IMDb > America: A Tribute to Heroes (2001) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
America: A Tribute to Heroes (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

So great it needs to be re-released on BLU RAY. Tears will flow as hearts will be broken by the heroes of September 11, 2001

10/10
Author: Ed-Shullivan from Canada
25 March 2015

I must have watched this video a dozen times by now and I have purchased multiple DVD copies which I have given away as gifts to family and friends who I care about deeply.

The list of performers is endless and memorable. I especially was touched by the performances of Sting, Billy Joel, Bon Jovi, Willie Nelson, The Dixie Chicks, Dave Matthews, Faith Hill and Alicia Keys just to name a few.

The Hollywood A Lister's were also out in full force relaying the individual heroism both of some of the survivors and deceased from the twin towers. No matter how many times I watch this concert I just feel so moved by the human kindness and love expressed for one another by the tragedy of the thousands of lives lost and affected by the falling of the twin towers.

Muhummad Ali, Halle Berry, Tom Hanks, George Clooney, Tom Cruise, Robert DeNiro, Al Pacino, Danny DeVito, Cameron Diaz, Andy Garcia, Whoopi Goldberg, Michael Keaton, Lucy Liu, Mike Meyers, Jack Nicholson, Brad Pitt, Julia Roberts, Kurt Russell, Adam Sandler, and Clint Eastwood were just some of the stars who were able to make it to New York City or were able to be streamed in from another part of the world to plead for financial support of the families affected by this tragedy.

My plea to the producers of this epic concert is to re-release this concert tribute to the deceased (and) heroes of September 11, 2001 on BLU RAY and I trust that the public across the world will come to the support of those fallen.

I would give this concert an 11 out of 10 if allowed to do so. Lest we forget.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The American Entertainment industry's tribute to those killed in the September 11 Bombings

Author: bamptonj from Melbourne
15 October 2001

Syndicated throughout the world to raise funds for the families of persons deceased or injured after the horrific bombings of September 11, this tele-special raised an exobernant amount of money for such a noble cause. It demonstrates Hollywood's quick response to the tragedy, and a extremely wide range of actors and musicians are featured. Teary eyed Chris Rock, Halle Berry, Tom Hanks, Julia Roberts, Tom Cruise, and Lucy Lui are among many who reveal the many personal experiences of those killed or suffering as a result of the day of tragedy. World-reknown musicians are also featured, either covering or performing original numbers in an attempt to uncover some sense amidst the travesty, Neil Young for instance performs an captivating - even if sacrilegious - version of "Imagine". In the finale, the wide range of actors and musicians sing the American Anthem.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Good, at least the messages.

8/10
Author: Thomas Ferreira from Portland, OR
28 January 2004

I honestly only watched the messages said by the various people. The only song I listened to was the last one. I tried to listen to Celine Dion's version of the song she did and got p***ed because she made her own version instead of sticking with the original lyrics. I got a little emotional with some of the messages. Tears in my eyes. I am in the US Navy currently, and honestly it isn't for me. But it is for some people and I will not stand in their way if they want to join. But this still got me to have tears in my eyes. I am glad I watched it when my roommate was away so he wouldn't make fun of me, hehe. But, no, this was a very serious thing and I am glad they did it. I gave it an 8 because I what I did watch I enjoyed but that Dion woman ruined one of my fav. songs.

Was the above review useful to you?

Amazing Tribute

10/10
Author: joy-164 from United States
4 June 2008

A truly amazing tribute to America and the strength and character that made this country what it is today, especially in the wake of 911. The actors and musicians are incredible in their performances and relaying the stories of those heroes that gave beyond what was humanly possible on that day. Outstanding performance by Céline Dion, Bon Jovi, Sting, and Billy Joel. Julia Roberts emotional tribute brought tears to my eyes. And nobody performs "New York State of Mind" like Billy Joel. The audience, who remained silent after each performance couldn't contain themselves when Bill sang this song. They started clapping. They also clapped after Jon Bon Jovi gave his heartfelt performance of "Livin on a prayer." Fabulous DVD. It's the first time I've seen it, and you can be sure I'll watch it again!

Was the above review useful to you?

Awesome Concert

10/10
Author: jfmariahc from Florida
16 June 2002

This is by far one of the best concerts I have ever seen. The way everyone came together for America is by far outstanding. I would give this movie a 1000 if I could, but I can only go up to 10!!! The best performances were by Mariah Carey (actually the best one in the concert) and Celine Dion whose performance of "God Bless America" was truly awesome!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Very Touching Tribute to the 9/11 Victims

Author: Michael_Elliott from Louisville, KY
7 January 2012

America: A Tribute to Heroes (2001)

