The 74th Annual Academy Awards (2002) Poster

(2002 TV Special)

User Reviews

Add a Review
17 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
10/10
Woody Allen makes the night Hollywood history!
ScottAdams11 April 2003
No awards show can please all the people. Clearly if your favorite movies didn't win, you will say the show wasn't very good. That's understandable.

However, the 74th Annual Academy Awards will be remembered for one magical moment of Hollywood history:

Woody Allen's first appearance ever at the Academy Awards.

Allen has often shunned the awards as being self-aggrandizing and pointless, and has never attended -- even though he has won several of the coveted awards.

When the 74th Academy Awards were held, the nation was still mourning the loss of life in the collapse of the World Trade Centers in New York. When it came time to pay tribute to the city of New York, they decided to show a video of the great movie moments form the city of cities. Then the announcer simply said:

"Ladies and gentleman, Oscar Award winning Director Woody Allen."

The place erupted in an extremely long standing ovation. The entertainment industry finally got to give their applause to the Man from New York who usually avoids the Hollywood scene. As the applause died down, Woody applied some of his legendary wit to the situation.

SOME HIGHLIGHTS:

"Thank you very much - that makes up for the strip search."

"I thought they wanted their Oscars back," he joked. "I panicked because the pawn shop has been out of business for ages and I had no way of retrieving anything. "

"But that wasn't it. I couldn't work it out because my movie wasn't nominated for anything this year. Then it hit me - maybe they were calling to apologise."

Allen also disclosed why he had overlooked his lifelong Oscar-aversion for this one special night.

"For New York City, I'd do anything. So I got my tux on and came down here," said Allen.

"It's a great, great movie town. It's been a great, moving and exciting backdrop for movies and it remains a great, great city."
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
good year
duckmanfanatic5 July 2007
This year was pretty good. I liked the surprise performance of Cirque du Soleil. I'm glad Jim Broadbent won best supporting actor. I haven't seen Iris yet, but I know he's always a terrific actor in all his movies.

Plus, it's good to see Woody Allen finely made it, in person, to the Oscars this year.

But there are some things that I didn't like. Sean Penn should've got the Oscar for Best Actor, not Denzel. The Monsters INC song shouldn't have won Best Original Song. Plus, A Beautiful Mind winning the Oscar for Best Picture?!! Lord of the Rings should have won. That is one of the best adventure films ever.

Overall, this year was good.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Wrong best actor award
mvaiden8 July 2002
As much as I admire and always see any movie that Denzel Washington is in, and agree that his portrayal of the "cop gone bad" in "Training Day" was EXCELLENT, and totally different for Mr. Washington, proving his incredible acting skills, I have to say that Russell Crowe deserved that Oscar more. It's not because of Russell's "looks". Russell Crowe delivered an INCOMPARABLE performance of the portrayal of Dr. John Nash. All you have to do is watch the movie and see the acting skill that Russell Crowe tapped into to deliver such a realistic and unbelievable character. It was out of Russell Crowe's normal type of role, too, just as it was for Denzel. I wish they both could've received Oscars, but, having to choose only one, I would've chosen Russell Crowe's acting performance in "A Beautiful Mind" as much as I love any move Denzel Washington is in. I wish this email could be sent to the Academy Awards, and to Russell Crowe. Thank you.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great Show!
flyswat16@aol.com13 October 2002
Although the 74th Awards was the longest in history, literally, it was the best of them all. I found Whoopi Goldberg a great host, mainly because I didn't like Steve Martin and I was sick of Billy Crystal. I found the winners debatable, especially for Best Actor. I was rooting for Russell Crowe, even though he won the previous year for Gladiator. The highpoint of the evening was the surprise performance by Cirque du Soleil. What an incredible segment! Overall, I enjoyed the show a lot.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Facetious Whoopi, Zingers, Emotion!
pikespeak28 April 2002
The 74th Oscars was a very good one. Whoopi's work as EmCee was very funny, and light. I personally loved her last apperance, which garnered some frigid reviews due to coarse language and salacious jokes, but that's fine. The audience seemed to like it. Halle Berry, Denzel Washington, Ron Howard, Woody Allen, and Sidney Poitier made this an Oscar telecast to remember.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Whoops...
Danny13 April 2003
So many mistakes! Whoopi was OK, no Steve Martin, but not David Letterman. Anyway, my opinion on the awards given:

Best Picture: MOULIN ROUGE SHOULD HAVE WON! This is the most incredible movie I've ever seen, and it should have swept. But, if the academy wasn't ready for that, Gosford Park is the runner up. Witty, amazingly acted, and wonderfully original. Next is In The Bedroom, another underrated movie--it was great. LOTR is overrated, but it was better than A Beautiful Mind, which is severely overrated.

