IMDb > Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 12:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 116 reviews in total 

28 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

I swear it was great, and I have no connection to this production.

9/10
Author: joebua from Fountain Valley, CA
5 September 2003

It was a hot day and I decided to hit a movie. "Dickie Roberts" just happened to start at the right time for me. I didn't expect to like it as much as I did. Great script, perfectly cast (especially the kids) and it was really kinda heartwarming.

If you're a pop culture nut, you'll get a big kick outta seeing all the former child stars in the poker scene and then again at the end (stay for the credits).

Spade completely pulls it off. Lovitz is his usual outstanding (but then again I'm a big Lovitz fan).

Go see it. C'mon, go ahead.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Old man tells it like it is.

10/10
Author: wdforty
7 November 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was actually surprised at how well my family and I liked this movie. It was a really nice movie, It started out like the other Spade movies where the character he plays kind of annoys you but in the end you really like him and want everything to work out for him. So I will be adding it to my DVD collection when it comes out. I hope there will be some more former child star extras on the DVD.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

I loved this movie!

10/10
Author: nccgirl from IL
6 September 2003

I saw this movie last night and really enjoyed it! I laughed out loud many times and the story was really sweet. David Spade is hilarious in this movie and really made it work. Go see it! Oh, and the final song with former child stars will leave you laughing long after you leave the theater!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Nostalgic fun

Author: Spanner-2 from United States
11 September 2003

A silly comedy starring David Spade as a former child star who "hires" a family in order to give himself a real childhood experience so he can nab a new part in a Rob Reiner movie. The premise is as silly as you can get but it does have some fun injokes involving quite a number of former child actors from the 70s and 80s which is great fun for tv nostalgia buffs.. Pleasant enough comedy. GRADE: C

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

I laughed a lot in this movie

10/10
Author: Drew-Barrymore-Obsessed from Earth
21 March 2004

Okay Dickie Roberts Former Child Star was hilarious. The funny thing was is that all the child stars from the 70's and 80's were in this. It was the funny thing that was the song at the end and how he needs to get a childhood he never had back was really really funny and the thought of Sandler and Happy Madison Prouductions put this together to make Sandler and Spade movie with all the little Sandler and Spade actors which are mostly all of their movies were like John Lovitz and Micheal McDonald and even the thought to put Rob Reiner that was really funny. Okay so I have masterminded all the little things in this movie to make it 10/10. Sandler and Spade were in the writing and Production of this so they did awesome.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

This is knucking futs!

7/10
Author: Shawn Watson from The Penumbra
26 June 2004

David Spade is one of my fave SNL stars and he's made better movies than the rest of his old pals (It's Pat, Coneheads and Master of Disguise are among the worst films ever made). I especially liked him as the voice of Kuzko in the Emperor's New Groove. Here he plays Dickie Roberts: (former) Child Star, a kid at the top, but a man at the bottom and absolutely desperate for a comeback.

His agent (John Lovitz) cannot find him any work outside of celebrity boxing, his girlfriend has dumped him and Dickie's main source of income is parking cars. You get the picture, he's a completely fallen star.

Rob Reiner has a role that Dickie would love to get his hands on but Rob wont touch him because it requires an actor who knows 'normal', someone who knows how to be an adult, someone who had a proper childhood. Desperate to get the part, Dickie hires an ordinary middle-class family (dedicated mum, workaholic dad, bullied son, wishful daughter) to look after him like proper parents.

Trouble naturally follows. But Dickie's hijinks lessen and his new family's tolerance increases. Yes, they do learn from each other and become better people (yadda yadda) but there is just so much fun and craziness along the way and some genuine character moments.

There are loads of celebrity cameos (Tom Arnold, Corey Feldman, Brendan Fraser, Dustin Diamond) and lots of biting satire and the movie industry but the bulk of the film relies upon Dickie learning family values and having fun with the kids, being a kid. Proof positive that he's still the best (former) SNL star.

The only bad thing I can mention is Adam Sandler's involvement as executive producer, something that seriously tarnishes the film and prevents it from having any real class.

The DVD is in great looking 2.35:1 anamorphic widescreen with Dolby 5.1 sound and quite a few extras.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

The review do not do this film justice

10/10
Author: defknot
7 September 2003

Contrary to the sharp criticism of this film by multiple critics as a poor attempt at comedy with an absurd plot, I found this film to be delightfully humorous with a great moral for everyone to learn. Just like in Joe Dirt, David Spade really gives this film his best effort in such a way that you leave feeling like you've just been given a boost in life with such a great story. I would definitely recommend you see this movie in the theaters. The ending credits are hilarious as well. Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star truly combines tatseful comedy with life lessons that audiences of all ages can truly appreciate.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Disappointing

