IMDb > Van Wilder (2002) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Van Wilder
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Van Wilder More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 26:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 256 reviews in total 

50 out of 68 people found the following review useful:

A big surprize

8/10
Author: Leafsman_69 from Windsor, Canada
18 September 2004

i didn't expect much coming into this movie, i didn't hear much about it and Van wilder was one of the national lampoon movies without Chevy Chase. however this movie surpassed all my expectations. Van Wilder defines the slapstick teen comedy of the new millennium. loaded with sexual humor and innuendo, Van Wilder keep the laughs coming. i believe Tara Reid was at her hottest in this movie, and believe it or not, there are a ton of quotable lines to live by in this film. as for the plot, its just about some guy who doesn't wanna leave the college he calls his home until he meets a girl that makes him realize his own potential. this film was much better then the last 2 American pies put together. this is a true popcorn movie to watch with your friends.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 69 people found the following review useful:

One hilarious movie

10/10
Author: kidhasaces from Canada
28 February 2004

This was one heck of an hilarious movie. I can watch it over and over. Reynolds did a spectacular job in the movie, but I must say that without the character Taj the movie wouldn't have been as funny.

This is more of a guy comedy type movie but my gf loved it also.

The donuts scene I must say was a little gross but still the movie was amazing. Laughed from start to finish..... This is the kind of guy everyone would like to be or know in College.

I don't think they could of taken anyone else then Reynolds to do this role maybe I m just saying that because he is one of my favorite actors but he did do a great job. 9/10

Was the above review useful to you?

58 out of 90 people found the following review useful:

Hilariously funny!

10/10
Author: wolfybl from Brooklyn, New York
14 April 2004

This movie is hilariously funny! I've seen it more than 4 times and it gets funnier every time! Ryan Reynolds is hilarious as Van Wilder, the lead role. Being that this is a National Lampoon movie, one would expect it to be funny. It definitely lives up to expectations of the previous National Lampoon movies. The script is ingenious and is extremely well-written. Many parts of the movie are unexpected, which makes it all the more enjoyable. This movie is so much fun to watch over and over again. The part with the dog and the "eclairs" is hilarious in itself. Although this is one of Reynolds' first movies, it is a big hit. Surely, we can look for more hilarious movies like this one in the future.

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 65 people found the following review useful:

Brainless, Makes 'American Pie' Looks Like an Art Movie… But Also Very Hilarious. I Do not Recall the Last Time I Laughed This Way

7/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
30 November 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Van Wilder (Ryan Reynolds) is a very popular student, who organizes big parties and raises funds for the most different causes in his college. After spending seven years in the college without graduation, his father Vance Wilder Sr. (Tim Matheson) decides to stop paying his tuition. He applies for a loan to continue in the college, and becomes a professional promoter of parties to pay the installments. Meanwhile, Gwen Pearson (Tara Reid), a student of journalism who writes for the college newspaper and is the girlfriend of an ambitious and brilliant student of medicine Richard, is assigned to write about Van Wilder. Her boyfriend becomes jealous and begins a personal fight against Van Wilder. In the end, of course Van Wilder and Gwen Pearson stay together. This movie is brainless, making 'American Pie' looks like an art movie… but it is also very hilarious. Yesterday I laughed a lot and repeated many scenes, such as when Van Wilder applies for a loan; or with the strip dancer farting in the nightclub; or preparing the sandwiches for the fraternity of Richard; or when Gwen prepares a milk shake with colon-blow for Richard; or the examination of Richard for the medicine university. I agree that the jokes are scatological and of very low level, but I do not recall the last movie I laughed the way I did with 'Van Wilder'. Stop thinking and prepare to have 90 minutes of very funny situations. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): 'O Dono da Festa' ('The Owner of the Party')

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

Don't believe the critics (this is a great movie)

9/10
Author: Matt Sontum from Brighton, MA
24 August 2002

This is a great movie, don't believe the critics on this one. If you get this on DVD you can safely fast-forward through the two over-the-top gross out scenes that virtually assured this movie would get terrible reviews. The rest is pure comic genius in the often amusing, but rarely outstanding, field of teen/college comedy. This is my new favorite movie!

ps. The best jokes in this movie rely on sex or sexual inuendo. If you don't like either you can safely count this movie out, but then again, you probably knew that already.

