IMDb > A Midsummer Night's Rave (2002) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
A Midsummer Night's Rave More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 20 reviews in total 

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Mix match of styles

Author: pobber from Southport, England
29 September 2004

If you've seen Human Traffic and GO then this a little of both. It has the Americanism aspect you get in GO and almost the rave feeling and music from Human Traffic. I watched, sometimes I wanted to fast-forward, but something that makes a movie watchable is that I identified with a couple of the characters, even if it was only for something they said or a thought/feeling they were going through.

The problem with this movie was it needed to grow up, it needed to be more written around someones experience rather than experiences being shaped in to Shakespeare's play. Playing with the greats is not easy. Most if not all films based around Shakespeare have failed. If you take the idea and then use that to help you make a movie, using personal experience, maybe something like Point Break (which sort of takes off Romeo and Juliet) that is far more successful.

But then again what do I know I'm only the paying public!

Probably would have gone to the Cinema but tried to blag a student discount. Would not pay full price.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Great Cast

Author: Chris Stinson (Chris@LiveFreeOrDieFilms.com) from Los Angeles, CA
13 February 2003



I had the pleasure of seeing this film at a screening last week in Los Angeles with one of my friends who worked in the sound department. I attend many of these industry screenings and most often I'm disappointed and go with hopes of scoring a few free drinks. This film was an excellent surprise. I really enjoyed it. The modern translation of the story was clever. The production value was great. Most of all the cast was superb.

I can't tell if it was a great script or great director that motivated these performances but they're nothing short of excellent. This is the type of film casting directors salivate for because it's not loaded with expensive "stars" but instead with the names and faces we'll be seeing on the cover of magazines in the years to come. Once again, great cast!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This movie is for people who really enjoy electronic music

10/10
Author: aluhring4 from Chicago, United States
13 January 2009

The soundtrack of this movie really pushes the movie to a 10 but the story itself has a lot to live up to. This is not for people who want to see a midsummer night's dream by any means. If you've never been to a rave, and you aren't a fan of drugs, this movie is not for you. Like at all. Personally I think this is an amazing adaptation of midsummer night's. I mean the original story is based around people drinking a potion...and ecstasy is just a modern adaptation of what that potion could be. I'm glad this wasn't in Shakespearean language though, it just would be too much of a juxtaposition. At the same time, some of the throwbacks to the original play are a little contrived like the puck statement at the end (the part about offense), but the dialogue totally makes up for it. I love the candy raver girl who talks really fast. I dunno there's so much i love about this movie but i feel like people who've never witnessed a rave would feel really alienated by this movie. So I gave it a 10, but most people won't get it because they think there's nothing to get. But there is. And those people are wrong. jk :)

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Danger-Highly Toxic

1/10
Author: aimless-46 from Kentucky
22 September 2005

Too bad they did not release a soundtrack CD because the music is the only redeeming thing about this movie. Imagine an unlikely cross between "A Midsummer Night's Dream" and "Redneck Zombies". Assemble a cast too physically unappealing (and too sleazy) to get work in the porn industry even though their acting skills are on that level.

When both the director and the writer have their careers stalled for three years after a movie, it is a good indication that you will be viewing a truly staggering mess. Unfortunately the script kept only a bare outline of the Shakespeare play and replaced the rest with student film quality dialogue and plot elements. Most high school class project films are better than this-if only because they have a shorter running length.

This is slightly more dull and mind-numbing than spending two hours observing a bunch of drones and wiggers indulging themselves at an actual club. If you are determined to stay with it until the end, and are searching for a way to maintain you sanity, you can focus on trying to figure out where the $1.5 Million budget went since none of it made it onto the screen.

Obviously this movie is not for Shakespeare purists but neither is it for anyone with a few still active brain cells. The cinematography is high school MiniDV quality, the production design is accidental, and the editing supports the theory a lot of drugs made their way into the systems of the post-production staff. I am embarrassed to admit even watching it, oh the sacrifices I make for public service.

Then again, what do I know? I'm only a child.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

loved- I'm a purist as well

7/10
Author: jason from United States
16 February 2005

Now to people whom are die hard Shakespeare fans then you will most likely not enjoy this film. On the other hand you might because it gives him to a whole new generation that is plagued with TV, radio, internet and have never seen a play; much less read one.

I loved this movie because it takes the bare of the plot of the play and takes it to a new generation, plus I am a raver... so it combines two of my life's loves and mixes them.

This movie does not show the true nature of a rave in some ways because it does not show all the kandi kids. I wanted to see the kids that are all happy go lucky and want everyone to be the same way.

Granted as a film the movie has some lacking points acting being a major issue, but all in all this movie is a good watch.... Hope you enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

Ecellent movie, loved every minute of it.

10/10
Author: Mikey Cornerdowntown from The DarkSide
1 March 2015

i've always been a fan of B movies, one day i was cruising the lesser known section of the video store and came across this gem. bought it and took it home for a watch and absolutely fell in love with it. in my top ten favourites for sure. loved the music, the characters, the accurate adaptation of the original play and the modern spin on it was excellent i thought. i liked how it didn't try to be too much and was exactly what it should be...FUN. We need more movies like this i think. banging sound track, red hot cast, funny one liners kept it moving at a steady pace. would suggest this movie to anyone looking to escape into a little fantasy world for a couple hours and have some good laughs and just remember the good old days of careless desire. two glow sticks up!

Was the above review useful to you?

A high-energy film about the complicated "love square" between four adolescents

8/10
Author: provocateurmisses . from Los Angeles, CA
26 November 2013

Two Strobe Lights Up!

