IMDb > Confidence (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Confidence
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Confidence More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 15:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 143 reviews in total 

61 out of 73 people found the following review useful:

Formulaic but fun

6/10
Author: segacs from Montreal, Canada
5 February 2005

There's this rule in Hollywood that may be unwritten but is nonetheless ironclad: stick to the formula. The hero can't die in a romantic comedy. The drama can't be too funny, and the comedy can't be too sad. Action flicks can't be too deep, and "serious" movies have to be somewhat boring.

On the rare occasions when some movie comes along that breaks these rules, we usually get cinematic excellence. But with Confidence, don't be expecting any deviation from the format. Confidence is a fun, enjoyable, light caper movie. It doesn't pretend to be anything else. And for what it is, it's not half bad.

Edward Burns plays a con man, Jake Vig. Together with his crew of seasoned, confident fellow con men, he scams people out of money. Lots of money. And of course, sooner or later he's bound to pick the wrong person to scam. In this case it's a seemingly innocuous accountant who just happens to work for a mob kingpin, cheesily called "the King" (but played brilliantly by Dustin Hoffman). In a tight spot, Jake agrees to do a con and split the proceeds with the King, to get him off his back. What follows is the usual series of crosses, double-crosses, and triple-crosses while everyone tries to figure out who to trust and who's about to screw who over.

When I say that Confidence follows the rules, I mean it. Crime capers must have wise-talking characters. This does. Crime capers must be stylish. This is. Crime capers must have the token female, whose role is to be sexy but not too sexy. Rachel Weisz fills the part here, and does a decent job at it. (Other such token women included Julia Roberts in Ocean's Eleven, and Angela Bassett in The Score). Crime capers must make the audience scratch their heads trying to piece it all together, but must not make them think about any deeper moral issues of right and wrong. Again, Confidence lives up to that deal on both counts.

Still, it was fun escapist entertainment. And, without giving away too much of the ending, let's just say that I'm always impressed with a movie that manages to surprise me. That alone makes it worth seeing.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Perfectly paced, excellent acting, beautiful con scheme

7/10
Author: Mihai Sirbu from Athens, Georgia (US)
5 January 2006

Definitely one of the best con-artist movies ever. Throughout the movie, I kept thinking of the many possible twists possible, but I never really saw the final big twist - and thought it could all come together so nicely and believable. The movie is paced smoothly (there are no tedious scenes or moments you feel you've missed something), the acting is excellent (Hoffman's character seems overdone at first, but the creepy-weird character he plays is believable and, therefore, all the more serious and scary), the cons they play are very smart (and convincing), and the way it all comes together at the end is just beautiful (although the overall scheme is complex and plays many twists on the audience, it is not at all difficult to follow what 'really' happens). All in all, a very enjoyable movie, with genuine suspense, characters we get to like (and even care about - to the amount possible for grifters), excellent acting and a worthy end. 7/10 (good movie - not great, but above the average)

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Good Fun! - A Confection of Slight Surprises with Quirky Characters

7/10
Author: Ralph Michael Stein (riglltesobxs@mailinator.com) from New York, N.Y.
2 May 2003

Dustin Hoffman isn't charming or caring or understanding in "Confidence." Here he's not just evil, he teeters on the brink of uncontrollable madness - but with a dollop of humor that makes his violent nature more interesting (but not appealing). He is a creep!

"Confidence" is the latest in the unending string of films about men and women scam artists always scheming for that truly earthshaking big score. (There must always be an enticing, enigmatic woman for a film of this kind to keep viewers engrossed, e.g., "The Thomas Crown Affair".) And the crooks usually have soft spots in their hearts and a propensity to make silly - even deadly - errors. And at least one member of the group, usually the leader, has to look good in a well-tailored suit.

That's the situation here as Edward Burns plays the honcho of a small band of swindlers who really seem to have bonded together. They trust each other - but no one else. But, of course, they must deal with new "co-workers" whose motivations and alliances are suspect but hardly clear. And we also have a pair of the LAPD's Not Finest adding a humorous dimension not often found in tough rogue cops on the take.

And then there's Rachel Weisz - I've been a fan of her acting since "About a Boy" and "Enemy at the Gates." Certainly she's an emerging star and it's her acting ability plus her beauty that's taking her to leading roles. An English actress, she joins Cate Blanchett and Nicole Kidman - Down Under natives - in flawlessly speaking like a Yank (or a SOCAL denizen, not quite the same thing).

Don't look for a true mystery here. This isn't David Mamet's "The Spanish Prisoner." But it is a four-star show by a fine ensemble cast.

7/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Pros as Cons

9/10
Author: Sant Jordi from Los Angeles
4 April 2003

Everyone must love a good con artist tale. We all see our selves as both victim and perpetrator. We love the thrill of the ride, of the something for nothing, of doing bad, but not really hurting anyone who does not deserve it. These are the archetypical elements of a good con movie, and Confidence delivers them with panache.

There is nothing really new here. No mind bending twists beyond the twists that have to be constructed for a picture like this to succeed, and succeed it does. Why? It is the cast. Everyone delivers the performance of their career in the film, and I mean everyone. I have not seen Dustin Hoffman act in a long time, and here he does much more than phone in the part. He proves himself to be a real risk taker. Nothing less can be said of any of the cast members, some familiar, others not so. This may be the defining role of Edward Burns' career, and likewise for Rachel Weisz. I did not even recognize Andy Garcia, that is how transformed we has. Imagine Paul Giamatti in a role that you did not want to slap him for or ask why he was wasting his talents!

