IMDb > The Whole Ten Yards (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Whole Ten Yards
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Whole Ten Yards More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 107 reviews in total 

32 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Abysmal

1/10
Author: Rooster99 from Paris, France
24 May 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Absolutely terrible. Unbelievably bad. Not the least bit funny. Moronic, extremely lame jokes, terrible acting, no plot at all worth mentioning, a perfect example of the decline of Hollywood films. After 10 minutes you will be pulling out your hair. The lines are so bad Ernest wouldn't have used them.

The first movie (Whole 9 Yards) was witty, humorous, and surprisingly good. Everything worked. Perry was particularly effective as the bumbling dentist whose wife is out to get him. Willis was great as a serious hit-man who doesn't want to be sequestered away in Canada. And both Peet and Henstridge were effective in their roles as an enthusiastic yet green hit-woman, and a mobster's wife (respectively). But this movie??? It had none of that. There was not a single memorable moment, nor anything that would even evoke a chuckle. The physical comedy was very forced, and incredibly obvious. The jokes were just plain terrible. There was no direction, this movie meandered all over the place. The whole bit with Willis pretending he liked to keep house? That was simply idiotic.

This movie was so bad it makes Charlies Angel's 2 look like a masterpiece, and that is really an impressive feat. It is hard to imagine how after the first one which was such an effective comedy, the same team could churn out this complete and utter crap. It boggles the imagination. It is actually hard to think of worst sequels, or at least ones that were so much more terribly bad than the original actually good film (if both stink, that doesn't count); CA2 is the best example I can think of but then again the first one was nothing to write home about. How about Jaws 4? Friday the 13th 27? I really can't think of a more disappointing film, particularly after the promise of the first 9 Yards.

Terrible, absolutely terrible. Should be retitled "The 3 stooges get Lazlo", except that would be an insult to the stooges. My advice? Rent the first one and pretend this one was never made.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

no reason for this to have been made

Author: Special-K88
17 January 2007

An unnecessary sequel if there ever was one finds bumbling dentist Oz (Perry) now happily married to Cynthia (Henstridge), until she's kidnapped by vengeful mobster Lazlo Gogolak (Pollak) and his Hungarian crew who know that former associate Jimmy Tudeski (Willis) is still alive. Not capable of getting her back by himself, Oz enlists the aid of Jimmy and wife Jill (Peet); she's anxious to get back into the game, but unfortunately he's put the old life behind him in favor of staying at home and obsessing over the cleanliness of his surroundings. The same cast that brought so much life and energy to The Whole Nine Yards flounders in this embarrassingly unfunny follow-up where the film's ridiculous story throws out one silly plot twist after another and an abundance of desperate gags. At times the actors appear as if they're begging for help. *

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

By no means as good as the original...

4/10
Author: Lucas Ellis from Winter Springs
30 November 2005

When Oz's (Matthew Perry) new wife Cynthia (Natasha Henstridge) is captured by the mob, he is no one else to turn to but his old friend Jimmy the Tulip (Bruce Willis). Teaming up with Jimmy and his new wife (Amanda Peat), Oz experiences another crime filled adventure with the mob.

Although not nearly as funny or as exciting as the original, The Whole Ten yards will surely entertain…for the most part. About half of the movie is clever and entertaining and would have deserved my recommendation, but the twist at the end is terrible and made the movie seem worthless. After the twist, follows a ridiculous display of events that are horrible, making the movie in my opinion a failure but still not absolutely terrible. Overall, the movie follows in the footsteps of an entertaining comedy but falls short of what could have been.

I do not recommend this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Step back nine yards

4/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
12 September 2007

After the fun time I had watching The Whole Nine Yards, I was looking forward to seeing The Whole Ten Yards. But I watched it last night and I was pretty much disappointed with where they took the story. It just seemed like they took the characters and turned them into something completely different. For me, I'm such a Bruce Willis fan, so when I saw him growing and acting like a bull while he was drunk in one scene, I didn't laugh, I actually wanted to cry for him, it was pretty pathetic what they did to this cool, smooth, charismatic hit man that we knew and loved in the first film. The script and story was just up to par like the first film was, in fact, I would've appreciated it if they just left The Whole Nine Yards alone if they really felt like this one had a chance for a great comedy.

Jimmy has changed from this tough guy hit man to a Martha Stuart and Jill is not happy with it. Oz and Cynthia are in a quiet life in hiding from the gangsters. Lazlo is out of prison and wants revenge, so he "kidnaps" Cynthia and now Jimmy, Jill, and Oz get together to save her only to find out there are more twists and turns than they expected. But Jimmy has to go deep back into his roots of being the tough guy, not Mr. Clean.

Now don't get me wrong, The Whole Ten Yards has a few laughs here and there, but for the most part I just actually felt bad for Bruce Willis with the silly attempt to be a soft like Martha Stuart type of guy, he's just such a great tough guy, it's hard to see him as anything else. Matthew Perry wasn't as fun as he was in the first movie and neither was Amanda, it just seems like everyone lost their magic and chemistry with each other in this film. I really wish that I loved this film, but I'm having a hard time, I'm sorry.

4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Far from brilliant; but fun despite being superfluous

6/10
Author: The_Void from Beverley Hills, England
26 June 2006

I found The Whole Nine Yards to be a surprisingly fun film, which worked thanks to its engaging plot and interesting characters. One thing I didn't think the film needed was a sequel; but I decided to sit down and watch it anyway, and to my surprise; it's a lot better than I thought it would have been. I can certainly understand why it hasn't received glowing praise; as many of the jokes are recycled and the whole film does feel like an excuse to give the likes of Mathew Perry something to do. That being said, original script writer Mitchell Kapner has managed to put together a film that makes good use of its absurd plot and characters, and somehow manages to be enjoyable despite feeling completely superfluous. The plot this time starts when Oz's wife Cynthia is kidnapped by a Hungarian mob boss. Oz decides to contact Jimmy the Tulip; Cynthia's ex-husband and hit man to help get his wife back from the mob. Along with Jimmy's wife and aspiring assassin, Jill, the trio attempt to thwart the mob boss, and help Oz get Cynthia back.

Just like the first film, this one relies on the talents of its lead stars to pull it through. Matthew Perry's wisecracks are mostly amusing, and he is in his element the wrong guy in the wrong place at the wrong time. Amanda Peet is still naive, and sexy, as the aspiring assassin; while Bruce Willis sleepwalks in a role that is a spoof of what he's used to doing. Kevin Pollack chews the scenery with his silly accent, but provides some laughs; and just like the first film, Natasha Henstridge is the spare wheel. The plot isn't very well done, as it mostly features the lead stars hanging around and waiting for someone to shoot at them; so it can become a bit boring. However, the film is never far away from a one-liner or comedic set piece to keep it moving and there are a number of big laughs. Sequels like this often don't work; Ocean's Twelve being the case in point, but I'm pleased to say that The Whole Ten Yards isn't a complete waste of time as it delivers what you would expect of it. It's not particularly deep or clever, but the film offers a fun time and the ending is rather well done.

Was the above review useful to you?

45 out of 81 people found the following review useful:

One yard too many...

1/10
Author: 10ThingsIHateAboutUXtra from Tacoma, WA
26 August 2005

Bruce Willis acting like Martha Stewart is not funny. When the MPAA tamed down the sequel to PG-13 ('The Whole Nine Yards' was R), they lost all the humor too. The first one was surprisingly good (Amanda Peet stole the movie). Matthew Perry was funnier in the original (like Chandler in the first few seasons of 'Friends') but in the sequel, he is lame and unfunny (like Chandler after he gets married). Speaking of 'lame', the bad guy in this movie is incredibly annoying. I generally like Kevin Pollak, but he was unwatchable here...and so was the rest of the movie. I haven't seen such an unnecessary sequel in quite a while...

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

The whole ten yards... no good

2/10
Author: patricklewallen from United States
10 April 2005

The Whole Nine Yards was one of my favorite movies of all time! Absolutely hilarious. However, this movie was really a downfall. The characters were horrible. Bruce Willis' character becomes entirely too false. The new mobster group just irritated me every time I saw them on the screen. Matthew Perry is the only one to deliver a true performance. He's great! The plot line of this story is no good. It's incredibly dull, and not really fun. There were, as expected, a few really great parts to make the film alright. I did laugh here, and there, but I did regret renting the film. What a bummer. If you're looking for a movie that has nothing, you found it. However... But I, very regretfully..., would not recommend this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

The Whole Ten Yards is a comedy dead zone. You watch in complete disbelief as scenes appear on the screen and die. (* out of * * * *)

3/10
Author: Frank Rizzo from United States
22 August 2005

The Whole Ten Yards (2004) is a comedy dead zone. You watch in complete disbelief as scenes appear on the screen and die. Every moment in this movie, begs for a single laugh, and it's as if the actors- -some who were all so promising in the original film, The Whole Nine Yards (2000)- -were promised big paychecks if they were able to tag along with the film's script.

The Whole Ten Yards assumes that the viewer has some familiarity with the first movie. Bruce Willis returns as Jimmy "The Tulip" Tudeski, who's now living in obscurity with his wife, Jill (Amanda Peet). Both are having problems in their marriage due to (a) Jimmy's erectile dysfunction, (b) Jill's inability to fulfill her lifelong ambition to become a contract killer and (c) Jimmy's transformation into a male-like Martha Sterwart.

Meanwhile Nicholas "Oz" Oseransky's (Matthew Perry) finds that goons have kidnapped his wife, Cynthia (Natasha Henstridge), and that they are led by Lazlo Gogolak (Kevin Pollak), the father of the mob boss (also played by Pollak in the original), who was eliminated in the original film. Oz tracks down Jimmy and convinces his old pal to give up cooking and house cleaning and help him in a rescue attempt.

Warner Bros. has been unsuccessful in making mobster-comedy movie sequels. Analyze This (1999) was a funny film, but the idea to make a sequel was unnecessary. The sequel, Analyze That (2002), was an attempt to stretch an idea beyond its natural shelf life.

But you have to wonder why the filmmakers felt it was a good move to make a sequel to The Whole Nine Yards, or why Matthew Perry, who is playing Chandler (from "Friends") again, is unlikely to have a movie career, and why the film has been toned down to a PG-13 rating (the film cheats us of another view of Peet's breasts).

Screenwriter George Gallo, on the DVD commentary, evidently has no regrets. "I think this movie is very funny," he insists, "I wrote 80 pages of genius." Apparently the scathing reviews and paltry box office have done little to humble him, as he adds, "It's like a homicidal Three Stooges."

When Hollywood lackluster sequels are meant to be made, Howard Deutch is the man to call. He's responsible for Neil Simon's The Odd Couple II (1998) and Grumpier Old Men (1995). Deutch has also directed John Hughes-produced film such as The Great Outdoors (1988), Pretty in Pink (1986), and Some Kind of Wonderful (1987).

In The Whole Ten Yards, there is a scene that makes a reference to Hughes' Planes, Tranes & Automobiles (1987), but let's just say that it was more funnier when Steve Martin and John Candy did it.

But, if you don't laugh at that, there's Kevin Pollack (again) in one of the most singularly bad performances I have ever seen in a movie. It fails by calling attention to its awfulness. His accent, his voice, his clothes, his clownish makeup all conspire to create a character who brings the movie to a halt every time he appears on the screen.

There's also the propensity of a 107-year old woman able to pass gas. Surely by now, you must be rolling in the aisles? No? Then, I will mention that Bruce Willis' character is often unpleasant. He puts on an apron and a head cloth during the early scenes, as if such a disguise would do anything other than call attention to himself.

Deutch, on the DVD commentary, is quietly apologetic as he points out all the things he wished he'd changed. "I was always sorry we didn't cut this out, " he says of one scene, "I think the joke is over." And I should mention that some of the film's elements such as the film's violence (for example, a scene where a woman gets a slap to the face) don't blend well with the film's light "comedy." And if you're planning on seeing or watching The Whole Ten Yards someday, let me tell you, it's not worth seeing for a whole ten bucks on the big screen.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A big disappointment

4/10
Author: Sully320 from New Jersey
20 August 2006

I really liked the Whole Nine Yards. Perhaps a little overdone, but very enjoyable. And Natasha Henstridge was gorgeous! The Whole Ten Yards was a disappointment. The plot was a retread, and the chemistry between Jimmy and Oz was watered down from the first movie. And as others have pointed out, Bruce Willis' crying was both poorly done and poorly conceived. Also, Jimmy's rotten behavior towards Oz and his wife was so out of character from what was established in the first movie, and his bizarre behavior in the beginning was inadequately justified. Furthermore, Kevin Pollack was more incomprehensible in this movie than in the previous one, which is saying something. I actually regretted seeing this movie, because it to some extent spoiled the nice feeling I got from watching the first one.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Lean Cuisine

3/10
Author: jldmp1 (jldmp1@aol.com) from United States
26 August 2006

Not much nutrition here, I'm afraid. Kapner really stretches this stuff thin - as thin as cardboard, and about as tasteless.

This time there are more borrowings - the hapless Perry plays it more or less as Belushi's part in "The Man With One Red Shoe". Pollack wears the Sopranos 'Uncle Junior' glasses, and he has nowhere to go but in the direction of greater and greater excess. The gangsters and hit men all have post-"Analyze This" issues.

On the plus side, Willis knows he has to mix things up, so he plays this as though he's 'outside' the narrative, and 'in his own movie' - playing it more between the movie reality and us. Peet competently keeps up her end of the equation.

But this is beyond anyone's skill to save - not enough calories here to thrive on.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Newsgroup reviews
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history