IMDb > Starsky & Hutch (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Starsky & Hutch
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Starsky & Hutch More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 31: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 308 reviews in total 

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

As tasty as flat soda

2/10
Author: FilmFan777 from Hollywood, California
29 August 2004

This was not funny, this was not creative. This was only a waste of time.

Really like Stiller, yet that isnt even enough to save this hunk of junk from the boredom pile. Only because his name was attached as well as the 'disguising' by calling up the name of 'Starsky and Hutch', along with a couple of other half somebodies is the only reason this thing got a green light.

You can see Wilson playing Wilson here like every other thing he does. Same with Vince, whom I like yet has shown the same ability to stretch as a copper penny. And yea, dont like to say but this really wasnt a stretch for Stiller as well. Oh, except maybe the fact they all took a cool show of the past and made a complete fool of themselves. I mean, if your going to make a dramatic yet wielding soft humored series into something...at least dont make it 'stupid'. Who ever gave this thing the green light needs to be checked for color blindness.

I like silly too yet, at least make it funny. Is that too much to ask these days?

I guess so.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Not cool, not funny, not worth your while!

1/10
Author: Dan from Watsonville, California
23 March 2004

This movie fails in humor. Other than the pony scene, there is nothing funny about it. There is no valid satire, no valid irony, no decent acting--except perhaps Snoop Dogg's efforts. The overall reflection of values--the view of police, of women, of authority--speaks to the worst in our society. Ben Stiller has disappointed in virtually every film we've seen--do not understand why Hollywood continues to feature him. Owen Williams gave a respectable performance, but the vehicle is so poorly done that he cannot save it. Snoop Dogg gave a decent performance as well--something of a surprise. This movie was a complete and total waste of money and time. Do what we should have done--skip it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Not cool, not funny, not worth your while!

1/10
Author: Dan from Watsonville, California
23 March 2004

This movie fails in humor. Other than the pony scene, there is nothing funny about it. There is no valid satire, no valid irony, no decent acting--except perhaps Snoop Dogg's efforts. The overall reflection of values--the view of police, of women, of authority--speaks to the worst in our society. Ben Stiller has disappointed in virtually every film we've seen--do not understand why Hollywood continues to feature him. Owen Williams gave a respectable performance, but the vehicle is so poorly done that he cannot save it. Snoop Dogg gave a decent performance as well--something of a surprise. This movie was a complete and total waste of money and time. Do what we should have done--skip it.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

A Good Movie For A Bad Date

1/10
Author: royceschmitz from United States
18 September 2005

If you are on the "Date From Hell", this is the perfect movie to seal the deal that your date will never call on you again. Again I am left wondering why people think Ben Stiller is funny. After taking a police drama from the 70's and turning it into a poorly written, poorly acted movie, I think I see a Razzie here. If they wanted to have done the movie and TV series justice the director would have followed the initial format of the Starsky&Hutch pilot. These were two good cops, who could also work in the "gray" area of the law when needed to get the bad guys. In other words, it was not a comedy show which looked like that were in love with each other (note the little birdy flying around Stiller when Owens is sing "Don't Give Up On Us Baby" and making google eyes at each other). About the only good thing about this movie, besides the ending, is the soundtrack, great 70's and 80's tunes throughout.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Snoop Dog saves the day

1/10
Author: McQualude from North Carolina
25 July 2004

Snoop Dog saves the day and not just in the plot, he is the shining star of the whole movie. Starsky & Hutch the movie is not entertaining, Starsky & Hutch the characters are not entertaining. Stiller & Owen bomb in just about every way possible... the dialogue isn't funny, the skits aren't funny, the intended drama isn't very dramatic and just like Starsky, the movie just keeps falling down.

If anyone tells you this movie is funny, they are lying. Maybe if you find juvenile gay jokes funny, this movie is for you because that's all the comedy there is. Well, the disco scene was almost funny, I think my daughter laughed a little bit. The girls are a nice dressing on an otherwise bland and forgetable salad.

Was the above review useful to you?

Better Than Expected.

6/10
Author: Python Hyena from Canada
15 May 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Starsky and Hutch (2004): Dir: Todd Phillips / Cast: Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson, Vince Vaughn, Snoop Dogg, Jason Bateman: Yet another 1970's T.V. show resurrected for the big screen. It is not a total failure although it will be most appreciated by those whom remember the TV show or those whom are fans of the stars. It stars Ben Stiller as Starsky, a no nonsense cop who goes by the book. Owen Wilson plays Hutch who breaks the rules. The two are paired as partners investigating a cocaine deal. Not much of a concept but the structure is detailed with many funny moments. Ending is typical but director Todd Phillips seems to have timing on his side with regards to the humour. He previously made Old School and the horrid Road Trip. Great chemistry between Stiller and Wilson whom are either at odds or botching up the case. We know where this is headed but despite the conventions there are colourful supporting roles by Vince Vaughn as the drug lord, and Snoop Dogg as Huggy Bear whom offers underground assistance. Jason Bateman plays Vaughn's partner in crime in yet another comic turn. This is better than one may anticipate but hardly a masterpiece. It serves as a resurrected T.V. cop show that is not as celebrated in 2004 as perhaps others programs at its initial run was but it is still quite funny taking the buddy cop premise into exhaust overdrive with superb comedic performances. Score: 6 / 10

Was the above review useful to you?

