IMDb > Slashers (2001) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Slashers
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Slashers (V) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 58 reviews in total 

9 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Satire at its finest.

7/10
Author: Mr_Pink05 from United Kingdom
22 May 2005

A true work of Genius. I found "Slashers" to be a magnificent film. It's social comment was fantastic. I loved the concept of people killing one another for money. I also liked the idea of the women having to remove their clothes to become more popular, a great satirical comment about today's "Big Brother"/Jodie Price generation. Some of the dialogue was so clever, for example lines like "those dollar bills that you worship do not bare the face of the lord" really reflect the true intellect of the writer. This film was a great piece of social satire, reminiscent of George A Romero's "Dawn Of The Dead."

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Awesome Film...Extremely Underrated!

9/10
Author: Horror_Fan01 from Canada
24 February 2007

I Really hope this gets remade, with a bigger budget and a better cast and send it to theaters, or make a real TV show like this, because this movie definitely did not get the credit it deserved, the DVD is even discontinued (stop making them). This was an awesome movie and definitely worth a look, the reality show plot is awesome, i loved it, i guess it's one of those movies which you either love it or hate it. I cant really say it's being remade, but a similar movie is coming out this April 2007, entitled Wrong Turn 2, almost the same plot, i cant wait for it. But if you want some good cheap scares and fake gore and a low budget horror flick, this is definitely worth a look, so please give it a shot, you might like it as much as me!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A low-budget, horror-comedy made with a great deal of energy and enough quality to recommend it.

Author: TheVid from Colorado Springs
12 November 2002

This is a fine little exploitation film made on a shoestring budget (approximately $150K, according to the maker). There's enough humor and panache to keep it interesting and reviewers who've criticised it's production design and performers are somewhat out of line, when you consider the budget and amazingly short shooting schedule. The sets and performances actually tend to work, when you compare them to the insidious TV shows being lampooned. Frankly, the actors here do just as well as Neve Campbell, David Arquette, Freddie Prinze, Jr., Jennifer Love-Hewitt and the rest of their ilk ever do in big-budget counterparts. I personally appreciate the enthusiasm of filmmakers like Maurice Devereaus and his crew for putting out personal little productions like SLASHERS, and look forward to what they might do with a studio-style budget.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Under-rated, funny satire, really fun

7/10
Author: cantthinkofname from wisconsin
17 February 2004

This is one brave direct to video feature. The director chose to present the film as one long shot, with invisible edits like Hitchcock did in "Rope". The acting is pretty good considering all the actors were non-union amateurs, and this has a nice take on the whole reality TV show phenomenon. The characters all run around in a maze trying to avoid being sliced and diced by a bunch of masked killers. The winner of the contest gets millions of dollars. The film takes the whole disgusting "Fear Factor" thing to its logical conclusion, making some good points about the blurring line between entertainment and reality, and the danger of introducing cruelty into the mix. Deveraux obviously wanted to use Freddy, Jason and Leatherface here, as he has villains that resemble them. What he does with his limited budget is really clever and he sets himself apart from the hacks with this one. I can't wait till he has some real money to work with.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Real Low-Budget Cheesy Slash Fest

6/10
Author: Pet_Rock from United States
2 September 2006

6 people (Sarah Joslyn Crowder, Kieran Keller, Tony Curtis Blondell and more) have agreed to be a part of a Japanese reality show in which they are locked in a creepy house and stalked and killed by 3 sickos (a wonderful performance by Neil Napier and an alright job by Christopher Piggins). Whoever gets out alive wins millions and millions of dollars. But who will get out alive? Maurice Devereaux does a much better job at writing than directing. The script is surprisingly original and smart.

The film is filled with bad actors. However, there are a few gems in here: Kieran Keller, who has done nothing and has nothing planned was actually pretty good IMO, and Tony Curtis Blondell is up and rising. But the best, IMO, was Neil Napier, who played 2 killers very well.

Out of all the "Reality Show" horrors, this is one of the better ones, along side with "My Little Eye" and Kolobos.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Cheap, yet wildly entertaining

8/10
Author: (twogunbob@ymail.com) from Hurst, TX
11 February 2004

In as much as reality television makes me violently ill this little cheapie came along and pretty much collected all my feelings in one tight little ball of cinema excellence. Of course, the film is covered in trappings of morality about Reality TV going to far, I was able to push the heavy handed morality aside and just enjoy a film that takes the dazzle out of real TV shows in satires. The acting is standard B-fare nothing outstanding except for Christopher Piggins as Doctor Ripper. Piggins just seemed more fluid and natural without hamming it up in the role of a TV-made psycho killer. Sets are, well, a paintball arena and this is sometimes distracting as I was waiting to see a masked guy with a paintball gun accidentally walk into shot. A small drawback that can be overlooked none the less. Only thing that could have made this film better was possibly shooting it as an American release using the original Japansese cast possibly subtitling it. It would have gone leaps and bounds in making the film more immersive and believable, but that just my opinion. Regardless it gets an 8/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Interesting And Entertaining, A Pretty Good Video Movie

8/10
Author: Bill357 from United States
9 June 2009

Despite some very bad acting, I found Slashers (or $la$herS) to be an engaging and very entertaining movie. The colorful sets and slasher characters won me over.

What I found interesting was that the slashers weren't portrayed as pure psychopaths trying to kill everyone as soon as possible but performers trying to coax good "performances" out of the contestants before killing them at a very dramatic moment and the fact that offering a good performance can make the slashers hold off on trying to kill you. I also found it quite amusing that they tried as much as possible to get the girls naked!

As far as the acting goes, I found it pretty wooden and stilted most of the time. The dialog handed them didn't help as it seemed better suited to a comic book than a movie. However, considering the content of the film, it didn't take away much.