Best Actor: What can I say? It should be Ewan McGregor--he was the best part of that movie in every respect. However, with the options available, Tom W. should have won for In The Bedroom...anyone but Russel Crowe, really. He shouldn't have won either years.

Best Actress: Yep, Nicole Kidman. Unbelievable in every way. The next would be Sissy Spacek, with a flawlessly acted role. Again, anyone but Halle Berry.

Best Supporting Actress: Maggie Smith or Helen Mirren for Gosford Park. Next would easily be Marissa Tomei for In The Bedroom. Again, I found nothing special in Jennifer Connely's performance...she and that whole movie were totally and completely bland.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
landmark award show
makukhany15 August 2006
TO all of yall who think 1.This was a boring telecast 2.Halle berry and denzel Washington did not deserve their Oscars

SHUT THE F**k UP!! This was one of the best Academy awards show because 1.It was a moment in history to have a black yes "Black actress" win an academy award for Best actress so many of our black sisters have been ignored by the academy for many years.To be honest I had stop watching the academy awards because of a lack of diversity in either the winners or nominees.To me it was nothing but a bunch of white people patting each other in the back.the academy had many chances to vote black actresses that were brilliant in movies eg Alfre Woodard,Whoopi Goldberg,Diana Ross,Mary jean Babtise, but it did not 2.Halle berry deserved that Oscar no competition the academy was under pressure to vote for her so long have deserving actresses been ignored by the academy the majority of which is comprised of white voters yeah yeah Nicole kidman sang very prettily in muling rouge!but it was time black people were accommodated in these awards shows.As for Mr Washington the academy owed him big time after that unfair loss for MalcomX.To all of you who think race is not an issue"probably white people"in the movie industry,well it is many of the most talented black actresses around have either been reduced to stereo typical made by white people roles of what they think is a black women or are not existence"Angela basset". I do not expect many of the white people to understand any of this because they never had to deal with any of it.Come to think of it they are the one who been inflicting it
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The Shadow Of 9/11 Hangs Over It
Theo Robertson6 February 2003
The events of the 11th of September 2001 cast its shadow on this Oscar award ceremony with a one minute silence before the in memoriam montage and there was little in the way of the all singing all dancing comedy extravaganza that we`d come to expect of this award show but this was by no means a bad thing . Entertainment was more or less curtailed to a LOTR send up with Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson and that was it . The rest of the show was taken up with clips from the nominations and I have to admit this was actually more enjoyable than the overblown song and dance numbers we`ve seen over the years and Whoopi Goldberg was by no means a bad presenter unlike the very esoteric David Letterman from a few years ago and the one minute silence for the victims of 9/11 was haunting and dignified

