MOVIEmeter
SEE RANK
Down 181 this week

Cypher (2002)

6.9
Your rating:
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Ratings: 6.9/10 from 24,783 users  
Reviews: 117 user | 84 critic

An unsuspecting, disenchanted man finds himself working as a spy in the dangerous, high-stakes world of corporate espionage. Quickly getting way over-his-head, he teams up with a mysterious femme fatale.

Director:

Writer:

0Check in
0Share...

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 43 titles
created 09 Jan 2011
 
a list of 35 titles
created 26 Jul 2011
 
a list of 41 titles
created 13 Jan 2012
 
a list of 38 titles
created 14 Aug 2012
 
a list of 32 titles
created 05 Jan 2013
 

Related Items

Search for "Cypher" on Amazon.com

Connect with IMDb


Share this Rating

Title: Cypher (2002)

Cypher (2002) on IMDb 6.9/10

Want to share IMDb's rating on your own site? Use the HTML below.

Take The Quiz!

Test your knowledge of Cypher.
5 wins & 3 nominations. See more awards »
Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Cargo (2009)
Mystery | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.3/10 X  

In 2270, Earth is completely depleted and no one lives there anymore. Those that have money move to Rhea; but most of the population lives in orbit in space stations. Dr. Laura Portmann ... See full summary »

Directors: Ivan Engler, Ralph Etter
Stars: Anna Katharina Schwabroh, Martin Rapold, Regula Grauwiller
Cube (1997)
Mystery | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.4/10 X  

7 complete strangers of widely varying personality characteristics are involuntarily placed in an endless kafkaesque maze containing deadly traps.

Director: Vincenzo Natali
Stars: Nicole de Boer, Maurice Dean Wint, David Hewlett
Dark City (1998)
Mystery | Sci-Fi
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.8/10 X  

A man struggles with memories of his past, including a wife he cannot remember, in a nightmarish world with no sun and run by beings with telekinetic powers who seek the souls of humans.

Director: Alex Proyas
Stars: Rufus Sewell, Kiefer Sutherland, Jennifer Connelly
Timecrimes (2007)
Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.2/10 X  

A man accidentally gets into a time machine and travels back in time nearly an hour. Finding himself will be the first of a series of disasters of unforeseeable consequences.

Director: Nacho Vigalondo
Stars: Karra Elejalde, Candela Fernández, Bárbara Goenaga
Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.2/10 X  

A group of scientists investigates a deadly new alien virus before it can spread.

Director: Robert Wise
Stars: James Olson, Arthur Hill, David Wayne
Mystery | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

A thriller involving an ongoing unsolved mystery in Alaska, where one town has seen an extraordinary number of unexplained disappearances during the past 40 years and there are accusations of a federal cover up.

Director: Olatunde Osunsanmi
Stars: Milla Jovovich, Elias Koteas, Will Patton
Mystery | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 8.1/10 X  

In a future world devastated by disease, a convict is sent back in time to gather information about the man-made virus that wiped out most of the human population on the planet.

Director: Terry Gilliam
Stars: Bruce Willis, Madeleine Stowe, Brad Pitt
Paprika (2006)
Animation | Mystery | Sci-Fi
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.7/10 X  

When a machine that allows therapists to enter their patient's dreams is stolen, all hell breaks loose. Only a young female therapist can stop it: Paprika.

Director: Satoshi Kon
Stars: Megumi Hayashibara, Tôru Emori, Katsunosuke Hori
2010 (1984)
Mystery | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.8/10 X  

A joint U.S.-Soviet expedition is sent to Jupiter to learn what happened to the Discovery.

Director: Peter Hyams
Stars: Roy Scheider, John Lithgow, Helen Mirren
Vanilla Sky (2001)
Fantasy | Mystery | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

A successful publisher finds his life taking a turn for the surreal after a car accident with a jaded lover.

Director: Cameron Crowe
Stars: Tom Cruise, Penélope Cruz, Cameron Diaz
Cloverfield (2008)
Action | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.1/10 X  

Revolves around a monster attack in New York as told from the point of view of a small group of people.

Director: Matt Reeves
Stars: Mike Vogel, Jessica Lucas, Lizzy Caplan
I, Robot (2004)
Action | Mystery | Sci-Fi
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.1/10 X  

In 2035 a technophobic cop investigates a crime that may have been perpetrated by a robot, which leads to a larger threat to humanity.

