IMDb > Starsky & Hutch (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Starsky & Hutch
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Starsky & Hutch More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 31: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 305 reviews in total 

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Lost Time

1/10
Author: apteryx05 from New Zealand
23 September 2007

Another 101 minutes of my life I will never get back. What a waste of my time and perfectly good film. To say this movie sucks would be a gross understatement. I cannot for the life me figure out how a talent like Julilett Lewis would involve herself with a dismal failure such as this. I've come to expect as much from actors such as Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson, but this sucks the big one. I won't even dignify a comment about "Snoop Dog." Who told this rapper he could act? All in all a complete waste of time and popcorn. Someone should tell Hollywood that resurrecting crappy 1970's sitcoms and making them into movies doesn't cut the mustard. What's next? Dukes of Hazard III???

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Recreation of the series or just a dumb action-comedy?

2/10
Author: moonspinner55 from las vegas, nv
8 July 2007

Misguided theatrical version of the hit TV series from the '70s, this "Starsky & Hutch" isn't well-equipped with the right materials to make it successful as updated nostalgia (it's just another brainless cop flick with comedic asides). One thing is certain, the tough-yet-tender-hearted TV cops never engaged in sexual shenanigans like this, nor did they ever freak out on cocaine (at a disco!). This film (with Hutch initially playing both sides of the law) is deliberately cheesy and does manage to get some details right, but it is also muddled, offensive, overlong, and not big on genuine laughs. Ben Stiller does commendable work, Snoop Dogg is good as Huggy Bear, but Owen Wilson is just winging it. It's hard to blame the actors anyway, street-tough crime fighters being way out of fashion. * from ****

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

As tasty as flat soda

2/10
Author: FilmFan777 from Hollywood, California
29 August 2004

This was not funny, this was not creative. This was only a waste of time.

Really like Stiller, yet that isnt even enough to save this hunk of junk from the boredom pile. Only because his name was attached as well as the 'disguising' by calling up the name of 'Starsky and Hutch', along with a couple of other half somebodies is the only reason this thing got a green light.

You can see Wilson playing Wilson here like every other thing he does. Same with Vince, whom I like yet has shown the same ability to stretch as a copper penny. And yea, dont like to say but this really wasnt a stretch for Stiller as well. Oh, except maybe the fact they all took a cool show of the past and made a complete fool of themselves. I mean, if your going to make a dramatic yet wielding soft humored series into something...at least dont make it 'stupid'. Who ever gave this thing the green light needs to be checked for color blindness.

I like silly too yet, at least make it funny. Is that too much to ask these days?

I guess so.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Not cool, not funny, not worth your while!

1/10
Author: Dan from Watsonville, California
23 March 2004

This movie fails in humor. Other than the pony scene, there is nothing funny about it. There is no valid satire, no valid irony, no decent acting--except perhaps Snoop Dogg's efforts. The overall reflection of values--the view of police, of women, of authority--speaks to the worst in our society. Ben Stiller has disappointed in virtually every film we've seen--do not understand why Hollywood continues to feature him. Owen Williams gave a respectable performance, but the vehicle is so poorly done that he cannot save it. Snoop Dogg gave a decent performance as well--something of a surprise. This movie was a complete and total waste of money and time. Do what we should have done--skip it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Not cool, not funny, not worth your while!

1/10
Author: Dan from Watsonville, California
23 March 2004

This movie fails in humor. Other than the pony scene, there is nothing funny about it. There is no valid satire, no valid irony, no decent acting--except perhaps Snoop Dogg's efforts. The overall reflection of values--the view of police, of women, of authority--speaks to the worst in our society. Ben Stiller has disappointed in virtually every film we've seen--do not understand why Hollywood continues to feature him. Owen Williams gave a respectable performance, but the vehicle is so poorly done that he cannot save it. Snoop Dogg gave a decent performance as well--something of a surprise. This movie was a complete and total waste of money and time. Do what we should have done--skip it.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

What a load of rubbish

1/10
Author: puppiemaster from Swindon, England
6 March 2004

Was this supposed to be an action movie or a comedy, cause it failed on both counts,

They took 2 super cool cops from the 70's and turned them into idiots, It took all my will power to actually sit through this movie.

When I got out and was asked to rate this film by a friend I tried to find some positive points, I found 2, Snoop dogg was actually ok as Huggy Bear and it was not as bad as Cat in the Hat.

Its such a pity cause I really wanted to like this film.

but what do I know? I think Blair witch was complete rubbish and that made millions as well

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Snoop Dog saves the day

1/10
Author: McQualude from North Carolina
25 July 2004

Snoop Dog saves the day and not just in the plot, he is the shining star of the whole movie. Starsky & Hutch the movie is not entertaining, Starsky & Hutch the characters are not entertaining. Stiller & Owen bomb in just about every way possible... the dialogue isn't funny, the skits aren't funny, the intended drama isn't very dramatic and just like Starsky, the movie just keeps falling down.