As for the awards New Zealand was absolutely robbed . FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING went home with four minor awards while A BEAUTIFUL MIND undeservingly picked up most of the major prizes except for best actor which should have gone to a tough guy New Zealander but went to an An all American nice guy instead . The only Oscar awards I agreed with apart from the ones presented to FELLOWSHIP were the awards for best supporting actress and best supporting actor , both correct calls .
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
It was a good surprising show, but some was disappointing.
eddy-2816 November 2004
The 74th Annual Academy Awards show had a few good surprises, for instance it was nice to see for the first time an African American actress, the lovely and talented Halle Berry take home the Best Actress Oscar for Monster's Ball. Her speech was very emotional to me, and it was nice that an African American actress finally won that award. Denzel Washington, became the second African American actor to win the Best Actor Oscar for Training Day. Earlier before his win, he presented the Honorary Award to his idol, actor Sidney Piotier. Another Honorary Award was given to actor and producer Robert Redford, for his achievements over his career. Veteran director Arthur Hiller took the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award for his charitable and generous contributions to others. Whoopi Goldberg, I must add, was a hilarious host, she may not have been good as Billy Crystal or Steve Martin, but she did say a few funny sarcastic remarks. The Best Supporting Actor and Actress Oscars were also surprises, for me anyway. Jennifer Connelly gave an outstanding performance in A Beautiful Mind, but I was almost sure that either Marisa Tomei or Helen Mirran would win for their roles in In The Bedroom and Gosford Park. British actor Jim Broadbent won for Iris, and I was hoping that Ian McKellen was going to win for The Lord of the Rings or Ethan Hawke for Training Day. The show also had some good appearances as well, Woody Allen introduced a clip on the films made in New York over the past 74 years of Oscar, in a time after the shadow of the September 11th terrorism attacks, also Tom Cruise presented a clip at the beginning of the show and continued throughout the show of American people sharing their favorite films. The Memorial presentation done by Kevin Spacey was not as good as past shows, and a few deceased actors in the past year were "mysteriously" left out of being remembered, but those that did catch my eye included the great Jack Lemmon, British actor Nigel Hawthorne, Eileen Heckhart, Beatrice Straight, "Exorcist" actor Jason Miller, Ann Sothern, handicapped actor Harold Russell, directors Mike Ritchie and Ted Demme, animators Chuck Jones and William Hanna, Emmy winner Carroll O'Connor, singers Aaliyah and George Harrison and Anthony Quinn, among others. Lots of young presenters at this years award show as well including Ryan Phillippe, Reese Witherspoon, Josh Hartnett, Kirsten Dunst, Tobey McGuire and Cameron Diaz, whom all gave good presentations. A Beautiful Mind walked away with the top prize as Best Picture.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The Worst Oscar Show, Ever!
sweetnlowdown210 May 2002
There are two points I need to make clear right at the beginning. First of all we all know what this year's Oscar's were REALLY all about this year. It was the Academy's way of showing people that they are no racist,and never have been. They wanted to clear all preconceived notions about themselves. Secondly, it's kinda pointless to make remarks about the show, because really, what difference will it make? But, it's fun to write about it. This is the year I became fed-up with the Oscar's! I will never watch the show again. Every year they do something wrong. Before Crowe wins for "Gladaitor" when they real winner should of been Ralph Fiennes for "Sunshine". If you haven't seen this movie yet, watch it and you'll agree. "Eyes Wide Shut" when released receieved no nominations. And as far as this year goes, well, the bad choices were all over the place! Baz Lurhmann gets no "Best Director" nomination! Are you joking!! "A Beautiful Mind" is up for "Best Make-up"???? "Training Day" gets nominated?? The movie was awful, and it seemed like Washington didn't even turn in a performance, all he proved was, he knows how to use four letter words! That's what h won the award for! Take away the language and I bet he was almost playing himself! I liked "Gosford Park", I really did, but why 7 nominations? And how on Earth could they not give it too Altman! I mean, c'mon, if there just giving the award to people to clear up any bad feelings, what about Altman? The man has been in the public's eye for 32 years now and no Oscar! There were many, many things that bothered me about this year's Oscar's, but, I'll live with it, as long as I never have to watch another show again! The highpoint ( and the ONLY one) of the show was when Woody Allen made his first appearance ever to the award show. That will go down as one of the greatest moments in he history of the show.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Please don't ask Goldberg back anymore.....
bob the moo1 April 2003
Is it that time of year already? I watched this ceremony recorded – one of the first times when my `maturity' and `love of my job' that stopped me doing an all-nighter, watch a movie till 2 then watch the ceremony then go to work! So taping it gave me the luxury of fast forwarding all the breaks etc (and there are tonnes) and get though it quicker. The first weakness for me was Goldberg doing the compere. I like her in some movies but she can't compare to Crystal's (or even Martin's) quick wit. Many of her jokes were poor and her flamboyant entrances etc were simply weak. I didn't laugh at all at her which is a real downer as I always count the compere as the backbone of the show.

