IMDb > Blade: Trinity (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Blade: Trinity
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Blade: Trinity More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 50:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 499 reviews in total 

74 out of 94 people found the following review useful:

What happened to Blade?

3/10
Author: emobame47
7 January 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Why is Wesley Snipes sharing screen time with Ryan Reynolds and Jessica Biel? Who cares about Hannibal King? I paid to see Blade kick butt, just like in Blade 1 and 2. I didn't pay to see Ryan Reynolds joke for half the film. I didn't pay to see Jessica Biel (hottest body in Hollywood) fake fight. Who cares about Whistler's daughter?

Blade the Vampire Hunter was a good film. Strong villain. Strong hero. Good story. Blade 2 was even better. A rare sequel that bests the original. Two strong villains for Blade to fight against. Good supporting cast. Good story and a director who gets it.

Blade Trinity is a joke: literally. The villain, warning spoilers ahead, is Dracula, if you don't know by now. Dracula: the original vampire--the baddest of them all. What a way to end the series, then to have Blade fight the first and the greatest of his kind, but Dracula does basically nothing throughout the film. He doesn't pose any real threat to Blade, or anyone else. He is just there, and Blade has to kill him, because that is what he does. The other vampires in the film seem to have no other purpose either than beating up Ryan Reynolds' Hannibal King, while the latter cracks one liners. I didn't pay to see a comedy. Jessica Biel is hot, but I didn't pay to see a Jessica Biel movie. I paid to see Wesley Snipes as Blade, and yet it is like he is cast aside for younger models. Wesley Snipes is the star. He has charisma, on screen and off. Jessica Biel does not, and I don't care about Ryan Reynolds.

I paid to see Blade. What happened to Blade?

Was the above review useful to you?

55 out of 68 people found the following review useful:

Will The "REAL BLADE" Please Stand Up!!!

1/10
Author: (tariqdj2002@yahoo.com) from South Africa
21 January 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As most negative reviewers(people who know what they're talking about!) stated : "Blade 1 & 2 kicked ass and was in a class of it's own in the action/comic book movie genera!"

This excuse, of a "made for TV" movie is not just an embarrassment to the Blade franchise, but to the entire industry!

Where do i start?>> Firstly:>> the movie is called "Blade", so where is he? Wesley Snipes is simply brilliant as Blade (no other actor could have been more convincing), now all of a sudden he's an 'Extra' in his own movie wandering in the Background looking ever so bored, with a cast of "American pie" wannabe actors taking the lead (they're even on the poster!). >> that's like having Britney Spears featured on a Public Enemy or Linkin Park track!>.

Is this another ploy from "white Hollywood" bringing in the "snow-white" crew to diminish the lead black actor's presence??

Blade works alone>> imagine Superman, Spider man or the Hulk with 2 human sidekicks?>> Ridiculous! They're more of a liability than assistance!!

Secondly, while we're on the 'sidekicks'>> since when are humans able to kick Vampires' asses? (that's like a Rabbit beating up a Lion!) What's the point of having Blade around?>>

They're barely afraid of the vampires>> Fighting for your life from a bloodsucking demon with your i-pod on?? Cracking wise-ass jokes every chance u get , even though a Vampire has almost killed u more than once>> "give me a f#*king break!"

3rd-ly: Where's the Intensity, Darkness, and Mind Blowing Effects from the first 2 movies?>> This was like watching a cross between a, B-Grade action flick(Chuck Norris)& a bad episode of Friends!

Then > we come to the casting and acting>. All Round Poor!!>> Why is Triple-H in this movie????? Why does Dracula look and portrayed even lamer than the one in Vanhelstink? (looks like a euro-trash porno actor) Ryan Reynolds?? Jessica Biel??? (with leading roles??) wtf! ** the casting director is obviously a genius!!!**

Blade 4 :>> Either kill Blade off in an attempt to keep his dignity! Or get Del Torro back to make up for this "Mtv Teeny- Bopper" Butt-Hole Fest!!

0.5 / 10>>>

Was the above review useful to you?

82 out of 143 people found the following review useful:

Not what I was hoping for, compared to the first two movies

2/10
Author: dcobbimdb
9 December 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Unfortunately this movie didn't have the impact on me that the first two did. I've been a big fan of Vampire movies in general as well as the first two movies of the Blade series, so I'm an avid fan of the subject. While this movie offered more in the comedy & comic book feel, it lost the originality, horror, and suspense IMO.

Pros – Cool new weapons & some plucky comedy. Cons – Lacked any kind of suspense / horror feeling, wasn't serious at all, more of a popcorn movie than the first two. Also a comic book cinematography feel that kind of bothered me.

Throughout this movie I never felt a single hint of being in a horror movie, but more so like a super hero movie (like with all Marvel comic movies). Now granted I'd say that the Blade series lingers more on the Sci-Fi / horror fence rather than just horror, but this movie was more like a comedy action and lacked any kind of suspense / horror. The first movie was pretty original, the 2nd was more darker and the mutated vampire strain definitely gave a good creepy & suspenseful element while building off the original storyline. However the third movie lacked any suspense at all as the main bad guy (Dracula, or rather his modern name 'Drake') seemed to lack any substance or omnipotence at all. You didn't fear him or see him as any real threat at all other than his ability to morph into other things which wasn't really used well; hence the suspense went down the tube…

The acting was okay, there was a much more comical feel to this one rather than the few one liners of the previous two movies and I guess that rubbed me the wrong way, mainly instigated by Ryan Reynolds (Mr. Van Wilder). While he was certainly physically fit for the part as seen in his torture scene, his relief comedy ways totally change the tone of the movie. Interestingly you never see Wesley Snipes all stripped down, wondering if he's been keeping up with his push ups… Jessica Biel is okay at best. She certainly kicks ass in the movie, but is not very believable in her character IMO and not very good eye candy either, so kind of a dud there. The other thing that really bugged me was her 'listening to MP3's' while doing battling, OMG this is so stupid and so Hollywood. You mean to tell me that she's willing and capable to give up her sense of hearing while fighting vampires, just to appear cool? Give me a friggin break. So unrealistic… Who ever thought up that idea should be shot, hanged, have there ears ripped off and never allowed to work in Vampire movies again… Wesley Snipes played his role same as the first two, kicking ass throughout and having a bad attitude to boot. I wasn't impressed by any of the fight scenes, yeah some of the new weapons were semi cool, but overall the action was nothing new, and the cinematography was so quick and close up that you really couldn't make out the action very well. The end / climactic scene was also a dud, quite befitting for the rest of the movie I recon…

I guess the other thing that bothered me about this movie was the fact that in the first two movies you get the impression that vampires are stronger, quicker and more durable that humans (hence the need for Blade), however in the 3rd movie you have Jessica Biel (who is human) as well as Ryan Reynolds (a previous vampire now cured / human) kicking ass all over vampire city. If this were really the case then vampires wouldn't pose much of a threat to begin with. So this aspect really bothered me as the vampires in this 3rd movie came off really weak and ordinary. They didn't come of mystical or powerful at all; even Drake wasn't impressive in the least. This had the net effect of stealing away some thunder from the Blade character as Blade actually gets rescued by his Nights stalker groupies rather than the other way around.

Overall the movie was just okay and is much more light hearted than the first two movies, for that reason it may appeal to a wider audience, but in doing so it lost me as a hardcore vampire fan. I couldn't take this movie seriously as the comedy aspect kept pushing through. Unfortunately when you mix Vampires with too much comedy you get crap for a result. Vampires are better suited for horror / suspense movies rather than this 'Hollywood / Please all' crap. Kind of a bummer…

Was the above review useful to you?

86 out of 153 people found the following review useful:

Disappointing

4/10
Author: scruffysadie from United Kingdom
6 January 2005

Wow, I have to admit to being really quite disappointed with this instalment of the Blade series. Two days after watching the film I can barely remember much of it at all. The first two were exciting, with punchy dialogue, impressive villains and most importantly, a hero, the man himself, Blade.

With Trinity we have no idea who this particular group of vampires are, their social standing, history, source of their power are all a mystery. They were just plonked in the film to raise the ultimate bad guy from his crypt and provide someone for Blade's latest sidekicks to pulverise-badly.

And then we have the ultimate bad guy, Drake, who isn't remotely imposing, let alone terrifying. Big boots to fill and I really don't think this guy is up to it. I was looking forward to someone imposing, sadistic, gleefully evil in fact. I didn't get it. What this guy reminded me of was Ram-Man from He-Man, but less frightening to his enemies.

