IMDb > xXx: State of the Union (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
xXx: State of the Union
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
xXx: State of the Union More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 23: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 222 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

HILARIOUS! ow... my sides hurt!

Author: billsonbob from USA
28 July 2005

First of all: the sooner you accept the fact that the dialog is an absolutely non-essential element, the better you'll enjoy this movie.

Ditto regarding the acting.

...oh...and the plot.

Character development? Who needs it? Let's see some explosions and some bootilicious babes! (with pop-metal in the back) Appreciate it for what it is. Watch it as a truly horrible movie. Make your own "Mystery Science Theater 3000" running dialog. Chuckle at IceCube as he actually appears to take himself and this role seriously. Be amused at the 30-years dated black-white contrast attempts at humor.

This is a funny movie! The only thing that keeps it from being a B-classic alongside Troll 2 is a) Budget b) William Dafoe c) Large explosions (see item A) d) the hilariously out-of-place cameo by "Bond" (the musicians...not James)

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

no surprise after XXX part one

2/10
Author: Chris Blachewicz from Poland
10 June 2005

I don't know what Samuel L. Jackson and Willem Dafoe are doing in this movie. Wait a minute, I know! Large sum of money! Samuel anyway is doing a lot of crap lately. Ice Cube? I can understand it, although Fridays weren't that bad. At least he didn't pretend to be a super adrenaline-fueled action blasting devastating sexy war machine like no other. This is a tendency between rappers that is seriously damaging pop American cinema (which is damaged by many other things by the way). You've seen part one and are expecting anything better? The presence of Jackson and Dafoe might be a rescue team, right? I got a bad news for you, they don't make it even a tiny little bit less crappy. It's just way too doomed. Let's face a few facts about the reality, as is seen by this movie. You can watch it and really make some constructive conclusions. They are of course 100% your everyday reality compatible. It's very easy to avoid missiles with a tank. Tanks are very mobile, you know? Guards in prison, police and all kinds of special forces are very compassionate and polite. They wouldn't dare to shoot if they got a gun. Rather they'd just let it hang on them and try to make physical contact with you (not by hitting you of course, that's plain rude!). Just a hand on the arm to let you know they're here to support you by being beaten quickly and effectively with one or two elbow strikes. But when they shoot, they take all of the best snipers to shoot as close to you as they can without hurting you. For example Darius is on an important mission and they respect it! If you're hiding from the police, it's best to pick up the most stylish car. Police man seeing you would then for sure say to his comrade: "hey, he looks like the guy police in all states is looking for, but in that car? they'd be dumb to do something like this, naaaaah, they sure are not the guys we're looking for". The president of the United States is always a very righteous man, who would do anything that is necessary for citizens of this beautiful country to be satisfied with wonderful opportunities he's giving them. All men of action do everything for the flag, because dying for someone else's personal (mainly financial) interest is what God made us for. Also, if you want to become new president of USA without a vote, there's a shortcut for that: just kill the current one, that's all! There is a lot more! Do you want to see it in XXX2: State of the Union? You better don't!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Why did I let myself watch this?

2/10
Author: Robert_90 from Australia
4 June 2005

I watched this movie at school a few days ago (because our teacher let us) because one of my mates had a pirated DVD copy. I rue his taste in movies.

I never saw the original xXx, but I can imagine it can't be as bad as this. It has nothing remarkable about it - every shot is punctuated with either an explosion or a painfully unfunny one-liner. Or, in most cases, both.

This is an attempt to try and cash in on the "gangsta" subculture while trying to make a Bond clone. The idea of gangbangers helping to save the nation is incomprehensible, above all other ideas.

I don't mind the occasional "switch-off-your-mind-and-watch" flick, but this one was too stupid. Avoid like the plague.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Stupid, but refreshingly honest

7/10
Author: faisal_khan from London, England
31 May 2005

Lee Tamahori is something of an enigma. On the strength of one good movie he's managed to convince Hollywood to part with good money after bad to make even more stupid movies, reaching a nadir in the wretched 'Die Another Day'. While he's yet to manage Uwe Boll's neat trick of making every single movie both stupid and offensive he's coming along nicely. Typically each Tamahori movie starts off strong and falters some ten minutes after curtains-up. The prospect of him teaming up Revolution studios will be welcomed by anybody who believes Paul Walker is an action star but surprisingly he's managed to make to make something very rare in Hollywood: an honest film.

True, it's predictable to a maddening degree: not only can you work out that Dafoe will be sitting in the chair waiting for Jackson to turn up but to an extent you can mouth some of the dialogue along with him.

