IMDb > Decoys (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Decoys
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Decoys More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 66 reviews in total 

29 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

Not As Bad As You're Led To Believe By These Reviews.

Author: BigHardcoreRed from Calimesa, California
1 October 2004

I'll be the first to admit that this is by no means a great movie. I didn't like the special effects with the creatures themselves, but I did like the way they did the corpses. The plot could have used a little more work as well, seems like there wasn't much there.

With that being said, Decoys wasn't as bad as you are led to believe. I'd say this movie was pretty much in the middle of the road, with as much good as bad.

I didn't like the performances by Corey Sevier, Stefanie von Pfetten or Elias Toufexis (they came off as annoying, especially Elias) but thought that Meghan Ory and Kim Poirier did an excellent job. Meghan in particular stood out in this movie. I thought she looked much better than the girls who were supposed to be the best looking, and she probably had the strongest performance of the movie. While I'm at it, I have to say, Nicole Eggert is not aging well. Am I the only one who noticed this? Probably not.

The one thing I can say about this movie without hesitation, is that I didn't see the ending coming. Maybe others did, but it did surprise me, and I'm used to expecting the unexpected in movies like this. As far as that goes, the film makers here did an excellent job. Too bad the rest of the movie doesn't hold up.

Like I said, middle of the road. Maybe worth a rental or waiting for it to come on TV. I'd say around 6.5 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

daft, yet fun teen horror flick

6/10
Author: Robert Clarke from Wrexham, North Wales
8 February 2006

"Decoys" is a fun low budget teen horror about two guys, Luke and Roger trying to hook up with the (any of) the beautiful girls on campus. But when Luke sees something unusual, he begins to suspect that theirs something not quite right, and some of the girls may be in fact – aliens!

A virtually unknown cast is aided by former Baywatch beauty Nicolle Eggert in a supporting role, Meghan Ory a standout as Alex, the slightly geeky (yet smolderingly sexy) friend of the two leads.

Not to be taken seriously by any means, it's a tongue in cheek, enjoyably daft "B" movie full of cute college girls….need I say more!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Another Teen Movie

7/10
Author: Nisar from India
30 January 2006

This might surprise many, but i stick to what i feel. I liked this movie. The best part of this movie was the perfect background score given behind particular scenes. There was emotion, romance and comedy in it to make it worth watchable.

Agreed there were many similar movies of these types. But one thing i can say, this one is slightly a cut above the rest. There was no stretching of any particular scene. In other words, you wont get bored and say like " Oh Cmon, get moving, isn't there anything else?" In fact there are some instances where you would wish that the scene would go on for a bit more time.

The actors gave a decent performance and the supporting cast also made their presence felt. So all in all i would recommended this movie to teenagers. It is somewhat similar to Trojan War released in 1997.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Nice eye candy with a pretty weak plot

Author: dcobbimdb
18 October 2004

To say this movie is average is saying a bit much. However it did have certain aspects that some viewers might appreciate. You've heard enough about the bad in other reviews I'm sure, so I'll be as unbiased as I can and sum up the good, the bad, and the ugly and point out who would and wouldn't appreciate it.

First off this film is for Guys (mainly), and it is for viewers who want to see some nice eye candy as it's filled with beautiful woman including one topless / ass scene and many other sexual scenes. It plays as a horror / action thriller with some suspense. The action scenes are okay, with some decent special effects. It wasn't that suspenseful as it's not that scary (I didn't think) though not a movie for young kids either as the whole movie is of a sexual nature also involving some non graphic killings. Obviously target audience is viewers in their teens / early twenties and though I'm a few years older I thought it was okay. I rented it cause I have a blockbuster pass and had nothing else to rent (if you can imagine that). I wouldn't watch it again, and if I did, it would only be to fast forward to certain parts encompassing about 5-10 minutes worth. Overall it's for guys who want some eye candy and a cheap horror story to string you along. Probably a decent party / date movie for those who want to lighten up the sexual tension (Combo of Species, Scream, and Porkey's). It's not as suspenseful or thrilling as scream, but it's not a spoof like Scary Movie and it more or less tries to take itself seriously.

