IMDb > Boom (2003/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Boom
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Boom More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 18 reviews in total 

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Disgusting

1/10
Author: AishFan from San Jose, CA, US
4 October 2003

This movie was absolutely repulsive. I don't know why stalwarts Amitabh and Zeenat chose to act in such a movie. The direction is completely pathetic. All the actors are just rambling on whatever is in the "script" and are making no sense whatsoever. They are mumbling jibber-jabbish, for a lack of anything better to do, that contain random multi-syllable English words in an effort to sound Western. Random scenes of sex and violence are dropped in, and continuous use of vulgar language (like every sentence has f... in it) is used hoping to attract people to the theaters. Money has been wasted on the most ridiculous things, such as using 400 carats of real diamonds, paying for accommodations in the world's most expensive hotel, and a special appearance by Bo Derek. What is she doing in this movie? She is in it for not more than five seconds. Oh, I think someone forgot the story. The "plot" has so many loopholes that it isn't supposed to make sense. You're just supposed to watch the sex and enjoy listening to the f-word. Whoever made this movie is a perverted psychopath. He is trying his movie to look Hollywood, and as a result, looks like a complete idiot.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Doom

1/10
Author: TheNecromancer from Texas
8 January 2004

Good God. My eyes.. they still hurt..after being exposed to this movie. But the pain is mitigated, for my ears hurt even more, after having to listen to some of the most atrocious dialogue ever uttered.

I'd like to consider myself to be fairly tolerant. I managed to sit through Kaante. Mind you, i did not enjoy the debacle in the least, but I could sit through it. Boom is downright repulsive and ridiculous. I walked into the theater with no expectation and still came out traumatized.

I smelt trouble the moment one of the actors appeared on screen and for no rhyme or reason proceeded to say "Tick tock,tick f**king, tock f**king tick" in the most horrendous accent. After that it was all downhill.

Acting - Unbelievable. The three models should be banned from acting. For some reason the director decided that it was best that they all put on weird accents. Almost all the dialogue is spoken in english. Apart from amitabh bachan , i can quite safely state that none of the other actors speak english. All the rest of the actors looked confused most of the time. I honestly can't blame them for being at the mercy of a screwball director.

Dialogue -Downright annoying. Characters say random things, act like imbeciles on crack. The writer seems to be desperately trying to copy Tarantino's writing style. He comes closer to imitating a drunk moron who's vocabulary doesn't exceed the F word. They use F**K generously and randomly. It never even sounds normal at any point, for all of them have such horrendous accents.

Plot - Mind Numbingly bad. It doesnt even pretend to have one. Characters do random things for absolutely no rhyme or reason. Amitabh Bachan throws a female out of a moving car just for the heck of it. Zeenat's role in the movie is even more worse. There are no character arcs. The story is too absurd to be bothered about. To top it off there are plot holes the size of russia.

Overview - The movie is annoying, disgusting, repulsive, childish, inane, moronic, absurd, incoherent, retarded,pointless, boring, embarassing.

Those are its good qualities.

Rating 2/10. What prevents me from giving it a one is the fact that it did have some decent cinematography and production values.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Ground breaking movie by bollywood standards

Author: Vinay from Miami
29 September 2003

I had earlier seen Bombay boys by Kaizad Gustad, hence this prompted me to rent out the video for Boom. The name itself is pretty unusual for a bollywood movie and the cast is the best that bollywood has to offer. Jackie as "Medium" again shows Jackie's potential as a versatile actor and Javed Jaffery as "Boom Shankar" is his usual eccentric self. No wonder Kaizad decided to name the movie over his character, Javed Jaffery lends the comical edge to the otherwise dark-sided movie. 3 gangsters bade, chote and medium rule the fashion industry helped by boom shankar. In a world where everyone is being terrorised by the 3 brothers 3 models are forced to work for them. Taking advantage of their beauty and charms, supplemented by their utter distrust of each other and aided by Boom shanker - these 3 models fool everyone including Boom shankar himself. Madhu Sapre along with the Kaif lend the bitchish touch the models character, showing why beauty is skindeep. As expected this movie was treated like a shocker by the indian cinema houses, because by any bollywood standard this movie is ground breaking. For the simple reason that it does not follow the nuances of a commercial bollywood film and follows on Quinton Tarantino's path i vote this movie as a must see for every hindi film critic.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

