IMDb > A Guy Thing (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
A Guy Thing
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
A Guy Thing More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 10:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]
Index 92 reviews in total 

23 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

don't be fooled by bad reviews, this movie is fun, silly, and entertaining

Author: kcwells from a little to the left
2 August 2003

I just watched this movie for the first time and decided to check out what others thought. I was SOMEWHAT surprised by the 5.3 user rating (what it is at the time I'm writing this), but I was even more surprised by the number of awful reviews people have written for it! Seriously, at least half of them on here are ones saying it is "the worst movie" or some nonsense like that. That is highly untrue. Granted, as with almost every other romantic comedy bar a select few, the plot of this movie isn't the most original ever written. However, this movie is quite fun and entertaining. It was silly and cute, and made me laugh a lot. The acting is all pretty decent, and Jason Lee does an excellent job in his role. I'm not saying this is the best movie ever invented, but it was definitely a fun, cute, funny and entertaining movie that I would recommend to anyone in need of an hour and forty minutes of entertainment. The only thing I hate about the plot (and other movies like this) is that the innocent fiance gets mildly screwed over. I hate when that happens in movies. Poor girl. Haha, anyway, rent this movie for a laugh and a fun time. Enjoy! 6.5/10, 7/10 maybe

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

I thought it was funny most of the time

Author: vchimpanzee
3 April 2007

There were times when this movie was absolutely hilarious. Even if most of the funniest lines and situations involved toilets, STDs, or pornography. I don't recommend this for kids.

Paul didn't remind me of Earl Hickey that much of the time, but sometimes his manner of speaking was similar. Paul wasn't that great a character, but he was likable enough.

I didn't care for Karen. She wasn't pretty and had an abrasive personality, and then there was that annoying fake smile. Though on the right woman, her haircut could have been cute.

Becky, on the other hand, was absolutely adorable. Good-looking with a sweet personality, even if she could get riled when she had to. In the first scene where she showed she had a brain, she was justified in not being the cute chick. I knew what I wanted to happen.

There were plenty of good acting performances, considering the material. And while the writing wasn't on an Oscar level, that's not necessary here. It just needed to be funny, which it often was.

I had a bad day--in fact, a bad week--prior to the night this movie aired. But the movie made me feel good, at least while I was watching it. That's the most important thing I can say.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Silly and weakly plotted but reasonably funny and made more enjoyable by Lee's performance

Author: bob the moo from United Kingdom
10 June 2003

Paul Coleman is a week away from marrying Karen when he wakes up next to a dancer he met at his stag do. He quickly ushers her out of the flat and hopes never to see her again. Sadly it is a matter of hours before he is introduced to her again as Karen's cousin Becky. Paul tries to make it to his wedding day without Karen finding out – an aim that is made more difficult by Becky's crazy ex-boyfriend, overzealous police and the complex web of lies Paul spins to cover himself.

On paper this film sounds awful and indeed almost every second of it is teetering on the edge of being an awful romantic comedy that goes just where you expect it to. The plot is simply daft – one contrived set piece after another that is increasingly stretched as the film goes on. It ends in just the way you know it will (despite how much I hoped it wouldn't or failed to see how it could) and it will infuriate many in regards just how silly it is.

However it is funny enough to cover the cracks. Much of the humour is instantly recognisable and made up of well known routines (Paul climbing out of the bathroom window) or physical comedy (some pratfalls along the way). Happily there is plenty of slightly off the wall humour that, although not new, is quite good. An example would be the `fantasy sequences' but my favourite bit is Paul sweet memories of a male dance teacher. The whole thing is very silly and you should prepare yourself for that, but it does just about have enough silly laughs to keep it going.

For me the number one reason I enjoyed this film was the performance of Jason Lee. At no point does he suggest that this is a serious film, in fact many times a silly scene was saved by the `what the f is going on' look on his face – a hint to us that he is in the film and he can't believe what's happening, so the audience should go with him. For the rest of the time he lends himself really easily to the type of humour and is able to raise the material a bit. He is a good lead here and keeps bits of his `Brody' from Mallrats to good effect. Stiles is awful in my opinion. She doesn't really act and seems to be trying too hard to do `kooky' – it doesn't work. She has so little screentime that I found it very hard to accept that Paul would get anything from her. Blair has a thankless role and she doesn't quite carry it off – like Stiles I felt that she was trying too hard and almost came across as a caricature. Maybe they were both led by Lee's knowing performance and responded in a bad way. Larry Miller is quite funny (but predictable) as the minister next door and Brolin is a surprising find as the father in law.

Overall this is a very silly film, based on one daft scene after another that leads to a predictable ending that simply doesn't make sense even using the logic of this type of film. However it is funny and a great performance by Jason Lee makes it more enjoyable than it probably should be.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

enjoyable movie with refreshing humour

8/10
Author: zeeshaan2 from India
7 February 2006

I happened to watch this movie by chance some days ago while flipping channels. My expectations were not very high but it was an interesting movie.In 'A Guy Thing', Jason Lee plays Paul, a straight-laced, Seattle-based fellow who is about to marry his fiancée Karen (Selma Blair) and settle down to an unchallenging life of middle-class domesticity. We first meet Paul at his bachelor party, where he professes no desire to engage in any of the normal bachelor party type activities his (surprisingly few) buddies encourage, in case he's a bit naughty and gets into hot bother with his soon to be trouble and strife. Of course, the next thing Paul knows, it's the morning after the night before, he's in bed with a naked hula dancer, and his mother-in-law phones to inform him that Karen is on her way over. Oh, and the hula dancer is Karen's cousin Becky (Julia Stiles).

