The 32nd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards (1980)

TV Special
Your rating:
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Ratings: 7.2/10 from 9 users  
Reviews: write review

Add a Plot


0Check in

Editors' Spotlight

IMDb Picks: February

IMDb's editors share the movies and TV shows they are excited to see in February.

Related Items

Connect with IMDb

Share this Rating

Title: The 32nd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards (1980– )

The 32nd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards (1980– ) on IMDb 7.2/10

Want to share IMDb's rating on your own site? Use the HTML below.

Take The Quiz!

Test your knowledge of The 32nd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards.


Credited cast:
Himself - Co-Host
Rhonda Bates ...
Herself - Presenter
Himself - Winner: Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or a Special
Himself - Co-Host
Peggy Fleming ...
Herself - Presenter
David Gerber ...
Himself - Presenter
Himself - Presenter
Jayne Kennedy ...
Herself - Presenter
Herself - Presenter
Herself - Presenter
Himself - Presenter
Himself - Presenter
Brandon Stoddard ...
Himself - Presenter


Add Full Plot | Add Synopsis





Release Date:

7 September 1980 (USA)  »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Sound Mix:


See  »

Did You Know?


The awards ceremony took place during an actors' strike. Although the Emmy show was not a party in the labor dispute, the actors' unions decided to boycott the ceremony (with participation up to individual members) as a public show of unity. Dick Clark and Steve Allen stepped in as hosts at the last minute to replace Bob Newhart, Michael Landon and Lee Remick, and most of the presenters were television executives and other non-actors. None of the 52 acting nominees attended the show, with the sole exception of Powers Boothe - who won a Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or a Special Emmy in an upset and went on stage to an ovation from the appreciative crowd in the partially empty auditorium. Boothe had planned not to attend, but changed his mind late that afternoon. See more »


Steve Allen: Thank you very much, Tommy Smothers. We will see you in another twelve years.
See more »


Followed by The 49th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards (1997) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

Message Boards

Contribute to This Page