IMDb > Love Don't Cost a Thing (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Love Don't Cost a Thing
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Love Don't Cost a Thing More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 43 reviews in total 

11 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

It was good.

6/10
Author: jwhale9382 from Maryland
10 August 2005

I liked it. It was nothing special, but I liked it. It was a good story about issues that most teens deal with everyday. And it was funny.

In the movie, Alvin (Cannon) is a nobody who wants to be a popular somebody. As somebody who once wished he could be more popular in high school, I completely understand where Alvin was coming from. So when popular cheerleader, Paris (Milian) gets into a jam, Alvin offers to help her if she pretends to be his girlfriend.

But Alvin soon finds out that there's more to popularity than he realized. As Paris puts it, "Popularity is like a job" and you have to "work" to keep up with everyone else. In the end, Alvin learns that it's far more rewarding to just be himself. (There's a cliché we never get tired of hearing.)

I thought the acting in the movie was great. Nick, Christina and the rest of the cast were believable in their roles, but still managed to stay funny. I especially liked Steve Harvey, playing Nick Cannon's 'Stuck in the 70's' dad.

This movie may not be 10/10 great, but if you're looking for a good date movie, you may want to consider this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

It may not cost a thing, but you'd have to *pay* me to re-watch a mere second of this

1/10
Author: Grann-Bach (Grann-Bach@jubii.dk) from Denmark
12 September 2009

I have not had any exposure to the original, though there is no doubt in my mind that it is superior, simply because the opposite would not seem possible. Beyond all else, I feel a great deal of sympathy for everyone who had anything to do with this, and anyone who has tried to fix their eyes upon a screen that was showing it. I don't know where this went wrong. Maybe it was a bad idea to hire some actress to write and helm a flick. I honestly don't know if Milian can act, since no one in this appear to have even a smidgen of a hint of talent in the craft, and it may, at least partially, be related to the direction. Heck, not everything in this is awful. It's just that the potency of the "suck" overpowers what relatively little of this that doesn't blow. This is a predictable, tasteless, embarrassing excuse for a romantic teen sex romp. Nobody gets through with their dignity intact. The barrier between the popular kids and the ones not considered "cool" is ridiculously excessive in this, and you find yourself not believing that much of anything that occurs in this could happen in any conceivable universe. This never made me laugh. The "humor" is forced and tries way too hard. Stooping to the lowest common denominator seldom looks *quite* this ugly. The plot slowly unfolds between this cast of caricatures, with nigh a single surprise along the way. There's some eye-candy in this. A bit of the music is OK. I recommend this solely to people who watch all they can get near of this genre of… *sigh*… movie. 1/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

OK for a remake but charmless

6/10
Author: crimson_n_clover from United States
2 June 2008

I don't know what the original poster is talking about.This movie is nothing like "Drive Me Crazy" and is a scene by scene copy of the original source "Can't Buy Me Love".I thought it was a cute remake but loses some of the charm from the original.For one Nick Cannon never seemed close to his nerd buddies like Patrick Dempsey did.The end was rushed.I was crying with Patrick's character when the entire school shut him out but then he stood up to the bully who had been a good friend of his once.This movie was simply missing the charm of the first one.The girl that Alvin like was a pain to me.I couldn't see why he liked her but the girlfriend in the first one played the role better.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Good But Not Good Enough

3/10
Author: fhhs_band07 from United States
15 June 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie was okay but not the best. To me it was a crappy remake of Can't Buy Me Love staring Grey's Anatomy Patrick Dempsey. It did have it's funny moments but overall it stinks. Basically dorky boy meets cool girl, cool girl has big problem, dorky boy will do anything to be with cool girl, dorky boy helps cool girl out, cool girl is grateful, dorky boy wants something in return, cool girl is hesitant but agrees to go out with dorky boy, cool girl gets to know dorky boy and likes dorky boy, dorky boy becomes popular and doesn't need cool girl anymore, cool girl becomes upset and bust dorky boy out, dorky boy goes back to being unpopular, cool girl still likes dorky boy, they fall in love blah blah blah

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

"Love doesn't cost a thing," except your dignity and maybe 100 minutes of your life

5/10
Author: dee.reid from United States
10 January 2005

I'll be fair in saying that I didn't have high hopes for Troy Beyer's "Love Don't Cost A Thing," a movie that stars Nick Cannon and singer Christina Milian in an "urbanized" remake of the 1987 romantic comedy, "Can't Buy Me Love." Original "Can't Buy Me Love" scriptwriter Michael Swerdlick contributes to Beyer's remake script, which features Cannon and Milian in the roles of the geek and the beauty, two roles made famous in 1987 by Patrick Dempsey and Amanda Petersen.

