IMDb > "Teen Titans" (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Teen Titans"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Teen Titans" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 68 reviews in total 

58 out of 67 people found the following review useful:

The best US cartoon

Author: Huntress from Estonia
20 April 2005

The title pretty much sums up my opinion, really... I've never cared much of American cartoons. Being a hopeless anime fan, everything coming from other countries from Japan usually seems too flat and boring for me. But the Teen Titans -are- different. Yes, they did use a lot of typical anime effects in that cartoon (huge surprised eyes, sweat drops etc etc) but that's what makes the show so great, adding it some depth and detail.

And the characters. Each of them is a unique personality. Always having these typical everyday quarrels, they still manage to work as a team when it comes to saving the world and that happens a lot.

Robin: probably even my least favorite character. Always with the "Titans, trouble!", being the boss and having the identity crisis about him being a bit like Slade. But hey, someone has to lead that bunch, otherwise there'd be too much video games and a lot less saving the world.

Starfire: the naive, funny, yet very powerful one. She may seem like an airhead but actually she just doesn't mix well with Earth's customs.

Cyborg: all superhero teams must have someone who takes care of all the electronic gadgets. Heck, Cy -is- an electronic gadget...

Raven: actually the most powerful of the Titans. All episodes that have focused on her clearly show that she could easily destroy the whole world if she wanted to. Could Robin do that? Or Cyborg or Beastboy? Don't think so. But being able to control her powers and despite being so much different than the rest, still fitting in and fighting by their side, she's definitely my favorite character.

Beastboy: kinda misunderstood, but the show would be a lot more boring without him. Honestly, he's the main joker in the gang (and Raven with her constant sarcasm is up next).

In short: thumbs up. 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

I thought it was going to be dumb but.......................

Author: dhvidrine-movie from America
26 November 2003

It has now became one of my favorite American shows! I've grown tired of Justice League and Spiderman. I longed for something better. When I saw the previews of Teen Titans I thought it was a lame rip off of Jap anime. I watched the premere of TT on Saturday and loved it! And I wanted more! It was so hilarious. Five superheros who live in obvious hideout which is more dirty than Spongebob's Squarepant's pineapple (note the mountains of dirty dishes in their kitchen) Some diehard anime fans dissed it because of it's overused Jap sight gags but I found it hilarious. Plus it was funny that most of the background music sounded like you would hear in a grocery store. I recently found out that a 3rd and 4th season is in the works. Thanks Cartoon Network!

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

5 out of 5 stars

10/10
Author: from Hong Kong
13 March 2005

As much as I like Justice League,I was disappointed when I saw the preview thinking it was going to be another Justice League.However,I did some research and found the characters backgrounds very interesting.What caught my attention was the next preview of Teen Titans which showed some anime style happening so I thought,why not.After watching Final Exam(premiere of TT)I was really happy I gave Teen Titans a chance because the premiere really captured the characters personalities and the voices for each character are very talented.

I like the fact that Marv Wolfman(creator of the series) made Robin the leader to show how strong of a leader and a friend he makes now that he's on his own without Batman.The other Teen Titans are also very enjoyable and easy for people especially teens and kids to relate to.This series is quite impressive because it not only appeals to younger audiences but also appeals to older audiences.

While most episodes are filled with high comedy,some episodes can be very dramatic.Personally,this series helps viewers see not even heroes/heroines are completely invincible but you don't have to have powers or be a certain age to be a hero/heroine.The writers of most episodes send a message to viewers saying even if these teenagers don't go to school,have parents and have total independence,this young team of heroes still has to go through the same problems regular teens have to face.Throughout the series,the writers create episodes based on the characters and their origins,the bonds between the teammates growing stronger or just random yet enjoyable hilarity.This must be one of Cartoon Networks' best series.Great storyboarding,great music and great plot.I'd like to rate this 5 out of 5 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

DC Comics makes a younger superhero team

Author: SonicStuart from Kansas City, MO
25 August 2004

Teen Titans is a team of young teenaged superheroes led by Robin from Batman. The other team members of the Teen Titans are Raven, Cyborg, Star Fire and Beast Boy. They live in a large tower in the shape of a T that they call the Titan Tower and these heroes have no secret identities and they have no school because they are just superheroes! Together they must go up against their arch nemesis, Slade and his other evil members. Slade is the most bad ass villain I have ever seen and his plans are just so evil and Ron Perlman does a perfect job of playing the voice of Slade! I think this superhero team is pretty cool! My favorite character is probably Robin because he has cool gadgets and plus his martial arts moves are tight! This series premiered on Cartoon Network July 2003 and it's also on Kids WB but mostly on Cartoon Network.

User Rating: 10/10

BOTTOM LINE: COOL!

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Good Show

Author: vanillastar86 from United States
12 May 2005

Well, mainly I just wanted to say the I think that this is a good show. As the series go on you DO learn raven, starfire, and cyborg's stories. I think people just mainly assume where Robin came from and we already know his story. If you keep to the series, you learn more little by little. Sometimes the comedy does get a little stale, but I really love the animation, and I hate how people get annoyed about the Anime factor. So what if it borrowed a little anime? There's nothing wrong with that. Maybe the animation isn't the most complex in the world but I think its really clean and clear, and A LOT better than most of the animation today. The way the writers portrayed the characters was right on.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Great stuff.

