IMDb > Starsky & Hutch (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Starsky & Hutch
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Starsky & Hutch More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 31: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 308 reviews in total 

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Yet another Stiller turkey.

1/10
Author: co010c6650 from Fife
8 June 2008

The TV series was classic stuff so there was no way I was going to avoid giving this a look but having been unfortunate enough to have witnessed a number of Ben Stiller 'comedies' (virtually all of which have been unwatchable) in the past, it would be the understatement of the millennium to suggest I tuned into this effort with a fair amount of scepticism. It wasn't misplaced as this is truly awful and makes we wonder even more how Stiller has ever been able to earn a living as a comedy actor (The fact that American audiences have an unerring ability to laugh at absolutely anything might have something to do with it).

To complement Stiller's Starsky, we have the equally dreadful, unfunny and charisma-free Owen Wilson as Hutch, whose smugness, cheesy grin and awful voice has allowed him to take over the mantle from Jim Carrey as Hollywood's most annoying (and unfunny) comedy actor. As if the gruesome twosome weren't enough to contend with, we are also subjected to a smug, self-satisfied non-performance by rap singer Snoop Dogg as Huggy Bear (quite why the words 'rap' and 'singer' belong in the same sentence is another mystery to me).

The biggest mystery of all is, of course, how this puerile pile of tedious dross ever saw the light of day.

Was the above review useful to you?

Better Than Expected.

6/10
Author: Python Hyena from Canada
15 May 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Starsky and Hutch (2004): Dir: Todd Phillips / Cast: Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson, Vince Vaughn, Snoop Dogg, Jason Bateman: Yet another 1970's T.V. show resurrected for the big screen. It is not a total failure although it will be most appreciated by those whom remember the TV show or those whom are fans of the stars. It stars Ben Stiller as Starsky, a no nonsense cop who goes by the book. Owen Wilson plays Hutch who breaks the rules. The two are paired as partners investigating a cocaine deal. Not much of a concept but the structure is detailed with many funny moments. Ending is typical but director Todd Phillips seems to have timing on his side with regards to the humour. He previously made Old School and the horrid Road Trip. Great chemistry between Stiller and Wilson whom are either at odds or botching up the case. We know where this is headed but despite the conventions there are colourful supporting roles by Vince Vaughn as the drug lord, and Snoop Dogg as Huggy Bear whom offers underground assistance. Jason Bateman plays Vaughn's partner in crime in yet another comic turn. This is better than one may anticipate but hardly a masterpiece. It serves as a resurrected T.V. cop show that is not as celebrated in 2004 as perhaps others programs at its initial run was but it is still quite funny taking the buddy cop premise into exhaust overdrive with superb comedic performances. Score: 6 / 10

Was the above review useful to you?

Star-sky and hutch

6/10
Author: Jamesfilmfan905
22 April 2015

Star-sky and hutch is a remake of the 7os cop show that ran from 1075 - 1979 and starred Paul Micheal Glaser and David soul hear it stars Ben stiller and Owen Wilson is the two cops and to be honest its neither a great nor abysmal film just plain average to be honest . It is a prequel to the series showing how star sky and hutch were brought together to solve there first case which is to bring down a drug kingpin played by Vince Vaughan who importing illegal shipments of cocaine for his criminal associates . Overall star-sky and hutch is a pleasant way to spend 95 mins Ben stiller and Owen Wilson are fine as the two cops with stiller being the highlight of the film he exhibits all of g lasers character traits and has all his mannerisms and the look of him you feel that it is someone who could be called Paul Glaser while Owen Wilson just completely through the motions and doing the same Schick he does all time completely ruining a role made by David soul .

Was the above review useful to you?

Starsky & Hutch

7/10
Author: Phil Hubbs from UK
18 February 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Always thought it was kinda funny that two undercover cops drive around in a souped up Gran Torino with a custom paint job. What's that noise? oh its the fuzz in their muscle car.