Cannon plays Alvin Johnson a.k.a. "Pool Boy" (he gets his name because he cleans people's swimming pools) and Milian plays Paris Morgan, the most popular girl in school. Alvin is a bit of an automotive genius, if nothing else, since he's trying to win a scholarship to a tech school with the high-tech engine that he and his friends have constructed.

Alvin is tired of being made fun of by the popular kids and decides that he wants a piece of the action, but is unsure of where to search; his friends naturally think he's crazy for thinking up such a scheme. But he's not hearing that though, and he wants memories of their high school years.

He gets his chance when Paris crashes her mom's Cadillac Escalade and he offers to do the repairs. In return, however, she must pose as his girlfriend - for two weeks. Alvin and Paris of course face the strident scorn of the cool kids and pretty soon Alvin grows pretty attached to his newfound fame.

Without really realizing it, he forgets what he already had, being that he makes pariahs out of his best friends, frightens his parents especially the father (Steve Harvey) with his strange behavior, and Paris soon begins to miss the geeky Alvin that she really liked.

"Love Don't Cost A Thing" retreads the familiar territory of most of the high school comedies of yesteryear: the uncool guy gets the pretty girl - after his plan has been exposed - and everything gradually returns to normalcy, and tries to make amends with his friends that he forgot while on his path to glory.

For the first half, "Love" is actually quite fun to watch, and even it brought back memories of my high school career, which I left behind when I graduated in June of 2004.

The second half is where we run into trouble, not because of directing and poor scriptwriting or any other technical difficulties, but because Cannon's transformation seemed to be really... something. I'll be the first to admit that he does some pretty mean things to his friends and to Paris while on his ego trip of popularity; even this is too much and made a little too believable and for that I really despised Alvin for what he did.

Cannon and Milian are a great couple and have great chemistry, but I remembered where it's all going to lead eventually, which is in that same direction that most teen comedies go.

The biggest perk out of it all is that "Love" doesn't resort to gross-out humor and sex gags to really win the interest of the viewer, and for that I'm grateful. Other than that, there's not much else.

***NOTE*** There's one scene that never ceases to amaze me, and that's when Alvin first serves up his proposal to Paris. He makes his move, Paris asks what he wants in return. Alvin looks away, and out comes the priceless line, "Oh what? You think I'm some cheap 'ho?" Alvin of course replies, "No, no sex. I just want to rent you." Paris considers, and then agrees to being his girl. And she puts her foot down about him not thinking about sex, or looking at her booty. Priceless.

"Love Don't Cost A Thing" buys a 5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Urkel has become gangster and he is just not all that

4/10
Author: nitz_angel from Israel
8 January 2005

Unlike the original movie from 1987 "can't buy me love", "Love doesn't cost a thing" is too slow a little bit boring, most of the characters are annoying and the movie as a whole is just not fun. They try a little bit too hard to be cool and updated but as the girl said in the movie "Urkel has become gangster" it's just not it. the idea was good, re-make the classic and the beloved film of the 80's in the millennium version, but we've seen too many teen movies that look and sounds just like this, and they are better. If you like Christina Milian you'll LOVE her in this movie, because she is so amazing in this role, but that's the only good thing i have to say about this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Christina Milian did well...