None of this should stop you from watching xXx: State of the Union however as it's incredibly entertaining. It promises mindless stunts and unlike it's peers (Torque, xXx et al) it's well filmed, full of surprisingly good moments and with more muscular, visceral energy than it's predecessor. In a way it's very much in the vein of Golan & Globus in the mid 80's along the lines of the equally stupid but entertaining American Ninja, although it has a genuinely likable star in the lead role: Ice Cube. Cube is a marvellous actor I have plenty of time for; capable of knowing when to take thing seriously and when to keep his tongue firmly in his cheek and in here he's on top form. Unlike Diesel in the original xXx, Cube looks very much capable of physical harm, has some marvellous facial expressions and above all the sense of mischievous humour needed to carry such a lightweight movie.

You'll enjoy xXx: State of the Union. It's clumsy, stupid and poorly written but in it's three leading roles and honesty it has a certain charm. Revolution Studios doesn't want to make an epic of complex intrigue, politics or dialogue. They just want to blow things up.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Blame the MPAA

4/10
Author: Lee Alon
13 May 2005

Making one wish they were watching a bonafide triple X rated adventure instead, one of Hollywood's greatest insults to intelligence as we know it marks almost no progress since the heady days of Under Siege and other brain-dead action numbers. At least those had some zest to them, though.

In an age when movies strive to get a leg up on the competition, such blatant abuse of viewer time and IQ can never be forgiven. Put simply, XXX2's the worst flick this reviewer has encountered in a while. It's built around two actors in the declination stage of their careers. But although Sam Jackson appears eager to take whatever's given him recently, he at least can stand proud and lay claim to having style and talent. Conversely, Ice Cube's gruff exterior hasn't changed one iota since Ghosts of Mars, and for this outing offers even less range than usual. Both add nothing to proceedings, and any off-chance of them salvaging director Lee Tamahori from churning out another rancid mass-product (he previously gave us tepid Bond entry Die Another Day) evaporates quickly.

On the talent front, hardly any cast members get the job done, save for beauty Sunny Mabrey (Species 3). She at least has some wares to flaunt, and a mean streak any thriller fan will quickly lap up. On the additional infamy front, other disgraces include stalwart character actor Willem Defoe as Defense Secretary Deckert, who's bent on national security no matter what the cost. But since all protagonists and antagonists in XXX2 are about as in-depth as Petri dishes, no meaningful agenda emerges to engage our interest, and sooner rather than later the film reveals its true, vacuous nature. Meanwhile, Jackson reprises his original XXX role as Augustus Gibbons, chief agent at XXX, the super-covert organization responsible for saving the world from villainy, but not from horrible movie-making, we presume.

When the secret agency comes under assault from unknown enemies, Gibbons springs into action. However, his main man from the last episode, the titular XXX, was taken out by whoever's behind all these problems, so now finding a new hero becomes the main priority. Enter Ice Cube as Darius Stone, a former Navy SEAL incarcerated for disobeying and striking a superior officer (Secretary Deckert, by the way). Stone's unwilling, malcontent nature grates almost instantly, as he and the thespian behind him have little of what made the original XXX pleasant in a renegade, extreme kind of way: Vin Diesel.

The plot doesn't thicken at all, as what follows amounts to some of the dumbest action tripe in the modern annals of celluloid history. Scott Speedman (acceptable in Underworld) joins the debacle as Agent Steele, head of the NSA and one of those trying to make sense of the attack on XXX and the nation as a whole. He, too, gets tainted with the inept vibe pervading the project, and mostly does whatever you'd expect from a dashing, handsome and totally shallow G-Man.

Characters grafted with idiotic names, obvious CGI bits, miserable action and a story your four year old niece could top any day of the week render XXX2 a waste of time deserving several inquiries by Capitol Hill committees. Maybe we could pin a national security breach on these people? Demoralizing the movie-going public and all. Although it should have been rated NC17 for disturbing scenes of boneheadedness, XXX2 instead made it to screens everywhere, but hopefully signals the end of this disheartening franchise.

Rating: *1/2

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

As Bad as it was, still better than the original

2/10
Author: alex26ne from Canada
11 May 2005

Anyone going to see this movie should not be expecting something great, just something to pass the time. Although there are many criticisms about this movie I don't see how people are saying that it is so much worse than the original. As bad as this one was, the original was far worse. At least the character in this one has some sort if training to be in the situations that he's in, Vin Diesel's character in the fist one was just a stunt man who had not training whatsoever. And there can be many criticisms about Ice Cube's acting but he was miles better than Diesel was. At least when Cube said a line it didn't sound like he was reading directly off the script Overall, a bad movie but better than the original.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

great cartoon

1/10
Author: Bilan Alex from Romania
9 May 2005

very bad action movie....The producer didn't knew that Ice Cube act like a pussy? .....Like we Romanian people say.... 007 - agent warm water ...The scene at the end of the movie....with the car was for cartoon network. This movie is for children's under 10 years. I think if Xzibit played the principal role it was a little better Ice Cube must concentrate more about rap music and let the movie business on the professionist's hand This movie is too commercial....nothing new...nothing captivated my attention....The single original idea was with the stolen tank...that was funny......fine cars.....ford mustang still rules... that's all.....to much noise for this movie...I aspect that in the xxx 3 the principal role will be played by some one more credible

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Expected very lousy, not disappointed...

2/10
Author: aykut-2 from Turkey
9 May 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When it was announced that Vin Diesel would not be in the sequel, I know the studio would not give up the hope for a sequel.

The movie is, from all way of looks, very below average. It is a pity that very talented actors such as Samuel L. Jackson and William Dafoe has taken a part in such a crap. Even their performance does not make this movie worth seeing.

The plot is unrealistic. I may understand conspiracy theories but USA trying to be taken from inside by a secretary of defense in order to start a World War IV. By the way, when was the third one and did we miss it? You could guess once again that the destiny of the world lies in the hands of one man.

Vin Diesel ( Xander Cage ) was a man of Extreme sports and the idea of taking him into secret service was a fresh idea. But an ex-soldier, new conflict gets undercover and saving the world?? Come on. You should not be surprised that the new XXX is thirsty for revenge from the ones that caused his time in prison.

And who the heck has made the special? effects of this movie? They are almost worse than The Core. Looks extremely cheap and far away from being creative.

I gave the movie 2 out of 10. This is all generous I can be for such a movie. Do yourself a favor and rent the first XXX DVD played by Diesel.

Regards.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

XXX2 Left me with Mixed feelings...

5/10
Author: KEELING1985 from United Kingdom
6 May 2005

I have Seen it and I enjoyed it... in places :)

Over the top action that just isn't needed! Some scenes, especially the car jumping on to the Train track was just silly, but XXX was just the same with the snowboarding part, where Vin out run a massive Avalache. Both films went OTT and it didn't do them any favours(Rating wise).

The mixed feeling I had was - I hated the over the top action yet I liked the script. Now If they had spent more time on the script instead of the silly special effects sequences, this could have been special. Ice Cube overall is good and I think, with help, could become a very good actor. Needs to take some lessons from James Bond (Brosman) on how to act cool without looking like an idiot (The part where he first comes in contact with Charlie). Jackson is also good too and I didn't really see that much bad acting on the whole apart from Xzbitz, who was probably casted because hes a Big music name, no need as he really ain't good on screen and his character was pretty boring.

Overall, the OTT action is unavoidable with the XXX Movies. The storyline is nice and simple, needed more work but its got Positive and negative points throughout so I am staying neutral by giving it a 5/10. You will enjoy this more if you switched your Brain off ;)

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A guilty pleasure

8/10
Author: cujo2 from Netherlands
6 May 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It is not often a sequel is better then the original. I saw XXX in the cinema and found it ... not very entertaining or well made to put it in the most neutral manner possible. It was made to launch Vin Diesel his career into the target market of the average MTV teen and did in my opinion a very bad job at that; to be honest a cinema full of kids thought otherwise.

And now we have the second installment, Samual Jackson mentions in the movie that they need another XXX, which is in this case the budget Vin Diesel.. Mr Ice Cube. As soon as you see his name on a movie you know it is gonna be cheaper then the coming and rising star original and it is. You can also be fairly certain it is a crap film.. which actually isn't so.

Of course you have play station graphics, and of course you have Mr Cube.. or Mr Ice leaning heavy on his Rap past.. and even has a NWA photo in his on screen personal file. and of course Sam Jackson looks bored and yes the plot is , well not really there.

And still it is a nice watch, the makers of this film knew that this would be a nobrainer and thank god everyone is in on the joke that is playing in this film. What speaks most for this film is the immense speed it has, never a dull moment because after 3 minutes max of dialogue there will be another shooting, an exploding car or a chase.. mostly combined. The nicest ( PS2 graphics) stunt is the one where Mr Cube hangs a little tank to the hook that launches planes off an aircraft carrier to kick another big tank off the deck.

Or the legendary scene where Mr Ice sneaks around inside the fore-mentioned aircraft carrier and finds Mr Jackson alive and well.. and the rest of his team too.. the lack of surprise is very funny .

Budget restrains are visible here and there, the plot involves an internal coupe to overthrow the us government.. and there is about 1 tank outside in the dark from the bad guys and around 6 baddies inside.

If you have the right mindset it is really an entertaining flick, it is made to entertain you and nothing more, if you have this mindset you will have a very enjoyable time with this movie

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 23: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history