IMDb > Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 12:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 118 reviews in total 

31 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

I swear it was great, and I have no connection to this production.

9/10
Author: joebua from Fountain Valley, CA
5 September 2003

It was a hot day and I decided to hit a movie. "Dickie Roberts" just happened to start at the right time for me. I didn't expect to like it as much as I did. Great script, perfectly cast (especially the kids) and it was really kinda heartwarming.

If you're a pop culture nut, you'll get a big kick outta seeing all the former child stars in the poker scene and then again at the end (stay for the credits).

Spade completely pulls it off. Lovitz is his usual outstanding (but then again I'm a big Lovitz fan).

Go see it. C'mon, go ahead.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Old man tells it like it is.

10/10
Author: wdforty
7 November 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was actually surprised at how well my family and I liked this movie. It was a really nice movie, It started out like the other Spade movies where the character he plays kind of annoys you but in the end you really like him and want everything to work out for him. So I will be adding it to my DVD collection when it comes out. I hope there will be some more former child star extras on the DVD.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

I loved this movie!

10/10
Author: nccgirl from IL
6 September 2003

I saw this movie last night and really enjoyed it! I laughed out loud many times and the story was really sweet. David Spade is hilarious in this movie and really made it work. Go see it! Oh, and the final song with former child stars will leave you laughing long after you leave the theater!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

I laughed a lot in this movie

10/10
Author: Drew-Barrymore-Obsessed from Earth
21 March 2004

Okay Dickie Roberts Former Child Star was hilarious. The funny thing was is that all the child stars from the 70's and 80's were in this. It was the funny thing that was the song at the end and how he needs to get a childhood he never had back was really really funny and the thought of Sandler and Happy Madison Prouductions put this together to make Sandler and Spade movie with all the little Sandler and Spade actors which are mostly all of their movies were like John Lovitz and Micheal McDonald and even the thought to put Rob Reiner that was really funny. Okay so I have masterminded all the little things in this movie to make it 10/10. Sandler and Spade were in the writing and Production of this so they did awesome.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Nostalgic fun

Author: Spanner-2 from United States
11 September 2003

A silly comedy starring David Spade as a former child star who "hires" a family in order to give himself a real childhood experience so he can nab a new part in a Rob Reiner movie. The premise is as silly as you can get but it does have some fun injokes involving quite a number of former child actors from the 70s and 80s which is great fun for tv nostalgia buffs.. Pleasant enough comedy. GRADE: C

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

This is knucking futs!

7/10
Author: Shawn Watson from The Penumbra
26 June 2004

David Spade is one of my fave SNL stars and he's made better movies than the rest of his old pals (It's Pat, Coneheads and Master of Disguise are among the worst films ever made). I especially liked him as the voice of Kuzko in the Emperor's New Groove. Here he plays Dickie Roberts: (former) Child Star, a kid at the top, but a man at the bottom and absolutely desperate for a comeback.

His agent (John Lovitz) cannot find him any work outside of celebrity boxing, his girlfriend has dumped him and Dickie's main source of income is parking cars. You get the picture, he's a completely fallen star.

Rob Reiner has a role that Dickie would love to get his hands on but Rob wont touch him because it requires an actor who knows 'normal', someone who knows how to be an adult, someone who had a proper childhood. Desperate to get the part, Dickie hires an ordinary middle-class family (dedicated mum, workaholic dad, bullied son, wishful daughter) to look after him like proper parents.

Trouble naturally follows. But Dickie's hijinks lessen and his new family's tolerance increases. Yes, they do learn from each other and become better people (yadda yadda) but there is just so much fun and craziness along the way and some genuine character moments.

There are loads of celebrity cameos (Tom Arnold, Corey Feldman, Brendan Fraser, Dustin Diamond) and lots of biting satire and the movie industry but the bulk of the film relies upon Dickie learning family values and having fun with the kids, being a kid. Proof positive that he's still the best (former) SNL star.

The only bad thing I can mention is Adam Sandler's involvement as executive producer, something that seriously tarnishes the film and prevents it from having any real class.

The DVD is in great looking 2.35:1 anamorphic widescreen with Dolby 5.1 sound and quite a few extras.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

The review do not do this film justice

10/10
Author: defknot
7 September 2003

Contrary to the sharp criticism of this film by multiple critics as a poor attempt at comedy with an absurd plot, I found this film to be delightfully humorous with a great moral for everyone to learn. Just like in Joe Dirt, David Spade really gives this film his best effort in such a way that you leave feeling like you've just been given a boost in life with such a great story. I would definitely recommend you see this movie in the theaters. The ending credits are hilarious as well. Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star truly combines tatseful comedy with life lessons that audiences of all ages can truly appreciate.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious flick, Spade's best

8/10
Author: scottsue98
6 September 2007

This movie is hilarious from beginning to end. Imagine, a Hollywood movie that shows how RIDICULOUS Hollywood is! Spade is terrific, the 'child star' has beens are wonderful and likable in spoofing their own careers. You've got to respect that.

Mary McCormack is both beautiful and very funny in the 'straight role' of the movie. I'd love to see her do more comedy. Did I mention that she is very easy on the eyes? The dude who plays her husband and Dickie's 'father' is hilarious too. His name escapes me. Not many lines, but stole scenes. A confident Spade seemed to let him do that, the sign of a good comedic actor is that HE doesn't have to get all the good lines.

The kids are endearing. The 'stunts' (ie bike crashes) are phenomenal.

Like Tommy Boy and Joe Dirt, he plays that goofy guy who's missing it on most cylinders, but you can't help rooting for.

That's a guy I want in any comedy I see. The underachieving underdog who figures it out in the end and makes good. Spade is terrific at playing that role - and in Dickie Roberts - he's at his best.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Disappointing

Author: jasongibbonsxxx from United States
29 March 2011

I am a big fan of David Spade but he has really fallen off as a comedy genius since his friend and frequent collaborator/comedy partner Chris Farley died sadly several years ago. I thought Joe Dirt was kind of funny in spots but over all pretty disappointing and this movie is even more disappointing. There are a couple of funny jokes in the movie and it is a very good premise for a movie but over all the plot is just too stupid and the jokes are predictable. The fact that David Spade plays a guy who is just unlikeable and a jerk gets old very fast and you can figure out exactly how the movie is going to go like ten minutes into watching it.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

You'd be surprised...

9/10
Author: thinktyler
6 September 2003

You'd be surprise if I told you that Dickie Roberts: Childhood... was the best movie of the summer. Though for a comedy to obtain such an honor is rare and really never heard of. This is why Dicky Roberts.. is not going to outlast Terminator 3, Tomb Raider.. etc. However, Dickie Roberts:Childhood... was probably the best movie out this summer. It's not flawless nor stupid (dumb and dumber); however it is entertaining and when you are out of the movies you will be reciting the lines. This usually means you have enjoyed and you have been entertained. I would recommend this movie even if you hate Spade. Here is what some critics are saying. Seattle Post-Intelligencer William Arnold "...a slightly better-than-average David Spade summer comedy..." Atlanta Journal-Constitution Bob Townsend "...often funny, but just as often ham-fisted..."

Bottom line go see the movie.... 6.889/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 12:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history