IMDb > "David the Gnome" (1985) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"David el gnomo"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"David the Gnome" More at IMDbPro »"David el gnomo" (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

I cried during the last episode

Author: ParrotTalkBack from Fitchburg, MA
28 March 2004

I used to watch this show when i was little and lived in Portugal. It used to play here in the US on The Family Channel, when it used to be called that. It was definitely awesome! It should be remembered with classics like The Thundercats, The Smurfs, Strawberry Shortcake, My Little Pony and Transformers. I certainly do! (The 80s rocked for cartoons!)

During the last episode, David and Lisa let Swift go free (what a great name for a fox!) and rode into the forest on the back of a deer and disappeared. My mom found me on the couch crying my little heart out. If I could find David the Gnome on DVD i would die of happiness. This is one those shows i want my children to watch someday.

I remember watching the Father Dowling mysteries when i was older because Tom Bosley (voice of David) starred in it and i liked hearing his voice. Secret Life of the Gnomes should be put into Adult Swim on the Cartoon Network. Anyone who watched it when they were kids would watch loyally i think. Well, i would. : P

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Good show

9/10
Author: Grace Zeh (filmgirlgz@gmail.com) from Chantilly, Virginia, USA
23 July 2006

I used to watch this show when I was a little girl. I only remember it vaguely, though. If you ask me, it was a good show. I remember the opening sequence and theme song vaguely, too. In addition to that, everyone was ideally cast. Also, the writing was very strong. The performances were top-grade, too. I hope some network brings it back so I can see every episode. Before I wrap this up, I'd like to say that I'll always remember this show in my memory forever, even though I don't think I've seen every episode. Now, in conclusion, if some network ever brings it back, I hope that you catch it one day before it goes off the air for good.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Great!

Author: powerforcewillem from Netherlands
21 January 2002

I watch this show when I was little on 'kindernet' its a great show because you also learn things about life and respect other creatures David always helping other people or animals in the forest when they need help.

They story is about the gnomes that live in a forest. They are friends with the animals and nature. Wherever they are in the forest, they are in danger of the mean trolls who are always trying to capture them.

The fox 'swift' is also fantastic, and also lisa david wife. And they live in a really warmly homey home I want to leave there! one of my favourite animation shows beside 'the simpsons' I give it a 8.7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A great adventure that's about life!

Author: OWUbear from Delaware, OH
23 October 2001

I used to watch this show on Nickelodeon all the time. It presents the lives of the gnomes very well, and I enjoy seeing their adventures as they contend with trolls. It works very well to explain life's details and Swift always is a great form of transportation. I'd love to have a home like theirs. It's small and yet very useful.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

GREAT:A Classic Shows with morals!

Author: dubbya14 from FL
22 May 2001

I watched this show as a child when it ran re-runs on either Nick Jr. or TLC...im not quite sure. Anyway, it was one of my favorite shows and i think they should bring it back. It teaches morals too! After watching the show, i wanted to go help a bird in its nest. I hope they re-run this show for future generations to watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

This was an awesome show back before there was Blues Clues

Author: BlazeFox from Seattle, Wa
14 August 2002

David The Gnome / Secret World Of The Gnomes was an awesome show. I watched this stuff even when I was older. I was born in 81. I grew up on stuff like Knight Rider and ThunderCats and HeMan. But on snow days or sick days away from school I would sit around and watch Nick Junior. I was probably around 13 but so what. I loved this type of stuff. Maya The Bee, The Little Bits, The Noozles (Dot and The Koala), The Adventures of the Little Koala, Hello Kitty, Pinwheel, Nick Junior's Animated Fairy Tales ( Happily Ever After)and other stuff I can barely remember but it brings back memories. But now everything is all working on comercialization and merchandising. Blues Clues, Dora The Explorer. And then you're kid wants the merchandise.. Yeesh. I miss those good ole days of Nick... I miss these good shows. I miss being younger.. I'm 20 years old and I feel like I'm 50. The 80's are coming back.. Every song I know is being sold in a collection on an Infomercial. And none of the shows I remember are still on... I miss Sonic The Hedgehog! And not that Toon Disney stuff I mean the one that actually had decent PLOTS!.

-BlazeFox =^.^>

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

This was an awesome show back before there was Blues Clues

Author: BlazeFox from Seattle, Wa
14 August 2002

David The Gnome / Secret World Of The Gnomes was an awesome show. I watched this stuff even when I was older. I was born in 81. I grew up on stuff like Knight Rider and ThunderCats and HeMan. But on snow days or sick days away from school I would sit around and watch Nick Junior. I was probably around 13 but so what. I loved this type of stuff. Maya The Bee, The Little Bits, The Noozles (Dot and The Koala), The Adventures of the Little Koala, Hello Kitty, Pinwheel, and other stuff Nick Junior's Animated Fairy Tales ( Happily Ever After) I can barely remember but it brings back memories. But now everything is all working on comercialization and merchandising. Blues Clues, Dora The Explorer. And then you're kid wants the merchandise.. Yeesh. I miss those good ole days of Nick...

-BlazeFox =^.^=

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Childhood remembered - "David the Gnome"

10/10
Author: dee.reid from United States
9 April 2013

I'll make this short and to-the-point about "David the Gnome," a children's animated TV series about the adventures of a gnome, David, and his wife Lisa, and their lives living in the forest many times being aided by the local forest animals and away from human beings, who are often viewed in a negative light.

"David the Gnome" is one of the earliest shows that I can remember from my childhood and still have many fond memories of; that is really all I have at the moment, because I have not seen this cartoon on television since the early 1990s. It was probably the first children's cartoon show that I can remember that also had a positive message that the young kids watching could also understand. (On a side note, I think one reason that I ultimately took a strong liking to it in the first place was because I happen to share the same name of the title character.) I regret that it is highly unfortunate that I don't see shows like "David the Gnome" on television much anymore, if it all, really. A few years ago, I was rather shocked to realize that the series is originally a Spanish production that was dubbed into English for North American audiences. Now usually, when foreign-language shows are dubbed into English, the results are usually sub-par; that doesn't happen here, because the voice cast was excellent, as was the dubbing and the vocal performances of the English-speaking cast. I truly love this show, and I'm not sure if a DVD release is available yet in the United States, where I live.

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Interesting to say the least...

Author: Tammy from Boston Area
8 December 2002

It's funny. I am not sure if this show is still on in reruns now, but my kids used to watch Nick Jr all the time when they were little and this show was on then. It's cute little kid fare. It would keep them entertained while I did house chores. Funny thing is, it was created in another country (Anime or French animation) and translated and dubbed. As such, there are many vocal, but not verbal, expressions of emotions. One time when the kids were watching it and I was cleaning, I had to keep checking in on them, because without the visual, it almost sounds like a porno film.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history