Author: Joel (Tenchi64589@aol.com) from Flower Mound, Texas
11 October 2003

Man, the first time I saw the promos for this, I thought this was gonna suck... good thing I checked it out anyway and found out that it was very well done.

By the way, I'm a supporter of the Robin/Starfire relationship tie-in... as I'm sure everyone's aware of all the different titan relationship tie-ins.

The characters are voiced very well, and the American/Japanese animation blend does wonders for this show.

If it's good enough to last a few more seasons, I'm gonna check that out.

This series is a 10 as far as I go.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

DC's best animated series in years...

Author: crowrobot
18 August 2005

OK, let's face it: Superhero cartoons have almost gone the way of the dodo. Sure, we've still got 'Justice League', but other than that, we've got nothing. Except, that is, 'Teen Titans'. 'Teen Titans' is DC Comics's best animated TV show in years. It's simultaneously thrilling, dramatic, weird, and utterly hilarious. I love it.

For all of you die-hard geeks who loved the old comic book (which, to me, was kinda crappy), there's some changes in the show from the comic. First and foremost, the characters are younger. In the comic, they were more like college students than 'teens'. Here, they ARE teens. They look younger, and they certainly sound younger. For me, this is a plus. Also, it's less disturbing to see Starfire with an outfit that actually covers her whole chest; seriously, that outfit in the comic was kinda creepy.

Anyway... This show "gets" these characters. From the utter goofiness of Beast Boy (who is even more goofy in his latest incarnation), to the gut-busting naivete of Starfire, to the utter cool that is Cyborg, to straitlaced and serious Robin, and last but not least the new and improved Raven. Raven is tougher in this series, and her deadpan delivery is often hysterical. I LOVE deadpan Goths! The action is often thrilling, and a lot is clearly inspired by anime. The humor... oh, where to begin with the humor. The writers of this show have the most bizarre sense of humor I've ever seen. The jokes range from movie references, character arguments (a highlight of the show), and... some really strange and weird stuff that you usually don't get away with on Cartoon Network. The voice cast is excellent, and their interplay is fun to watch.

'Teen Titans' just plain rocks. I love this show.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

If you like comics and anime this your show

Author: Water_Spirit_15 from Sicklerville, New Jersey
29 April 2005

This show is something that a lot of people would like to see; With all the character from the comics adapted into this generation of crime fighters. I think how they converted all the crazy plots and materials from the comics is intriguing being the fact that this is a children's show. It might not be a justice league but it has it's own vibe. Thinking that this show would only stay on for one season i was wrong, i wouldn't be surprised if they even made a movie out of this. For all the people who want to see this try to watch it from the key episodes in order to feel that vibe too. I have no doubt that this is one of the best action cartoons i've ever watch plus it has that catchy theme song.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

It's Rookie Show-time!!

Author: goldfairy1 from Quebec, Canada
28 November 2003

Hi, I'll start by saying that most people will not like this series, though I became a very big fan.

What got me hooked on it was the dynamics of the characters, neither too light, like most cartoons, nor too dark-ish like the New Batman/Superman adventures or Batman Beyond.

It is risky working with such heroes-to-be. One, we are used to see them (especially Robin) as side-kicks and two, because the audience is used to black or white situations. Here, we have a combination of serious/emotionally intense situations and everyday/humorous things.

I don't think it's a bad thing, because we have the chance to see children dealing with grown up situations... therefor teenagers. It is unlike most shows who either make kids/teens act stupid, denigrating them, or give them too much maturity.

A lot of critics I read were about the "japanese" style of drawing... I disagree. Giving it an "Anime" style was, too me, a small sacrifice for the quality of the picture. I'm sorry to say it, but most T.V. cartoons entirely produced in the U.S. have a lower degree of drawings.

On the other side, the irregularity in the plot is disappointing. It looks like they are still looking for the definite style they'll give to the series. It made me cringe more than once.

My favorite episodes were Apprentice part I and II, and Masks. They are the "darkest" episodes and are much like Batman episodes (also have a lot of references to it)...

Rumor has it, there will be two other seasons of the show. What I hope is that we will be able to see the characters' evolution as heroes.

So, basically a good show, unusual but good.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

It's good

Author: bbethel66 from Buffalo, NY
24 June 2004

Teen Titans is yet another superhero show based from the comic books. I'm not familiar with the comic book series, but this show is probably much better than they've ever been.

This show is funny, because it tries to translate an American superhero team into an animated show heavily inspired by the current anime trend. A lot of superhero shows today are doing that, and it's usually quite pathetic. But in this case, that's what makes this show fun to watch. Their take on the anime style is very funny. Most of the episodes are fairly interesting, too.

Teen Titans is one of the few better shows on Cartoon Network these days. This is one of the few superhero shows that I can watch, especially when nothing else is on.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history