The mischievous and dark classic tale by William Shakespeare is re-imagined in filmmaker Gil Cates Jr.'s adaptation. Music, drugs and romance are the forces behind A Midsummer Night's Rave, a high-energy film about the complicated "love square" between four adolescents and fueled by a teaspoon of teenage angst, a cup of lack of communication, a few tablespoons of lust, and a pinch of ecstasy.

Without a doubt, this is the most provocative modern-day retelling of A Midsummer Night's Dream, the popular play written by Shakespeare. Cates Jr. has been the only one to hit the nail right on the head with this adaptation. The film retains the barest skeleton of the original plot while directly straying from its dark aspects in favor of a more charming and daring approach.

Thanks to compelling performances led by Chad Lindberg and Glen Badyna in flawless character execution, the Cates Jr. release proves highly entertaining despite the heaviness surrounding the story that inspires it. Chad Lindberg portrays the infamous Nick Bottom who delivers nothing less than the comedic relief expected from his character and Glen Badyna plays Puck, the one responsible for the trouble that ensues.

It all begins with Mia, the girl next door dating a rich socialite playboy that her mother wants her to settle down with and eventually marry—Damon. Enter Xander, Damon's counterpart, your typical shaggy-haired teenager without a penny to his name and the owner of Mia's heart, but not to his knowledge. Similarly, Xander secretly yearns for Mia but withholds this information from everyone except his best friend, Helena, who just so happens to be Damon's ex-girlfriend— feelings included.

Mix all of these ingredients together at a forest-themed rave complete with seductive beats, a rave master, and his drug dealer's latest "love potion" and you have a recipe for excess.

By switching the setting from a forest to a forest-themed rave in the city for A Midsummer Night's Rave, but leaving the characters and main plot intact, Cates Jr. caters a message to younger audiences and offers an alternative solution to dealing with problems faced by the youth: a solution that surprisingly does not involve drugs. Although this may seem out of place for a plot taking place mostly at a rave, it breaks down stereotypes and allows for a new generation to build interest in an author most often thought to be archaic and boring.

You don't have to be familiar with Shakespeare's play in order to enjoy this film—although it allows for the understanding of some subtle jokes—but it goes without saying that Cates Jr.'s film will take you on an enchanted ride that leaves you with a sudden urge to dance the night away.

Oh what a tangled web we weave! A Midsummer Night's Rave should prove to be a box-office hit with anyone who has a sense of rhythm and humor. But if you're easily offended by casual drug use, then you might want to think twice about catching this tempting flick!

Was the above review useful to you?

How great this was

9/10
Author: j-9503 from United States
10 October 2007

Well I don't know where to start about this movie... I love it soooo much. It is very off beat and un balanced just like a normal rave would be. Not really an Andrew Keegan fan but I didn't have to look at him that much. Lol. This is one of my favorite movies ever! I have bought this movie probably about 5 different times cause I led it out and watch it sooo much! There's nothing to say more about it except that I watch this constantly. Im a big techno freak so when im cleaning my house and stuff i just clean to the beat.. I thought this was a well thought out movie and the fact that Dj Irene was in it made it one hundered times better.. I also really liked the commentary that she did. I love it I love it I love it!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

Not Good

2/10
Author: jabbertalky from United States
4 December 2005

My sister recommended this movie to me because she thought it was awesome but I thought otherwise. I am quite the Shakespeare junkie and I was so disappointed! It didn't follow the real MSND close enough to even be called that! There wasn't enough mistaken identity or confusion of the love triangles and that is what MSND is all about! The passion of the story was never present. Also, the rave was never rave-y enough, the music would always be soft while they were talking or they would be in the quiet room. I was going to give them the excuse of having a low budget film but apparently that isn't true! But Matt Czuchry is still really hot!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A silly and shallow but oddly endearing adaptation of a timeless classic

5/10
Author: b_buddy1 from Boston
5 May 2014

A Midsummer Night's Rave is, at least in theory, based on the classic play A Midsummer Night's Dream by William Shakespeare. It doesn't bear much resemblance to it's namesake but that's entirely besides the point. The plot, you ask? Effectively non-existent. A group of attractive young people get together to take lots of drugs and fall in and out of love with one another. It's not a story so much as a situation. And don't get me started on the idiotic subplot about the drug dealer chasing down the missing jacket. It was so unnecessary.

Andrew Keegan plays our leading man, Xander. It's odd but we actually don't get to know Xander very well despite him being in nearly every scene. All we ever learn about him is that he likes taking drugs and has a thing for a blonde girl named Mia. Keegan is not the best actor but he did what he could with what was obviously a skeleton of a script and his effort is to be applauded. Lauren German did a great job with what she was giving, breathing life into an otherwise inanimate character as Elena, the friend who secretly pines for Xander. I greatly enjoyed the drugged out soliloquy in which she appears to submit a video application to a dating network. Sunny Mabrey is attractive but unremarkable as Mia, the object of Xander's desire. Her character is as two dimensional as Xander's, which is really a shame.

Glen Badyna was fantastic as Puck, the fairy drug dealer who drifts in and out of the story, stealing scene after scene. I had never seen this actor before but man is he funny. It's really a shame he didn't get more screen time as he was easily the most entertaining character in the movie other than Elena. He almost makes the movie worth watching single handedly.

I've never been to a rave and have never taken drugs and this movie didn't exactly make me want to start. Still, I imagine that those who have spent some time in the rave scene might be able to relate to these characters a bit better than I. I'm probably being generous in rating this movie 5 stars but there were things about I quite liked. The soundtrack is somewhat enjoyable if you like techno music. The cinematography is also mesmerizing at times, in particular the scenes of drugged out dancing to house music.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history