The first parody of one of the two biggest TV shows with the coolest cars, the other being 'The Dukes of Hazzard'. Its nothing too outrageously original overall, a simple drug kingpin needs to be taken down and the cool hip duo are on the case.

Its not really about the plot though, this film is just about the humour and having a good time. Like many Stiller films its a sly sneaky semi-serious spoof/parody comedy which is light-hearted, at times clever, but not over the top with silly childish jokes...not too much. A good decision because a serious adaptation of this would never have worked. The casting of Stiller and Wilson is actually inspired as they both fit the roles perfectly, Stiller actually looking very similar to Glaser and really capturing that 70's vibe. Both guys take to their characters like ducks to water and really make the whole film very likable and thoroughly watchable. Gotta admit I had my doubts at first.

Other casting includes frat pack members Ferrell and Vaughn, both of whom boost the film giving solid amusing performances. Loved Ferrell and his slightly creepy Big Earl character. So the cast is great and really holds the film together but I must give big kudos to the overall visuals in the film. Obviously set in the 70's but to be honest you could be fooled into thinking they'd gone back in time to shoot this. Very impressed with everything, all the period cars driving around, abundant street trash and grime (including those darn pesky cardboard boxes that turn up in all car chases), the costumes, hair styles and even those classic 70's TV show camera angles and zooms. They did tend to cram in almost every clichéd 70's tune they could muster though, didn't need that, we get the idea about the era.

Of course they do cater for the car porn fans out there. Plenty of Torino action naturally with slow motion action, close-ups, lots of skidding and tyre smoke etc...maybe too much? Gotta expect that I guess, it is a nice looking and sounding car and virtually a character in its own right.

I think they went the right way with this, as I said, a serious attempt would have been laughable. No way this could of been a gritty hard action thriller, not with that car, that dialog and those threads! I'm also glad they didn't reduce the concept to childish smut (ahem). Its a by the books action comedy flick, but the fact its a neat little parody of a classic cop show which has actually been well thought out, makes this worth your time in my view.

7.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

"Good Action-Comedy!"

6/10
Author: gwnightscream from United States
30 April 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson, Snoop Dogg, Vince Vaughn, Jason Bateman, Juliette Lewis, Amy Smart, Carmen Electra and Fred Williamson star in this 2004 action-comedy based on the TV series. This takes place in the 70's where we cops, David Starsky (Stiller) and Ken "Hutch" Hutchinson (Wilson) who become partners. They find a murdered thug and learn he was working for drug-dealer, Reese Feldman (Vaughn). Starsky & Hutch go after Feldman who is making a big drug deal during a benefit. Rapper, Dogg plays underworld boss & police informant, Huggy Bear, Bateman (Dodgeball) plays Feldman's partner, Kevin, Lewis (Natural Born Killers) plays Feldman's mistress, Kitty, Williamson (From Dusk Till Dawn) plays police Captain, Doby and Smart (Road Trip) & Electra (Scary Movie) play cheerleaders, Holly & Staci. Will Ferrell (Elf) appears uncredited as Feldman's former associate, Big Earl, The late, Chris Penn (Reservoir Dogs) appears as obnoxious cop, Manetti and original stars, David Soul and Paul Michael Glaser also make cameos. This is a good action-comedy and Stiller & Wilson are great together as usual. I recommend this.

Was the above review useful to you?

Both successful and unsuccessful

7/10
Author: Neil Welch from United Kingdom
30 December 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Starsky and Hutch are two mismatched California cops who seek to take down a crime boss with a big drug deal forthcoming.

Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson, accompanied by assorted members of the usual suspects, wear the clothing familiar to anyone who watched the iconic 1970s buddy cop TV series, drive around in the iconic Ford Torino with red and white paint job, call themselves Starsky and Hutch, and associate with people who call themselves Captain Dobie and Huggy Bear. And they generate a moderate quota of laughs as they do so.

What they don't do is capture any element of what made the TV series successful. In particular, while Stiller and Wilson have chemistry, it's nothing like the chemistry between Paul Michael Glaser and David Soul, as is obvious when the originals put in a cameo on screen with their replacements.

