IMDb > Mr. & Mrs. Smith (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Mr. & Mrs. Smith
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Mr. & Mrs. Smith More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 78:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 779 reviews in total 

383 out of 617 people found the following review useful:

Nice Surprise!

7/10
Author: tvgirljen from Dallas, TX
25 May 2005

I saw an advance screening of this movie tonight, and I must say it far exceeded my expectations! Of course, due to the stars involved I knew there'd be sex appeal. And due to the advertising I knew there'd be plenty of stuff "gettin' blowed up real good." But what I wasn't expecting was the tongue in cheek jokes, dark humor, and respectable plot twist! Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie will only fuel rumors of their relationship with their performances - their chemistry on screen is scintillating, to say the least. The allure of each actor as an individual is undeniable, but when they're together, whether getting busy or getting pummeled, the screen fairly sizzles. It's a popcorn, Hollywood movie, of course, and you'll have to get past the fact that the two leads are the only two among many professional killers who seem to be decent shots! But the action is kickin, the acting well above par, the leads luminous, the plot is lots of fun, and the laughs are plenty. Enjoy! I sure did...

Was the above review useful to you?

200 out of 304 people found the following review useful:

extraordinarily dumb

1/10
Author: Worf from United States of AMERICA
14 June 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

My God, is everyone who reviews this movie here brain damaged? This movie's plot crosses the believability line halfway through the feature and never returns. I like action but I hate action that is this blatantly dumb. I thought movies like "Sahara" rewrote the dumb action book but this trash just adds too the new low.

SPOILERS - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Why on earth did their respective agencies try and secretly set them up to face each other instead of just flat out eliminating them with bullets to the head at their offices? It's a good thing those agencies sent hit men by the dozens who couldn't shoot straight. This whole plot was extraordinarily dumb.

Was the above review useful to you?

96 out of 134 people found the following review useful:

Possibly the one of the worst action movies of the decade

1/10
Author: powerfull_jedi from Portugal
15 May 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Where do I start? It looked promising, it had Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt co-starring in this picture: what could do wrong? Praised as one of 2005 sleeper hits, I never got the chance to see this movie at the cinema, but last month I managed to rent a copy of this movie on DVD. I like action movies(especially the late 80's/early 90's movies), so naturally I was excited, 2 hours later I was sitting on my chair wandering what happened and thinking: were they talking about another movie? Did I see a different movie? For those who don't know, Mr and Mrs Smith is about a married couple whom both are hit men working for different hit men companies without suspecting each other's secret lives. The premise alone sounds far-fetched, but the start is bad we are «introduced» to the characters who are comfortably sitting on couches both talking to the therapist about their ever decreasing romance,I sensed that something was terribly wrong when by the end of that extended scene I was feeling sleepy and clueless. I had no idea who were these characters, nor did I care for them. Eventually after they find out about their secret lives after a failed hit, they try to take each other out, only in the end to find out that by telling the truth it makes their marriage jolt back. It's so sweet when they settle their differences that you almost forget they are both hit men and that they don't seemed troubled by the mere though that they both killed for a living, but yeah, their marriage was going down the drain so t doesn't matter if they kill for a living(I'm being sarcastic). Even with all the action I was bored out of my skull nor did I find any of the gags funny. And wow, the way Columbia is portrayed in the movie is an example of scriptwriters being dumb as heck, why didn't Angelina Jolie say anything about this, after she works for the UN and all? The major insult was after they made up, their companies put a bounty on them and decided to track them down and take them out, it's just too bad their aiming and their larger numbers couldn't compare to Brad and Angelina's super-human speed,resistance,agility and superior marksmanship. Did I mention I had no idea whom were they exactly figthing against? We never know who they work for nor who employed them? They just randomly pop out to fight them. Oh and don't get me started on the characters, watching Brad Pitt and Angelina on this movie is painful, they have no chemistry whatsoever, Brad mumbles all his lines and Angelina is a predictable tomboy stereotype and one-trick pony. Vince Vaughn's jokes all fall flat, and why is that actor called The Tank? I've seen pizza delivery boys with a scarier look.To call these characters "comic book characters", is an insult to them. But why Brad? Why Angelina? Arnold Scharznegger(who can't act) and Jamie Lee Curtis(who's hardly a sex symbol)did so much better in True Lies. In the end, the movie is boring, childish, unfunny and a waste of time, being nothing more then tabloid fodder for two over-hyped actors. Ranks as one of the worst actions movies out there, and I've seen xXx 2: State of the Union and Alone in the Dark. The rental cost me 1.5€ and I would have felt cheated even if it was for free.