Author: Kritically Kind from In the Clouds
8 January 2004

If you liked "Drive Me Crazy" then you'll like this - the story is basically the same.There's not much to say about this movie i'm afraid - Christina Milian did well without a riveting plot (or enough adequate actors) to back her up. The attempt at an intimate scene between Milian and Cannon (when she's at home playing her guitar) looked more awkward than anything else but this was due to Cannon's misrepresentation of his character in that particular case. By the end of the movie you're left wondering why Paris (Milian) gets together with 'pool boy' Alvin (Cannon)at all because as the movie progress his dissatisfaction with himself turns him into a "popular-by-association" and arrogant robot and his treatment of the one person that helped him get there is shocking. However, if you can forgive this, the better aspects of his character seem to emerge at the end of the movie. Steve Harvey did well to bring his own brand of humour to the movie but this wasn't enought to elevate it above 5/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

No.

1/10
Author: Danii Disaster from United Kingdom
12 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

One of the cheesiest movies ever produced.

The original "Can't Buy Me Love" is FAR superior. Honestly. This is an unrealistic "ghetto" version of it, and it doesn't work!

The ONLY good thing about this film is Nick Cannon and the guy who plays his Dad. Nick could've become as prominent as Will Smith had he continued developing his acting skills. He is naturally funny and charming, and, unlike everyone else in this movie, he is not entirely useless at acting.

Those softcore porn cheerleader dances... what the hell was that? Is it a school or a cheap strip club?

The whole movie feels like an infomercial for P.Diddy (Sean John) and his apparel line.

Most actors look far older than the characters they're portraying are supposed to be. Particularly Christina Milian, her "cool" boyfriend, and the rest of the popular guys.

That "weight loss" dance was seriously cringeworthy. In "Can't Buy Me Love", that scene is really good, but here... beyond lame.

The whole film is basically overly clichéd, boring, cheesy, and totally predictable. It doesn't help that most of the people in it, are godawful at acting.

You can do without watching this crap, trust me.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Bad remake

Author: CranberriAppl from United States
21 December 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Can't Buy Me Love was such a great 80s movie, and while Nick Cannon is a cutie, he's no Patrick Dempsey and his character had none of the charm. This is up there w/Psycho (1998) and The Manchurian Candidate as remakes that should have never been made. It was just wasn't good. I was 20 when this movie was made, so I was right in the demo for it, but I definitely prefer CBML. Cannon and Milian had enough chemistry which helped, but the film was still lacking. Even though the plot line had different elements (not an exact copy), it still didn't try to be its own film. For example, The Shop Around the Corner, In The Good Old Summertime, and You've Got Mail are all the same story with the last two being remakes of the first. However, what these movies did was allow themselves to be unique in the minds of viewers--introducing different elements in their updates (music in 'Summertime' and AOL in 'Mail').

I wanted to like the movie bc I was hoping it would remind me of Clueless or She's All That, or some of the other teen comedies I remember, but it didn't.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A Teen flick unlike many other

7/10
Author: nedatronics
1 June 2008

Love don't cost a thing came as a wave of fresh air for me. I've always had a bias against American High School teen flicks coz i found them soo superficial and cliché.....but Love Don't cost a thing was a bit, just a tinsy bit more mature than that. There was nothing original about the cast or story line but i can contentedly say that it had a positive effect viewing it. LDCAT was well acted out and the cast suit it perfectly, i loved Harvey as usual...being his cocky self and Nick Cannon and the chick added flavour to the story line....the plot was the usual dorky guy goes cool and reverts back to dorkiness after he finds out that "coolness" doesn't live up to what its projected to be. It evoked emotion and thought...enough of it to warrant a watch. I actually felt the torment going through the characters lives as he strived to adapt to the system...and as i presume, a good movie is one that has the power to connect us with the characters. To cut the long story short...i think each and everyone can identify with at least one of the characters and i can undoubtedly say that most of us have at least gone through what is projected in the movie. My scepticism as to Teen Flicks diminished when i got to the core of the movie and without a doubt, LDCAT is an emotion evoker. It tells the story of American suburban youth trying to adapt and this can be replicated all over the world and in all walks of life. It was a good watch and i gave it a clean 8 out of 10. The ending was quite abrupt though but the chick really carried her role well...emotional distress and all....and as Steve Harvey would say....GET OF YOUR ASS AND HANDLE YOUR BIZZZNESS...my favorite quote of the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history