IMDb > Big Girls Don't Cry (2002) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Große Mädchen weinen nicht
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Big Girls Don't Cry More at IMDbPro »Große Mädchen weinen nicht (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 18 reviews in total 

12 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Fantastic Movie

Author: AcerbicTriangle987 from Texas, USA
21 November 2003

I don't think that this is a movie just for girls. I'm a guy and I thought it was brilliant. I think it's a movie just for teenagers and the effect that parents can have on their kids. I mean, Steffi goes crazy when she finds out about her dad's affair and wants to ruin other people's lives, and I think it was portrayed beautifully on-screen. I think that people should take a closer look at how they can take care of their kids.

I also think it's just a beautiful movie of friendship and how far you'll go to help a friend, without losing yourself along the way, as in Kati's situation. I thought it was just a beautiful movie, and I love watching this on TV. I've seen it about 8 times now and still continue to watch it every now and then. By the way, this is the first foreign movie I've seen fully. Sub-titles usually bother me, but they didn't with this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Powerful Drama About Reaching Adulthood

9/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
24 April 2005

Kati (Anna Maria Mühe) and Steffi (Karoline Herfurth) are best friends since their childhood. They spend most of their time together, in school and in their leisure time. Kati has a quite hysterical mother, while the parents of Steffi seems to be in permanent love. When Steffi finds her father Hans (Stefan Kurt) with his lover in a night-club, her world turns upside-down. Steffi plots an evil revenge against Tessa (Josefine Domes), the daughter of Hans' lover. Her plan brings serious and tragic consequences to her family, her friends and herself. "Große Mädchen Weinen Nicht" is a powerful drama about reaching adulthood. The story begins like a common teen movie, but later it shifts in a very intense, dramatic and credible drama. The story does not spare any character, showing the consequences of the maleficent action of Steffi not only to her, but to her friends and parents, teaching a lesson without being moralist specially to the target viewers - the teenagers. The soundtrack is also magnificent and I feel sorrow when I see only 287 votes in IMDb, since this movie deserves to be discovered by fans of a drama about contemporary teenagers. This is the first movie I have watched with Anna Maria Mühe, who is amazingly beautiful, and her supportive character is very nice. Yesterday I saw another movie ("Mädchen, Mädchen") of the gorgeous and sexy German actress called Karoline Herfurth and I truly believe she will become very famous worldwide in a near future. My vote is nine.

Title (Brazil): "Meninas Não Choram" ("Girls Do not Cry")

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

complex tale of morally adrift teens

8/10
Author: Roland E. Zwick (magneteach@aol.com) from United States
3 December 2005

In most movies about teens - at least those made in America - we usually don't have to spend a great deal of time trying to figure out who are the "good" people and who are the "bad." The filmmakers are usually kind enough to do that for us. This is obviously not the case in Europe, however, for in the German film "Big Girls Don't Cry," the adolescents we meet are anything but morally and ethically clear-cut.

The two best friends, Steffi and Kati, seem like fairly typical middle class teens - somewhat mischievous, obsessed with boys, and faintly rebellious against the authority figures of the adult world. They also drink, party and experiment with drugs - nothing too radical for teens anywhere in the world today. However, one night Steffi inadvertently discovers that her father is having an affair. At this point, all hell breaks loose, as Steffi decides to take her anger and revenge out on the innocent daughter of her father's mistress, an aspiring singer named Tessa. Steffi sends Tessa to a potentially dangerous local pornographer, leading her to believe that he is actually a record producer searching for new talent. This single action leads to a series of cascading events that winds up, in some way or other, adversely affecting most of the people in Steffi's life.

Steffi and Kati are both fully realized and complex characters who refuse to be pigeonholed at any given point in the movie. Steffi begins her crusade of vengeance convinced that she is acting strictly out of righteous anger, especially since, in her mind at least, her actions are as much a way of protecting her mother's honor as her own. And if innocent victims have to be sacrificed along the way, well, so be it. What Steffi doesn't realize, until it's too late, is that we can't always control how the human dramas we set in motion will ultimately act themselves out. Kati, who is far more rebellious and far more promiscuous than Steffi, finds herself torn between her loyalty as a friend and doing what she knows is right. It is Kati, the less self-assured one, who, ultimately, becomes the moral beacon that Steffi will be forced to follow if she hopes to survive in the world.

Anna Maria Muhe as Kati and Karoline Herfurth as Steffi give brilliant, well-rounded performances, as does the rest of the talented cast. The acting, writing and directing are so good and true, in fact, that the movie is able to override the occasional implausibility or touch of melodrama that wanders into the storyline.

I just wish American movies about teenagers were this thought-provoking, interesting and impressive.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

BITTERSWEET, REFRESHINGLY ACCURATE TEEN-DRAMA

Author: marc brown (marxthedude) from LONDON, ENGLAND
4 February 2004

Germany's answer to 'Thirteen' poses many questions about teenage life. Amongst them the strength of friendship and loyalty, the longing for acceptance and stability and the desire to 'beat' rather than 'be beaten'. Where "Große Mädchen weinen nicht" is poles apart from it's teen-angst predocessors is in the acting, charecters particularly it's secondary players and use of narrative.