If anyone tells you this movie is funny, they are lying. Maybe if you find juvenile gay jokes funny, this movie is for you because that's all the comedy there is. Well, the disco scene was almost funny, I think my daughter laughed a little bit. The girls are a nice dressing on an otherwise bland and forgetable salad.

Was the above review useful to you?

Starsky & Hutch

7/10
Author: Phil Hubbs from UK
18 February 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Always thought it was kinda funny that two undercover cops drive around in a souped up Gran Torino with a custom paint job. What's that noise? oh its the fuzz in their muscle car.

The first parody of one of the two biggest TV shows with the coolest cars, the other being 'The Dukes of Hazzard'. Its nothing too outrageously original overall, a simple drug kingpin needs to be taken down and the cool hip duo are on the case.

Its not really about the plot though, this film is just about the humour and having a good time. Like many Stiller films its a sly sneaky semi-serious spoof/parody comedy which is light-hearted, at times clever, but not over the top with silly childish jokes...not too much. A good decision because a serious adaptation of this would never have worked. The casting of Stiller and Wilson is actually inspired as they both fit the roles perfectly, Stiller actually looking very similar to Glaser and really capturing that 70's vibe. Both guys take to their characters like ducks to water and really make the whole film very likable and thoroughly watchable. Gotta admit I had my doubts at first.

Other casting includes frat pack members Ferrell and Vaughn, both of whom boost the film giving solid amusing performances. Loved Ferrell and his slightly creepy Big Earl character. So the cast is great and really holds the film together but I must give big kudos to the overall visuals in the film. Obviously set in the 70's but to be honest you could be fooled into thinking they'd gone back in time to shoot this. Very impressed with everything, all the period cars driving around, abundant street trash and grime (including those darn pesky cardboard boxes that turn up in all car chases), the costumes, hair styles and even those classic 70's TV show camera angles and zooms. They did tend to cram in almost every clichéd 70's tune they could muster though, didn't need that, we get the idea about the era.

Of course they do cater for the car porn fans out there. Plenty of Torino action naturally with slow motion action, close-ups, lots of skidding and tyre smoke etc...maybe too much? Gotta expect that I guess, it is a nice looking and sounding car and virtually a character in its own right.

I think they went the right way with this, as I said, a serious attempt would have been laughable. No way this could of been a gritty hard action thriller, not with that car, that dialog and those threads! I'm also glad they didn't reduce the concept to childish smut (ahem). Its a by the books action comedy flick, but the fact its a neat little parody of a classic cop show which has actually been well thought out, makes this worth your time in my view.

7.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

"Good Action-Comedy!"

6/10
Author: gwnightscream from United States
30 April 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson, Snoop Dogg, Vince Vaughn, Jason Bateman, Juliette Lewis, Amy Smart, Carmen Electra and Fred Williamson star in this 2004 action-comedy based on the TV series. This takes place in the 70's where we cops, David Starsky (Stiller) and Ken "Hutch" Hutchinson (Wilson) who become partners. They find a murdered thug and learn he was working for drug-dealer, Reese Feldman (Vaughn). Starsky & Hutch go after Feldman who is making a big drug deal during a benefit. Rapper, Dogg plays underworld boss & police informant, Huggy Bear, Bateman (Dodgeball) plays Feldman's partner, Kevin, Lewis (Natural Born Killers) plays Feldman's mistress, Kitty, Williamson (From Dusk Till Dawn) plays police Captain, Doby and Smart (Road Trip) & Electra (Scary Movie) play cheerleaders, Holly & Staci. Will Ferrell (Elf) appears uncredited as Feldman's former associate, Big Earl, The late, Chris Penn (Reservoir Dogs) appears as obnoxious cop, Manetti and original stars, David Soul and Paul Michael Glaser also make cameos. This is a good action-comedy and Stiller & Wilson are great together as usual. I recommend this.

Was the above review useful to you?

Both successful and unsuccessful

7/10
Author: Neil Welch from United Kingdom
30 December 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Starsky and Hutch are two mismatched California cops who seek to take down a crime boss with a big drug deal forthcoming.

Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson, accompanied by assorted members of the usual suspects, wear the clothing familiar to anyone who watched the iconic 1970s buddy cop TV series, drive around in the iconic Ford Torino with red and white paint job, call themselves Starsky and Hutch, and associate with people who call themselves Captain Dobie and Huggy Bear. And they generate a moderate quota of laughs as they do so.

What they don't do is capture any element of what made the TV series successful. In particular, while Stiller and Wilson have chemistry, it's nothing like the chemistry between Paul Michael Glaser and David Soul, as is obvious when the originals put in a cameo on screen with their replacements.

If you want to see an action comedy, you may well enjoy it. If you want to see a modern updating of Starsky and Hutch, steer clear - because this isn't it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 31: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history