Reflections of Evil (2002) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
25 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
8/10
One of the most intellectually challenging films in a long time!
x-stierna10 March 2003
Reflections Of Evil is without doubt one of the most intellectually challenging and demanding films I've seen since the golden days of the underground scene in 1960-70. I can agree with the opinion that it does come down very hard on the viewer, but as demanding as it is it's also refreshingly relieved from all the Hollywood main stream production values that has been the obvious and only choice for much to long. Personally I'm quite fed up with all that, and I strongly recommend everyone who feels the same way to take a good look at Damon Packards film.

As difficult as it might seem to be for an average viewer to agree with the narrative style, it's well worth the effort to put up with it. On the other hand, if you are at all familiar with the work of Bunuel, Kenneth Anger, Morrissey, productions from "The Factory" and overall experimental film making as such, you will probably find the use of overdubed sounds and the visual compositions as an effective audiovisual exclamation to the very quintessence of the various ideas.

This aggressive and abusive in-your-face tale of an over consuming, over developed and high speed accelerating culture bursting in it's own gloating can be very hard to accept, and I can understand why the main stream viewer have serious problems with the daring and provoking approach of this film.

But It's not a question whether you like it or not, that's hardly the point. The point is that it truly is a most remarkable piece of work, and probably more related to experimental, over expressive and self dissective art form culture than anything else.

Either way it is indeed impossible to ignore a film like Reflections Of Evil, and if you are at all interested in what's happening on the true alternative scene of independent film making today it definitely is a must see. For all you others, take a refreshing holiday from Hollywood with Damon Packard as your tour guide and host. I personally guarantee you a unique film experience!
20 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Excellent, unmissable, ambitious, uncompromising, controversial....
FilmFlaneur9 July 2003
Financed by a private trust fund, lasting well over 2 hours, written, directed, starring, and largely distributed by Damon Packard, Reflections of Evil is one of the more interesting independent features to emerge from America in the last few years. An unrelenting assault on American consumerism in general and Hollywood in particular, it also manages to have a go at such targets as the Bush administration, Vietnam vets, police, the chemtrails controversy, redneck TV viewers and dog lovers. 'Introduced' and tail-ended by a coiffeured Tony Curtis obviously speaking elsewhere (key passages of which are patently re-edited and overdubbed to apply to the new film), Reflections of Evil is punctuated throughout by other 'found footage' - notably that which insistently advertise tacky 70's goods or promotes the ABC Movie of the Week.

Packard plays Bob, the overweight hero of his film. His bemused and oppressed character dresses in multiple layers, favours baggy pants, and lugs round a baggy hold-all from which clothes hang down. Headphones and radios drape in a clutter round his neck. He survives by tramping the streets of LA, selling - eventually giving - watches to anyone who will listen to an apologetic sales pitch, although he never succeeds in making any profit from his enterprise. Aptly, given the sweet-coated culture of so much of the film's scorn, Bob is addicted to sugar. Repeatedly punctuated by irrational rage and displays of self loathing, his business patrols also include excessive consumption of cakes and candy - which, in an early moment worthy of John Waters, leads to a spectacular vomiting on the sidewalk. Back home, or at a restaurant, the 400 pound Bob is upbraided by his mother for being so weak-willed and disgusting, and the two constantly bicker. Interspersed with Bob's unsteady progress, is the vision of a woman (who, we later learn, is his dead sister) wandering the streets, then a studio, looking anxious in a pink negligee. The two will finally be reunited at Universal studios.

Some have complained that Reflections of Evil is a disorganised, hard to understand film. In fact it has quite a simple structure, one in which episodes from Bob's perambulations, an extended flashback to his childhood in the 70's, and an hallucinatory drugs dream are neatly headed up by repeated, ironic, announcements of the threatened ABC movie. Inevitably a film of this sort can seem self-indulgent. But Packard has some prime targets to shoot at, and the occasional longeur (the Universal studio park footage and Bob's viewing of the latest Star Wars instalment could both have been profitably trimmed, for example) can be forgiven. He obviously has a weakness for the continental horror of the 1970's. The dreamy scenes featuring Bob's sister look as if they could have slipped out of any Jean Rollin erotic vampire flic, and one of his equally excellent shorter films (also on the DVD) lovingly imitates an extended 70's erotic horror trailer. Reflection of Evil easily incorporates those elements, as well as being a most unlikely candidate for ABC's 'movie of the week' then or now (Packard has sarcastically distributed it with the words 'joy' and 'love' as a selling point).