Kati and Steffi, the film's lead charecters aren't burdened with mass dysfuctionality or traumas, they are just two typical teens driven only by their on-going friendship. Things change however when Steffi witnesses her father with another woman. What becomes petty revenge, envelopes into tragedy beyond Steffi's comprehension and the loyal Kati having to decide whether she wants to play a part in it all. With Steffi in denial and Kati in guilt and the film's intergral 'revenge' story resolved almost halfway in, the remainder of the film (and it's real heart) is devoted to the complexities of teen-emotion. Steffi's cold controlling aloofness hides her painful insecurities and Kati's delicate need for love becomes secondary to her sense of right and wrong.

Maria Von Helland consciously mentions the girls sex-lifes, even potential drug-use but treats it matter-of-factly. She turns a seemingly complex tale into an entertaining strikingly simple one of teenage friendship. In her two leads, Anna Maria Mulhe and Karoline Herfurth, we have two remarkably gifted actreses, able to convey more with looks and well judged dialoge then scene stealing quirky performances. Josefine Domes and Jennifer Ulrich fare well also, conveying alot over limited screentime, as this is after all primarily about Steffi and Kati. Because of this, male and adult charecters suffer a little, but not in an obvious way and adding complex male personalities into the mix may just have leant the film's delicate balence towards moralising.

Both unique and not particularly European (the film's soundtrack consists of English sung pop), this is aguably every bit as strong as teen friendship classics like 'Stand By Me' and 'The Breakfast Club', more so for it's lack of sensationialism.

Incredibly watchable, instantly appreciated, this is a film to seek out, as well made gems like this on such a well-trod subject can only become few and far between....

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Fabulous flick!

9/10
Author: Exiled_Archangel from Istanbul, Turkey
16 January 2004



I'm out of words after watching this film.. It's totally fascinating! The acting by the young actresses is flawless, and pretty much everyone else is also doing a good job throughout the movie. The storyline is also quite harsh but intriguing. It has the features of a coming of age movie, and what not. Someone has said "underrated masterpiece" about this movie before.Well, I couldn't agree more.. Although I'm a fan of German movies in general, I have to say this one was special for sure. Especially the outstanding performance of youngster Anna Maria Mühe adds delight to the film. The only minor flaw about the flick in general is that it should have been some 12-15 minutes longer instead of pacing up through the last moments. Other than that, it meets my criteria of perfection. Go see it NOW!

9/10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A strong German teen drama.

7/10
Author: Jessica Carvalho from Brazil
29 March 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

''Große Mädchen weinen nicht'' or simply ''Big girls don't cry''is a teenager drama movie much more serious (and maybe real) then ''Thirteen''.

Kati and Steffi are best friends since they are kids. But they are growing, and their personalities are becoming very different,specially after Steffi discovers that her father was having an affair with another woman,and decides to make everything to ruin her father's lover's daughter life.

Nice to see the actress Karoline Herfurth here. I saw her for the first time in ''Mädchen, Mädchen''and I can see she can play two very different personalities,since in Mädchen, Mädchen'''she plays the sweet Lena, who is the opposite of the devious Steffi.

aka "Meninas não choram" - Brazil

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

The truth about teenage life...

8/10
Author: jpschapira from Argentina
26 September 2005

I'm currently studying with an exchange guy. He's from Germany and is learning many different languages. A very smart boy and fun to be with; and although he speaks to us in our language, it would be interesting to listen to him speaking German. Watching this film, I realized how that would be. Besides the German language itself, he would probably speak the same way; the expressions, and special words, because this film's characters live in the teenage world. The piece is very brave, and I don't know what the reception was at its country in its time, but director Maria Von Heland is trying to declare: "These things happen…And they happen to teenagers".

In this very real reality, kids go to school and have best friends, hang out with boyfriends, form rock bands, carry on a sexual life and so on. Von Heland's screenplay covers all of these aspects three dimensionally, because it expands them with a lot of knowledge. Best friends are what Kati (newcomer at the time Anna Maria Muhe) and Steffi (Karoline Herfurth). The first has just ended a relationship and the last has a boyfriend named Carlos (David Winter), who is in a rock band. The sexual life of teenage girls isn't something understood, it comes by the person each one is. The movie deals with this letting us know that Steffi and Carlos have known each other for a long time but they still haven't made love.

On the other side, Kati is always looking for chances; going out late, meeting older guys and carrying condoms inside her jeans. All this we learn when we are taken inside her house, where a ruined family clearly lives. In one scene, while Kati's family is having dinner, Von Heland shows with a still camera the faces of each of the members, and it becomes obvious; it's a tense and dysfunctional life. We later experience a father-daughter talk about some discoveries, and Kati and her younger sister praying to God while we listen to their parents' screams. They say: "God, I know you're very busy and all that, but please make our parents divorce soon". There's another strong scene near the ending, where Kati prays by herself.

