IMDb > Wasabi Tuna (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Wasabi Tuna
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Wasabi Tuna More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

funny, campy destined for guilty pleasure status!

Author: jayenron from los angeles
5 November 2003

This is one of those movies that you have to just go and enjoy the ride..a wild romp about a group of pals who end up being chased by cops, drag queens and gangsters as they attempt to make it to the annual West Hollywood Halloween parade..lots of silliness, but fun esp. for a midnite movie. Anna Nicole Smith is a hoot as herself.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

screwball comedy with punchy one liners

10/10
Author: superdave85 from United States
23 June 2006

I saw the film when it played in theaters, I thought it was actually funny in a madcap screwball kind of way. Particularly, I found Alanna Ubach both charming and enchanting. Tim Meadows was great as well (much better than he was in The Cookout) and the film has a great supporting cast of faces you will recognize. I've read some of the comments on here and I think some of the other viewers didn't take the film for what it is: light fluff meant to entertain, not socially relevant. But that's my two cents. By the way, this is the first time in a long time where I've seen something that has Anna Nicole Smith in it where she's actually entertaining, and self deprecating, not irritating.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

future cult classic

Author: sarah from Los Angeles
4 November 2003

There's definately a lot going on in this film and I think it works brilliantly. They've managed to show/spoof all of the different lifestyles that make up Los Angeles from Drag Queens to Gangsters. Its entertaining and sure to have cult status in years to come.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

BLECH!

2/10
Author: BoyMikey from LA, CA
4 October 2003

A lot of talented actors are wasted in this amateur piece of film making. Poorly edited to the point of you do not know what the Hell is going on and packed with enough over the top stereotypes to kick up the volume to deafening. There is no other word for this than BLECH! Too bad as it had possibilities in the hands of people who knew what the Hell they were doing. It wastes some great performances by Antonio Sabato, Guillermo Diaz, Jason London, Jessica Lugo and Alanna Ubach. Barney Cheng should be ashamed of his work in the film, it nearly undermines Jason London's who does a great job playing his Boyfriend. Let's not forget Anna Nicole...she plays herself and the task proves too much, she has zero comic timing...or maybe it was the result of bad editing. A film school student could have done better at directing, writing and editing than the behind the scenes people on this disaster!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Wacked out fun!!!

8/10
Author: buccanearsfan from San Diego, CA
7 June 2005

This is a completely goofy comedy. A fun film that is not serious at all. Frankly it's the best stuff I've seen from Tim Meadows in a long time and I have to admit...I love Alanna Ubach!! She is beautiful and one heck of an actress. (check out Freeway -- she is great in that). Did I say she is beautiful?? She looks fabulous in this film (especially when she does the Breakfast at Tiffany's look).

Plus Antonio Sabato, Jr. is funny, there are three Ninja chicks, a midget and Anna Nicole....What else could you want? If you want to see something goofy and funny then check this film out. Jason London and Barney Cheng play good femme gay males and I think that this and D.E.B.S. would be a great double feature!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Hollwood Hails the Next Great Writer Producer !!!

Author: featureprod from Los Angeles
16 July 2004

Celia Fox Hollywood's new "It Girl" has truly done it with the brilliance of her new feature Wasabi Tuna. Seldom has a first feature given us a writer / producer of this magnitude, talent and vision. Wasabi Tuna is pure camp at it's finest. A virtual laugh riot from the opening frame, with characters and dialogue surpassing the work of Peters, Brooks, and countless more, it is safe to say that we have welcomed a new era in comedy. With the amount of buzz this film generated at Cannes (even surpassing the

latest Michael Moore offering in many eyes on the panel) we can only look

forward to the sophomore effort from Ms. Fox rumored to be an action / comedy with top liners Brad Pitt and Catherine Zeta Jones already expressing interest. Wasabi Tuna 's laughs are bigger than Brando!!.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Saw a snippet at Cannes..looks pretty good!

10/10
Author: AspiringAnything from New York City
26 May 2004

I was at Cannes last week when I saw a fifteen minute snippet of "Wasabi Tuna." It really was funny. I didn't even hear about it until I heard Quentin Tarrentino talking about it. He kept talking about the dialogue and how it is one of the best descriptions of Hollywood that he has ever seen.

From his "word of mouth" alone I had to see it! I went to a screening and it was packed. Everyone was laughing. It has hysterical dialogue and characters. Tim Meadows follows up a great role in "Mean Girls" with "Wasabi Tuna." I never really saw any of Antonio Sabato Jr's work before this, and in "Wasabi Tuna" he was classic. Anna Nicole Smith clearly has a great since of humor and it really shows in this movie. The way she mocks herself is priceless! The supporting cast really helps this movie too. It is an ensemble cast that really works!

I was at Cannes all week and this film looks to be the most promising. After hearing what Quentin had to say about it, which I believe his words were, "f*cking amazing dialogue, man!" It is a must-see in my eyes! If the King of Dialogue gives the approval, then it must be a hit!

Bravo to the writer/producer Celia Fox, who might I add has a pretty hot headshot on her IMDb page! This movie will live on for a while! I cannot wait until it gets a wider release so I can see it in it's entirety! I can already see the cult-following that this movie will adore for years to come!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

This flick is an instant classic!

10/10
Author: ClassyClown from Hollywood
19 May 2004

Wasabi tuna is the best comedy out there now! It runs a lot like a classic John Waters flick, ie. "Pink Flamingos." This Celia Fox lady is doing for West Hollywood what John Waters does for Baltimore.

The characters in this movie are great. In fact, all the actors in this movie except for Anna Nicole put in their best work. Jason London finally showed some range. I haven't seen him act since Dazed and Confused. Not to mention Antonio Sabato,Jr. He's not just a pretty face anymore!

I was lucky to see this flick in Hollywood during an exclusive run. I saw on the website that it was opening up wider in July. So if you are in any major cities this summer definitely check it out! Also the website is cool!

It has a game and the extended trailer.

"I gots to see that sh*t again!"

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

"Citizen Kane" has nothing on "Wasabi Tuna"

Author: WasabiTunaFan from Los Angeles
12 July 2004

I was fortunate enough to have had dinner was some of the biggest names in the business recently. Francis Ford Coppola, Steven Spielberg, Spike Lee and McG were all in attendance. The topic? "Wasabi Tuna". All of us had seen the 15 minute snippet recently showcased at Cannes. We all agreed it was a shame that the clip had not received the Palm D'Orr as it was far superior to that "Farenheit 9/11" nonsense. Francis, probably best known for his "Godfather" trilogy has decided to get out of the movie biz as he could not do any better than "Wasabi". "The way the brilliant Fox combined gay stereotypes with gangster humor cannot be matched" he said. Steven chimed in, "I thought I had portrayed the struggle of a people well in "Schindler's List", but Fox's brilliant dialogue of east LA gangsters makes my film look amateurish". Spike and McG then got into an argument over which action sequence (the repeated asian gymnastics scene or the hilarious drive-by scene) was the new standard in action comedy film. Steven was able to end the argument by declaring that no film before or after will ever be as amazingly written or acted as "Wasabi Tuna". McG then admitted he was considering cribbing a few of the camera moves for his next film. If you see only one film this year, you have to see "Wasabi Tuna". It is the most talked about film of the year (even Quentin Tarantino couldn't stop talking about it). Critics have praised it, and I have even heard reports of people seeing it up to 10 times in a row. Watch out Academy Awards...here comes "Wasabi Tuna"!

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history