Director: Alex Proyas
Stars: Will Smith, Bridget Moynahan, Bruce Greenwood
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
...
...
Finster
Timothy Webber ...
Callaway
...
...
Diane
Kristina Nicoll ...
Amy
...
Digicorp Technician #1
Stephen Brown ...
Digicorp Technician #2
...
Pilot In Mensroom
Jocelyn Snowdon ...
Stewardess to Buffalo
...
Fred Garfield
Steve Jackson ...
Waiter Buffalo
Dan Duran ...
Buffalo Speaker #1
Valerie Buhagiar ...
Buffalo Speaker #2
Edit

Storyline

Hoping for a more exciting life than the suburban drawl he currently inhabits, nerdy salary man Morgan Sullivan takes a job as an industrial spy at Digicorp, a global computer corporation. Digicorp assigns him the duty of flying to various conventions around America, recording the speeches that are made. But when Sullivan meets a mysterious woman he begins to realize that his job may not be what it seems, as he descends into a dark underworld of brainwashing and struggles to maintain his own identity. Written by beansproutlord@yahoo.com.au

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Taglines:

Trust No One. See more »


Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for some language | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

 »
Edit

Details

Country:

|

Language:

Release Date:

18 January 2003 (Japan)  »

Also Known As:

Company Man  »

Filming Locations:


Box Office

Budget:

$7,500,000 (estimated)
 »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Sound Mix:

|

Color:

Aspect Ratio:

1.85 : 1
See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Job 13:17 (used to encode the phone number): "Hear diligently my speech, and my declaration with your ears." See more »

Goofs

When Morgan is given his fake California ID, it shows a Blue and a Red Bar below the name and address. The Blue line is to denote a provisional license for those under 18 at the time of issuance, and the red bar is to denote what year the ID holder turns 21. Morgan appears to be in his 30's, so there would be no colored bars on his ID. See more »

Quotes

[first lines]
Sunways Security Guard: You planning a vacation, Mr. Sullivan?
Morgan Sullivan: No. No, just some reading to pass the time.
See more »

Connections

References A Clockwork Orange (1971) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

Vincenzo Natali follows up the best science fiction movie of the 1990s with another stylish and intelligent mind blowing experience!
26 March 2004 | by See all my reviews

Vincenzo Natali's feature debut 'Cube' was in my opinion the best science fiction movie of the 1990s. By "science fiction" I'm not meaning Star Wars style space opera aimed at 13 year olds, but mind expanding storytelling in the tradition of Philip K. Dick, Robert Silverberg and William Gibson. Or movies like 'Bladerunner', 'Brazil', 'Dark City' and 'eXistenZ', and yes (just in case you think I'm a mindless Lucas basher) 'THX 1138', a movie which Natali incidentally cited as an inspiration for 'Cube'. It's been a long wait but 'Cypher' is certainly worth it. This is a very stylized and cerebral film which Natali describes as being "Kafka meets James Bond", and he's not joking. There have been a few Philip K. Dick adaptations in the last few years but they always seem to lose the quirkiness and intelligence of his work and degenerate into big expensive action movies. 'Cypher' isn't actually based on a PKD story but in many ways it's the closest thing to his fiction yet seen on a movie screen. Apart from the two leads the cast is made up of Canadian character actors, which gives it a freshness missing from many contemporary Hollywood productions. 'Cube' co-star and long time Natali friend David Hewlett has a memorable role as the creepy Vergil Dunn, keeper of The Vault. He gives one of the best performances in the movie. Incidentally, also keep an eye out for a brief cameo by Valerie Buhagier, star of Bruce McDonald's cult favourites 'Roadkill' and 'Highway 61' in one of the conference scenes. The main stars are unusual picks. Brit actor Jeremy Northam has appeared in a few big American movies but is still pretty much unknown to most audiences. He uses this to his advantage and gives a terrific performance. I honestly can't imagine anyone else doing this difficult role any better. Lucy Liu plays the femme fatale part to perfection. Maybe she's just trying to get indie cred by appearing in 'Cypher', but who cares when she gives a good performance in a great movie. Plus she looks damn fine! 'Cube' has already become a cult favourite, and there's no doubt in my mind that 'Cypher' will do the same. I think audiences will be discovering both movies for years to come. Vincenzo Natali is shaping up to be one of the most exciting genre directors currently working and I'm really looking forward to what he comes up with next!


10 of 13 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
Scotch. Single malt. On the rocks. xylokopos
guessed the ending... chavz_rool
more movies like this? particles
Is digicore related to the cube? wipy
Anyone notice the spelling mistake? paul-3026
worst ending of any film ever! chadwholovedme
Discuss Cypher (2002) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?