IMDb > The Climb (2002) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Climb
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Climb More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

15 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie. Very well done.

Author: johnkonica from Los Angeles, CA
28 May 2005

Was great to watch a movie where real life issues were dealt with but where you didn't have to get dragged through a sewer to figure out who was the bad guy. Jason George does a very convincing job of playing the know it all. Ned Vaughn is very good in the roll of the conservative, play it safe type. Good music sound track. Very beautiful scenery. I would have liked to see more climbing scenes, but the action that was in the movie was very well done. It makes you wonder who is the better climber. The actors, or the camera man who has to drag a camera up ahead and make all the climbs before the actors can be filmed doing their roles. Overall the movie was very well done. It was wonderful to watch a movie where your ears weren't assaulted every five minutes with a string of profanity from one of the actors. Two Thumbs Up!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

If you've got to go, go big- just don't go home...

8/10
Author: jeben
5 May 2002

How many mountains can a man climb in one lifetime? How many mountains can one climb in one movie? Racial bias, pride, loss, hurt, pregnancy, corporate success, painful past, family dysfunction, unreached dreams... after watching this gospel presentation you'll understand how God can use each problem we face in life as a part of the climb home. Next time, take the high road.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A Decent Movie With A Clear-Cut Agenda

7/10
Author: sddavis63 (revsdd@gmail.com) from Durham Region, Ontario, Canada
11 January 2003

Your appreciation of this movie will be directly related to your own interest in matters of faith. Those of Christian faith (such as myself) and those with an interest in Christian faith will appreciate the values contained here; those who are antagonistic to Christian faith will find the evangelistic emphasis of the movie distasteful. Of course, my question would be why anyone antagonistic to an evangelical Christian message would watch a movie produced by World Wide Pictures, which is an arm of the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association?

I don't like movies that have a hidden agenda (even a hidden evangelistic agenda) but here the agenda is clear-cut and expected, so it didn't bother me. The story is interesting enough, focusing around two young mountain climbers (Jason George and Ned Vaughn) who suddenly find themselves with an unexpected opportunity to team up and climb the highest peak in the Chilean Andes. Derrick Williams (George) is an angry atheist, while Michael Harris (Vaughn) is a faithful Christian. The relationship between the two grows as they train and then climb together, culminating in the totally predictable religious conversion of Derrick. Of course, the real suspense in this kind of movie is not whether the atheist is going to convert; it's what the chain of events leading to the conversion will be, and that was a decent enough story.

Featuring the likes of Dabney Coleman, Clifton Davis and Todd Bridges, you'll find this an entertaining story as long as the overtly religious tone of it isn't something that will turn you off.

7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Great Film!

Author: cstakeland from Orlando, Florida
5 January 2004

This is one of the best Christian films I have seen. It has a bigger budget than most and the actors are pretty good as well. It is also a good witnessing tool for non beleivers as well. Overall I would recommend this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

It has a great message that impacts lives and makes you think!

Author: granfidelidad from United States
21 September 2006

When I saw the movie, it left a "mark" in my mind, I kept remembering parts of it and had to watch it again. The scenery is awesome and beautiful.The sequence of the story keeps you interested from start to end. There are so many topics of our life sewn together and presented in this production, like our struggles with traumas from the past and our pursue of success. You see business trickery intertwined with the thirst of fame;life & death decisions and more. There is a little bit of everything for every taste in this movie, from the sport fan to the romantic. It is a movie that is up to date with our use of technology so when you see it you sense this is a movie of our present time. I highly recommend it and you will be surprised!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Great thought-provoking story

8/10
Author: Melissa Alice from USA
8 June 2002

The story was very captivating and thought-provoking. The scenery of the mountains was beautiful, and the story brought tears to my eyes.

One thing I didn't particularly like was the sort of cheesy acting of the Mackie's owner, but I guess he was just supposed to be that way.

Great story...see it, and remember the high road!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

the climb

10/10
Author: leontan-1 from Netherlands
24 January 2005

It is a breathtaking movie with all the aspects that a Christian movie should have. I could identify a lot of things about myself, before I became a Christian in 1999. Things like rejection in the family followed by feelings of hate and later forgiveness of sin and a good picture about what Jesus has done for us. Unlike the other person who gave his remarks about the movie, for Christians it's really important to see that Ned Vaughn tries to be a role model, being friendly even if he does not feel this way or rethinking his own mistakes and apologizing for it. It's really a good movie that can be played at evangelising gatherings and it's so exciting to watch that even unsaved people are not leaving the place and perhaps it will help them make a choice to ask Jesus into their lives.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Awesome Evangelistic Movie

10/10
Author: misce_mail from United States
17 November 2008

Contains real life scenarios that most people can relate to and is not at all preachy. They do give somewhat of a gospel message but are not at all in your face about it. Good acting, great production. Involves the lives of an unbeliever and a committed Christian forging a friendship based on a mutual goal. I really like that it portrays a relationship between the two men that is similar to relationships that I have had as a believer with unbelievers. This would be a great movie to watch with friends that you want to hear the gospel message without it seeming like you are showing them the movie just for that reason. I would highly recommend!

Was the above review useful to you?

Mount Chiconcagua

5/10
Author: bkoganbing from Buffalo, New York
27 March 2017

Two mountain climbers partner in the rescue of tycoon Dabney Coleman's son off a high peak. Jason George and Ned Vaughn aren't just different racially they have serious different approaches to life. Vaughn is white and a Christian, George is black and a skeptic to say the least. George is also keeping company with a believer in Kylie Santiago and her father Clifton Davis really does not like his son-in-law.

One reviewer is right about one thing, this Christian film from the Billy Graham Evangelical Association spent quite a bit of dough on this, especially the mountain climbing scenes. Coleman's company which got a windfall of good publicity decides to sponsor both these guys on a climb of the legendary Mount Chiconcagua in the Chilean Andes.

I was actually quite impressed with the 21st century technology used for mountain climbing. That 3 dimensional holograph was really something.

It's a Christian film, it's also a tragic one and it follows the usual parameters. But it's a great film technically if nothing else.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Sermon on the mountain ......

1/10
Author: merklekranz from United States
9 January 2011

Religion is amply glorified in this uninspired climbing film. Everything about it seems more preachy than entertaining, and the opening scene is beyond ridiculous, with safety techniques put aside completely. While the film may send a reassuring religious message, the climbing tale it hangs on is very thin. I give this one point for the presence of the always interesting Dabney Coleman, and zero for entertainment value. Admirers of "Touching the Void" and other mountain climbing films are warned to steer clear of this "sermon on the mountain", unless a religious message movie is what you are looking for. ......... - MERK

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history