MOVIEmeter
SEE RANK
Down 10,788 this week

Box 507 (2002)
"La caja 507" (original title)

6.9
Your rating:
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Ratings: 6.9/10 from 1,617 users  
Reviews: 9 user | 9 critic

Bankmanager Modesto Pardos(played by Antonio Resines) daughter dies in an forest fire while camping. 7 years later Pardos bank gets robbed and robbers breaks open numerous safe deposit ... See full summary »

Director:

Writers:

(story), (screenplay), 1 more credit »
0Check in
0Share...

Watch Now

Free at IMDb

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 202 titles
created 28 Mar 2011
 
a list of 422 titles
created 27 Apr 2011
 
a list of 184 titles
created 22 Dec 2011
 
a list of 3024 titles
created 16 Nov 2012
 
a list of 36 titles
created 10 months ago
 

Related Items

Search for "Box 507" on Amazon.com

Connect with IMDb


Share this Rating

Title: Box 507 (2002)

Box 507 (2002) on IMDb 6.9/10

Want to share IMDb's rating on your own site? Use the HTML below.

Take The Quiz!

Test your knowledge of Box 507.
10 wins & 4 nominations. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Nobody's Life (2002)
Drama | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.1/10 X  
Director: Eduard Cortés
Stars: José Coronado, Adriana Ozores, Marta Etura
Son of Cain (2013)
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

A wealthy Spanish family whose teenage son is very troubled, they hire a psychologist to help him, but nothing is what it seems like in the beginning.

Director: Jesús Monllaó
Stars: José Coronado, Abril García, Paco González
Wolf (2004)
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7/10 X  

Based on a true story. In the 70's, during the last stages of Franco's dictatorship, Txema, a basque construction worker, is arrested because of his connection to some terrorists who have ... See full summary »

Director: Miguel Courtois
Stars: Eduardo Noriega, José Coronado, Mélanie Doutey
Lucky Star (1997)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.3/10 X  

Marina, a woman with a glass eye, has the bad luck to be the victim of an assault witnessed by Rafael, a goodhearted butcher, who rescues her from her attacker, a man named Daniel. Rafael ... See full summary »

Director: Ricardo Franco
Stars: Antonio Resines, Maribel Verdú, Jordi Mollà
Barrio (1998)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.2/10 X  

A coming-of-age story in the vein of CITY OF GOD and KIDS - available for the first time in the U.S.!

Director: Fernando León de Aranoa
Stars: Críspulo Cabezas, Timy Benito, Eloi Yebra
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.8/10 X  

A member of the ETA terrorist organization belongs to a commando which is preparing an outrage in Madrid. But he sets other priorities when he meets a girl who is addicted to drugs and for ... See full summary »

Director: Imanol Uribe
Stars: Carmelo Gómez, Ruth Gabriel, Javier Bardem
Romance | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6/10 X  

Amid the spectacular festivities of Holy Week in Seville, an aspiring novelist stuggles with his work and pays his bills by composing crossword puzzles. A cryptic recording left on his ... See full summary »

Director: Mateo Gil
Stars: Eduardo Noriega, Jordi Mollà, Natalia Verbeke
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

A thriller based on the 2004 terrorist bombing in Madrid.police ineptitude prior to Madrid's 2004 terrorist bombing.

Director: Enrique Urbizu
Stars: José Coronado, Rodolfo Sancho, Helena Miquel
Cachito (1996)
Adventure | Drama | Crime
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.4/10 X  
Director: Enrique Urbizu
Stars: Jorge Perugorría, Sancho Gracia, Amara Carmona
Director: Enrique Urbizu
Stars: Hugo Silva, Aitor Luna, José Coronado
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.2/10 X  
Director: Enrique Urbizu
Stars: María Barranco, Kiti Mánver, Antonio Resines
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

Carlos is a young student, just 21. Nice or annoying as he likes, enjoys provoking and transgreding. In the night he goes out to meet his friends in the Kronen, a bar. Every situation can ... See full summary »

Director: Montxo Armendáriz
Stars: Juan Diego Botto, Jordi Mollà, Núria Prims
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
María Pardo Muñoz
Antonio Resines ...
Modesto Pardo
Miriam Montilla ...
Ángela
Félix Álvarez ...
Ramón
Javier Coromina ...
Toni Lomas
Antonio Mora ...
Juan
Jordi Amat ...
Guardia Seguridad de Bancosol
Juan Fernández ...
Regueira
Sarina Röhr ...
Mujer Rubia
...
Khaled
Michele Nicholson ...
Mujer Francesa (as Michèle Nicholson)
Eva Gutiérrez ...
Empleada Bancosol
...
Rafael Mazas (as Jose Coronado)
Jorge Calvo ...
Aguiló
Gerald Elflein ...
Camarero Alemán
Edit