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

National Lampoon's Van Wilder is an aggressively funny movie,unashamed by its bad taste.

7/10
Author: Chris Brown (christopher6453@hotmail.com) from Fresno, CA USA
24 June 2002

What this movie has and other movies lack are characters you admire and care about. The movie never succumbs to sentimentality, thankfully, and it keeps a high level of cheerfulness and humor through the entire running time. This is a movie that wants to party and have fun, where characters are in high spirits and at times a little inebriated. This is the movie that will put the National Lampoon franchise back into respectability. Not only is this movie gut-bustingly funny – if you can get past the crude visual puns like a pit-bull with what looks like a ten-pound scrotum attachment, and a crotch-enhancer pump that is mistaken for a bong – this transcendent comedy of gross manners is most affecting because it's incredibly well-made. Most college campus comedies are cheap in production value and clumsily structured. Van Wilder is exceedingly well-paced and smartly written, by writers Brent Goldberg and David T. Wagner (their love for Ferris Bueller is apparent) who know how to set up not only a joke but sequences of offhand slapstick that are irrepressibly absurd. Director Walter Becker (creator of the ingenious short-film Saving Ryan's Privates) handles the irreverent and random acts of background physical comedy with ease and panache.

The campus wild man is fittingly known as Van Wilder (played by Ryan Reynolds). Van Wilder is a guy that has friends from everywhere, from the jocks to the nerds. Reynolds finds a precarious balance between recklessness and cheerful insanity, which is crucial because he turns acts of humanitarian philanthropy into casual and spontaneous gestures without giving second thought. No job is ever too big for the man, whether it is becoming the de-facto basketball coach that inspires the school's team to win or setting up a rockin' party for the geekiest fraternity on campus. Van Wilder has enthusiastic support from everyone but his burned-out workaholic father (played by Tim Matheson, once the wild man in National Lampoon's Animal House) who decides after seven years of his son's enrollment to stop tuition payment.

Van Wilder becomes the subject of a school newspaper editorial and Tara Reid plays the snobby, uptight reporter Gwen whose ties belong to frat boy Richard Bagg (Daniel Cosgrove), who conducts hazing rituals that are crueler than anything since Animal House. When Gwen tries to get the naked truth from Van Wilder, she mostly just finds Van Wilder naked. But it's the smart rapport that develops between them that allows Van Wilder to strip Gwen's inhibitions, to let her walk on the wild side. In the background, a turf war erupts between Van Wilder and Richard.

The plotting is shameless in its methods of revenge. There are innocent people involved in the mayhem, including a scene where pre-pubescent boys raid one of Van Wilder's parties and end up barfing out of a school bus (but hey, these young boys had the time of their life until then). Richard's fraternity brothers are sent a basket full of éclairs stuffed with juices from a particular dormitory pet. In a knock-off homage to Dumb and Dumber, a character digests a bottle of colon blow right before he is to take a final exam.

The movie rarely takes a breath. It does settle for easy chuckles but goes for the comic gold, pushing past the ribbon of where comedy usually wears out in exhaust. Not every joke works, but you admire the efforts that the filmmakers went to in order to make you laugh. A virgin's first encounter with a girl that culminates in a massage oil rubdown gets more than messy and squanders too much, thus not earning any laughs. A scene where Van Wilder has to charm a raggedy and prunish administrator gets frighteningly explicit and goes on maybe one shot too many. But Van Wilder is always the man of the moment. One of the dorky characters goes to Van Wilder to ask him how to `muff dive.' Ultimately, Van Wilder is king and his rebel-bent philosophy is trippingly funny. At the end, you won't be able to remember all the funny scenes because there are just too many of them.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Likable, familiar college comedy gets an appealing performance from the lead actor.