Strong is about everything in this movie. Steffi also has his family issues, we find out. We know the character and we believe she'd resolve them maturely, but when Tessa (Josefine Domes) comes into the picture, and Steffi resolves, we realize that Kati is probably more mature than her and therefore how contradictory life is. Steffi has her motives for what she does with Tessa and everything she does later, so does Kati when she tells her mom: "This is who I am…Look at me!". So does Tessa's mom when she acts, and Kati's mom when she gets mad, and Kati's father when he advices her, and everybody else. One notable thing about the feature is that is difficult to take sides; you understand everyone.

Another very remarkable detail is the use of music, all of it in English, representing each moment of the story with lyrics and songs according to the music people of the movie characters' age listen. Everything that happens to the two friends is something that could occur to any friendship any day. Because when two people are friends since little, it is something given (in my case with my ever best friend Matías), and when they fight they always make up; it is the tough bond that unites them. But the truth is that sometimes there are some much stronger things that test that bond; and that is the time to find out if the feelings are real. What Kati and Steffi live is way too strong for their age, but it is up to them to work it out, while is up to the movie to show us how powerful friendship truly is.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A highly underrated masterpiece

10/10
Author: poem from Germany
16 October 2003

So why was this movie not a big bang ? It should have been. I have no clue what was missing, it was a good story, great acting, everything. Maybe it was the title. But even that one wasn't that bad, surprising for a german movie. Nevertheless it soon left the cinema again, and nobody ever talked about it.

This is a movie about girls, and for girls. Its much more serious than other attempts for making such a movie, so no dirt jokes like, for example, in american pie 2. Instead it is about the problems and wishes of modern girls, such as love, faith, school, freedom, security and rape.

Maybe that was the reason for its failure. A movie about girls, how uncool ? I don't know, but I can highly recommend this one to anyone interested.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Highly Underrated.

10/10
Author: powermandan from Canada
12 January 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I first discovered Big Girls Don't Cry at a very unlikely place: a grocery store. There was a bin of movies that was gone the next time I went there. Reading the back of it, the story sounded very interesting. Since then, I have become very interested in seeing it. I watched it, and all I can say is WOW! This is not a movie made specifically for girls or only for Germans, any guy or American can watch this and be enthralled by it.

I managed to find Big Girls Don't Cry on the net, in German with no subtitles. Luckily, I was able to decipher most of the movie and get the gist of most things that happened. The movie is about Kati and Steffi who have been best friends their whole lives. They share secrets, peak in on boys, smoke cigarettes and do other mature things out of their reach. They mean no harm, they just want to have fun. Not really funny to watch, but it is still nice and relatable. The first little bit reminds me of some of the things my friends and I would do. When Steffi sees her father with another woman, she plots revenge starting with the woman's innocent daughter, Tessa. Kati has parental problems of her own and she is torn between loyalty to her best friend, and knowing that Steffi is spiralling out of control. I like that this movie did not hold anything back. The directors wanted to make a teen movie that can pack a punch, and it succeeds. They don't try to make it suitable for everyone, because that would be totally unrealistic. There's sex, drugs, rape, violence, smoking, the majority of which involve teenagers. Each of these really do happen to scarred youth and is shown in very realistic and familiar ways.

One of the main themes this has is loyalty. After seeing how much of a train wreck Steffi is becoming, Kati wonders how much she really means to her. Steffi's father cheats and she goes overboard, while Kati's parents are always engaged in heated arguments, and she is still holding it all together. That brings me to the next theme, which is the impact that parents have on their children. Steffi's parents don't abuse drugs, but one unfaithful act leads her to become a delinquent. Kati has horrible parents, and she is trying her best not to become what they are. Every teen has been through these stages at one time or another.

Anna Maria Muhe and Karoline Herfurth do fantastic portrayals in this dynamic coming-of-age story. Muhe does look familiar, but I don't know anything else she's been in. This movie may have been back in 2002, but I still hope that both actresses become world famous. Their characters are so real and deep. Some scenes are very intense that can make you cry. The whole movie will leave a lasting impact on you.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

so underrated it's a crime

10/10
Author: mikewilson762-441-871365
3 November 2012

I agree 100 % with the previous poster that this IS a masterpiece. So underrated it's a crime! Wow! I am seriously shocked how low rated this amazing film is! This is one of the best films i've seen. Just like the tacky shallow big money makers in the music eg Lady Gaga and Rhianna and all that vile rap all the shallow tacky flashy films get the highest ratings no matter what the content, script acting etc. Says a lot about humans and current society.

I'm not going to say much about the content, ill leave you to watch it. I'm sure you won't be disappointed. This film is about friendship and how deep it can run. It's also about broken families and the effects it can have on children and how they get taken advantage off by predators who sense there vulnerabilities. I love the friendship theme, the story plays out how deep friendships can run ad also how they start to disintegrate slowly when you're hurting, but take it out on the people closet to you.. I'm sure this will touch a chord with most of us. I'm a guy from Leeds, UK and this film is in German. But i totally felt it and it made me cry.The acting was that believable and genuine.

A beautiful lush soundtrack accompanies this film.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history