Storyline

Bankmanager Modesto Pardos(played by Antonio Resines) daughter dies in an forest fire while camping. 7 years later Pardos bank gets robbed and robbers breaks open numerous safe deposit boxes. After the robbery Pardo by mistake look into one of the depositboxes and stumbles across some very strange documents that proves that his daughters death is not an accident but murder. Pardo swears to take revenge on all those involved but doesn't know that papers belongs to a very powerful mob boss who is looking for the papers and will stop at nothing to get them. Written by curtherzstark

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Genres:

Action | Drama | Thriller

Certificate:

See all certifications »
Edit

Details

Official Sites:

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

2 January 2004 (Turkey)  »

Also Known As:

Box 507  »

Box Office

Budget:

€3,000,000 (estimated)
 »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Sound Mix:

Color:

See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Connections

Remade as John Day (2013) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Splendid Spanish thriller with excellent performance by the main cast , Resines and Coronado , and stunningly directed
7 June 2014 | by (Santander Spain) – See all my reviews

Thrilling as well as gripping Spanish film about a Bank clerk and an ex-police delinquent . It is one of the best noir cinema that have been made in Spain, is a fast paced thriller that keeps you in suspense and interested from start to finish ; being masterfully directed and performed by all actors, especially Coronado and Resines . Dealing with a burned-out bank director called Pardo (Antonio Resines) whose daughter (Dafne Fernandez) dies in an forest fire while camping with her boyfriend . 7 years later , his bank gets robbed and robbers break several safe deposit boxes . During the robbery Pardo is locked and by mistake looks at one of the boxes and comes across some sheets that prove his daughter's death not to be an accident but killing . Pardo swears to take vengeance on all those involved in the murder but he doesn't know that documents belong to a nasty powerful mob boss and his hoodlum , an ex-police (Jose Coronado) who mistreats his wife (Goya Toledo) , and they will stop at nothing to get them . The bank manager attempts to discover clues but in the process , he uncovers a twisted string of corruption in Sun Coast and Italian Mafia with unexpected consequences .

This is an exciting picture plenty of intrigue , killings , twists and turns . From start to finish action-packed , fast-paced , thrills , emotion and suspense is continuous . Interesting and moving screenplay by Miguel Gaztambide and the same filmmaker . It is one of the best noir film that have been realized in Spain , it is a thriller that keeps you interested and expecting . Antonio Resines , José Coronado , Goya Toledo star in the sort of story we've seen many times before - a corrupt ex-police and a stubborn family man - but it is always fun when is executed with style and Urbizu certainly seems to have that . The cast gets credible and nuanced performances that enrich the flick . This film grabs our attention , beginning with a really brutal and masterful performance by Jose Coronado . Jose Coronado is simply awesome , he steals the show as a veteran and violent ex-police with dark secrets . An interpretation similar to subsequent ¨No peace for the wicked¨ in which he won a Goya award also playing a violent police . And of course , the great Antonio Resines plays as Bank manager Modesto Pardos who stumbles across some very strange documents ; Resines is simply superb, to be able to make a character icon in the figure of an obstinate clerk . Furthermore , a good support cast such as Goya Toledo , Dafne Fernandez , Juan Fernandez , Hector Colome and Sancho Gracia , a veteran actor working from the sixties and recently deceased . The movie packs a colorful and brilliant cinematography by Carlos Gusi who ha photographed successes such as ¨Torrente, the dumb arm of the law¨, ¨Juan De Los Muertos¨ , ¨Take my eyes¨ and particularly ¨Cell 211¨ . And being filmed on location in Toledo , Algeciras , Linea de Concepcion , Cadiz , Torremolinos , Malaga and Tangiers , Morocco . Suspenseful and thrilling musical score by Mario De Benito , a fine composer expert on sinister and mysterious atmospheres as proved in ¨The witch affair ¨, ¨Rigor Mortis¨ , ¨Al Limite¨, ¨A Ciegas¨ , among others .

The film was well produced by Fernando Bovaira , one of the best Spanish producers , financing a lot of films in lavish budgets such as ¨The others¨ , ¨The sea inside¨ , ¨Agora¨ , ¨Mortadelo and Filemon¨, ¨Butterfly tongue¨ , among others . The motion picture titled Box 507 or Caja 507 was professionally directed by Enrique Urbizu and won various Goya awards . He is a specialist on Thriller as proved in ¨Todo Por la Pasta¨, ¨Cachito¨ , ¨La Vida Mancha¨ this ¨Caja 507¨ and on comedy such as ¨Cuernos Mujer¨, ¨Como Ser Infeliz¨ and ¨Tu Novia esta Loca¨ but especially Urbizu is the director of No Peace For The Wicked (No Habra Paz Para Los Malvados), an upcoming 'tough cop with big gun' movie coming out of Spain , this is his best film surpassing even "La Caja 507" .


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
pretty straight ahead crime story chicago85
Discuss Box 507 (2002) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?