Sonic the Hedgehog (1991)

Video Game  |  Action, Adventure, Family  |  23 June 1991 (USA)
Your rating:
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Ratings: 8.4/10 from 1,061 users  
Reviews: 20 user | 3 critic

A blue hedgehog with supersonic speed must rescue animals from being turned into robots by a mad scientist.

0Check in

Related News

'Mario' voted 'best game in history'
| Digital Spy

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 49 titles
created 02 Mar 2012
a list of 43 titles
created 21 Mar 2012
list image
a list of 38 titles
created 09 Dec 2013
list image
a list of 35 titles
created 05 May 2014
list image
a list of 35 titles
created 4 months ago

Related Items

Connect with IMDb

Share this Rating

Title: Sonic the Hedgehog (Video Game 1991)

Sonic the Hedgehog (Video Game 1991) on IMDb 8.4/10

Want to share IMDb's rating on your own site? Use the HTML below.

Take The Quiz!

Test your knowledge of Sonic the Hedgehog.

User Polls

1 win. See more awards »


Sonic is a blue hedgehog who has the unusual ability (for a hedgehog) to run fast. When the evil Dr. Robotnik begins to assimilate all the creatures on the planet into robots, Sonic must use his ability to stop Robotnik. Sonic must battle through 6 zones (3 acts each) and then face off against Robotnik in one final zone. Written by Anonymous

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Plot Keywords:

hedgehog | zone | emerald | robot | animal | See All (78) »


It's super Sonic!


K-A | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:



Official Sites:






Release Date:

23 June 1991 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Sonikku za Hejjihoggu  »

Company Credits

Production Co:

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs


Aspect Ratio:

1.78 : 1
See  »

Did You Know?


Among the several proposed character designs that were rejected included a rabbit, several types of warriors, a clown, a human character with Bart Simpson-like hair, a small porcupine, a chicken with an attitude, a wolf wearing an American flag T-shirt and a bulldog. See more »

Crazy Credits

There are several Chaos Emeralds hidden in bonus levels throughout the game. If you collect them all, after the credits roll at the end of the game, Dr. Robotnik will be seen jumping up and down over the words THE END. However if you do not collect all the emeralds, following the credits will be Dr. Robotnik juggling the ones you did not collect and standing over the words TRY AGAIN. See more »


Followed by Sonic Rush Adventure (2007) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

The Odyssey Begins!
26 June 2003 | by (Buffalo, NY) – See all my reviews

Here it is, the very first game of Sonic the Hedgehog ever released. This is the very game that started the continuing adventures of a blue hedgehog, up against a mad robot scientist.

The story here is basically the set-up for all subsequent games of the series. Sonic is on the planet Mobius, trying to stop Dr. Robotnik (a.k.a. The Eggman) from taking over the planet. Sonic has to travel in different environments, collecting as many rings as possible, and restoring his forest friends from the robot badniks they were transformed into.

First, there's Green Hill Zone (the tropical region), then Marble Zone (the mountains), Spring Yard Zone (a pinball garden of sorts), Labyrinth Zone (an underwater maze), Starlight Zone (the big city at nite), Scrap Brain Zone (industrial park), and the Final Zone (Robotnik's lair). The first six zones each have three acts, topped off with a different boss (the segments where Robotnik tries to stop Sonic from catching up with him). The last zone ultimately defeats Robotnik (at least in this chapter).

In between, you have to try collecting six chaos emeralds in a special stage. This prevents Robotnik from using them to his own advantage(s).

So, here it is; the game that started it all. Sonic would later be joined by several other characters (known as "freedom fighters") as they would all travel to more adventurous settings, and be up against progressively dangerous schemes from Dr. Robotnik.

Next up: Sonic 2!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
If They Ever Made a Sonic Movie... Akimbo_Slice
US and Japanese differences? Father_Vigo_The_Holy
Favorite Zone? Cozzy20000
Discuss Sonic the Hedgehog (1991) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page