IMDb > xXx: State of the Union (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
xXx: State of the Union
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
xXx: State of the Union More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 22: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [Next]
Index 217 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

xXx Over Star Wars? Big Mistake!

2/10
Author: seanmt from United Kingdom
26 May 2005

Well i was stuck with the decision of seeing Star Wars or this, i think i made the biggest mistake of my life as i found myself constantly laughing at the abysmal acting from Ice Cube and XZibit, to name a few.

The story line was awful, you just knew that Ice Cube was going to constantly blow things up and talk sh*t to his sidekick guy. Also, since when does a car fit on a railway tracks when the tires burn off! I mean come on!

So overall if your under the mental age of 4 you might find this film exciting, but if not then please, please, please avoid this film at all costs.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Better than I expected

5/10
Author: sarastro7
21 May 2005

Notice how cool it has become to say "I want those two hours of my life back!!" after having seen a really bad movie? Well, only stupid people use that line. You know what you're going into, folks! If you really wanted those two hours (not to mention your money) back, might you not have shown a bit of critical sense before deciding to watch something you *knew* probably would have no redeeming values? Sigh. Well, your life, your problem.

xXx2 was not a great movie, nor even a good one, but I went into it with the expectations of something really terrible, and it wasn't that bad at all. It was pretty much as good as I could have dared hope for. A lot of people knock the original movie, but I think it's a cult classic, worthy of an 8 rating. I had no illusions that the sequel would touch that level, and indeed it did not. For one thing, Ice Cube is nowhere near as cool as Vin Diesel.

But the whole anti-authority thing saves it. I don't know about you, but I think it's a hoot to see a bunch of street-wise Black hustlers hijack a tank and blow the lid off the white house to save a President who's probably far more liberal than any president the U.S. has ever had. This is what art and entertainment is for, people. Progressive messages, to show us that a better way is possible. This movie had heart. And it had the only true kind of patriotism: the anti-fanatic kind.

And the action and SFX, while frequently silly, did what they were supposed to: entertain.

5 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Well , its better than tripple x .....

5/10
Author: Merklin from United Kingdom
5 May 2005

Everyone knows the tripple x was an extreme pile of excrement.The makers of xxx2 must of known this as well , so they don't really try to hard to top the original "film".And while they succeed in making xxx2 an improvement over the first one(which isn't hard to do really....), they only really give us more of the same ingredients - a gruff one liner spitting hero, loud action, wafer thin plot and loud music that drowns out every dialogue scene.

Ice cube does the hero thing reasonably well, but thats only when he's angry or shooting stuff.When he's giving a unintentionally funny pro American speech or trying to infiltrate high society he just seems a bit wooden.Samuel l jackson who as we all know is a living legend , doesn't do much here except glare at people , shoots baddies and gives the film credibility by having his name on the poster.

What the film does well is deliver wall to wall non stop action and the pace is fast that it never gets a chance to get boring.The explosions (which occur every ,like 8 minutes )are beautifully shot and look stunning.

Its dumb and a tad disappointing, but you could do a lot worse when it comes to some disposable entertainment. You could watch tripple x.....

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Theater of the Absurd

9/10
Author: luckystrikeaaa
3 May 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Ice Cube really proves his chops with this one. I can't believe some of the negative comments I've read about this movie. What did you go into this movie expecting? Have you all lost your sense of humor? I was laughing from the moment that xXx theme song started playing, up until the very end when the president quoted Tupac (yes, this really happens, and yes, it's really bad). Some of you will say that the movie was not intended to be funny... well, what do I care about intentions? The finished product is truly the best comedy I have seen in a long time. Ebert said it best in his review: "XXX: State of the Union is theater of the absurd, masquerading as an action thriller." If you enjoyed Anchorman, Starship Troopers, the first xxx, or the recent Bonds, you'll love this! 9/10 (took one off because I didn't understand why there was no sex)

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Exciting

7/10
Author: roddick-1 from New Zealand
19 May 2005

I found this movie very entertaining and exciting.

The action scenes were very good and original.

The jokes were pretty funny.

The story was very smart and original.

People have been giving this movie very bad reviews (especially on this site) but although it is not the greatest movie ever, I think 1/10 is a little harsh.

It isn't an awful, revolting movie and I wouldn't mind seeing it again.

Overall I found it exciting and funny and you shouldn't get too angry if you don't like it because it is just a light action movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

instant cult, so bad it becomes good

1/10
Author: manu242 from Belgium
5 May 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Review 'xXx: State of the Union' (might contain spoilers!!! Not that it will matter to anyone but OK:)

First of all, I don't often write movie reviews. I think if you like an actor or director, and they have a new movie out, just go see it, regardless of what some lonely reviewer might write about it. But some movies are just begging to be written about...

We were so bored out of our minds, that we ended up in the centre of the city and went to see a movie (something I indeed hardly do, due to the fact that there are other people inside such places, with all the noises, eating and yelling with it....I noticed that there was this new movie with the following actors in it: Ice Cube, Samual L. Jackson and Willem Dafoe. I though "If you have these three guys playing in one movie... it has to be instant cult." And I was so right I was even ashamed about being SO right.

The movie itself is a MUST SEE. Just to make it a valuable contribution to anyone's top-5 worst movies ever. You will not believe the amount of total crappy acting, badly written conversations, bad timing, sleazy one-liners ("You got to lighten up, Hillbilly!") and idiotic special effects in the movie. It will make "Mission Impossible 2" look like a very realistic documentary if you know what I mean (And I'm not even talking about flying a helicopter into the Euro-Channel-tunnel?).

There is no beginning to tell how much amused myself with this movie, I really cried from laughing with the bad acting. Face it, Ice Cube isn't known for his Oscar-award winning speeches, neither for his fast moves, his ability to entertain just by standing on the stage, or by his top-actor karma that will enlighten you with wisdom and soul. In fact, I suspect the makers of this movie to first have called in "Ice-T", but when realizing he was "too expensive" they called this Ice Cube guy instead. First of all they must have let him do some exercising to loose weight for playing this 'running' scenes. It didn't totally succeed, because they needed to fast-forward some of the action to make it look like he's fast (you can actually see his belly-fat roll around while he's running away from half an army of heavily armed Navy SEALS. Anyway, low budget or not, belly-fat or not - he's the main character in the movie.You would expect this bad-boy attitude, fast running, shooting hero-like person, instead you get some B.A-Baraccus-like acting and posing, the gun-attitude of a ten year old,... the one liners which were not even funny. I love one-liners in fact. Some movies are just build on the witty one-liners they let the main characters spew out. And sometimes it's funny indeed. Here you get the most ridiculous one-liner-yelling, fat-ass pimp-car driving B-actor, who makes everything look like a walk in the park, even when he catapults a Abraham's-tank onto ANTOTHER Abraham's tank ON AN AIRCRAFT Carrier, while yelling "Was that your best shot, take this one!". He just stands there, all the time with the same face. While some girl says to the main character: "If you want anything,... anything, just ask me." - "What about some french fries and a shake?". where the guys behind me in the theater said to each other "He's good,... he's really good". Which made me even laugh harder.

The second character in the movie is Samuel "He's in everything" L. Jackson he's the X's boss. which makes him in fact totally pointless int eh so-called plot. There is no point having a boss of a character with as mission: being on himself and totally uncontrollable. Which means: no boss. He's a sort of shadow-like figure that yells things like "You should have killed that bitch!" or "I told you, you should have killed that bitch". It's the kind of movie where Beavis & Butthead would say "Hehe, cool, explosions, ...huhuhuhu, look at that chick's ass" "Yeah... hehehe kill her Ice Cube!"

Then there is the 'bad guy' - Under the acting talents of Willem Dafoe,... looking his old bad self again, like everyone in this movie, he also yells one liners, although they're more in the style of "Checkmate in three steps man... let it look like an accident".

The best part of his character is that he actually wants to kill the president of the USA, stands next to him with a loaded gun and then succeeds in a whole bunch of things, except killing him. All because of the main character and his former "gang from da hood" buddies fire an artillery shell with a high-jacked military tank onto the white house yelling 'god bless America' (It's a very realistic movie as you can see).

You have every single cliché of an action movie crammed into this one hour lasting video-clip styled thing... which makes it instant cult for me... Speedboat races, fast food eating, racing, train wrecking, bazooka shooting, hijacking, rope climbing, aircraft carrier destroying, tank fights, insults, babes in short skirts, gangster-rappers, boom-cars, Ferrari's, Presidents who get rescued Airforce-one style, explosions, explosive gas-leaks, knife wounds that heal them self after 20 seconds, people who die but live on, people that live but keep dying, more tanks, night vision-wearing navy seals, more explosions, crappy acting, crappy Playstation-like special effects, stupid plot (if any is detectable), and above all: the most ridiculous computer-hacking scene in a movie ever!!!! (I was close to peeing myself)

In any case... it was so bad that it was good... go see this movie if you can put your brain to a halt for a full hour and just want to enjoy all the crappies they can throw at you. Or if you're stoned, drunk or otherwise mentally incapacitated.

points: 1/10 just for the one-liners only, instant cult! a must see!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Question Please

7/10
Author: David Starr from United States
30 April 2005

During the reception scene there was a group of musicians playing. Perhaps mostly female with a couple of violins. Anyone know the name of the group or were they put together just for the movie? My wife and I enjoyed the plot even though it was pretty generic. A lot of the story was predictable. The idea that anyone could approach the capitol with vehicle roaring away with the other vehicles badly damaged and/or destroyed and the good guy vehicles were barley scratched was overdone.The escape in the bullet train was not real for this country where our train system and rails to support such a fantasy don't exist.I liked the escape from prison scene and the scenes aboard the aircraft carrier. Would have like to have seen the carrier superstructure destroyed and the ship badly and completely destroyed.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

ridiculous and absurd, but fun

6/10
Author: Joseph Pintar from New Hartford, NY
29 April 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was a big fan of the original XXX, so I looked forward to the new one. This movie makes the original look plausible by comparison. XXX: State of the Union is a lot fast action with minimal dialog to explain the thin plot. It is a lot of fun to watch even if it grows more ridiculous. The plot has to do with Willem Dafoe,playing the Secretary of Defense, trying to take over the country. If you were President of the United Staes, would you trust Willem Dafoe to do anything? I wouldn't trust him with my dog, to say nothing about the security of this country. Ice Cube plays the new XXX since the old one was disposed of off camera. It contains every cliché in the book, such as which woman will betray him, the black woman or the white blonde woman? If you don't know the answer to that, welcome to the movies. Like 2 Fast 2 Furious, people will probably enjoy this sequel even though Vin Diesel is not in it. It is a good to waste time with this movie while buying Star Wars tickets, but that's it. 6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

XXX has to save the day against arch enemy the US Government!

10/10
Author: ifhedieshedies from United Kingdom
21 February 2008

Hot on the heels of O'Shea Jackson's last epic (the ultimate actioneer that is Torque!)comes XXX-The Next Level.This time XXX has to have more attitude and be more dangerous, hence the casting of O'Shea Jackson(Ice cube to most of the world).

Without going into detail (i wouldn't want to spoil this film for anyone) this film is a cinematic masterpiece. With Ice Cube using his full range of acting skills he manages to evoke emotions not felt since the opening sequence of Star Wars - A New Hope. What we have is a roller-coaster of a film with action, romance, comedy and more action.

Mr Cube is supported by talent such as Samuel L Jackson , Willem Defoe and Xzibit so no expense was spared by director Lee Tamahori. With a script written by Simon Kinberg (who has gone on to write scripts for smaller films such as Jumper and Mr & Mrs Smith) we have a complex yet enjoyable plot to follow.

All in all i can not recommend this movie enough, no words that i write can describe what a masterpiece this film is. This will surely go down in history as a classic alongside greats such as Shawshank, Godfather and All About the Benjamins (Damn!!) Please watch and enjoy!!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A crime against humanity

2/10
Author: dtfernandes from London, England
1 May 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

All I am trying to say is that if we are going to put Saddam Hussein on trial for war crimes, everyone involved in this film needs to be held accountable in a similar manner.

Someone once said a million monkeys, using a million typewriters with an infinite amount of time could reproduce Shakespeare. I don't know if that is true, but I guarantee you one monkey, with one typewriter and let's say, oh about 15 minutes could bang this one out from script to cutting room. Ice Cube is obnoxious, unnecessarily arrogant while his portly figure prevents any rational human being from believing he is the deadliest man in the world. Xzhibit (poorly) plays a supporting role of a gangster, who works in a chop-shop something you think wouldn't be a stretch given his days on pimp my ride. Don't worry, his role is small but his few moments on screen will have you wanting to rip your beating heart out of your chest. The rest of the cast is better, as in not offensively bad actors. I particularly enjoyed the token goofy and smart white guy.

One trend that has been developing and increasing in recent times is the tendency for movies to a facet of American culture that is popular at the time. This movie, for example, does so with the auto-restoration craze. Why? I don't know. Does it work? Absolutely not. The movie is also very aggressive with some Ja Rule or DMX style hip hop as you would expect.

This movie was doomed from the start. Casting Ice Cube as the lead was the biggest mistake in the entire production. He does not have what it takes to pull off a lead role, let alone in a big-budget action movie with a poor script. This movie might have had potential, unfortunately Ice Cube's poor performance is blinding and it's difficult to understand what the potential might have been.

Does God exist? After seeing this movie it's more difficult for me to believe he does.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 8 of 22: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history