For an independent, low budget film, it's a relatively sophisticated production with multiple set ups, excellent sound editing and none of those long-held scenes familiar from Warhol's 'Factory' or other underground films. Sound plays an important part in Packard's world, and several reviewers have commented on how deliberately intrusive this element is. He frequently favours SF epics like The Omega Man, Planet of the Apes, ET and Star Wars for source extracts, and their music plays out serenely between the raucous dialogue scenes. (Charlton Heston was one of the bemused recipients of the DVD.) Scenes of confrontation, alienation and of impotent rage are common in Packard's film, but he manipulates these moments so that they have a tragi-comedy of their own, both disturbing and hilarious at the same time. Victim and cultural commentator at the same time, the director's unfocussed howls of impotent outrage are easily associated with by the audience. In this context, post-synching, often the bane of independent productions, is conspicuous. Packard makes a virtue of this handicap, as his supporting characters are frequently dubbed with ludicrous voices and accents, while Bob's own conspicuous consumption of junk food is marked by excessive munching and farting. There are some scenes which stay long in the memory: Bob's public rants while standing next to a succession of Miss Congeniality film posters, for instance, or the long sequence in which a series of owners set their dogs on him in the street. The hilarious scene in the diner when he tries to sneak mouthfuls of food from under his mother's watchful eye; the redneck couple observing an unsteady hero from their window ('He's drunk on those liqueur chocolates again!') or the crazed negros, ranting in the street, one suddenly pulling a knife.

The obese Bob, harmlessly proffering his watches, is a threatened small-time entrepreneur, although his dishevelled state also suggests vagrancy. There's a neat corollary when we learn that in life the director has personally distributed 22,500 DVD copies of his only feature, including some 8,000 on the street by hand, although it can now be had online. (Amusing accounts of reactions garnered, from willing and unwilling recipients of this artistic persistence, can be found at the official website). No doubt those who pick up Packard's unforgettable work, only to be outraged by its scathing attack on complacency, will have been affected exactly in the way the director intended, as his film is a sure kick to the groin of much of Hollywood's - and the media's - self-satisfaction. As if in official confirmation from this, the director has now been given a lifetime ban from Universal Studios (not on the basis of the amusing Spielberg-directing satire that appears in the film, but as a result of him shooting unofficially on their lot!). For those with an open mind, Reflections of Evil is unmissable personal project, and a sure cult in the making.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Reflections on Reflections of evil
Fred Anderson14 September 2003
I think it´s a pure masterpiece of art. Really. I have the deepest respect for this kind of filmmaking.

It´s not horror. It´s not splatter. It´s satire. The best satire I´ve seen in years.

I wrote this just have seeing it the first time:

"Reflections on reflections - Damon Packard, genius or just insane?

One sunny afternoon a strange spam-mail dropped into my mailbox. I first thought had to do with a project I was working with, but I soon realized that this was something completely different. It was about Damon Packard´s epic movie about a man called Bob and his trip through the streets of LA: Reflections of evil.

Damon wanted to give me a copy for free and I mailed him at once. I needed to see this flick. And after studying the very cryptic official page I was going mad. I MUST SEE THIS MOVIE!

I´ve never been so curious about something like I was this time. When I haven´t received a copy in almost one week and really felt sick. I wasn´t myself. I wanted to hear the mailman drop the package in my mailbox.

My angst disappeared on Friday morning. The mailman had a present for me. A dvd from Damon Packard!

A friend of mine got a copy the day before and said that this was very strange, so I just manage to keep away from the movie for a couple of hours. This was something special, and I didn´t want to see it at once. But what the f**k!

This is the story of a slightly tragic salesman. Or is he really tragic? Roaming the streets of LA, furious and clearly out of his mind. It´s like a roadmovie, but inside the heart of tinseltown. The city of happiness and madness. It´s not only about tinseltown, it´s about the american society, the fury of the people. This is the country that never sleeps and never seems to get some rest. People are furious and sad, confused and obsessed. Some reviewer said it made him think about Apocalypse Now - and I agree. This is the ultimate inner travel I´ve seen in many years.

Slowly the city around Bob is turning very weird. The hate comes out and the paranoia is over us. Helicopters is watching everything, cops are everywhere and people are just insane.