8/10
Author: Lucien Lessard from Canada
12 October 2005

Van Wilder (Ryan Reynolds) is one of the coolest, nicest, likable and most popular guy at the Coolidge College. He's also has an personal assistant (Kal Penn). Wilder is great at throwing parties and helping students with their courses at their most outrageous moments but since Wilder is at his seventh year as senior and he never takes his future seriously. Graduation for Wilder is the furthest thing is his mind. Things are about to change, when an young attractive reporter (Tara Reid) try to figure out Wilder's wild life. Wilder's father (Tim Matheson) threatens to stop paying his tuition for the seventh time. Wilder, His Personal Assistant and His Buddy (Teck Holmes) will try find ways to keep Wilder in college. But there's a slimly college student (Daniel Cosgrove), who is the boyfriend of the reporter. This jerk will do anything to get Wilder out of college.

Directed by Walt Becker (Buying the Cow, Wild Hogs) made an smoothly surprisingly well done outrageous comedy with a couple of very funny scenes (With also one hilarious gross-out scene is actually disgustingly memorable, if you like it or not). Reynolds' appealing performance makes this college comedy film fun to watch. It is also better than most of these silly college movies and this one offers something fresh. This film was an modest hit at the box office. It was also one of the top selling DVD's of 2002.

This unrated DVD has an clean anamorphic Widescreen (1.85:1) transfer an good-Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound. DVD menus have an censored and uncensored options. The second disc is packed with extras, including:Deleted Scenes, Outtakes, Behind the Scenes featurettes and more. This film is a lot of fun, if you don't think about it too much. Written by the writers of "The Girl Next Door":Brent Goldberg and David T. Wagner. Deon Richmond, Erik Estrada and Chris Owen appears in cameos. Paul Gleason (From "The Breakfest Club" fame), Curtis Armstrong ("Bugger" from "Revenge of the Nerds" films) and Unbilled:Tom Everett Scott appears in small supporting roles. (*** ½/*****).

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Terribly Tasteless but Hilariously Funny

10/10
Author: dingo865 from Toronto, Canada
5 December 2005

This movie is exactly what you expect from the genre: mindless fluff with adolescent jokes, nudity, and lots of gross-out stuff. It is, however, unapologetic about it, and invests a lot to carry things to the extreme, which is what gives it its charm. If you cannot take any of the above and find enjoyment in them, don't waste your time with Van Wilder.

If, on the other hand, you like vomit-inducing pranks, beautiful young girls flashing their boobies, and hilarious one-liners galore peppered by a huge dose of stereotypes (but without hatred), you will have one of the most entertaining 2 hours of your life. Every time it plays on TV I find myself watching it again and again. The two leading male actors, Ryan Reynolds and Kal Penn, are exceptional as usual, and Tara Reid, while she offers her customary wooden non-performance, fills out her role enough not to be painful. A surprise find is the actor playing Tara's boyfriend: he plays so well, you will LOVE to hate him.

All I can say is, with college for 20 years behind me, I wish I had a Van Wilder when I was attending school. And the movie even has a message!

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

Ok, nothing new, but sill light and funny

8/10
Author: RIK-22 from Brussels, Belgium
17 April 2004



Now that I am into my thirties I find most movies cliché and uninteresting, especially the action genre, SWAT, Face Off, Swordfish, XXX, Shaft, do I need to continue. Yet people for some reason actually pay money to see these films. I've started to enter my pompous intellectual phase, yet I still have a big weakness for teen movies.

Animal house, Ferris, Weird Science, Bachelor Party and more recently a resurgence with American Pie, Road Trip, Have the Cow and Van Wilder.

All of these films are great, IMO. Sure they are predictable, a bit cliché, sometimes gross and certainly a bit childish, but they are bloody funny. The only rule for a comedy is to be funny. I guess that if we are honest that period of our lives should be best. At least you have the innocence and optimism to know your life is all in front of you and getting laid and having fun, is pretty much the only thing on your mind (that hasn't changed if we are honest).