From this small acorn of potential trouble grows a mighty oak of frenetic misfortune, as Paul scrabbles from misadventure to misadventure, trying to cover up what he's done whilst keeping up the appearance of being a dutiful, family-oriented good guy, who's super-excited about his forthcoming nuptials. His efforts to ensure Karen remains none the wiser about any potential wrong-doing on his part ironically forces Paul closer and closer to the fun-loving Becky, forcing him to question whether he really wants the life that seems to have been mapped out for him. The movie contains the right mix of comedy and romance. Definitely worth a watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Rather mediocre romantic story.

5/10
Author: insomniac_rod from Noctropolis
16 March 2009

Typical chick flick that should be enjoyed only by teens. There is not much to comment about this effort that could easily pass as a b-movie effort.

The plot tries to be different from some other efforts of it's time but to be honest I didn't think it was a genre definer or a movie that should be kept in order to show it to anyone else!.

The acting by Julia Stiles is wooden but it helps that she's pretty. Selma Blair is sexy as always but her character didn't help that much. Jason Lee always works for these kind of movies but the plot didn't help him either.

So there you go, this is a mildly-entertaining, not clever or witty, but "ok-time killer" for those who enjoy regular almost mediocre romantic comedies.

Watch it only if it airs on cable. I did that! I didn't spend a single dollar on it and I'm proud about it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

By the numbers

4/10
Author: ctomvelu1 from United States
7 September 2010

A much as I like Jason Lee,this is a brain-dead, incredibly derivative date movie that has been done dozens of times before. I really wonder who goes to see these things. Lee plays his usual hapless schmo who wakes up to find a naked blonde (Stiles) in his bed on the morning after his bachelor party. His fiancée (Blair) is on the way over to his apartment at that very moment, f course. I suspect you do not need to have me say anything more about the plot. The moment we see Stiles and Blair, we know where this is going. The lowest of low points in this bogus comedy is when Lee tries to explain away Stiles' panties, which Blair finds in his toilet tank. As he haltingly tells her that he bought them for her, she buys his explanation, and at that point, I wanted to crawl under my couch and die. The wedding finale is similarly cringe-inducing. Blair, a decent-enough actress, is such a pretty young thing to be wasted in such dreck. But then again, it's a paycheck. This is assembly-line movie-making that Hollywood should have given up making long ago. It's not even up to modern TV sitcom standards. I suspect the script was throw together by a roomful of monkeys taking turns typing on an old typewriter.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

If only you had a chance with a girl's cousin

6/10
Author: freakfire-1 from Texas, United States
1 October 2008

Maybe this is every man's dream? To have a one night drunken fling with your fiancé's cousin? Or so you think. Turns out, it becomes a headache to keep it concealed for long.

Enter panties left at the scene of the crime and everything just snowballs. From enraged police officers to wearing a wire for the FBI to bust such an officer, the movie takes one problem and turns it into multiple ones for the main character.

Like many 90s films of this genre, however, this one also has a happy ending. Sort of. But this one is unique that it has two love triangles in one. But I guess I am happy everybody else was happy.

Overall, the laughs were fairly good. So if you have a little time to kill, this will do the trick. "C+"

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

A hilarious 'thing'

Author: Christopher Smith
18 January 2003

A GUY THING is one of those rare romantic comedies that is romantic and cute without being overly sappy. At the same time, it manages to provide every scene with the kind great lines and witty humor that just aren't found in very many movies these days. Despite the mediocre trailer, every scene of this movie is absolutely hilarious [and judging by the amount of laughter in the audience, I'm not the only one that thinks so]. Even though the plot may be predictable and the movie starts off a little slow, but overall it's still a great movie that will hopefully be successful at the box office. However, box office success doesn't seem likely for this film because let's face it, movies released in January are only in theaters for a few weeks. And although it is only January, A GUY THING is going to end up on my list of the best movies of 2003 at the end of the year. Highly recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Same old same old

4/10
Author: fire-58 from United States
4 July 2009

Just a regular Jason lee movie, There were some parts of the movie that were funny. The undertone of the move is to live life on the edge I guess. These are the types of movies that I think 14 year old girls watch at slumber parties. It was an all right movie. It is kind of one of those movies you have on in the back ground and look up every now and then to when something catches attention. I think That Julia stiles and Selma Blair are a good combination and would like to see them in a movie with a good story and plot. Its just kind of a boy meets girl movie. This is that perfect movie they would show on comedy Central. I am glad that I didn't see this movie in the theater, I would have been angry. But I guess that's why I didn't see it in the theater.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Never really makes it

3/10
Author: badajoz-1 from United Kingdom
14 April 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

With a decent cast, there should be something in this movie, but no, it fails to make the most of almost every situation. the jokes are few and far between, and most of the time you ask yourself - I should be laughing at this, but I am not. A remake of 'There's Something About Mary' is what is being attempted in tenor and style, but it just keeps failing. Jason Lee from TV can forget the big screen (it has certainly not let him back again since this was made!), while Julia Stiles and Selma Blair are going through the motions well enough as repeats of their characters from 'Ten Things..' and 'Legally Blonde.' But where was the snap and dazzle to make the most of the situation and characters - I mean how do you make mediocre when a groom wakes up with a strange girl in his bed after his bachelor party? probably most of it lies with Jason Lee, who is not Jack Lemmon or Michael J Fox, who fails to do anything with the farcical proceedings on screen. OTT comedy at times mixed with RomCom and it falls between both stools. Dire at times, but it drifts along!!!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 10:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history