The only reason I gave this film 4 and not 1 is for Hannibal King (Ryan Reynolds), who steals the show from Blade the second he comes on screen. While Blade potters through the film not saying or doing much that I can remember, apparently this is whats called "brooding", King manages to keep all eyes on him.

King gets all the best camera shots AND lines. As far as I'm concerned this was his film and should have been a Blade spin-off and not another episode. Ryan Reynolds is far and away the star here.

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 71 people found the following review useful:

Decent third showing for Blade, but nothing brilliant

6/10
Author: The_Void from Beverley Hills, England
12 June 2005

I was never a big fan of the original 'Blade', but I liked the sequel a lot. Doing away with the story building of the first one, Blade II captured a nice balance between plot and action and it was an entertaining ride throughout. For this third instalment, however that perfect balance has been interrupted, and calling this film 'action heavy' would be an understatement. While the action in the movie is well done and entertaining to watch, when you've seen 45th bad guy being smashed through a window, it loses it's impact somewhat. The talking scenes in between the action are either small plot details that the film needs to string itself together, or just another action sequence set-up. The plot is messy to say the least, and there's far too much going on for it to be streamlined into an engaging and satisfying story, but nevertheless it follows the vampires as they resurrect legendary bloodsucker Dracula and get Blade into trouble with the cops. However, Blade manages to team up with a ragtag bunch of vampire hunters and together they attempt to thwart Dracula and the rest of the vampires! Oh, and the cops.

David S. Goyer, the man who wrote the first two Blade films has taken the director's chair this time round. He's obviously being watching too much Mtv too, as he seems far too keen to not allow the audience to know what is going on. The quick style Mtv editing is abundant, and it quickly becomes apparent that you will end up very dizzy by the end of the film. The director/writer has dragged together an eclectic cast to compliment Wesley Snipes, which includes the sizzling Jessica Biel, along with two more experienced actresses who should know better; Parker Posey and Natasha Lyonne, and Kris Kristofferson returns also; and WWF wrestler Triple H joins in the fun too. Wesley Snipes has made his name playing the human/vampire hybrid in this comic strip movie series, and with this performance he seems like an actor bored with his work. Whether or not that's because of the extremely thin caricature that Snipes has been given to work with this time round, or maybe it's because he's fed up of 'more of the same'. Anyway, Blade Trinity is quality entertainment. What it lacks in depth, it makes up for in coolness and action and if you liked the first two, you might as well see this one as well.

Was the above review useful to you?

128 out of 239 people found the following review useful:

Destruction of a one-time promising franchise

1/10
Author: Omar Chopin
22 February 2005

I remember the excitement my friends and I felt leaving the theatre after seeing Blade I in the theatre years ago (for the 3rd time). I remember telling my brother that I haven't seen a hero kick this much ass in a film since the 80's. This film, along with "The Matrix" and Jackie Chan helped bring martial arts back to Hollywood.

I remember leaving Blade II being disgusted by the acting by the acting Leonor Varela, but pleased to see Donnie Yen's fight choreography and to see Wesley Snipes' Blade kick even more ass this time around. Not as good a story as 1, but cool and violent nonetheless.

But trinity...wow. I'm surprised that Blade didn't have nipples on his costume with the immediate decay of the quality of the franchise. The responsibility lies completely on David Goyer as he finally was given the chance to direct he series he has written since it's inception. This film felt like it should have been on Sci-Fi channel or FX. Those good old days of Blade kicking ass are gone, replaced by Jessica Biel and Ryan Reynolds beating down brittle MTV vampires that couldn't hold a candle to Stephen Dorff's Deacon Frost. I don't even remember seeing Blade fight Dracula, with all the action geared towards his new sidekicks. That's like a Batman movie with Robin as the star. David Goyer now says he'd like to direct Thor......comic fans around the world should now panic as to what he sets his sights on next.

Was the above review useful to you?