Author: jasongibbonsxxx from United States
29 March 2011

I am a big fan of David Spade but he has really fallen off as a comedy genius since his friend and frequent collaborator/comedy partner Chris Farley died sadly several years ago. I thought Joe Dirt was kind of funny in spots but over all pretty disappointing and this movie is even more disappointing. There are a couple of funny jokes in the movie and it is a very good premise for a movie but over all the plot is just too stupid and the jokes are predictable. The fact that David Spade plays a guy who is just unlikeable and a jerk gets old very fast and you can figure out exactly how the movie is going to go like ten minutes into watching it.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Being a child star rocks, it's being an ex child star that stinks

6/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
25 August 2007

I'm going to be up front, I don't like David Spade, I was never much of a fan of his work. But one of the girls I work with mentioned how she saw this movie and that I should see it since I know so much about pop culture, including most child star actors and their history. So I decided to give Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star a chance, what did I have to loose? I have to admit that I actually enjoyed this movie. It had definitely some of the most awesome cameo's that I have ever seen, like Corey Feldman, Dustin Diamond, Danny Bonnoduchi, Barry Williams, it was just awesome to see them playing poker together, that was the best scene. But the whole movie is pretty fun.

Dickie Roberts is a former child star who's life has gone down hill since the sit com that made him a star got cancelled. He wants a comeback, but when the director, Rob Reiner, tells him that he needs a "normal" person, someone who has had a childhood, but Dickie wants the role so badly that he stays with a family to discover what he missed in his childhood. But he ends up with a lot more than he expected when this family may be all he needs.

Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star is just a fun comedy with average acting, but a cool story. It was pretty unique and I just loved the ending credit sequence of the whole former child star actors singing about their memories and what it's like for them in today's world. Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star is a cute movie, some things are a bit unbelievable and the love story wasn't really needed, but it's a fun film and I would recommend it if you wanna just have a movie afternoon.

6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A comedy devoid of any laughs is never a good thing

5/10
Author: Electrified_Voltage from Guelph, Ontario, Canada
7 June 2010

I remember it was in late 2004 when I first discovered that this 2003 comedy, starring David Spade, existed. It had been over a year since its theatrical release, but late 2004 was when I came across some Internet discussions about it, and it seemed that the film had faced a lot of criticism. I was obviously in no hurry to see it, since it's been over five years since then and I finally rented it to watch for the first time this month. The only other movies I had seen in which Spade played a starring role were "Tommy Boy" and "Black Sheep", both co-starring Chris Farley. "Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star" was the first film I saw starring Spade without Farley, made years after Farley's death. As much as many people like this movie, I can't say I'm one of them.

In the 1970's, Dickie Roberts was a child star who was famous for his role in a popular sitcom. However, this sitcom eventually lost popularity and was cancelled. Dickie was then abandoned by his mother and his acting career was over. The former child star is now in his thirties, working as a car parking valet, and he has become very unpopular. When he hears that Rob Reiner will soon be making a new movie called "Mr. Blake's Backyard", Dickie is convinced that getting a part in it will be a great opportunity for a comeback. After a bit of a struggle to get an audition, he finally gets to meet the filmmaker, who tells him that he is not suited for this role, as he didn't have a real childhood and doesn't know what it means to be normal. Since Reiner won't be casting right away, the washed-up actor decides to look for a family to live with for a while, so he can gain the right experience for the role.

The film starts with an introduction to the Dickie Roberts character and his past. I was already finding it unfunny at this point, only smiling VERY slightly during the part with his mother talking about how he auditioned for the role of Pippi Longstocking. After this sequence, we see David Spade's character get clobbered in a boxing match, and I could tell this part was supposed to make me laugh, but it failed miserably. Another lame scene follows, with Dickie and his girlfriend arguing after the match (her calling him a "puss" and such). Another memorably unfunny scene is Dickie trying to act like a six year old getting a bike for Christmas. Spade's antics can be pretty lame, and I didn't care much for his character here. I did smile at times, such as the part where Dickie thinks the Finney kids (in the family he moves in with) are frightened by his story about the cancelled sitcom when it's actually something else, and part of what the protagonist says while taunting bullies (though I didn't feel like that particular part should have made me smile, and I certainly didn't like watching the bullies before he comes along), but the smiles were very rare, and I never actually laughed. The story is also kind of dull, though it can be touching towards the end, and if it hadn't been for that, I would probably be giving "Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star" a 4/10.

Before I watched this movie, I had low expectations. I had a feeling it was going to be fairly lame, and probably started having this feeling years before I actually saw the film. I guess I'm not a hardcore David Spade fan. Before seeing "Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star", I had seen him in those two films with Chris Farley, and had also seen "Coneheads", in which he plays a smaller part, but to me, he didn't stand out in any of these. I'm not exactly sure what I really think of him as a comedian. By the time I saw him in this 2003 comedy, I hadn't seen him in anything else for a while, so I don't know how to compare his performances. Well, even if I didn't like this movie, it is certainly not a terrible comedy, and unlike some films I've seen and disliked, I'm not exactly puzzled by the appeal of this one. If you watch it, I'm sure it will help if you're a true David Spade fan. If you're not, then you MIGHT want to skip it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 12:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history