During the time the Bob is attacked by homeless people and dogs we´re turning back in time, till 1971. Bob, his mother and older sister is visiting Universal Studios and taking the tour. After his sister disappears and get´s involved with weird sect that makes her one of them. She dies of an overdose (I think). No she want´s to save Bob from the hell he´s in, from beyond the grave.

Let me say one thing, this is a movie that´s helluva hard to describe. The best way to understand what I mean, is to see it. Go get a copy goddammit.

Packard have shot the movie on 16mm, super8 and Digital8 on a very low budget. But this don´t mean it looks like crap, because it dosen´t. Packard and his cameraman is clearly very talented and the jumping from documentary dogme-style to classic dolly-shots are marvelous and works very well. The light is most of the time very tight and moody. Some people seem to be disturbed by the strange and noise soundtrack. But I don´t. Everything seems to be dubbed afterwards and it makes the feeling of the movie more surreal.

I know, I´m being hypnotized by this flick. I can´t help it. It had something that spoke to me very clearly. Maybe was it the inspiration from J. Kennedy Tools novel Confederacy of Dunce's or the surreal and unconventional storytelling? You´re pulled into Bob's strange mind and all the people he meet. And it´s impossible to stop.

Packard goes from very cheap physical humor to Woody Allen-esqe dialogues, from Jess Franco and Jean Rollin to Herzog and Fassbinder. The inspiration clearly comes from the movies from the sixties and seventies and it works well.

Does Packard want to tell us something with this movie? Maybe I´m very wrong, but I think so. This is a story about a country falling apart. About people who dosen´t trust the system and the constant `big brother' watching over them. The fear of that somewhere there´s a couple of fat men in expensive suites that makes all the decisions of the country's future.

Packard seems to have a love-hate relation to America, Los Angeles and the entertainment industry. Universal Studios become the symbol of the cultural decay of the world and when it almost literary turns into living hell at the end, it becomes clearer. There´s only Damon Packard to make E.T. a terrifying experience. E.T. - the symbol for peace and happiness, cute children and the moral people.

Probably some of you are just calling this movie crap. Some of you will just throw it in the garbage (don´t) and some people, like me, will love it. Adore it.

Give Packard a movie contract and some money, let him do whatever he want. He deserves it.

(and, yes...Damon isn´t insane. He´s a genius)

/Fred"
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Beyond Good or Evil
tylerrabbit18 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
** contains a minor spoiler i guess** Reflections of evil transcends ordinary descriptives like 'bad' or 'good. I can't express the magnitude of this film. It reflects the postmodern condition so perfectly. It contains the entire range of human existence and then some. Hypnotic, epic, hilarious, moving, thought provoking, artistic: everything a great movie should be. The fact that it was shot on low grade stock effectively drives home the eerie 1970's movie of the week feeling which permeates and holds together this masterpiece. I heard the original edit was like 6 hours or something outrageous; I'd watch it any day... I tend to disagree with those who feel this is an all out attack on Hollywood and mass consumption. These elements are in the movie but it's because Packard is a true artist and an artist portrays her/his environment. Reflections Of Evil isn't a commentary it's a reflection of the world through a very personal yet somehow universal mirror. I don't think the filmmaker dislikes Spielberg or Lucas, he's obviously an o- g Star Wars fan. My favorite part is the "on the set of something evil" segment with young Spielberg. This part is probably the funniest s*** ever recorded by a mechanical device, (not because it's making fun of Spielberg, which it isn't really, he's almost an incidental character) but because it's pure chaos and absurdity. Packard's tenacity and spirit give us hope in a time when we need it most.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This Movie Rocks
Matt Rogers (spmakeupfxdude)13 September 2003
This movie should be watched!!!! I think that Damon Packard could be called a genius. There is no other film like this one. His camera angles and editing techniques are phenomenal! I really dug the 70's parts. I really can't explain what I think of the Film. I really think someone needs to give Damon Packard 4 million bucks to make an even greater film. MAD PROPS Damon!!!
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
You Had A Sugar Overdose On The E.T. Ride
essdubyacee26 February 2005
Go to any big city and you'll encounter scores of wacked-out individuals wandering around, conversing angrily with no one in particular, watch this film and you may get some inkling of just what the hell is going on in these poor soul's minds. Reflections of Evil is essentially a "day in the life" of one such man as he navigates the gauntlet of his private hell. The manner in which director, producer and main character: Damon Packard achieves this can be best described as "experimental" you have never seen anything quite like this. There is no sense in even attempting to catalogue the many unconventional devices used, satirizing Universal Studios with the depiction of a "Shindler's List ride" is hysterical, and they just go on and on. Reflections of Evil will be hard to swallow for many, but if you appreciate, daring or even reckless film-making that goes where mainstream film doesn't dare and makes no apologies, this film will not disappoint
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Weird and random
MartianOctocretr521 May 2007
I've heard of going outside the lines. This bizarre film goes outside the known universe.