68 out of 122 people found the following review useful:

Wesley Snipes can stand alone

Author: graebel from Baltimore, MD
15 December 2004

The main problem with Blade:Trinity is that the director - for some odd reason - forgot that Wesley Snipes can hold his own. He was the reason people went and saw the first two movies. As Blade, he is the king of badass cool. Trinity was disappointing because they siphoned all of his humor off onto Hannibal, and he lost a lot of battle scenes to Abby. This was unnecessary. I didn't go to watch either of those actors try desperately. I went to watch Wesley Snipes as Blade. And then, casting decisions? Who chose Parker Posey to play a vamp? Who did her hair? What insanity was going on on the set? And why, why, why, why didn't Paul Levanesque take his shirt off? Come on. Waste of money, and that from a Blade sci-fi fan.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Poor - spoilers

1/10
Author: R1X
13 December 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is a seriously poor film... and I don't know where to start. The product placement of the i-pod? The fact that the production wants you to call Dracula Drake (in a hip move that makes you think of comics and naming conventions over the fact the guy is called Dracula!)? The stupid on-foot chase between Blade and Drake? The fact Whistler is beaten by the Feds, when he survived Vamps? The inappropriate comedy? The stupid blind woman? The fact Drake was just resting, wasn't in a tomb at all, and woke up when he chose to? The crapness of the script? The poor introduction of Whistler's daughter? The lack of tension? The horrendous ending?

I can't go on... please kill me. I knew I should have seen Polar Express.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

This is About as Sharp as a Butterknife

1/10
Author: CrassActionHero from United States
26 August 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Blade: Trinity. 2004 New Line Cinema.

Review: So, it's come to this. The last installment of Blade. Look up the word messy and Blade: Trinity will be seen as the perfect example of messy. This film is a total disaster. Let's go with pros and cons to sum things up.

Pros: Wesley Snipes returns as Blade.

Cons: Snipes looks embarrassed here.

Pros: Jessica Biel is here. Great eye candy.

Cons: Biel's character seems like filler than an actual person.

Pros: Ryan Reynolds put on some serious weight.

Cons: Reynolds can't fight at all.

Pros: Triple H is here. His lines are delivered well and steals the show.

Cons: Triple H is not used well here. No character development as well.

Pros: The bad guy is Dracula.

Cons: Casting of Dracula (or Drake) is terrible. Horrible actor. Character development is awful, and seems to be here just to fight Blade.

Pros: Blade's mentor Whistler is back.

Major Spoiler****

Cons: Whistler is dispatched quickly. If you looked away for a second, you would miss the death scene. Worse yet, Whistler is killed by human police officers, and kills a bunch of them beforehand.

Pros: Blade's muscle car is back.

Cons: I'm running out of pros.

Pros: Vampire dogs (it's original).

Cons: Triple H and Wesley Snipes, the only two in this movie who know how to fight, do NOT fight in one-on-one combat. Instead HHH has to fight Reynolds. What's the point?!

Cons: A human Reynolds defeats a Vampire HHH. So very wrong.

Cons: Dracula wore gold chains here.

Cons: Jessica Biel listens to her Ipod while hunting vamps. Lame.

Cons: Triple H should have played Dracula.

Cons: The night stalkers. Who? Should I care? No. Next.

Cons: The blind woman that can read computer monitors???

Cons: Dracula talks of honor, but threatens to kill a newborn baby earlier.

Cons: Dracula ran away from Blade. Why?

Cons: The vamps bite like reapers from Blade two and no explanation as to how.

Cons: HHH aside, the rest of the evil vamps are like MTV rejects, and are not menacing at all. Just annoying.

Cons: Blade is in no real danger throughout this movie.

Cons: A terrible way to end a good movie franchise. Ouch.

The Last Word: Poor Blade. This is indeed the stake driven though Blade's heart. This is easily one of the worst of the year, or the decade. I'll stick with the latter. Skip it.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

What happened?

1/10
Author: from Canada
25 April 2005

Who came up with this awful mess? Goyer? Hope he doesn't have much to do with any other Marvel movies coming out soon, or I won't be seeing them in theaters. Every part of this movie was awful. It's almost as if a child wrote it. The whole "back to the beginning" thing has been done so many times and this time was the worst that I have ever seen. This part of the storyline was especially disappointing, since I have always enjoyed the way the vampires existence was explained in the previous blade movies. Although, the acting wasn't stellar, I don't think they could be blamed for much. Seems like the majority of the blame falls on the writer/director. Character development was atrocious. Seemed like far too much time was given to unimportant characters .. Triple H .. and far too little on those characters around which the movie should have been centered.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 50:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history