The story itself sounds like something from a porno movie. A race of alien woman are dying off as they no longer can reproduce, so they come to earth and 'Decoy' themselves as beautiful woman in attempt to impregnate hosts or men in an effort to revitalize their species. Very similar to Species. Problem is they keep killing the men in the process… So the movie is filled with sexual scenes throughout. The two main guys in the movie are new freshmen at some university in a cold state. Keep in mind I did fast forward through some of it and wasn't paying close attention to minor details. Anyway the guys get involved with your friendly neighborhood Alien beauties. The main character pretty much goes on the vigilante rampage trying to prove the aliens existence. He apparently had a sexual past with the woman detective (which wasn't really explained). I must say too that the guy detective was probably the worst actor / character, and the film certainly could have survived with out him. What was up with the Puppy stuff??? The other Main guy falls in love with the Alien, and she as well. The movie comes to a head when the main guy hunts the alien women. The acting ranged from decent to terrible, the sexual and eye candy scenes were pretty good, the action was just okay, the special effects were decent. So overall, a B horror flick. You could do worse and if you miss it, no big deal… You won't hear much about it 6 months from now.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining and fun mix of genres...

7/10
Author: José Luis Rivera Mendoza (jluis1984) from Mexico
5 April 2006

"Decoys" is one more of those new low budget horror movies that are coming straight to video these days. However, "Decoys" shines among the rest of b-grade films because of the simple fact that it is quite funny and entertaining despite its clichéd storyline. This is no "Ginger Snaps" (the Canadian horror cult-film) of course, but it is very close to be great.

The plot follows the adventure of Luke (Corey Sevier), a young man in his first year in college, who just discovered that the two beautiful students he just met are actually murderous aliens who kill every guy they have sex with. Of course nobody believes him, and the movie follows his lonely attempt to prove he is not insane. To make things worse, his best friend Roger (Elias Toufexis) is currently dating one of the aliens and is very interested in losing his virginity this year.

With a storyline like that one would expect a cheap and dumb teen movie, but "Decoys" manages to keep the interest and the laughs at a good level without becoming stupid or boring. In fact, it slowly develops the characters and one can't avoid to feel for them. Something quite rare nowadays. This is director Matthew Hastings' first feature and boy he did it notably well for a debut.

The acting is very good for the most part, although Corey Sevier is a bit weak for a lead role. On the other hand, Toufexis shows a lot of potential in a remarkable performance as Luke's friend that goes beyond being a simple comic relief to become a likable and interesting character. The same could be said of Kim Poirier, who in her role of the alien Constance shows that she is more than a pretty face and sexy body.

Of course, like the plot implies, the movie displays its fair share of nudity; not only of Poirier, but also of the beautiful Stefanie Von Pfetten. Fans of these actresses will be pleased.

The film has the obvious flaws of a b-movie film, although some of the CG effects are very good. the script its a bit flawed and has some plot-holes, but nothing minor or too distracting. Of course it could had been better, but it is OK for the movie. Also, the film drags a bit by the middle but it recovers its power for a very good and clever ending.

"Decoys" may not be a horror classic, but it is a very funny mix of horror, comedy and sci-fi. Hastings, Toufaxis and Poirier show a lot of talent and probably they'll have a bright future ahead if they continue this way. This was really a surprisingly entertaining film. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

OK OK... It Wasn't THAT Bad...

6/10
Author: CMRKeyboadist from Sleesburg, VA.
28 October 2006

Normally I would never watch a movie like Decoys. I am not a fan of this type of cinema and the description sounded like a big ripoff of the 80's cult flick Revenge of the Teenage Vixens From Outer Space. Since Decoys was given to me as a gift just recently I figured I would force myself to watch it...

Basically, the storyline is similar to that of Revenge of the Teenage Vixens From Outer Space, just the vixens aren't "teenagers" and they don't turn their victims into vegetables. Anyway, the movie takes place on a college campus. Luke is the star of the movie and he witnesses these two beautiful girls turning into aliens before his very eyes. The only problem is getting everyone else to believe his story. Meanwhile, the "vixens" are screwing guys to death, literally, by freezing them from the inside out. What will Luke do to stop this invasion?

Well, as much as this movie looked dreadful, it really isn't that bad. The acting was actually pretty decent and the special effects (for lame CGI) weren't as bad as I would have expected. My two main complaints were the cliché horny college kids and the absolutely awful music played throughout the movie. But, I guess this movie was aimed to more of an early 20's age group. I guess the makers figure that is what people listen to or how they act. Whatever...

Anyway, I got a few laughs out of this movie and it kept my interest throughout. So, I guess it did what it was aiming for. Check it out on a rainy day. 6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

"She screwed him to death!"