The whole thing plays out like a psychotic episode. In washed out cheap film, we witness a sick obese man who wears many layers of clothing like he's homeless, (but he's not) suffering from a life threatening eating disorder making him eat like he's always feeling starved, who wanders around Hollywood, peddles watches, yelling at anybody he sees. He hobbles around like a beached whale, and frequently cracks his skull on the pavement. He's middle aged, but still lives with his nagging mother. Are we to laugh at him? Pity him? Hate him? Who knows?

Whereas an art house director partially assembles a jig saw puzzle for you and gives you the remaining pieces to figure out the meaning, this director just takes the jig saw pieces and throws them all over the place, landing anywhere they might, some lost forever. The "non-structure" structure is taken too far, and becomes a nuisance. It was actually entertaining to see old footage of some vintage 1971 TV programming, and I wonder how he found all this stuff. It jumps on to the screen at spasmodic intervals. The obese guy's late sister pops in occasionally going OD with hippies or dancing around in an angel dress. Vignettes mock Steven Spielberg and Universal Studios. The director makes a caricature of himself as the deranged obese guy. There is some attempt to attack the movie industry, and bash people who just vacantly stare at whatever is on TV; an apathetic couple watches the Movie of the Week (in 1971) while outside their house, the heavy guy (in 2002 ?!?!) yells and pukes.

Nothing fits together. How all this relates to the eating disorder or the hippies and drug overdose victim is anybody's guess. A lot of it looks like a couple of guys with cameras wandered through Hollywood, and filmed anything they saw: helicopters, birds, posters advertising a Sandra Bullock movie, and mentally ill people. Apparently the film was meant to say something about disturbed people and their eccentric behavior, but does it mean-spiritedly and poorly. The value of viewing this is solely for the curious novelty of how odd it is. Nothing more.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A film like no other !!!!
NateManD11 June 2005
I recently found a copy of Damon Packard's "Reflections of Evil" on DVD at my local record store. This version runs 90 minutes, I guess the original was over 2 Hours. Anyways I thought the film worked perfectly on a 90 minute running time, because it's literally non stop massive insanity. Acid lovers be warned. The director will probably never make a film again, because of all the celebrities he sent thousands of copies to. The film is post dubbed, so all the dialog sounds very surreal and funny, especially some of the voices that are sped up. Anyways, the plot of the story concerns Bob, an overweight watch salesman who aimlessly roams the dirty streets of L.A, trying to sell watches to people when he's not cursing them out. The beginning of the film we see his sister, almost in a dream like sequence. The intro feels like an ode to filmmakers Jean Rollin and Jess Franco. Then we are treated to psychedelic color filters and street bums and drug addicts galore. A dark nightmarish underbelly of L.A is exposed to the viewer. Bob never has luck selling the watches, and his mom gets on him about his weight. He loves sugar and is constantly consuming sweets. One scene he's seen shoving his face with Mcdonald's food, an obvious critique on American consumerism. Yelling obscenities in front of Miss Congeniality posters, and falling head first on to the pavement over and over. Then the film goes into a 70's flashback. Bob goes to Universal studios with his mom and sister, his sister witnesses a cocky young Steven Spielsburg directing, before overdosing on PCP. Throughout the film he is haunted by images of his dead sister, she's returned to warn him about his eating problem. The universal studios turns into hell where people are forced to ride amusement rides over and over till they repeatedly fall and splat on the pavement. Images of chaos are thrown at the viewer full force, symbolism of of a 911 world, where chemicals affect the insanity of L.A's population. There's not much else I can say to describe "Reflections of Evil". Damon Packard is definitely an artist, maybe ahead of his time. In the history of cinema there have been directors like Bunuel and Jodorowsky, who have shown viewers what they don't want to see, but need to see. Packard definitely has the early shock element that was part of surrealism in cinema. Reflections of evil is funny and frightening in it's excess. It takes the viewer on a chaotic roller-coaster ride (literally) and doesn't stop till it falls head first. In other words I loved it!
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
OH MY GOD!!!
menapace11 June 2003
I watched the whole movie. Not a lot of people can say that. This has to be the most obscure, most inscrutable, and downright strangest movie I have ever seen. The DVD also comes with Packard's previous work, but for God's sake don't look at that!!!
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Reflections of Evil-yecch!
mhh1964usa11 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I was handed this DVD by a fellow filmmaker, whose comment was: "The scene where the guy gets drunk on liquor filled candies is hilarious".

