IMDb > Ultimate X: The Movie (2002) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Ultimate X: The Movie
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Ultimate X: The Movie More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

develops my appreciation

7/10
Author: KDWms from Pocono Summit, PA
15 October 2003

I don't follow extreme sports and I'm in the over-fifty crowd. But I came away from Ultimate X with increased respect for what they do, even if it also reinforced my notion that Americans place too much emphasis on sports and entertainment. Here's one viewer who thinks that this is just the right length and who wishes that I'd seen in on a big screen. (Now they're showing it on TV.) In my opinion, this highlights-style documentary contains above-average pictures, sound and interviews, and provides an interesting introduction to, and insight into the cream of this crop. I would have liked to have known more about the scoring, but, absent that, I assume that it's predominantly subjective, boring and not appropriate on film.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

very correct information on what the film is about

Author: Brad Detherage (big_bird8802@yahoo.com) from united states
16 March 2003

this film is not only chalk full of incredible camera angles and interviews with todays "real" athletes. it states that the reason many people get into this kind of sports is to be different from all the basketball, baaaaseball players etc. and they are a little messed up to want to do these things like jump 20ft high on a bicycle and speed down a hill 2 inches from the ground at about 85 mph. if you dont understand anything about these sports and would like to know more tis is the best thing to do short of talking to an athlete, even someone local whose been riding for years can tell you these things. watch this movie again and again to get the mentallity this people have. its short but it makes up for it

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

AWESOME!

Author: 2fast2furious from Missouri
14 June 2003

I recently got the DVD and i reccommend that EVERYONE get it...even if you r not a fan of extreme sports. the photography, music, and slo-motion effects are stunning. And its VERY cool w/ surround sound 2!!! There are way too many interviews tho, but the stunts are phenominal!!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A very interesting film, but too short.

9/10
Author: paulbrec from Toronto
26 August 2002

I just saw this film at one of Toronto's IMAX theaters. I have seen other IMAX films, but this one was by far the most interesting. I have never fully understood the Extreme Sports, and have really never seen any live. This film was perfect for a person like me. The only problem was, like most IMAX films, it was too short. Just as I was getting into it, it was over. However, it was very interesting to watch, and educational. I recommend this film to anyone who wants to learn more about these sports.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Nothing but the best from the world of the X-Games competions!

10/10
Author: I-M-A-X
19 August 2002

This movie was the first IMAX movie I have seen on the BIG, BIG screen as I have had no IMAX theaters next to me until now. This movie is nothing more than just amazing. Ultimate X brought me into a whole new world of Action Sports. The movie is a documentary on the real life Action Sports competitions called the "X-Games" held annually every year on ABC, ESPN, and ESPN 2. All the footage is real, all the athletes are real, the movie is completely real. So, when you see the dude do a BackFlip on a moto X bike, you will be at all. It shows you the true competitive spirit that goes into these athletes when in the mix of hardcore competition.

Ultimate X has tons of footage from the 2001 X-Games. The movie is really more of "The Best of the 2001 X-Games." The movie shows footage of Tony Hawk's 900, Shaun Murray's Double Backflip, alot of Travis Pastrana, BMX, STREET LUGE, and much more. Seeing Tony Hawk doing a 900 on such a big screen gave me nausea. I swear, they showed it from like 5 different angles. The moto X scenes were marvlous. There is nothing like seeing a dude fly 125 feet in the air on motor cycle on a ten story high screen with the most egzilurating sound system on earth! I hope to see this on DVD along with my other IMAX collections!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Kicked a lot of...

9/10
Author: The Dude from St. Chuck
5 August 2002

Ultimate X was everything it advertised to be. It was wild, crazy, and insane. It put the more extreme sports in full perspective. The only downfall I had with the film was the length. Easily could have been longer then an hour.

If your looking for a crazy hour to kill I definantly suggest this flick

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A refreshing change

Author: Andrew Warren from London, England
10 May 2002



I have just had my first visit to an IMAX cinema to see Ultimate X, best cinema experience in months.

This 40 minute film has great pace, with amazing stunts, humour and dialogue, the adrenaline does not drop for a minute. Not a bad soundtrack either (Fat Boy Slim, Moby, 3rd Strike)

Beware though it will only be shown on big screen cinemas only. I believe there to be only nine in the UK.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Take this ride... I dare you!

8/10
Author: marktucker7777 from Katy, TX, United States
9 May 2002

Whether or not you are a fan of extreme sports, give this IMAX ride a go. The photography, editing, and score are stellar and the personalities of the stars are more exciting than most narrative characters in recent years. What this film lacks storywise is made up by the sheer exhilaration of the subject matter.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history