This film is like a really rich dessert. Even though you know it is not good for you, you just cannot help yourself because it is so delicious.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

this tried to be clever and failed, tediously...

4/10
Author: CineCritic2517 from The Netherlands
7 October 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm sure a lot of people enjoyed this movie and there's nothing wrong with that. But this-tik-tac-everybody's-in-on-it flick just didn't make much sense and partly due to that, it makes for a very disappointing pastime.

They tried, boy did they try... The over styled acting was annoying (Paul Giamatti leading the bunch) and almost made it a b-movie. But that's where the dialog came in to finish the job. Not to mention the soundtrack which was a blunt rip off.

This is one of those con-movies which in the end could have had God in on it to save the day. It is such an amazingly bad story that they had to use close to 20 plot twists to try to fool the audience that it would hold up. What a mess…

Actually, the only thing that made the plot work was Andy Garcia being in on the scheme, like we didn't suspect that coming. The fact that they had to compare the cleverness of their scheme to complicated chess gaming to convince the viewer, made it painfully obvious that it really wasn't.

Confidence could have been an OK-movie if it just didn't try so damn hard to be what oceans11 was. It's exactly like Dustin Hoffman said: 'sometimes style can get u killed' Apparently, it can kill a movie too…

4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Adrenaline Rush for the Mind

10/10
Author: (vikefan@aol.com)
29 April 2003

This film is fabulous. Great writing, dialogue. Thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying. You will clap, laugh, grin from ear to ear for the ride ride it takes you on. Quick, smart, funny, fresh with its searing wit. I applauded at the end in thanks for the ride.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Give us a sequel please!!

Author: marcgoedvolk (marcgoedvolk@hotmail.com) from Hua Hin, Thailand
26 September 2004

Twists and turns, that's what makes a story, whether it's a book or a film. Since Hitchcock's superb thrillers, I like to think that I've seen most if not all movies of the genre, yet this one really surprised me that much I had to see it again right away. The plot is very original, but the sometimes staccato dialogs and use of high speed American slang language is sometimes difficult to understand for a non-American.

Nevertheless I enjoyed watching Jake Vig(Edward Burns)very much, his coolness reminds me of James Stewart and the catch of the film reminded me a little bit of Swordfish-Travolta's latest and one of his best movies ever. Dustin Hoffman's character is very convincing as an independent gangster whose money-collector gets involved in a scam and looses $150.000,- to a group of four slick hustlers.

It's this team, which members are so diverse yet fit together so perfectly that it makes me want to see another film starring the same con men, director Mr. James Foley, please give us a sequel............

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

CON HEIR

9/10
Author: meeza (themeezaman@hotmail.com) from Miami, Fl
29 July 2004

I am quite confident that 'Confidence' will be included in My Top 10 Films of 2003. However, there are others which do not abide by this constitution. Unfortunately, the film was a box office disappointment. Therefore, my job is to convert those who escaped 'Confidence' in the multiplexes and convince them to view it on DVD. 'Confidence' stars the personable Edward Burns as Jake Vig, a confident con artist who heads up a gang of trickery-consumed swindlers. Vig has a big job to do when he is ordered by a seasoned-veteran conman named Winston King to grift a business tycoon. Dustin Hoffman's performance as Winston was smokinnnnnnnnng! James Foley's patterned direction possessed intriguing qualities that contributes positively to the unanticipated plot. You will be consumed with numerous narrative twists. Screenplayer Doug Jung is one 'jung' player that is bound to pick up future projects (screenplay projects that is). The supporting acting of the film has to be considered as one of the elite of the year. Besides Hoffman's electrifying work, we had show stopper performances by Rachel Weisz, Paul Giamatti, Andy Garcia, Luis Guzman, Tony G, and Brian Van Holt. Burns' also does strike it up in his starring role as Jake Vig. It's his 'viggest' acting performance so far in his underrated career. Eddie's consummate coolness and charismatic presence are conjuncting components which make 'Vig' the big part of 'Confidence'. Contrary to popular belief, 'Confidence' is one you should be confined to. ***** Excellent

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

By the numbers con game made good by the very great performances of Dustin Hoffman , Rachel Weisz and Ed Burns

6/10
Author: dumb2ugly
30 September 2003

A mediocre script that is saved by the performances of its actors. Ed Burns does pretty good job as the lead in this film and Dustin Hoffman whose brief appearance here shows how a true legend works. Rachel Weisz makes this film a lot of fun with her performance as a sexy female con, and Andy Garcia continues to make himself into one of the great character actors of our generation. The big problem this movie has is its script, and the plot holes and continuity problems that come with it. You can tell that the story really was not though out well, and you can see the rewrites in some of the scenes in the film. Maybe if the script were more though out, we would have had a better movie than we have here right now.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

A Pretty Slick Thriller

8/10
Author: mjw2305 from England
17 January 2005

I avoided this movie for while, i looked at the cover and put it back, looked again, put it back. Months passed and for some reason i just took a chance and bought it. I have to say i'm glad that i did.

Basically its a slick thriller about money and power, with a good cast, solid plot and enough well crafted twists to make it a little special.

It isn't a masterpiece, but it is certainly worth watching, and the story is linear enough to appeal to a wide audience.

8/10

If you enjoyed this you'll probably like 'SWORDFISH' and 'OCEANS 11' both have a similar feel.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 15:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history