That idea might have been funnier if Damon was remotely watch-able. A movie that seemed like it was 3 hours long because of it's tedium, and it's over the top annoying lead, had me fast-forwarding through the whole thing.

It seemed like this guy was obsessed with 70's kitsch and offensive Jewish stereotypes for no other reason than to say 'hey, my parent's paid for this film...look at me everyone!."

The film wandered and went nowhere. The stock footage, fake stock footage and over-use of bad commercials reminded me of a bad student film.

If this is the future of film making: I'll take a book.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
unwatchable home movie made by, and for, idiots
vandino129 March 2006
No matter how awful a film may be there will always be fans extolling its virtues on IMDb. In fact, to read reviews on IMDb is fascinating because almost every one has some viewer claiming it's either the greatest work of art they've ever witnessed, or the most useless dreck they've ever sat through, and oftentimes it's the same film being reviewed! Case in point, "Reflections of Evil." This grotesque home movie actually has champions, believe it or not. It seems that even a movie that is supremely tedious, wretchedly-filmed, non-acted, gross, badly written and directed, can still find a fan base as long as it's weird. It's the Andy Warhol-effect. He once made a film 24 hours long, hours of which entailed a camera trained on a man while he slept. Weird idea, therefore I'm sure even it would find supporters in this forum.

But really, c'mon: "Evil" is Reflections of Garbage. It's a dumpster of old footage and cheap film stock, used to present a story about a shambling, elephantine wacko who spends most of his time on camera wandering and eating... and wandering... and eating. Interspersed with this is some friend of the director being filmed prancing around various L.A. locations in a nightgown with a shell-shocked look on her face. The filmmaker, presumably gaining financing through a trust fund, relative's will, or some other sudden source, appears to have no idea what to do with the opportunity, therefore the "film" he makes go everywhere and nowhere. It's a made-up muddle.

But, I will say a few things in its favor, even though it's on a historical basis rather than the quality of the film. It does use extensive street locations in Los Angeles. When this stuff is seen twenty-or-so years from now it will be interesting, nostalgia-wise. As is, in reverse, the cobbled footage from ABC television that features promos from the summer of 1969. Then there is the dead-on 1971 flashback at Universal Studios with a good Spielberg impersonator and a correct time reference (He WAS making 'Something Evil' at the time, as shown). And the promo steal of Tony Curtis talking about Charles Bronson but being dubbed to say "Packard" is straight -out pirate film-making. But to relay this collage content is to hint that there is something worthwhile in this mishmash. There isn't.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Challenging to sit through all in one go, but worthy...
the_raven725 May 2003
There's been a huge cinematic backlash against Gee-Dubyah-Bee's "war of stupidity"... errr... I mean "war on terrorism" in the past couple of years, led by "Bowling for Columbine" and other like-minded docos. Of course there's nothing more appealing than watching the little man stick it to Uncle Sam, but this little curiosity does it in such a way as to leave its audience dazed and confused, and is a fictional account (supposedly) to boot.

Unable to peddle his watches on the pavement, a fat, middle-aged little-boy-lost (in all the worst senses of that phrase!!) tries to scratch out a living in a world that has all but forgotten him and glossed over atrocities of the past. No one is interested, and when he attempts to give away his merchandise he is almost killed for his philanthropy. (Strangely, art seems to imitate life here, as this is also the story of the distribution of this film - apart from a couple of screenings to a small handful of paying customers at underground festivals, it has been peddled by its director/star, Damon Packard, to an exceedingly disinterested world, and is now being given away free to any and all takers (how I received my copy - I'm a sucker for free stuff!!), receiving various terse responses.) His whining mother all but disowns him over an eating disorder and he wanders the streets trying to avoid altercations with police, dogs, hollywood mainstream pap, guns, the memory of Vietnam, racism... actually the list of themes here is so large it amounts to a state of paranoia almost unparalleled in cinema history.

