterpiece of this drama/comedy. Sure, the premise is built around the issue of plastic surgery, but it is everything outside the operating room that provides the substance to this show. The triangle of Christian / Julia / Shawn is by now (second season) ripe for some real turbulence, especially with Christian's crisis and Julia's secret. I, for one, can't wait to see how the season unfolds - or explodes, I expect. The theme is also well-represented in showing how people can so easily take plastic surgery way too far - surgeons included. This show has a lot of life to it, and I can't wait to see where it takes us.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 15:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history