The ceremony after 11/9 had the potential to be sombre and reflective and in a way it was, but not to the detriment – it was more a celebration of New York than a sad time. Woody Allen's appearance was quite moving and witty considering his loathing for the ceremony and the New York compilations were good. Chan and Wilson were funny together too but too brief!

The actual awards were memorable as they were historic if nothing else. Halle Berry became the first Afro-American woman to win Best Actress and went all to pieces. Washington won for Best Actor for the slightly unworthy film Training Day – but it was a strong role I guess. Rounding up the `Hollywood makes amends' feel was an honorary award for Sidney Poitier without whom neither of the previous two would have as easily got where they are. Best picture for Beautiful Mind was a bit of a surprise as was best director but ah well.

Overall not a great show because of Goldberg's weak routines. The shadow of terrorism was over the whole thing and the awards were unsurprisingly despite being a little disappointing. It's a shame so much was made of the fact that three `black Oscars' (not my words!) were given out in one night – it may it feel like it was the Academy being PC rather than the actors deserving them.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
looking back on things
Lee Eisenberg5 January 2007
OK, so the Oscars seem to get hyped just a little more each year. And I was rooting for "Gosford Park" to win (come on, Robert Altman had deserved an Oscar for years!). That said, I guess that it was high time for an African-American to win Best Actress. Contrary to the previous reviewer, Halle Berry's role in "Monster's Ball" was far more original than Nicole Kidman's in "Moulin Rouge"; I never would have thought to nominate the latter for anything, especially in a year that saw "Mulholland Dr.".

Among the things that I had predicted was the stuff about the September 11 attacks; I knew that they were going to say something about freedom. Yeah, yeah. Robert Redford should know better. But contrary again to the previous reviewer, Whoopi Goldberg is not the worst host (among the past hosts was Bob Hope, for whom I have no respect); I really liked her jab at John Ashcroft.

So, although I wouldn't have given "A Beautiful Mind" Best Picture, "The 74th Annual Academy Awards" still pleased me (I have to admit, I enjoy the Oscars more than my own birthday). And the day after, as my parents and I were hiking around the dwellings in Bandalier, New Mexico - it was spring break - I was thinking to myself that when Jim Broadbent won his Oscar, that most people watching were asking "Jim who?!" I wonder whether or not Woody Allen will ever attend the Oscars again.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Whoopi was FANTASTIC!
RagtymeGal16 November 2005
Whoopi was the only reason I watched the Oscars that year. She is hilarious. Of course there was a major serious side to the show. She was great not only because she's funny, but because she said some things that needed to be said in a public forum. White folks need to be reminded that Hollywood awards' ceremonies, employment, and representation are WAY out of balance racially. There should be no need for "black" awards shows. The white-bread, milquetoast nominators and judges need to bring their heads into the sunshine and see that great material is not limited to "white" directors, producers, actors, etc. Allowing Woody Allen on the air was the depth of poor taste. He had no business being there. The fact of the matter is, this is the first Oscar presentation I've watched since "The Color Purple" was up for awards. That miscarriage of voting soured me on watching the shows until 2002. Which is not to denigrate other presenters. Billy Crystal is a riot.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Winners should have been different
thereturnoftheking27 October 2003
The Winners should have been different by far.

Best Supporting Actress: Maggie Smith-Gosford Park

Best Supporting Actor: Ian McKellen-The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Best Actress: Nicole Kidman-Moulin Rouge

Best Actor: Russel Crowe-A Beautiful Mind

Best Director: Peter Jackson-The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Best Picture: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

But that is just my humble opinion. Oh well, maybe I'll like the choices for 2003(4) since I didn't for 2001(2) and did for 2002(3).

thereturnoftheking-
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Just what I think.
jrc00715 July 2002
Here's my opinion on what should have won:

Best Picture: A Beautiful Mind

Best Director: Robert Altman (Gosford Park)

Best Actor: Russell Crowe (A Beautiful Mind)

Best Actress: Sissy Spacek (In the Bedroom)

Best Supporting Actor: Ben Kingsley (Sexy Beast)

Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Connelly (A Beautiful Mind) OR Helen Mirren (Gosford Park)

That's just my opinion, though.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews