IMDb > xXx: State of the Union (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
xXx: State of the Union
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
xXx: State of the Union More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 11 of 22: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]
Index 218 reviews in total 

My soldier stays eternal.......

5/10
Author: FlashCallahan from Leicester, United Kingdom
12 June 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Augustus Gibbons has selected former Navy SEAL Darius Stone, to be a new agent in the XXX program, where they track a splinter faction of the U.S. military that attempts to overthrow the U.S. government and assassinate the President.

This coup is led by Secretary of Defense and former General George Deckert, Stone's commanding officer whom he once led a mutiny against.......

The first movie was an overlong bloated mess that took itself, and its star way too seriously.

This on the other hand, is comic book all the way, way over the top and lots of fun to boot.

Yes, it's completely stupid, and the plot makes no sense whatsoever, but when you get prolific actors such as Dafoe and Jackson clearly sending themselves up, you can't complain.

The script is awful, but awfully funny, and it's always fun to hear the President say '16 of our men are dead?', over and over again.

Cube is okay, the set pieces are wonderfully over the top, and Tamahori once again proves he can make a wonderfully bad action movie (see also Die Another Day).

All in all, you. At balk at my review, but its a genuine guilty pleasure, and much better than its bloated predecessor.

Was the above review useful to you?

A right state of affairs

4/10
Author: Prismark10 from United Kingdom
24 March 2014

XxX was to bring a new type of action hero based on a blue collar James Bond extreme sports fanatic. Vin Diesel must have seen the script for the sequel and bailed out.

Enter rapper Ice Cube as Darius Stone, a former agent now imprisoned wrongly it seems but Samuel Jackson offers him a way out. So its out with the sports action hero and enter the wrongly framed spy.

In this film the USA President has an agenda for peace. This upsets the Secretary of Defence (Willem Dafoe) who rather likes conflict and who has had past issues with Darius Stone and is planning a coup against the President with his supporters and rogue agents in place. Its up to Stone and a assorted rag tag of helpers to stop this.

Once again Dafoe enters a sequel as the villain to a blockbusting original as he did in Speed 2. Once again with diminishing results. However Vin Diesel is much missed here with his wisecracking attitude, the plot is stupid, the action is run of the mill and its just a workmanlike action film with little style and flair.

Was the above review useful to you?

Welcome to the Next level the state of the union of XXX.

Author: bluesman-20 from Canada
27 December 2013

I saw XXX 2 :The state of the union in the theatre. Having been a big fan of Vin Diesel's XXX. I was NOT disappointed. The story is simple. An attack on the NSA facility leads Agent Gibbons to run taking with him Agent Toby Lee Shavers a American Q with a incredible high IQ. Gibbons realizes he's been targeted. The other men in his old military unit are all dead having died in a very short time. the only other man left is Darius Stone. and he's in a military present for punching and breaking the jaw of his Commanding officer. Stone is given a offer by Gibbons become the new XXX work for me and I'll break you out of here and let you find out who is behind this. The man behind is is Sectary of defence George Deckert. The man who Had his Jaw broken by Stone and Gibbon's former CO. Deckert wants to take over the presidency by killing the president and blaming it on Gibbons. Meanwhile the New XXX has his hands full trying to stay one step ahead of the law and of people lurking in the shadows waiting to betray them. Stone recruits his former street gang buddies and gathers together a army to help him save the president's life.

The film succeeds in furthering the idea of a new kind of James Bond. A street smart type of Bond. And Ice Cube does the job beautifully. His easy charm and chrisama lends XXX a likability. and Jackson never disappoints. As far as sequels go this one is on par with the first one. In terms of fun and excitement.

Was the above review useful to you?

This is actually a great movie!

7/10
Author: Michelle Langlois from Atlanta
24 June 2013

After reading the reviews I was hesitant to watch this movie but turns out its a good movie! Ice cube is awesome too. I never seen the first movie but after seeing this one I like this one just fine. Also Other great actors in this movie. Great plot line. But I guess some people just can't be made happy. I am a huge movie guru and this definitely is added to my like list. There are a lot of goofs and some of them are super obvious but there okay. I am somebody that observes errors quickly. I also love the music in this movie it is very fitting for the characters and the story line. And OMG the CARS in this movie are so bad a**. I like that there's music by Ice cube and xzibit considering their actors in the movie lol.

Was the above review useful to you?

Without Vin Diesel And Rob Cohen,Movie Was Disastrous

5/10
Author: Desertman84 from United States
8 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

xXx: State of the Union is an action/adventure film directed by Lee Tamahori. It stars Ice Cube,Willem Dafoe,Scott Speedman,Peter Strauss,Samuel L. Jackson,Xzibit and Sunny Mabrey.The movie is a sequel to the 2002 film xXx.

xXx: State of the Union starts when a new renegade fighter rises to defend the United States from an internal threat in this action thriller. Augustus Gibbons of the National Security Agency has successfully dealt with a number of threats to America's safety, but he faces a whole new challenge when he discovers a potent terrorist cell that has ties to the upper levels of the American military. Gibbons learns that George Deckert, the secretary of defense, has been training a secret military faction to stage a coup against the United States by kidnapping and assassinating the president of the United States. Convinced there's no one he can trust within his circle of operatives, Gibbons turns to Darius Stone, currently serving time in a maximum security penitentiary. Stone once served with Gibbons in the Army, and also took part in a mutiny against Deckert; despite his reckless side, Gibbons is certain Stone's fearless nature and peerless fighting skills make him the one man who can take on Deckert and his troops.

xXx: State of the Union was a disaster without Vin Diesel and Rob Cohen.Vin Diesel and Rob Cohen, the lead actor and director of the original had signed onto this film before xXx had opened, but both dropped out.Nevertheless,Cohen remained an executive producer. Actor/rapper Ice Cube takes over the lead role as the new xXx and Lee Tamahori was brought in to direct following the huge commercial success of the James Bond film Die Another Day which he directed.Unfortunately,Ice Cube and Lee Tamahori combo did not do anything well for the film as it became an uninteresting and an exercise of an implausible action film.Also,the movie would not generate that much interest to the viewer unless he/she has low expectations of a good film.

Overall,xXx: State of the Union without Vin Diesel and Rob Cohen fails to deliver.

Was the above review useful to you?

More mindless fun... without Vin Diesel

6/10
Author: Tweekums from United Kingdom
7 December 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you haven't seen the first xXx film it doesn't really matter, as this sequel is easy enough to follow and has a new protagonist; Vin Diesel is out, rapper Ice Cube is in. After the xXx headquarters is attacked Augustus Gibbons, played by Samuel L. Jackson decides he needs a new agent xXx so breaks Darius Stone out of prison and sets about investigating who it was that organised the attack. Things don't go well for Gibbons as he is captured by the bad guy who is none other than Secretary for Defence General George Deckert played by Willem Defoe; with Gibbons out of the picture Stone must do everything he can to stop the traitorous politician. He learns that Deckert is planning to stage a coup d'etat by assassinating the president to stop him Stone must recruit an army of his own… luckily his old gang of car thieves are up to beating some of the best trained men in the US military!

Obviously this isn't the most realistic of films and if you want a modicum of believability you probably shouldn't bother with this, if however you just want mindless action with lots of explosions and spectacular chases then you could do a lot worse. Ice Cube does a reasonable job as the new xXx and Samuel L. Jackson and Willem Defoe were good in their roles. The CGI effects were somewhat over used and in several scenes it was an obvious effect rather than a looking as if it might possibly have been a stunt that unfortunately reduced the sense of danger. Overall though this wasn't as bad as I'd feared it would be and I'd recommend any action fans check it out if it is on TV, I wouldn't go out of my way to see it though.

Was the above review useful to you?

Action with good plot

6/10
Author: misterlinder from Switzerland
27 February 2010

Many fight-scenes, crashes by jeep or even by tanks, well-armed agents and secret offices under a ranch. This is xXx – Triple X. Right now, I've seen this movie two times. When I saw it for the first time, I found it great. And even while looking for the second time it retains it's excitement. Special arms and high-tech equipment are well-known from James-Bond-films. But it's not especially an one man show, there are different people who fight together against the US-minister of defence, who wants to take over the White House. It's a fantastic movie because of the good plot. It's about Agent Gibbons, the chief of a secret office under a farmhouse. They get attacked and only he and his assistant are able to flee. To find out, who attacked them, Gibbons has to recruit a new xXx-Specialagent. He chooses Darius Stone, an Ex-Navy SEAL soldier, from Gibbons earlier forces. Unfortunately Stone is at the moment in prison… Sometimes this film is disjointed, you don't understand for example why Stone is on an air-craft-carrier. But it's definitely a good entertainment after a hard week.

Was the above review useful to you?

Boyz in the hood meets Tom Clancy

6/10
Author: Furiosity06 from Australia
5 September 2009

xXx The State of The union (or The Next Level as it was called in Australia) is quite interesting in a way. It is a military spy film, a Conspiracy thriller and a ghetto gangsta movie all rolled into one. It's a pretty unique combination and one that's not exactly well put together.

At the start, when the film jumps genres, you can see and hear it in the visuals and soundtrack, but at the end, it all comes together although rather disappointingly. The man 'suit' turns out he didn't always wear a suit. A secret Ghetto Chop shop raids the white house and 'jacks a tank. It all becomes a bit of a mess. Although the characters are very distinct and all play their part in the story rather well, but all of them seem to have a history together which is never fully explained or shown. It does get annoying after a while to watch characters make continuous reference to something that you had no idea what happened or when.

This movie reminded me of a video game (like Grand Theft Auto or a James bond game) that have you going for goal after mindless goal, but it kinda works. It's like 'Gone in 60 Seconds' or 'Speed' where you can just lay back and switch your mind off for an hour and a half. You don't need to think about why who's doing what. Just watch some kick butt action.

Was the above review useful to you?

garbage can is too good to contain this movie

Author: Subhamoy Sengupta from Paderborn, Germany
18 January 2008

I did not give any stars to this movie. I hope no one asks why. It can't be honoured with even a single star. I saw "Dangerous Ground" and did not dislike it; I did not sweat my brain thinking whether IceCube could act of not, and I thought, neither did he. So, I never expected he would really try to find out, but then again, sometimes reality bites harder than nightmares. Not sure why Samuel L. Jackson had to go so low ( I am sure he gets enough contracts to keep himself busy round the year anyway! ). Someone said this movie will please the Saturday night crowd though it's utter nonsense. I disagree with that too. Saturday night crowd expects some juice, and this movie has none, literally as well as metaphorically.

Guys, if you don't want your money go straight into soil, go rent some actual XXX at least! That would offer more thrills than this one!

Was the above review useful to you?

Medium quality story ,nice show.

4/10
Author: board-5 from Hungary
1 November 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The good:I saw like Ice Cube enjoyed the shooting. He took acting seriously. There are many nice explosions. William Deafo was brilliant. Peter Straus had not too much role,it's not he's mistake. The DVD version I had seen was just 100-minits long. It was not boring. You will see Wasington DC (very nice city)capital of USA The last train action scene is very nice ,with one unforgettable sentence Its sure we gonna see better films,but this film is not too bad! Very able for one time.Lee Tamahory directed something very average,and the original version was boring with that 120-minits.After Rob Cohens first part I feel like this is a better movie.Better like Europien copy's.Everybody will enjoy it who loves 007.movies,and American action films.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 11 of 22: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history