Author: Backlash007 from Kentucky
10 April 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

~Spoiler~

Alien hotties are invading Canadian colleges and it's up to Corey Sevier and Elijah Wood...I mean some guy that looks exactly like Elijah Wood...to stop them in Decoys. The film (which boasts to be a Sci-fi Channel original) starts out pretty hokey. I actually thought I was watching a rip-off of The Ring. There is a snowy television screen, lots of water, and a few slack-jawed corpses. But it soon develops a sense of humor and becomes quite entertaining for the next hour. Too bad it changes tone again and gets real serious at one point. I don't understand the reason for the transition and there are some plot points that are left unanswered. One alien hottie character has a change of heart, but is later still shown as a villain. I didn't understand the logic there. It never quite recovers from that. And, since I watched it on the Sci-fi Channel, I'm sure I missed out on all the juicier parts. Nicole Eggert and Richard Burgi are the only "name" stars but they have a combined screen time of fifteen minutes. A sequel is rumored to be in development, however, I don't see myself watching it.

"How about belt of O'Fryan'!"

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Killer bimbos from outer space!

6/10
Author: Coventry from the Draconian Swamp of Unholy Souls
23 May 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I rated this movie 6 out of 10 and that certainly isn't bad considering it's a new horror film of unknown origin! "Decoys" is a silly but enthusiast production with an okay plot, good looking cast and some really nice gimmicks. The entire production doesn't take itself too seriously and that's a pretty good thing, considering it revolves on a nearly extinct species of female aliens who come to our planet to mate with earthmen. Shaped like ravishing blonde college students, these alien-bimbos seduce all the boys in a Canadian university and literally screw them to death. Our cute calendar-aliens fancy the cold (hence the snowy Canadian setting), they don't have belly buttons and they only show their true nature when exposed to fire. It's up to college buddies Luke and Roger to save the world but….is their will stronger than their hormones??? The screenplay makes a few ingenious twists near the end and there are some nice gags (even though very cliché) involving male-virgins, slutty girls and brainless fraternity chicks. The gore is a lot less outrageous than you would expect while the alien-transformation sequences are cheesy in a good old-fashioned way. The fairly unknown casts of youngsters do a pretty good job (the Constance-character is truly ravishing!!) and there are cool supportive roles for Richard Burgi (this guy starred in about 1001 TV-series) and former Baywatch starlet Nicole Eggert. "Decoys" went straight to the rental-circuit in my country, but it's definitely worth a look if you're into light-headed B-movies and insignificant Sci-Fi. From what I've read on this website, a sequel is already in progress.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Not sexy or violent enough to get past its awful acting, stupid characters, and tacky story!

3/10
Author: the amorphousmachine from Australia
9 February 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

(MAJOR SPOILERS) Low-budget B-grade Canadian horror flick is the same vain as 'The Faculty', where aliens disguised as humans have become a part of the campus. Except all these aliens inhabit a college and happen to be hot chicks who love cold weather, and mating men- except, err, the men don't survive the process, and they literally turn into frozen corpses. Of course, this all baffles the police, yet one guy is onto these dastardly hot girls.

And that guy is Luke (Corey Servier), who happens to witness two of the ladies in their room spring tentacles out of their chest. Of course, none of his pals believe a word he says, and they all want to get laid. The Detectives think he did it. And his good lady pal, Alex (Meghan Ory), is the only one willing to help him- and, of course, she actually wants to be with him, but he can't see. Don't get me started on the tacked on ending involving them! If the movie wasn't tacky enough, the ending doesn't save it.

The acting from the guys is generally bad. Corey Servier is a likable hero, but he needs to act better, and the guy who's playing the wannabe homeboy couldn't act to save his life! Elias Toufexis does the best as Luke's virgin frat buddy, who gets involved with one of the so-called chicks, but his performance is up and down. The girls do better acting wise, but then again, they act as the standard cliché eye-candy too. There is an interesting turn in the story, which could have made the film decent- involving Toufexis' Roger, and his alien girlfriend, but the filmmakers ruined it with unbelievable character actions and unconvincing acting. Soon after that, we get memorable lines from Luke such "how about the belt of O-FRYIN!' which really displays the B-grade aspect of this movie.