Star-sky and hutch

6/10
Author: jamesbowen-96647 from United Kingdom
22 April 2015

Star-sky and hutch is a remake of the 7os cop show that ran from 1075 - 1979 and starred Paul Micheal Glaser and David soul hear it stars Ben stiller and Owen Wilson is the two cops and to be honest its neither a great nor abysmal film just plain average to be honest . It is a prequel to the series showing how star sky and hutch were brought together to solve there first case which is to bring down a drug kingpin played by Vince Vaughan who importing illegal shipments of cocaine for his criminal associates . Overall star-sky and hutch is a pleasant way to spend 95 mins Ben stiller and Owen Wilson are fine as the two cops with stiller being the highlight of the film he exhibits all of g lasers character traits and has all his mannerisms and the look of him you feel that it is someone who could be called Paul Glaser while Owen Wilson just completely through the motions and doing the same Schick he does all time completely ruining a role made by David soul .

Was the above review useful to you?

Starsky & Hutch

7/10
Author: Phil Hubbs from UK
18 February 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Always thought it was kinda funny that two undercover cops drive around in a souped up Gran Torino with a custom paint job. What's that noise? oh its the fuzz in their muscle car.

The first parody of one of the two biggest TV shows with the coolest cars, the other being 'The Dukes of Hazzard'. Its nothing too outrageously original overall, a simple drug kingpin needs to be taken down and the cool hip duo are on the case.

Its not really about the plot though, this film is just about the humour and having a good time. Like many Stiller films its a sly sneaky semi-serious spoof/parody comedy which is light-hearted, at times clever, but not over the top with silly childish jokes...not too much. A good decision because a serious adaptation of this would never have worked. The casting of Stiller and Wilson is actually inspired as they both fit the roles perfectly, Stiller actually looking very similar to Glaser and really capturing that 70's vibe. Both guys take to their characters like ducks to water and really make the whole film very likable and thoroughly watchable. Gotta admit I had my doubts at first.

Other casting includes frat pack members Ferrell and Vaughn, both of whom boost the film giving solid amusing performances. Loved Ferrell and his slightly creepy Big Earl character. So the cast is great and really holds the film together but I must give big kudos to the overall visuals in the film. Obviously set in the 70's but to be honest you could be fooled into thinking they'd gone back in time to shoot this. Very impressed with everything, all the period cars driving around, abundant street trash and grime (including those darn pesky cardboard boxes that turn up in all car chases), the costumes, hair styles and even those classic 70's TV show camera angles and zooms. They did tend to cram in almost every clichéd 70's tune they could muster though, didn't need that, we get the idea about the era.

Of course they do cater for the car porn fans out there. Plenty of Torino action naturally with slow motion action, close-ups, lots of skidding and tyre smoke etc...maybe too much? Gotta expect that I guess, it is a nice looking and sounding car and virtually a character in its own right.

I think they went the right way with this, as I said, a serious attempt would have been laughable. No way this could of been a gritty hard action thriller, not with that car, that dialog and those threads! I'm also glad they didn't reduce the concept to childish smut (ahem). Its a by the books action comedy flick, but the fact its a neat little parody of a classic cop show which has actually been well thought out, makes this worth your time in my view.

7.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

"Good Action-Comedy!"

6/10
Author: gwnightscream from United States
30 April 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson, Snoop Dogg, Vince Vaughn, Jason Bateman, Juliette Lewis, Amy Smart, Carmen Electra and Fred Williamson star in this 2004 action-comedy based on the TV series. This takes place in the 70's where we cops, David Starsky (Stiller) and Ken "Hutch" Hutchinson (Wilson) who become partners. They find a murdered thug and learn he was working for drug-dealer, Reese Feldman (Vaughn). Starsky & Hutch go after Feldman who is making a big drug deal during a benefit. Rapper, Dogg plays underworld boss & police informant, Huggy Bear, Bateman (Dodgeball) plays Feldman's partner, Kevin, Lewis (Natural Born Killers) plays Feldman's mistress, Kitty, Williamson (From Dusk Till Dawn) plays police Captain, Doby and Smart (Road Trip) & Electra (Scary Movie) play cheerleaders, Holly & Staci. Will Ferrell (Elf) appears uncredited as Feldman's former associate, Big Earl, The late, Chris Penn (Reservoir Dogs) appears as obnoxious cop, Manetti and original stars, David Soul and Paul Michael Glaser also make cameos. This is a good action-comedy and Stiller & Wilson are great together as usual. I recommend this.

Was the above review useful to you?

Both successful and unsuccessful

7/10
Author: Neil Welch from United Kingdom
30 December 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Starsky and Hutch are two mismatched California cops who seek to take down a crime boss with a big drug deal forthcoming.

Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson, accompanied by assorted members of the usual suspects, wear the clothing familiar to anyone who watched the iconic 1970s buddy cop TV series, drive around in the iconic Ford Torino with red and white paint job, call themselves Starsky and Hutch, and associate with people who call themselves Captain Dobie and Huggy Bear. And they generate a moderate quota of laughs as they do so.

What they don't do is capture any element of what made the TV series successful. In particular, while Stiller and Wilson have chemistry, it's nothing like the chemistry between Paul Michael Glaser and David Soul, as is obvious when the originals put in a cameo on screen with their replacements.

If you want to see an action comedy, you may well enjoy it. If you want to see a modern updating of Starsky and Hutch, steer clear - because this isn't it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 31: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history