I am disappointed that so many people criticise a film that clearly wasn't meant to be taken too seriously and is genuinely funny. Great stuff please may it continue.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

I can't believe I sat through this - spoilers

1/10
Author: Alvin Breaux (rustajb) from Austin, TX
31 August 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I had the displeasure of watching Van Wilder for the first and last time last night. Oh how it still burns in my head. This poor film suffers from some odd sort of cinematic schizophrenia: sometimes it thinks it wants to be animal house as it's stereotypical "frat-boy-cum-slave-driver" uses unidentified and nameless students as croquet posts and tunnels, and sometimes it wants to be a sentimental love story. This movie feels like a string of barely related pranks and humor that was patch-worked together with something akin to a plot. Our hero, the amiable and misguided but otherwise kind hearted Van Wilder is every college boys wet dream of a self-image: Intelligent but not too intelligent, clever with comebacks, interested in finer things like love and friends and disinterested in having a life revolving around work, living off his fathers bank account, campus celebrity, blah blah blah.... I'm sure you've probably seen this before and it was much better as a high school movie called "Fast Times at Ridgemont High", or was it "Animal House", or maybe this film just tries to lamely take concepts from these better films and update them for a newer audience. Whatever it is it's pure crap.

I've never seen such sick humor outside of a Troma Studios movie. At least with a Troma release you expect lots of feces, vomit, sick humor involving children and a plot as absurd as the premise. But in Van Wilder you get all the vomit, sperm and abuse with a plot they think you might care about. Boy has it good, boy gets told by father that he will not receive more easy money, boy has roaring good time as he crunches many business opportunities to raise money so he can continue with his chosen looserly lifestyle, boy meets overtly-cute pseudo-intelligent girl who wants an interview for the school paper, and wait for the supprise... Boy falls in love with girl who has boyfriend in the snottiest frat on campus. Bet you didn't see that coming. Bet you don't see the friction, pranks and insults that go on between Frat boy and Van Wilder. But then again, I am sure you do.

The shining moments of the movie are only so because they will stay burned in your brain for days afterwards. Take for instance the continual shots of Van's bulldog's obviously fake, over-sized testicles which will fill your screen on occasion. You will get endlessly entertained by swaying testicles, floating hot-tub testicles, Van kissing dog testicles in an early morning supprise. As if the large testicles weren't enough we get one of the most disturbing scenes in movie history when Van plots revenge against his rival, the boyfriend of the main love interest of course, by removing the cream filling of eclairs using gynecological instruments only to be refilled by having his friend masturbate the dog to create a new and exciting filling. But wait! There's more! Once the many eclairs are full and the dogs testicles are now down to a normal, smaller pair, they are placed casually and suspiciously outside the snotty frat-house. Oh the horror as for quite a while we are treated to many frat boys voraciously enjoying every gooey, warm, drippy, clear drop of the dog sperm from the eclair as they make obvious comments like "Wow, they're still warm" and "I think I have had these before". Trust me, much time is dedicated to this scene and.... Damn. I used to love eclairs.

There is a lot of really easy and simple humor in this movie. Let's have an Indian student talk about dirty sex as it will be funny just for that accent. Or maybe we can get elementary school kids drunk and have them projectile vomit. Let's have strippers who fart smoke, that's cool.?? This movie has none of the charm of Beavis and Butthead, none of the stylistic unapologetic crassness of a Troma Film, And the plot is soooooo predictable and merely a rehash of almost every bad college film in history. It's the same plot as One Crazy Summer but not even close to funny and that film used Curtis Armstrong in a way that we all laughed at. In this film he has been degraded to a momentary laugh and no character at all. No body in this film gets fleshed out, the only thing remote to character development is the exchange student gets laid and Van Wilder comes to understand why he hasn't left college in 7 years and trust me that part is about as deep as a dog-bowl.

I wish I had something nice to say about this movie. Even Showgirls is enjoyable for it's embarrassing attempt at seriousness, but this piece of work has no redeeming qualities. The only truly funny moment is as the credits roll and we see some of the behind the scenes pranks with several characters playing up homosexual elements that were only hinted at in the film. I'm sorry but I can't even recommend this film. Avoid it all costs.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 26:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history