There's really no reason to put a star rating on this tribute show that was done so closely after the terrorist attacks on 9/11. I didn't watch most of the show when it originally aired but watching it nearly a decade later you can still feel the sadness, power and emotion. A number of celebrities speak to the camera as they try to raise money for victims of the families and they share stories about some of the people who were lost on that tragic day. One of the most heartbreaking stories is about a man who could have escaped the building but instead decided to stay with his crippled friend who wasn't able to escape. They both ended up dying together. The tributes are incredibly touching but I guess one of the main reasons to watch this document all these years later are for the musical performances and we've got some pretty strong stuff here. Bruce Springsteen starts off with an incredibly powerful version of "My City of Ruins" and we also get strong performances from Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers on a reworked version of "I Won't Back Down" and Billy Joel with "New York State of Mind". Another strong performance comes from Paul Simon on "Bridge Over Troubled Water" and the entire cast gathers around Willie Nelson to close the show with "America the Beautiful". Perhaps the most touching moment came from Neil Young who does an unforgettable version of John Lennon's "Imagine". I've always felt this classic song was butchered by everyone other than Lennon but Young was able to do a remarkable job with it.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Stars aplenty gather in honor of those who perished on 9/11.

Author: Christopher Ellis (cellis25@hotmail.com) from kalamazoo, michigan
14 October 2001

This TV special is a true honor to watch as actors and musicians gather to show homage to those who died in the wake of terrorist attacks on America. The actors give shortened asides to describe the firefighters, policemen and innocent civilians who were involved in the catastrophic event of September 11, 2001. The various singers pour out heart-felt songs that eerily describe the terrorist act. Worth noting, Bruce Springsteen steals the show with his rendition of "My City's in Ruin".

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A touching tribute

Author: mystic80
24 October 2001

Synopsis: Practically everybody from the film, television, and music industries gather together to honor the fallen firemen, policemen, and civilians in the September 11 incident that took countless lives. It's a tribute to those risking their lives every day to seek survivors.

The Review: The September 11 incident will forever remain an unforgettable time that will pass on through generations. The image of the planes crashing head on into one of the world's biggest building structures, the horrified faces of New Yorkers running away from the blizzards of black smoke filling the streets, the disturbing image of innocent people falling to their deaths, and perhaps most disturbing, and angry-inducing, are the immortal heroes who risked life and limb to rescue people after the planes hit by running into the towers before their collapse. It's something we will never forget and must never. Speaking as a twenty one year old, a lot of people from my generation say this hasn't affected their life, but it has in every which way possible. America: A Tribute To Heroes takes time to honor those fallen in the September 11 incident. We get to know some of the personal stories of the people who defied danger to help their fellow man. George Clooney's heartwrenching story of one good man who stayed with another, bound by a wheelchair just minutes before the tower's collapse is heartfelt and angry. It's the stories like these that we know who the heroes are, and lets us know what kind of good people they were. Kelsey Grammer's heartfelt tribute to his friend David Angell, one of those fallen. It's meant to help gather the people together and it does. We must honor the fallen, and punish the wicked.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The big names of movies, music, and sports combine to help the victims of 9-11

Author: coverme6 from Allentown, PA
13 December 2001

The stars of all the categories of the sports and entertainment

industries combine their efforts to raise money for those deeply

affected by the multiple tragedies that took place on September the 11th. In the form of a 2-hour marathon, the celebrities involved did their parts by giving anecdotes about the victims in the buildings and planes, and the brave people who risked their lives trying to save total strangers. Other activities done by the stars in the show were helping out in the telethon's phonelines, and to play heartfelt music in reference to that grave day.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Heartfelt yet...a complete downer

Author: mephisto-ra from orlando
10 November 2001

I understood the premise for the special. And for a time I could see. As things progressed this became more and more depressing. At a time when America needed to mourn the loss of so many and prepare for a long drawn out war Hollywood could only give us sappy. This should not have been just a depressing "I'm an actor and I care" special. It should have let America know that things were going to be alright again. This let the country know all is lost, for we can never show resolve. What could have been a message to the world that America will not stop being the country they wish they were in, was nothing but a weepy feel sorry for ourselves ego-fest. Bob Hope performed to soldiers in battle and was able to make them laugh and feel better, it is a shame that in this politically correct age we cannot see as well. Maybe this wouldn't have been as bad were it not for the performances. Two stick out as ludicriuse(sp). Neil Young singing John Lennon's masterpiece 'Imagine' was quite possibly the greatest cover mistake ever. Lennon was a legend and Young is...well nobody has figured out that he isn't any good yet, and to sing that song that bad should be a crime. He would have been better off reworking the only song he ever wrote that was good 'Ohio' for the WTC. The other performance that sticks out was Limp Bizkut doing 'wish you were here' by Pink Floyd. This was not near as bad, and was quite good. The only problem was watching knowing that Pink Floyd was probably sitting at home with nothing better to do and would have done a better job. True we have not had to mourn like this before and had to start somewhere, but they should have done a dry run on maybe a single channel in Zaire to test the response before being on every channel in the greatest country in the world.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history