THE WORST MOVIE EVER

1/10
Author: Hussein (whusayn@hotmail.com) from Leicester, UK
18 September 2003

I had very high expectations when i went to see this movie. However i was utterly dissapointed. The movie is a no-go straight from frame 1. You always think that the film will pick-up, but it never happens. I had expected something fresh and different and a gripping story line, and ofcourse a few laughs...but believe me i never laughed once in the film. One of the major things i was dissapointed with was Amitabh's characterisation. He was really wasted.... i think he only ahd 4 to 5 scenes in the film....i dont know why he did this movie. All the models in the film dont know how to act....and the rest of the cast are ok. I think Javed Jaffry is the one who shows out. He was above average. Overall a very very bad movie....After Bombay Boys, Kaizad Gustad has made a very bad mistake making this big huge flop.... try harder next time....please!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Over the top effort to qualify ''its different"

Author: Avinash Patalay from Middle Earth
16 May 2009

Make no mistakes, its a honest attempt to make avoid run-of-the-mill movie. But somewhere the chord fails to strike in the failed attempt of fashion-meets-underworld.

Kaizad manages to create layers in the movie, however there end up like jigsaw puzzle. And it seems Kaizad was a strict teacher when it comes to following-the-book owing to which its apparent that the actors are mouthing the script akin to animated characters which immediately springs up being artificial.

Big B: I felt his white-hair was a complete bad fashion statement.

Jaggu Dada:: The stoned dialogue delivery was a bad idea.

Gulshan Grover:: Leaves no impact, other than his fantasising of being Bade Miyan.

Javed Jaffery:: His dialogues seemed OTT at a few places otherwise very competent.

Seema Biswas & Zeenat Aman:: No complaints.

The three lasses - well, you are excused.

The grand finale.... well, it was kind of coming, so no suspense there.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

So little with so much

3/10
Author: M Alam (masudalam@yahoo.com)
8 March 2004

Gustad is a lucky director in that he got to do a big film after the mediocre Bombay Boys. For Boom he got the likes of Bachan, Shroff, Zeenat Amaan et al and had the deep pockets to shoot at Burj Al Arab and pretty much wherever he wanted in India and Dubai. He also had the names of Bo Derek and Padma Lakshmi (Salman Rushdie's model girlfriend) to play up in the marketing campaign... and what did he do with all this! He sank it all.

He has three cuties in the cast who are raring to bare it all, and did quite often; he got tremendous performances from the lower league actors, Gulshan Grover and specially Javed Jaffrey; there's the ever sellable cocktail of sex, drugs and money; and despite everything there ARE quite a few laughs in the film. So what went wrong?

The story. Or rather the lack of it. It seems Gustad was shooting on random notes rather than a script. The result is a series of shots - some beautiful, sexy and very funny, others irrelevant or incomprehensible, or both - put together in a jumpy fashion, and served up with a lot of glitter to make it look like a feature film. Sound levels are particularly bad, and some of the dialogue is lost either in strange accents the actors are putting on, or in the sound quality. Seems like the flick was only intended to be watched, not heard.

I watched the movie against many an advice, but I'd like to recommend it to all those who are interested in movies. Just to guage how so much can be squandered to produce so little, if for no other reason.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Only Boom Boom Bang Bang

5/10
Author: CAMKG from Brampton, Ontario
28 September 2003

You want to make a dark comedy and mix it with big spoonfuls of sex and violence. And one reason that inspires you to do it is that for Hindi cinema it would be ground-breaking. And then when you pitch your script to cast the roles, you put together an ensemble that looks fantastic on paper. And then you have the distributors knocking on your doors because the package looks so damn good. And your reputation as a filmmaker who demolishes conventional boundaries coupled with an awesome marketing campaign makes the film a delicious event to look forward to.

But alas, you disappoint immensely. Not because you or the film lacks intelligence. Not because the actors don't live up to their reputation. Not because the music and photography don't add amazing tension and interest to the film. And also not because the dark elements, the funny moments or the sexual angles are missing. But because Mr. Gustad you have failed as a writer in the film. You have been unable to give the film just that minimal structure, so you could have balanced the dark and comedic elements of the film. Your pen has failed in translating your vision perhaps even on paper, but definitely on film.

Maybe you realised this sitting at the editing table with your editor, because the film does seem very choppy at times. Or maybe you thought that shortening the length would distract us from the flaws. But your energy and originality are visible in every frame. Hopefully, in future you will be able to collaborate with screenplay writers just as well as you have collaborated with the actors here - who have all done well in spite of wafer-thin characters. Maybe it was intentional; to an extent it does work - but could have worked better. Style and substance should go hand in hand and not invade each other's space.

You are a young budding genius whose future films I will be looking forward to. Hopefully, film financiers and producers will continue to encourage and recognize your future. In the meanwhile, Boom explodes like a grenade whose pin came off suddenly. 5/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

Is this a movie?

1/10
Author: silvan-desouza from India
13 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There was lot of hype when BOOM promos showed, first of all for the raunchy content, the models, Having Amitabh in the film but the film is such a shoddy piece of work by Kaizad Gustad who gave Bombay Boys in 1998. The film follows that style a lot but the problem is there is nothing but just scenes of talk and talk which gets boring, Also too much focus on sex and style overpowers the material. The story is thin but the way it's executed makes it a yawn feast. We have rubbish scenes like Amitabh going around in a tricycle The film tries hard to look stylish but the makers forget that a story is important

Direction is weak Music is okay, luckily no songs in the film

Amitabh Bachchan for god knows what reason signed the film though he looks cool in the role, it's just not up to his stature Jaaved Jaffrey seems to enjoy his role too much, Jackie Shroff too does have his moments, Gulshan Grover is okay The 3 models which include Madhu Sapre, Katrina Kaif(debut)and Padma Laxmi are novices and wooden. Amongst rest Bo Derek, Wendell Rodrigues,Manish Malhotra have cameos Boman Irani has one scene, Seema Biswas is the pick of the lot.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

style over substance

4/10
Author: hellisotherpeople
30 May 2004

OK kaizaad gustaad is suffering from a major Tarantino/wachkowski bros ( from their bound days)hangover..

while this movie is groundbreaking by bollywood standards, one cannot but help feel a major sense of deja vue while watching it..seems to be an overstylsed mish mash of QT movies ( which are themselves an homage to hong kong movies)

the story is non existent,, the characters r not fleshed out and why is it that EVERY mob character HAS to have a quirk/idiosyncrasy? Despite that, the dialogs are clever and javed jaffrey excels..

I hope in his future films, kaizaad also pays a lil attention to the substance! he's got the style thing down pat!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great concept poorly executed

Author: AVarma7283 from Los Angeles
25 September 2003



Boom was a great concept with a great soundtrack. The publicity was great and of course what a great title. The title track with Ila Arun/Talvin Singh saved some of the film.

It seemed that most of the film was shot in daylight, which already compromises the dramatic quality of the film. The director used master shots with wide lenses, which again compromises drama and character build up. It seemed that the script was so loose that nothing seemed to stick. There were no character arcs and the movie came to an abrupt end. Even if violence and flesh are the idea, there are ways to make it tantalizing and provide for tension. Moreover Kaizad's characters were not believable because he spent little time on each with very limited staging. If a character spends all his time in one room, or doing just one thing, we cannot be too interested in him. What we call 'Emotional Dynamics'.

The motivation was missing, why were the Dons after the models, when they didnt have the Diamonds? The limited locations and bright sunlight really dampened the quality of the film. The only dramatic light was with the Shroff character. The film had tremendous potential and a great concept in the making but I guess they were in hurry to get the film made.

I think Kaizad is a passionate filmmaker who has the guts to break new ground, but in doing that, it is not wise to try and break all the basic rules of story telling.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history