Taboo (TV Series 2002–2014) Poster


Episode List



6 Oct. 2003
Taboo examines systems of justice around the world including a West Africa village that uses an ordeal of boiling oil to determine guilt, a blood feud in Albania, and a system of public shame in Texas.
13 Oct. 2003
Taboo looks at foods that are considered delicacies around the world including rotten shark meat in Iceland, goat fetus in India, rat in Togo, and bull penis as an aphrodisiac in Taiwan.
20 Oct. 2003
Creature Cures
Taboo examines how animals and insects are used as medicine. It looks at the use of animal parts in South Africa, bees is Taiwan, leeches in India, and maggots in the United States.
3 Nov. 2003
After Death
Taboo examines how societies view death and dead bodies including a month-long funeral in Indonesia, public immolation of the dead in India, and a pathologist in the the United States.
10 Nov. 2003
Body Perfect
Taboo looks at body modification including teeth filling in Indonesia, plastic surgery in Los Angeles, and bone stretching in China.
8 Dec. 2003
Sacred Pain
Taboo examines how cultures sometimes use pain in religious rites including tongue boring in Nepal, self stabbing and possession rites in Indonesia, and extreme body piercing and self-mutilation in Thailand.
30 Dec. 2003
Rites of Passage
Taboo looks at rites of passage around the world including a boy's circumcision in South Africa, an Apache's girls ritual of womanhood, and American couple's journey into old age.

« 2002 |  2003  2004  »

See also

TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page