IMDb > 25th Hour (2002) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
25th Hour
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
25th Hour More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 46: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 458 reviews in total 

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

An important movie...

10/10
Author: Srikar Yendluri (srikar@attbi.com) from San Diego, California
3 February 2003

In an age of seamless film distractions (James Bond, XXX), finally a film maker has the guts to use main stream actors and an icon of a city in order to envelop the viewer in a tale of morality. This is not a bubble gum film wchich veers away from humanity, instead it is a film of extraordinary consequence. Especially following 9/11 and the distraught and cynical citizens that have been created, Spike Lee's film is a jewel amidst the ferocity of stupidity and eye candy. Without playing to our sympathies and insulting our intellect, Spike Lee challenges not only the viewer, but all members of life who choose to seek answers via their morality. 25th Hour, is a movie that not only should have been made a long time ago, but it is also a movie that needed to be made...

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

We do what we have to do to survive

10/10
Author: jakealeman from United States
1 March 2009

I don't comment on films, nor do I listen to any opinions about them; but I must say in my own personal opinion that this is my favorite movie of all time. I'm a huge Spike Lee fan and although I think all of his work is amazing this title stands out so much. This film has it all, superb dialogue, heartfelt and in-depth acting, well written characters and an all-star cast, cinematography, photography, life lessons. It has it all. Throughout this film you become attached to each character and feel for everything they're going through. There is so much to say about this film and yet at the same time not enough. All I have to say is go out and watch this film and be blown away.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A highly emotional film.

10/10
Author: The_Messenjah200 from United States
28 November 2008

I rented 25th Hour without knowing much about the film to begin with. I rented it mainly due to the fact that Edward Norton is ridiculously amazing. This film supports my theory that he is in fact the best actor ever. Chock up another point for the scientific method. This film was mistakenly labeled as "Action" by my local video rental store. As such, I was expecting a high adrenaline story about a drug dealer who goes out on a last hurrah (by shooting people) before he goes to jail. This was VERY far off from what the film actually was. It's actually a drama. And not just any drama, one of the most emotional dramas I have ever seen. Edward Norton (brilliantly) plays Montgomery, a reformed drug dealer who is going to have to go to jail for 7 years to pay for his crime. Seems pretty basic. The majority of the movie shows Monty's last dealings with his friends and family before this. The movie sucks the viewers into the mindset of those about to be shipped off to prison and the fear, anxiety, and dread held within said mindset. The true emotional punch comes towards the end as...eh, I won't spoil it for you. This movie is amazing. Go watch it. Now.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Fascinating film

10/10
Author: Argemaluco from Argentina
20 March 2007

Director Spike Lee has a lot of haters who say he's racist.I do not consider him as a racist but the most important thing is that his films have a unique style and an emotional weight which is not seen too much.And I think he's not a racist because,through racial conflicts,he transmits the message.But,now,he's dedicated to another subjects which are not racial conflicts.25th hour is one of that films which are far away from racist subjects and I think this is one of the best films of his career.The movie has great dialogs and the film gives us important messages about humanity which leave thinking.Edward Norton is an excellent actor and he brings a brilliant performance on this movie.Barry Pepper and Philip S.Hoffman are also great as the main character's friends.Rosario Dawson has the best performance of her career.The great Brian Cox is memorable.Lee also gives the devastation of the World Trade Center in New York,giving a similar feeling of the desolation the main character has.25th hour is an excellent film and one of the best films directed by Lee.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Norton is a convicted drug dealer who spends his final day before going to jail reconnecting with his loved ones.

9/10
Author: goalie2515 from United States
30 December 2006

I recently bought this movie on DVD without ever seeing it before. I had heard from friends and other people in the past that it was a pretty good movie. Plus, starring Edward Norton, the movie had to of been pretty good. I have never really been a huge fan of Spike Lee, as He Got Game and Summer of Sam, were just "OK", at best. But boy was I surprised at how well Spike Lee pulled this one off. Edward Norton played the role perfectly as he always does. This could be his best movie besides Fight Club. Norton plays a drug addict going to jail and trying to spend his final day with some of his loved ones. The movie opens with Norton and Tony Siragusa, and from then on, Siragusa brought some good comedy with his Urkranian accent. I was pleasantly surprised with his performance. I have never been a large fan of Phillip Seymour Hoffman, but I don't think there are many actors out there that could pull of his role as well as he did. Barry Pepper did his part in the movie and succeeded. Brian Cox was excellent as well, and made for some very key parts of the movie.The F U scene caught me off guard at first, but I had to rewind it because it had such a great impact on the movie. Intriguing and Masterful.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Spike Lee is an auteur

10/10
Author: guajolotl (guajolotl@aol.com) from Los Angeles, CA
25 December 2006

Kurosawa. Bergman. Wajda. Truffaut. Fellini. Spike Lee. What more needs to be said? Lee is true to his vision, and reflects his country, his people (the American people) his times, with an unflinching and critical eye. He shows a hatred for everything that is wrong with America, but at the same time he has a gentleness and a love for its people that takes him to a whole other level. He is simply brilliant. At the same time he indicts the capitalist mad dash to be number one, and the prison system that is there to catch the fallout, he softens the harshness with sly wit, as with naming the dog after Kostya's malapropism. He is savage at one moment, but with an underlying sweetness missing in someone, say, like Scorsese. Not many artists can do that.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

You know that hand motion you make when someone won't get to the point?

Author: tasdau from Michigan, USA
19 July 2003

Pointless, incoherent trash. No plot, no character development, no resolution. Editing? My cat could have done a better job. The fundamental storyline alone is absurd. If he has been convicted of dealing drugs, why is he out on the street? If he's out on the street, how does he know his sentence before a trial? Rarely does a movie fail on so many levels. I'll give it 2/10 for the acting and for the cameo of The Blue Man Group in front of the dance club. Watch it and you'll know what I mean.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Incoherent

5/10
Author: Ami DePierro from Raleigh, NC
17 July 2003

This movie was pointless. The plot was incoherent. It jumped around from subplot to subplot. The subplots had no meaning. The acting was great but what did seeing Barry Pepper at work add to the main gist of the movie. Nothing. What did the scenes with Hoffman and Paquin add to the movie. Nothing. Neither had anything to do with Norton's last day. Not only did they not contribute to the movie, they were not resolved in the end.

Despite the tag line, Norton's character does nothing but walk around. He has an interesting scene in the bath room that is audacious but totally out of place in the movie. Why was that little racist diatribe necessary?

The scene transitions are not smooth. One minute he is here, the next in a flashback but you aren't sure if it is a flashback until the end. There is more character development in the supporting characters than in the lead. I never felt like I knew him, his life, how he felt (other than he is a racist who apparently hides it very well), etc. the movie never made me care.

Despite a great opening scene and wonderful acting by a wonderful cast, the movie failed to deliver anything but frustration and boredom.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Garbage!

Author: defrost556 from Vancouver
9 February 2003

Second movie I have ever walked out on. Ok having done time for money laundering (more than 7) I found this movie to be serious BS! What after how many months he starts thinking about who ratted him off? That minor point was overshadowed by what? Finding someone to look after his pooch? His whimpering about " Oh baby I blew it all" everything you had was because of what you did so don't friggen whine about blowing "it" If you had not done what you did there would be no "it" the rant in the mirror was interesting, vifrtually every rqace on the planet was insulted and called a derogatory name except "the uptown brothers" Ya right! Hey SPIKE, being black and being american don't mean know about doing time, you should have talked to some people who had done time prior to making the flick! The ending (I missed it but I was filled in, doesn't save you. It ain't as easy as " keep driving"

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

You had it all, and you threw it away, you dumb f*ck!

9/10
Author: lastliberal from United States
16 January 2008

Where do you start with a film like this? With the director? Spike Lee put together a magnificent film that really kept your interest throughout. There really wasn't a dull moment. The theme of losing was woven throughout the film. Not just with Edward Norton's character, but with all of them. They all were in the same situation in their lives and he just got caught.

Norton (American History X, Primal Fear) was nothing short of magnificent as he ran the whole gamut of emotions in this film. He knew he screwed up, and blaming it on others or dreaming of an escape wouldn't help. he just had to face the music, and he did it like a man.

Rosario Dawson (Rent, Clerks II) gave a great performance as well. She really is becoming a favorite with me. The more I see, the more I want.

The supporting cast was so great - Barry Pepper (The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada), Philip Seymour Hoffman (Capote), Anna Paquin (The Piano), and Brian Cox (The Bourne Supremacy).

The story was great, the music was great, the acting was superb, and I really enjoyed this one.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 46: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history