Was the above review useful to you?

113 out of 179 people found the following review useful:

Excessive and gratuitous

3/10
Author: gdshrout from United States
13 June 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The film was a big disappointment. The actors and actresses did their jobs well - and they certainly are 'beautiful people' for the screen. But the screenplay was weak. The dialog was limited. The two main characters didn't have much to say to each other except "I'd rather be nowhere else, but right here with you."

The film relied on the action/comedy formula of explosions, guns, and fast cars, with an occasional nifty quip, like "Those extra side doors (on a mini-van) really are handy."

The screenplay does a poor job explaining the situations in which we find the characters. Why would two lovers try to kill each other? Any sane person would have tried to talk over the issues - but no - they try to kill each other and destroy their house while they are at it. This scene was excessive and went on for what seemed to be a protracted amount of time.

Then they fall back in love and proceed to wipe out 52 black clad ninja assassins armed only with MP5 sub-machine guns and bullet-proof Kevlar vests. This was the other excessive and gratuitous scene that went on for a long time. There was also a car chase scene that was good - if you haven't already seen a movie with a car chase scene in it.

There were a few comedic moments and the movie was two hours of entertainment - which is why I gave it three stars.

But the screenplay has so many holes it leaks like a sieve. We are left with too many unanswered questions, e.g., what did Vince Vaughn's character decide to do at the end? Not kill his friend? Hire killers? Who do the Smiths work for? Why can't their agencies have them married and working together?

On the plus side - Angelina fans almost get to see a nip - and there are plenty of gratuitous bust and leg shots. The S&M queen scene is 'bound' to please fans also.

I'm glad the kids weren't with us. For excessive violence and adult situations the film should have been rated 'R'.

Was the above review useful to you?

97 out of 151 people found the following review useful:

Complete Hollywood Rubbish

4/10
Author: Bart from Midwest
17 June 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Cheesy story, boring as-if action that's been done a million times, what else can I say, just lame Hollywood garbage at its finest. I'm glad I got to see this for free, because it was really a waste of time. There is only one good part, and that is when Mr. Smith hits a guy in the head with a golf club. Other than than the movie does not offer anything more than a few shots of Lip Lady (Jolie) in fish nets for all the guys who think she is hot (c'mon, she really is just plain freakish with all that plastic surgery) and some shots of Brad Pitt with his shirt off for all the 14 year old girls who will probably go see this movie for that reason alone. This movie would have been better if they would have actually killed each other, and thus, brought the film to an end after about 40 minutes. I gave Mr. & Mrs. Smith a 4/10 because at least it was produced well and had some decent stunts and special fx, but other than that, I would say it is almost as bad the The Matrix 2 and 3.

Was the above review useful to you?

67 out of 101 people found the following review useful:

Boring, dumbed down, vastly improbable, but worst of all, smarmy.

2/10
Author: Rooster99 from Paris, France
12 May 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

What a terrible movie. It reminded me a lot of "America's Sweethearts" because that starred A-list Hollywood actors trying to be funny in completely predictable and ridiculous situations. This movie is exactly the same, it has nothing new to offer. It is very standard formulaic fare, a popcorn movie of the worst sort, which is not even in the least bit amusing. Yes, both Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie are attractive actors, but that is about it. The rest of the movie is a waste and makes no sense at all.

Their agencies send them on a hit to take each other out because they are married to each other?????? Did they not think that perhaps one MIGHT see the other and MIGHT not shoot them because they were MARRIED? Gee, that sounds like a solid plot. Or how about Jolie jumping off the roof while holding her handbag with one arm? I can take incredulous stunts, but not when they make fun of the audience. That was as bad as many of the ridiculous stunts in Charlie's Angels 2. And as many reviewers pointed out, they are apparently the only people their agencies employ who can shoot straight (didn't Schwartzenegger already do that to death in Commando?).

And what about the bit when she said her "Temps" did all the cooking? So are we supposed to believe the temps had been living in their basement for 6 years delivering food via the magic elevator oven but Brad Pitt never noticed? What happened to his honed hit-man senses? And she has made 312 hits in the past and he never once wondered where she might be? Presumably if she dresses as a hooker for her MO, she would probably be better off whacking guys at night, but I guess old Brad is a sound sleeper. And why pick 312 anyway? That is an impossibly high number which equates to 1 a week for 6 years. Guess no one else ever figured out someone was offing people..... I know, I know, it was just a summer popcorn movie, but how about a little effort on the script? I mean the Jackal spent months, if not years, setting up his one single hit! I actually laughed out loud when she said 312, having just predicted the entire conversation.

And I won't even start about the 97 guys dressed in black they whack, fortunately only Pitt and Jolie were smart enough to wear bulletproof vests whereas the trained assassins, (who had planned the raid), arrived wearing apparently bullet-seeking outfits, have never heard of cover, and whose strategy appears to be running into an endless spray of bullets. The entire movie was fantastically frustrating. There was no attempt to make any sense at all of the plot, even the beginning was ridiculous. The Columbian police were looking for a lone assassin, therefore because Jolie joins Pitt at the bar, it can't be her???? Come on, how about a little effort?!! There was not even any good humour, it was all the one-liner obvious put-down type.

Just terrible. It's drivel, tripe, brutal. They made them out to be too cool, too tough, and too perfect, and all they ended up being was moronic, sickening, and smarmy.

Sigh.

Was the above review useful to you?

153 out of 279 people found the following review useful:

The Smiths Have A Little Something For Everyone.

Author: BigHardcoreRed from Calimesa, California
11 June 2005

Mr. & Mrs. Smith is a story of a husband and wife who are working as assassins, unbeknownst to each other, and not surprisingly, are in therapy to save their marriage. Ironically, they both believe their lives together are too boring.

John Smith (Brad Pitt) meets Jane (Angelina Jolie) while both are in danger of being exposed in a foreign country, while working. They are both experienced assassins at the time and go with the flow, and eventually falling for each other. Neither tells the other what they actually do for a living.

Needless to say, they find each other out and both agencies who they work for, give the order to kill the other within 48 hours. Thus, the hijinx ensue. Both are vying for control and to discover how much the other actually knows. Upon finding that they both know everything, a full on mini-war begins.

This movie has a little bit of everything. The Smiths are not without their humorous sides, especially Brad Pitt. Also, there are a few good fight scenes, between The Smiths along with some others. There are a few nice weapons to be admired here, as well as some very nice eye candy (I am talking about Miss Jolie, but I hear the ladies are fond of Brad, also). Also, I would like to give an honorable mention to Vince Vaughn as Eddie. I feel his performance was funny, but too small for this movie.

This movie is a fun little romp through the house with some nice action scenes. Recommended if you would like a somewhat toned down True Lies. 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining as Hell!

9/10
Author: istillseethesun from United States
6 September 2010

This is a daaaamn fun movie! Heh. To all the critics, yes, there are a lot of explosions, gunfire, unrealistic battles, plenty of times where you think "they MUST have been hit by a bullet by now..there is noo effin way...", and over-dramatized violence, but there's plenty of good stuff too that should not be ignored.

Probably the best part about this movie is the couple. I know it's been said before, but it's so true that I'm gonna repeat: Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie have incredible chemistry. It's no wonder they're still together today. Even when the movie couple, John and Jane Smith, where in their "off period" of marriage, you could feel something between the two. They are an amazing screen couple, they work incredibly well together. Their dialogue is just right...when one says something to the other, it's smooth and real. And of course, Pitt and Jolie are both extremely attractive, so they're fun to watch. Haha.

The plot is all right..nothing extraordinary. It's a typical action movie plot, simple enough to leave plenty of room for the battle shots and violence. Nothing special. The dialogue wasn't bad, it wasn't lame action movie words. No stupid puns or anything. There was really nice cinematography, some shots that really were stunning. Usually the emotional aspect of action movies is dense and easy, cliché and boring, but I liked it in this movie. You could tell that they really loved each other, yet at the same time were committed to their jobs. You could feel the conflict.

I own this movie and I'm glad I do. It's a good time. I recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

58 out of 90 people found the following review useful:

Awful.

1/10
Author: Streetcorner Storyteller from United Kingdom
13 July 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is one of the movies that makes me want to move to Paris learn french and forget all about the idea of "Hollywood". I went to this film because i was forced, i tried to fight but it was no good and thought to myself "ok i'll give in it can't be that bad maybe the action will be good" - WRONG.

The film revolves around two assassins who don't know they are married, god knows how anyone thought that was a good idea but you i just like to think they were very drunk or stoned.

The story is diabolical and the acting is some of the worst i have seen since Vin Diesel made his debut. The whole idea of assassins is quite a dark one which has been dealt with, seriously - Leon, comically - Point Blank, by many of films greatest talents. The only time it is discussed in the movie both characters say they never feel guilty this shows the kind of macho American attitude which has ruined Hollywood.

I walked out of the cinema with a tear in my eye, no wonder Bush won the election with Hollywood displaying such Jung ignorance. I made a mental note of the director, Doug Liman planning to avoid all further outings of this buffoon.

To calm my nerves i went home to watch my favourite film in this genre, The Bourne Identity,when the credits rolled my nerves were calmed "Hollywood can make good films" i thought, and then i saw it: DIRECTED BY DOUG LIMAN My head span: how could this be? the same man behind the beautifully satisfying motion picture i had just watched was behind the travesty i had witnessed earlier at my local multiplex? And then i came to a satisfying conclusion - it was Hollywood as i knew there was a strong European presence on the Bourne Identity. With this in mind i slept tight content in the fact that i am English and have no problems, unlike many Americans, with European and french cinema.

My advice: DO NOT GO SEE THIS MOVIE!!

Was the above review useful to you?

79 out of 136 people found the following review useful:

Should have payed attention

10/10
Author: dr_shred (steve@sprangle.com) from El Segundo, Ca
23 June 2008

Movies, like books, can't be judged by the packaging. When it came out in '05, the reviews were above average, but didn't appear to ring everybody's chimes so I avoided seeing it.

Buying the DVD seemed like a safe bet when it came out. It had lots of action and two marquee stars. But having been burned buying movies I hadn't seen - Sideways, Lost In Translation (O.K., not burned but a bit disappointed) - I passed. I'd wait till it dropped below $10.

Time passed and now it's on T.V. I happened to be flipping channels when I stumbled on its opening scene at the marriage councilor. Right away I was hooked. It had the marriage milieu nailed in a few minutes, like Orson Welles in Citizen Kane: the awkward questions and answers, the poorly disguised discomfort, the seething resentment.

It got even better with the banality of home life: the glaring silences, the perfunctory politeness, the stilted discourse, the hidden frustration, ennui, equivocation, avoidance, and interior decorating conflicts. Maybe you actually have to be married to appreciate how true the representation was.

Then the plot twists that accentuated the facade. More twists. Don't let your guard down for an instant, or you may get killed! The subtle, pleading moments. Like when Jane hangs up on him in the car. Additional twists and action all the way into a grand finale with scads of bullets, bombs, etc.

Is the true love of shared experience beyond the banality of everyday life realized? Well, you have to see the movie.

Yes, the plot is complicated, and sometimes doesn't make sense, like marriage, but on closer inspection reveals hidden reservoirs of true feeling and connection.

I guess I had overlooked a great film, just like John and Jane had overlooked each other.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 78:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history