There's a subplot in which his sister runs through high-rise estates and theme-parks, looking like a reject from a Rollin or Argento flick and suffering from PCP flashbacks. Steven Spielberg (not the man himself of course, but a rather convincing(ish) actor) even makes an appearance at one point, early in his career, and comes across as a demented hack; which, of course we all, lovingly, know him to be... :)

Very little cohesive narrative is evident throughout and, in true b-movie tradition, all dialogue has been dubbed in post-production... badly. What begins as a mildly irritating whine however soon becomes a grating annoyance whenever anyone opens their mouth or even moves. Some of the sound is completely overdone to point up the comedy (some nice Edith Massey-esque gross-out moments for instance), but other times it just gets in the way of the film - the foley "artists" must have had a field day with the creepy THX surround sound capabilities!! Picture quality makes it look like a reject 70s drive-in flick, and indeed there are some moments where that is appropriate (like the welcome splicing of clips from ABC specials, the gloriously lurid intro and outro sequences with Tony Curtis, s****y trailers and the "Golden Guru" flashback), however the majority is just plain hard to look at. There is, however some great "geurilla news" style editing late in the piece and a warped journey that looks like the cameraman was handed a night-vision camera, some lysergic and told "just follow me", as the director/star battles his way through roller-coasters, big screen Hollywood misadventures and even Schindler's List: The Ride!! in his search for self-fulfilment.

The film's publicity states that it is "something to bring JOY and LOVE and HAPPINESS... in a time of apathy and dysphoric gloom...," but really only seems to become the thing that it hates most in its apparent anger at "issues". Film ends up feeling like a personal rant from a director who has "potential" (as can be evidenced by the genre stylings in the scant previews/special features), but is still a great wee piece of (post-post-??)modern exploitation that deserves to be seen by those of us who like their films a little (or even a lot) off-centre and not spoonfed.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Amazing
plstly30 June 2007
"Reflections of Evil" is quite a roller coaster ride, particularly when it reaches the summits of it's twisty, winding course. I for one will never forget the scene in which a nasty cop harasses the main character (played by director Damon Packard). As for Packard's willingness to let dogs actually attack him like he was a side of beef, well if that isn't suffering for your art then I don't know what is.

Also amusing and kind of subversive is how they ducked shooting permits to film in theme park rides. The actors perform among real patrons who are waiting in line unaware they're now participating in a movie.

This is a raw, dreamy/nightmarish film that's certainly a unique experience to watch. I won't soon forget it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Odd and interesting low-budget flick
DJJOEINC27 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Reflections of Evil- a mesmerizing & disjointed journey that follows a frustrated and mentally disturbed watchseller ply his trade in LA.This movie will not be for everybody- but it hooked me from the beginning- the sound editing is off kilter but perfect for the dementia of the lead character.This film was made on a shoestring- most of the shots were stolen on the streets of LA and @ Universal Studios.At times the movie felt like a 70s horror flick mixed with a 60s acid trip with random bumfights thrown in-bizarre stuff like a Klaus Kinski ride at an amusement park and the ominpresent Miss Congeniality posters in the background of homeless folks struggling to survive. B+
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
it is very rare to find a movie that is not boring...
theosvj9 November 2005
I have stopped watching commercial movies since 2000 more or less. I got tired of repetitive patterns, clichés and "twists" that dominate most contemporary film making. Yet when I first accidentally entered a screen showing Packard's work, I was blown away forever! It felt like there was still life on earth. Some people somewhere on the planet still making honest cinema. The experience was so intense That I didn't manage to see all of it.I had to get out for a breath. a few scenes were more than enough to rearrange my brain structure and gain courage and hope for my own artwork. a bold effort to give form and shape to abstract thinking/emotions/feelings , an effort to achieve what cannot be told, what most fear to accept. Packard is a modern age hero, I revisit his work frequently and show it to my students. I recommend the film to everyone with knowledge of cinema history.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Amazing movie, watch at your own peril
Muhhh18 August 2015
Amazing movie...it's pretty much indescribable. A combination of slapstick, horror, comedy, weirdness...even the funny parts are dark as hell. It's an assault on the senses, a constant, loud, crazy, violent, hilarious assault. But at the same time, it's some weird commentary on society, but I'll be danged if I can tell exactly what it is.

I give it 9 out of 10 simply because every scene is three times longer than it needs to be...but at the same time, that gives the movie its hypnotic quality. It's pretty much three types of scenes repeated over and over, and the scenes of Bob wandering through the hostile landscape of LA are masterpieces.