If you want to see an action comedy, you may well enjoy it. If you want to see a modern updating of Starsky and Hutch, steer clear - because this isn't it.

Was the above review useful to you?

Stiller and Wilson hit a home run!

8/10
Author: emgmpg from United States
6 March 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As an avid TV viewer back in the 1970's I didn't know what to expect of the Starsky & Hutch movie. But as soon as the movie started I knew I was in for another fun-loving Stiller (Starksy) and Wilson (Hutch) comedy ride. These guys are just so funny together that you can laugh just looking at them. Very funny scene stealer's by the talented Will Ferrell as Big Earl. Vince Vaughn joins the fun as the villain Reese Feldman. The funniest laughs are at the cheerleader practice and follow up date with (Amy Smart and Carmen Electra), the 70's disco dance off and the Mime scene. A lot of laughs overall in this Nostalgic look back at one of the 70's super cop shows.

Was the above review useful to you?

They fixed the car

5/10
Author: mrh274 from Australia
12 February 2006

I was very tentative about seeing this movie having loved the original series, but just wanting to see the "Striped Tomatoe" going through it's paces again was my downfall. Another Stiller/Wilson collaboration is what it the movie was for me (very disappointing)...but it did prompt me to invest in the original series DVD sets which I enjoyed throughly and recommend.

However, being a self confessed petrolhead I was appalled at the handling of the Gran Torino in original series(I didn't remember it being that bad, but I was just a kid). So I'll give the the movie a 5 out of 10 just for sorting out the handling of the car and the stunt work. But this movie is really only for Stiller/Wilson fans.

Was the above review useful to you?

Owen "Starsky" Wilson & Ben "Hutch" Stiller ! Neat !

8/10
Author: what3v3r
4 January 2006

We knew that these two could work well. But how well? Watch Starsky & Hutch to find out. Todd Philips scores most his points with the well working cast of Wilson & Stiller. The two, playing cops while also paying tribute to the 1970s TV show, embark on a hilarious attempt to bust a hi-fi drug deal set to hit their beloved town. Wilson plays a laid back "hippy" style cop not afraid to venture towards the other side of the law if need be while Stiller plays a by-the-book strict ass cop who lets the strobes do most the talking . Fabulous entertainment all through the 100+ minutes with bonny dames, curvaceous allures, some not so k-9-friendly dope, a headlong drug trafficker played by Vince Vaughn , 70s style comedy and some seasoning. The seasoning however is worth an extra mention which comes in the form of Huggy Bear played by Snoop Dogg and played very much in the "Snoop" style.

Although based on a previous TV show, it definitely is not an odd parody. Instead one could deem this a fitting tribute to to that very TV show. However, this movie is definitely a lot more laughs if you haven't watched the TV show or if you wouldn't relate to it. Thats pretty much the case with all adaptations. The movie is never good as the book , the movie is never as good as the real thing, blah blah blah . End of the day, Starsky & Hutch is definitely worth the greenbacks.

Was the above review useful to you?

Kinda fun, but that's about all...

7/10
Author: shabulia from United States
1 January 2006

Let me just say this is not a "Starsky and Hutch" movie. This is a Stiller and Wilson movie. It just wears the Starsky and Hutch costume. And it wears it well.

This is what a fun night at the movies is all about. Just good, old fashioned entertainment. I had a lot of laugh out loud moments and enjoyed what I was watching, but it isn't memorable. Just good old fun.

While the 70's flair gives this movie some funny,in joke moments, it does little more. This movie could have easily been made into a modern day film. And without Stiller and Wilson (great comic duo genius) this movie would not have been the same. Most notable would be Snoop's portrayal of comic insider, Huggy Bear. His moments were some of the best in the movie.

I had fun and would recommend this movie to people looking to enjoy a night at the movies, but don't expect it to knock your socks off, like Zoolander.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 31: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history