The slashers themselves give the best performances of the picture but that's not saying much because they were supposed to overact. I found the purposely bloated stereotypes quite funny as well and loved the evil doctor's bad Boris Karloff impersonation.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

$la$her$ review

10/10
Author: Jennifer_Gardner from Canada
13 January 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Blair Witch project meets The Running man meets Rope. This movie is actually better than it sounds. I absolutely loved this one! From a ridiculous budget, the director manages to pull out something original an which is not looking like crap. Hell, he even managed to make it look like it's shot in one single take. Rope, from Hitchcock is a classic known for this, but here we're not talking going back and forth between 2 rooms, but running through numerous rooms, avoiding numerous obstacles and all. Purely insane. And the whole thing is filmed in a most realistic way, a bit like Blairwitch, only you don't have to suffer the major camera shaking this time.

Perhaps not as atmospheric as it could have been with a higher budget, still the suspense works very well and the characters are solid. If course it's cheesy by moments, but that's to be expected with that kind of movie, especially since the whole thing takes place on a TV set, where contestants are subject to any type of behavior and emotions, they're not supposed to look like actors. But the actors here impersonate that feeling of amateur-ness very well. You can't help but find Chainsaw Charlie (Neil Napier) sympathetic. Hear him talking about his kids and wife, "I'm just doing my job here".. Unfortunately, the villains are not all equally good, for example the preacher man (played again by Neil Napier) seemed a bit weak to me, but at least he doesn't get much air time.

The script is well done, and it contains a few interesting twists that will keep you guessing for the ending.. Some situations are pure genius. For example, during the commercial breaks, the contestants and slashers must stop what they're doing and hold still, whatever position they might be in. Which leads to some absolutely delicious twisted humorous situations.

The gore scenes are quite funny as well, though I would have expected more of them, perhaps with more participants and/or more slashers, but i guess the budgets wouldn't allow it.

Overall, it's a well done satire both of human society and other movies, well worth watching. Next time you wanna watch a horror movie, rent this instead of XYZ sequel from some famous overkilled franchise

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly entertaining!

6/10
Author: Snake-666 from England
27 November 2003

Six contestants compete for a prize of anything between twelve and eighteen million dollars on an American edition of a bizarre Japanese game show. The contestants must attempt to stay alive as they are placed in an arena against three psychotic killers.

This Canadian-made parody of those infamous extreme Japanese game shows is humorous, strangely entertaining and even slightly inventive. Continuing the reality theme that featured in movies such as ‘The Last Broadcast' (1998) and ‘The Blair Witch Project' (1999), ‘Slashers' is presented to the viewer solely through the eyes (or lens) of the cameraman of this weird and warped game show. However, unlike the aforementioned films, ‘Slashers' is not a film that is meant to be taken all that seriously. The movie possesses an inherent comic atmosphere throughout and features a whole array of weird and wonderful characters. The killers consist of a supposedly inbred, chainsaw wielding redneck, a demonic looking priest (both played by Neil Napier) and a more than slightly deranged `doctor' known as Dr. Ripper (Christopher Piggins). The killers are portrayed in the movie as highly theatrical whereas their actions are horrid and brutal reality. These characters all provide at least some degree of humour, one especially when he announces to the terrified (and one very angry) contestants during a commercial break that he is only doing his job.

The contestants are unfortunately less interesting. They range from a terrified law student who wishes to become a political martyr before realising what a big mistake she had made to the somewhat dangerously odd. One very humorous aspect was added in Tony Curtis Blondell in the role of Devon as one has to ask just how many times has he seen Romero's ‘Night of the Living Dead'? Of course, similarities between his character and that of Ben are more than likely down to the writers rather than the actor. The acting performances from the entire cast were all fairly lousy. While some of the performers put far too much energy into their performance and came across as extremely hammy, others seemed to be more than happy just to spout a few lines in order to get a small paycheque. However, despite the generally dreadful performances the movie was still fairly enjoyable and remained watchable from beginning till end. ‘Slashers' was also surprisingly gory (or perhaps `bloody' is more the correct word?) although many of the more advanced effects echoed the obvious low-budget of the movie. It was quite refreshing though that the makers chose to attempt manual effects rather than opting for poor CGI which I have seen a number of recent low-budget movies resort to despite the distinctly poor end result.

‘Slashers' is undoubtedly a vastly cheesy movie with a rather basic storyline and no real scares. Unlike other similar films, ‘Slashers' does not portray any sort of darkly sinister atmosphere that works as an addition to the pseudo-snuff style. Instead, it is quite simply a light-hearted, bizarre and somewhat unique horror comedy. The film is fairly predictable and the plot-twist is not really effective as any viewer who has taken notice of the rules will realise what has happened. In addition, attempts at character development are pretty laughable. Is ‘Slashers' great? No. Is ‘Slashers' good? Well that's a matter of opinion. Many people will probably dislike this but fans of non-serious parody-style horror may find this one to be worth one watch. Despite it's low budget there is an incredible attention to detail in the actual arena and, if not for the poor acting and occasionally lacking special effects, one could actually believe that this were a real game show! In fact, I would venture to say that the makers actually put more thought into this movie than first meets the eye. Horror fans may enjoy spotting the horror villain in a particular scene. With a higher budget it would most likely have been much better. My rating for ‘Slashers' – 6.5/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

cool movie

9/10
Author: fibreoptic from England
26 July 2004

Slashers is extremely enjoyable. It is ripped off The Running Man a bit but comes through with a little bit of nice gore and even though there is really no shocks in it it still makes for a really impressive movie that has a slight but predictable twist at the end. Megan is well annoying, does she really need to yell all the time. Surprisingly good. 9/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history