See this movie, but be warned...it's only for those who can take the weirdest of the weird.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Rare Film of Singular Brilliance.
mdgarmager13 December 2009
Film maker Damon Packard is an enigma. Or, at least he is to me. I have tried to figure him out, get into his mind, understand his intentions... Is he a serious artist, or is he just screwing with our minds? Is he really obsessed with the actors, directors, producers, and films that he showcases and borrows from in his work? Does Damon Packard even exist? I think he does, though it is hard to believe that a man, who may just be the Orson Wells of this generation, is a living breathing mortal human being.

I have seen 4 or 5 Damon Packard films, each one a good film, meriting at least one viewing. But, it's Reflections of Evil that affected me the most. I have watched it in its entirety twice and I am convinced that it may be one of the greatest films of all time. Yes, you read that right.

How does one gauge a film's greatness? Is it the cinematography, directing, acting, sound score, set design? Yes, all of those things, or just one of those things, if executed in a superlative fashion, can make a film that belongs among the pantheon of great film art. Reflections of Evil has all of the components that make a great film. However, on these merits alone, the film would be nothing more than a mildly amusing curiosity. What fires Reflections of Evil into the stratosphere and beyond is its ability to entertain and fascinate the viewer completely and utterly. There isn't a single frame of this film that doesn't mystify and dazzle. It is so "out there", so hilarious, so entertaining, and so evocative. It's a cosmic, mind-blowing, out-of-body, magical experience, and it's not to be missed!

Please do yourself a favor and purchase a copy directly from Mr. Packard. He'd appreciate it. He deserves the audience and the money.

www.damonpackard.com
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I cant get it out of my head
Brian Patrick28 January 2007
It's one of those things that causes me to laugh out loud at any time on any given day. It has infected me. I will never be the same. Of all the movies I have seen this one has affected me the most. I'll never listen to the carpenters in the same way. Whoever Damon Packard is I want to thank you for making a film that continues to entertain me on a daily basis. The world has changed. Night Gallery has got nothing on you. I want to put this film on every car windshield in every church, schoolyard and agency in town. I wish it were something that could actually air on TV but... We all know that is not going to happen anytime soon. I'm not sure if its the fact I grew up in L.A. and know almost every location this was filmed or I'm a glutton for punishment but I don't mind this film at all. In fact the E.T. ride is one of my favorite filmed sequences of all time.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A rare bit of Pure Genius
catdaddy2187017 November 2007
How often can a writer...a poet...a painter or musician bring to there mind's foreground the very essence of the demons that haunt them? Often enough, I suppose, but to bring those nightmares to life through their chosen medium, and then to express them to an audience is, in my view, rarely accomplished. Now, as if that wasn't enough, imagine the work of art in film form, and imagine it's content forcing you to hold your sides from tearing open with laughter whilst your simultaneously lead down the main characters bleak and tormented life.

Damon Packard is a true artist. A Genius. A master of the craft of storytelling and film making. He is fearless frame by frame, from the opening titles to the end credits. This film should win an Academy Award and be taught in film school. SEE THIS FILM, BUY IT IF YOU HAVE TO!!!!! It's one of the most important films of our times.

Sincerely Steven Spielberg Director
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
hello there, how are you?
xaing921 January 2004
I found this movie on here (IMDB) by sheer accident and went ahead and bought it, because I suppose I am impulsive. And also because I thought it sounded odd. And I like odd crap. I guess. Anyways, I watched it and I pretty much liked it. It is indeed odd. I guess my favorite parts are the first 20 minutes and the Spielberg segment. I like how the big, fat guy falls on the pavemnt a lot for no particular reason. It's Great! -Thomas Hasselbach II
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR
ngwttintl29 May 2003
I will not write a complete summary because I'm terrible at such things. This film felt very important when I viewed it. Humor and terror are balanced brilliantly from beginning to end. When the film began I thought 'there's no way this could keep it's pacing until the end.' I was wrong, it does, and it also takes you into unpredictable territories along the way. Damon Packard is very in tune with

what makes films so great. I was told when someone gave me a dvd of this film that Packard funded the entire project with a trust fund of some sort. Money well spent!!!! There is no way anybody in Hollywood would touch subject matter as awesome as this. One would have to fund it completely independently. I can't wait to see his next film.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I'm speechless
somesunnyday9 February 2011
I'm not going to attempt to explain the plot. Plot is really irrelevant when describing this film. It's an experience, an inexplicable dark feeling just below the surface of consciousness. The thoughts and actions of the main protagonist, although on the surface seem odd, are strangely logical and coherent in the bizarre environment in which he inhabits. The streets are recognisable as L.A. but light, sounds and characters he comes into contact with are surreal. It's a perpetual state of dusk all the time and something sinister is brewing beneath the surface. The main character's strange idiosyncratic behaviour somehow fits in with his environment and as a result seems normal, like the strange happenings in a dream that seem perfectly logical at the time until you wake up and realise their incongruity.

I'm not sure exactly the message or meaning Damon Packard is trying to communicate and I don't really care. All I know is, I dig it...
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A masterpiece unlike anything you will ever see!
udar5526 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
The plot in a nutshell - Julie (Nicole Vanderhoff) dies of a PCP overdose in the 1970s following a trip to Universal Studios. Her soul then wanders Los Angeles looking for Bob (writer-director Damon Packard), her younger brother who is now a crazy 35-year-old street urchin who is dying from his addiction to sugar. Sounds simple right? Well, that is like telling someone the plot to TETSUO is about a guy who inserts a metal pipe into his leg and gets hit by a car. This is a full blown surreal nightmare and probably the closest anyone has come to translating schizophrenia to film. Packard frames the film as if it is an ABC Movie of the Week and (in the uncut form) works in all of his copy-written obsessions including E.T., Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, John Ashcroft, one of the new STAR WARS flicks and even THE DEVIL'S RAIN. Packard uses a variety of elements (8mm, 16mm, digital) to convey all this and it works perfectly. The scene set in Universal's E.T. rides is really insane (have I used that enough) and Packard's unauthorized filming apparently got him banned from Universal for life. There are tons of seemingly unscripted confrontations on the street and I'd say Packard's biggest accomplishment is that you can't tell what is real or fake in this film. Featuring an intro by a dubbed Tony Curtis and Sage Stallone as Dan August (!).
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Destined to be remembered
knele5 June 2008
That's right. One day, when all the drivel that currently preoccupies so-called movie fans has passed into the obscurity it deserves, "Reflections of Evil" will still have a life. Weird kids -- i.e., future artists -- will turn to it for inspiration. Scholars -- those few that exist -- will study it for the insight it provides into hyper-paranoiac America at the turn of the 21st century. Steven Spielberg should count his lucky stars that "Reflections of Evil" exists. Without it, he'd have no legacy whatsoever. But because he was satirized by Damon Packard (who's weirdly a Spielberg admirer), future generations will know him as the corporate shill he was, churning out movie after movie that told his contemporaries absolutely nothing about the times in which they lived, and becoming a billionaire in the process. Spielberg is the Thomas Kinkade of circa-2000 film-making, and Damon Packard the Heironymus Bosch. Alas, he doesn't know it, but the limited intelligentsia of the future will.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the most incendiary films ever made
briggsgarland10 May 2010
I'll start this review off by saying that Reflections of Evil has had a spot in my top 5 favorite films since its release and judging by the ratings it has received thus far, it's clear that people either don't like or don't get this film.

This doesn't come as a huge surprise as this is a very tough film to understand and I don't think it's possible to like it without understanding it. Damon Packard has crafted a film that not only critiques Hollywood film but Western hegemony as a whole. The reason why Reflections is unjustly written off as repulsive, amateurish trash is because this critique comes across in both the content and style of film.

What better way to critique Hollywood film-making than by creating something that is its ideological and stylistic opposite? Every ridiculous scene, disgusting moment, strange character and seemingly sloppy effect is intentional. One needs only to refer to the beautiful, dream-like sequences of Julie running along in her nightgown to demonstrate Packard's technical abilities.

Packard's co-opting of footage from old films and his guerrilla techniques (actually taping parts of LOTR in a movie theater and illegally filming himself on the ET ride at Universal Studios) give his work a quality that transcends traditional notions of narrative film-making and is at times more akin to experimental video and performance art. Ryan Trecartin, a celebrated video artist and recipient of the Guggenheim's "Best New Artist" award in 2009 is a perfect comparison with his use of a rough, amateur video aesthetic and twisted, monstrous caricatures.

Each time I watch Reflections of Evil it's as insane and powerful as the very first time and while it's unfortunate that Damon Packard has not been able to find the financial backing to direct another feature, perhaps this negative reception is the fullest realization of the film's message.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews