Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 32: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 312 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining comic book action with 2 babes ( Anjelina & Gerry )

7/10
Author: knobe-1 from United States
6 September 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Lara Croft's main contribution to society is that she is the opposite of the common Hollywood female, shrieking every time trouble or danger occurs. Angelina very successfully conveys a character that is strong, intelligent and ambitious. She does this while being totally sexy ( again, opposite of our cultural propaganda ). The history details are skewed but this is entertainment . . . it does not bill itself as a documentary ! I wish this movie could be distributed globally to all teen girls, so they would know it is cool for women to have a backbone, although sticking by your ethics may be painful. ( Gerry upset me when he made Lara shoot him ! I liked Mr. Terry, but I guess viewers need Lara single. )

Heck . . . it is a fun movie . . . we get to see AJ as an adult power ranger and Gerry with his natural accent ( which he somehow 'lost' for Attila & Phantom )

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Enjoyable But Undistinguished Tomb Raider Action-Adventure Sequel

6/10
Author: ShootingShark from Dundee, Scotland
26 June 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Unorthodox archaeologist Lara Croft is hired by MI6 to stop a terrorist arms supplier from locating the legendary Pandora's Box of Greek mythology. With the aid of a renegade soldier, Lara tracks a locating device for the box to Shanghai and manages to steal it. It leads her to a mythical African crater known as the Cradle of Life, but her enemies are closing in fast ...

This is a great action movie - it has wonderful exotic locations (Shanghai, Hong Kong, the African savannahs), terrific stunts, a glamorous and talented leading actress, good special effects, and rolls along at a cracking rate. It is nicely photographed, has tremendous sets (by Kirk Petruccelli), a good score and is well-edited. Despite all this though, it is slightly disappointing, simply because the previous Lara Croft movie is much better. This film is much more dogmatic - what little humour it has doesn't come from the characters, and the it-all-happened-in-the-past love story between Jolie and Butler isn't very involving. Jolie is terrific in this role but she had a lovely irreverent quality in the previous movie that is absent here. The supporting cast aren't very strong - Butler is okay, but Hinds is a rather bland businessman villain and Taylor isn't given anything to do. Still, my griping aside, there are several tremendous set-pieces here - the opening underwater adventure, a great gunfight in a hi-tech lab, skydiving from a Hong Kong skyscraper and a rather nifty Phantom attack. An enjoyable actioner, but a shame it doesn't live up to its predecessor's standards.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

wonderful body actions

7/10
Author: Roman0 (rtan_2000@sina.com) from China
4 January 2004

The plot is no fascinating, but the heroin, Lara Croft, is doing greatly. Her body movements are just beautiful and incredible. Charming. BTW, the directing of photography is noticeable, too. Especially, when they are playing with that magic ball, and the final credit list is also a fancy.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Satisfied !!

9/10
Author: gert-stevens from Antwerp, Belgium
17 September 2003

I adore Angelina Jolie, so any movie that stars her works for me. While I thought the first one had an interesting storyline, the second one lacked a profound story but was visually 100 times more stunning. Jolie looked unnaturally beautiful! Her charisma just radiates off the screen. I'm up for a third movie, however, I'd like it to be more of a mystery she's solving, instead of just searching for something. In both movies, she has only a piece of the puzzle but already knows what the whole picture looks like and all she has to do, is get to here and there before the bad guy does. So, for Tomb Raider 3 I'd like her to be completely unaware about the whats, wheres, hows,etc.. of the whole ancient artifact/story and uncover it bit by bit. Along with the audience, that is. But in all, the potential of this franchise goes definitely beyond two movies. Greets to all! G

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

enjoyed it much more second time around

7/10
Author: CJ13 from United States
23 August 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

(Possible spoilers) I did enjoy my first viewing of "Cradle of Life," though I was somewhat chagrined how some scenes were managed - specifically the shark escape and pole vault to the helicopter. Reality was just too lacking here - from that standpoint, I was disappointed. A flurry of various filming locations combined with an array of special effects and stunt work (ranging from acceptable to pretty cool) made me have to concentrate a bit to follow the storyline. However, the smaller details or dialogue between characters kept me posted as to why and where the action might be going.

I found elements which were definitely pleasurable. I do like the fact that this Tomb Raider series keeps away from "in-your -face" > type elements so often found in movies, relying on subtleties and perhaps even viewer imagination. Jolie's use of non-verbal communication to convey feelings - the eyes, facial expressions, gestures...how "Croft-like!" The almost friendly sarcastic banter of an overconfident, wrapped-up-in-himself Terry Sheridan was totally appropriate and believable. Reiss was menace enough ..there was certainly nothing to like about him. His right-hand henchman Sean was definitely a man of cold vengeance and paybacks. Lara's mood of anger and focus was justified. She witnessed the murder of several friends, therefore she too was bent on a mission. And of course, Hillary and Bryce are a must, their humor and presence opening a door to Lara's personal and softer side.

I went back to see "Cradle" again - this time to concentrate on details not previously fully appreciated. I was better prepared for those before-mentioned sequences for which I didn't care. My attitude said to go in and appreciate the combined balance between reality and game-like fantasy. As a gamer, I've seen Lara Croft latch onto the back -end of mini submarines, battle sharks(albeit with spear gun in hand) and do some fancy flips through the air. Incredible and over-the-top as they were at times in this Tomb Raider film, for the sake of enjoying a Lara Croft adventure, I found I could accept them more readily. With this mind-set , I enjoyed the film much more the second time around.

I do hope Paramount follows through on it's previous plan for a Tomb Raider 3 film. I'm certainly willing to give the big-screen version of Lara Croft the opportunity and time to evolve. Jolie as Croft is a perfect fit...hopefully the writers and directors will also come through at the plate!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Lara Croft was very good

8/10
Author: thepharaunking2004 from puerto rico
14 August 2003

I been a fan of Lara Croft since tomb raider 2. it was very good the second movie of this 6 video games products.this movie have good action scenes and stunts,though the plot i did like it very much.but Angelina Jolie brings life to this video game character. she is rude and tough and performs many acrobatics and they update Lara Croft as she fights more better in this movie than the first jumping and rolling(like the angel of darkness video game fights with martial arts too.and that was cool).she did a good performance :),i like it my vote for this movie is 8 of 10. :p

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

The Cradle will ROCK!

8/10
Author: Ironboundfw from United States
9 August 2003

Lara Croft - Cradle of life, is one of those rare films, that is better than the original and then some. But it also reminded me of those adventures I liked to go on in the back yard with my friends. it has that feel that anything is possible, and it's larger than life. And it was just FUN. I am a big fan of the games. and I liked the first movie enough. But this was truly original and fun.

Some people may have problems with the unbelivability of the plot. But, oh my GOD, E.T. was about an extra-terrestrial, Terminator has cyborgs traveling from the past to assassinate the saviour of the future. So, I am not cutting critics any slack, for some of their criticisms on story and plot. They writer obviously had fun, and so did I.

And besides, Angelina Jolie, can there be a more beautiful creature on the silver screen today. She is a mixture of most beautiful stars of the 1940's, with all the sass of today heroines.

The Cradle ROCKS!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

the cradle rocked me to sleep

Author: nadger_09
5 August 2003

Arguably, the "Tomb Raider" movie franchise is the most popular RPG-based movies in the history of cinema. And maybe I can say to the extent that it was clearly overhyped.

Let's face it, the first installment was plainly bad. And while you would think Angelina Jolie and company would at least try to do better in the second one, frankly they don't. "Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life" remains one of the many forgettable action movies, relying on too much CGI, stunts and flashy editing. There's nothing wrong with it, except that everything that's too much isn't nice... especially when not all of it works in the way it was intended to. Oh yes, there's a better storytelling and characterization. But "better" doesn't necessarily mean "good".

The action sequences are not as quite as adrenaline-pumping as they could possibly be. In fact, the whole movie lacks suspense and Jolie doesn't seem to possess any kind of vulnerabilty which makes the two-hour seating very much of a drag. The second rate special effects don't help either.

I suppose "Cradle of Life" isn't what archeologists would call a treasurable find. They may not probably dig it; but when they do it's bound to be classified as junk.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Infinitely better than the first!

7/10
Author: tirhascragoo from Seattle, Washington
3 August 2003

TOMB RAIDER: CRADLE OF LIFE. Angelina Jolie. Gerald Butler. DIR: Jan de Bont. Though not breaking any new ground and certainly not original, TR: CoL definitely improves over the original and is an enjoying and breath-taking adventure that surpasses even James Bond in excitement and adventure. ANGELINA JOLIE's portrayal of Lara Croft is amazing and she comes across with both beauty and dignity. What I liked about this movie is that it's not your typical low-brain action movie ala "XXX" or "James Bond" where the hero is invincible. Lara Croft struggles, is put in perilous situations, and bleeds like a human being. Sure, there are some plot holes and the story is not perfect but this film is arguably the most enjoying movie of summer 2003. Also, it should be pointed out that YOU DO NOT NEED TO SEE THE ORIGINAL FILM TO EITHER UNDERSTAND OR ENJOY THIS FILM. It is actually better if you never see the original and it should be wiped off the face of the earth in shame. It is a pity that this film was brushed aside by critics as it is undeserving and this movie should be the start of a very interesting series. I hope the films continue and can continue to improve with more skillful writing and direction. Although JAN DE BONT did a nice job in direction of this film to keep it interesting and exciting, the music was at times rather dull and the numerous slow-motion shots really took away from the movie. I definitely do recommend this movie and if you are a fan of either James Bond or Indiana Jones than this is a must-see! (2.5 out of 4)

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Say it is not so

4/10
Author: mrskywalker from chicago
31 July 2003

I liked the first one and expected this to be even much better. But Lara has been invaded by an attempt to be more realistic with an ex boyfriend involved. The worst part is her change in personality. She laughs when she hurts people. She says nice in pleasure when she stabs someone's foot. She laughs when she hits someone in the head. She slashes someone just for the hell of it and smiles.

She tells her friends "why am I bothering to discuss it with you." She tells some partner secret agents that they are dummies because they wear soft suits with soft hands. This is how she treats her friends which does not make her strong as perhaps feminists might think. She has a bad attitude toward everyone accept Africans which I suppose is politically correct. The Africans she smiles at and talks to like real people. Her partners are humiliated for no reason near the end.

The problem with this film is not realism. Who wants realism in a super hero movie. The problem is Lara is kind of a jerk in this film. Even the android Arnold plays in the great great Terminator 3 has more honor. There is also no real challenge from the villain especially at the end where it should be in Tomb Raider 2. This could be so great with more nobility and honor. It does not compare with Die Another Day. Although even Bond had a few bad movies in which he was made too sadistic. Bond is back but Lara needs to improve next time.

We may have many Tomb Raiders which would be great with Lara as an honorable hero. Jolie has great potential for a few more films but hopefully with no jerk convict love interest and please no more political correctness. Drop these boyfriend problems in Charlie's Angels and now Tomb Raider. Cut out the soap opera stuff and perhaps 20 years from now Tomb Raider movies may still be going perhaps even with new actresses.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 32: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history