The cinematography and visual effects are pretty decent, and I guess 'Decoys' doesn't take itself too seriously. I wish it did! Even within the context of the plot of the movie. The acting is so unconvincing, that it "feels" like a movie, and the storyline had potential to take an interesting turn, but of course, they had to have that tacky cliché horror-movie ending! Not the worst I've seen, but this was still extremely bad!

*½ out of *****! (1.5/5)

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I wasn't impressed.

4/10
Author: Paul Andrews (poolandrews@hotmail.com) from UK
2 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Decoys is set on St. John's College campus in New Brunswick in Canada where Luke (Corey Sevier) & his roommate Roger (Elias Toufexis) are two students just trying to have a good time, while trying to return some loose change to blonde babes Lilly (Stefanie von Pfetten) & her roommate Constance (Kim Poirier) Luke witnesses something strange & terrifying, the two female roommates are in fact aliens. Obviously no-one believes Luke but when Bobby Johnson (Mark Trottier) is found dead under mysterious circumstances Luke is convinced the alien babes are behind it & since he is blamed for Bobby's murder after having a fight with him earlier in the evening Luke has even more reason to expose the alien menace on campus....

This Canadian production was co-written & directed by Matthew Hastings & the feeling I get from the other IMDb comments is that Decoys has divided opinion with some mixed reviews & as I write this the average 'User Rating' on the main page comes to an almost exactly half 4.4 out of 10. While I didn't think Decoys was the worst sci-fi horror film out there I wasn't that impressed with it & overall I would probably have to say I thought it was slightly below average. The biggest problem I had with Decoys is that it spends far, far too much time on boring teen drama issues & at times I thought I was watching Dawson's Creek (1998-2003) or something & the horror is kept to an absolute minimum with a few pinches of sci-fi thrown in there. The script isn't very good either, why would someone during a talent show turn up with a flamethrower, shoot a jet of flame at the crown & then just leave? How can someone enter a room with a flamethrower, use it to fry a couple of aliens & yet none of the curtains, carpet, wooden table, chairs or anything else not get so much as a singe? Why, if one of those aliens saw or even suspected she saw Luke hiding in her closet did she not do anything? After seeing someone in the closet she just leaves yet Luke must have seen her revealing herself as an alien which just makes zero sense to me if your an alien & are trying to stay incognito. Also why was one alien good & the other's bad? How did they get to Earth? How were they able to mimic humans perfectly? Are morgue's in Canada so lax that they allow any old teenager in to take a good look at his dead classmate? Do these very same morgue's leave autopsied bodies just lying around at night on any old table? Are these guy's so pathetic that when a total blonde babe goes down on them to suck their manhood they make silly faces & come up with excuses why the total blonde babe should stop. Right, I know I wouldn't. I also felt there just wasn't that much to the film, it's fairly slow, not that much happens, there's nothing in the way of mystery or surprises & there's a pointless twist ending that paves way for a sequel tacked onto the end. Those are just off the top of my head to, I could go on. I suppose if your looking for a dull teen drama with a few touches of sci-fi & horror then Decoys might be the film you have been waiting for, if not then there are much better alternatives out there that deserve your time & money more.

To be fair the film looks pretty nice with slick production values & better than average but still nothing brilliant CGI computer effects. There's not too many memorable scenes here, there's little horror & apart from a shattered frozen arm & a brief glimpse of a rotting dead body there's no gore whatsoever. Despite lots of opportunity there's not much nudity either, I think there's only one nude shot in the entire film despite several sex scenes which all end up being tamer than tame. The aliens when revealed are nothing special in themselves & look rather dark & drab & to save on the budget very humanoid in shape. AS I have already said the film spends too much time on dull teenage angst & dramatics rather than genuine chills of which there are virtually none. Even though Decoys might have a somewhat glossy look there's very little substance here below it.

According to the IMDb this had a budget of about $5,000,000 which amazes me, although the film does have a nice look about it & decent production values virtually nothing happens & I can't believe that amount of money was spent on this but having said that it's not impossible it cost that much. If it did then Decoys is even more of a disappointment when the amount of money the makers had to play with is taken into consideration. Filmed in Ottawa in Ontario in Canada. The acting is alright but nothing special from no-one I have ever heard of, some of the college girls are pretty hot though.

Decoys is a film that seems to have provoked a fairly mixed reception, some seem to like it while just as many don't. In my opinion I would say it's slightly below average & forgettable & there are better films out there. A sequel Decoys 2: Alien Seduction (2007) went straight-to-video & while I haven't seen it it's meant to be terrible.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history