IMDb > Undercover Brother (2002) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Undercover Brother
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Undercover Brother More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 19: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]
Index 182 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

This movie is SOLID!!

Author: DJAkin (Donjakin1988@gmail.com) from AZ
19 January 2003

I enjoyed this movie. The best part was actually at the beginning when the Undercover Brother was in his GOLD caddy and appearing to lose control of it (spinning out etc). Yet, he had a BIG GULP in his hand filled with orange soda and was SUPER in control the entire time. Haha. I laughed at that scene!!! Chris Kitan was funny also.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

i loved it

8/10
Author: cgaela
17 January 2003

I thought it was just gonna be a regular comedy but it was more. It was awesome. I loved it. It was so funny, I was laughing through the whole movie. The soundtrack was really good. Chris Kattan as the sidekick to the Man was really cool. Go see it!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

UNDERCOVER BROTHER IS..SOLID!!

Author: cykokjn from San Diego, CA.
15 January 2003

After viewing this movie, i was drained...from laughing so much. Their parody on such movies as Shaft and Foxy Brown were as Undercover Brother would put it...solid. Everything from the opening credits to the clothes they wore throughout the movie were perfect. The sound track was booming with classic funk songs which just added even more to the whole groovy experience. Eddie Griffin was really funny as Undercover Brother,as was Chis kattan as a sleazy sidekick to the man. Dave Chappelle, who is always funny did not disappoint here. Denise Richards, who has made a career out of playing bitchy women, does so again with expertise. And of course, how cool would a parody on 70's action movies really be without Billy Dee Williams, who i might add still looks great for his age. All characters involved from smart brother, sister..oh wait i mean sista girl, and even the head boss of the B.R.O.T.H.E.R.H.O.O.D. were great. Do yourself a favor...don't rent this movie...BUY IT!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Hysterical fun

9/10
Author: Titanium007 from Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
29 September 2002

To be frank - I can't remember when was the last time I laughed in the cinema like an absolute imbecile for 90 minutes straight. I'm currently on 2 Panadols which will hopefully take away the jaw-muscle pain - I don't know about the permanent laughing wrinkles.

Message to those who think Undercover Brother wasn't funny or blame it for being racist, lame written, miscast and I don't know what else - see it again, perhaps this time you'll actually get it. This movie is actually intelligent in all of it's dumbness. Stereotypes are cool, especially when they're 'true'. Loosen up and let those goofballs take you for a ride you won't forget.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

not to be taken seriously

Author: Derrick-10 from New York, NY
28 June 2002

Ahh, nothing like some trashy racial humor to get the laughs going. Obviously for those people expecting to see Oscar winning screenplay this movie lacks a lot, but for sheer silliness Undercover Brother is worth the hour and a half of your time. Dave Chappelle steals the show of yet another movie, and Neil Patrick Harris was just amusing for all his own reasons. If anything, they could have enchanced the "plot" of this movie by actually explaining and developing Chris Kattan's character. Thats what has made the Austin Powers series so sucessful, developing the comic villain in Dr.Evil.

And, the boom mics and tracked camera in the shots were awful, but I think that might be playing into the blaxploitation satire even more, which adds another dimension of humor to the movie. Have you see some of those movies from the 70s? I swear, Dolemite is shot from one camera angle the entire movie, and everytime he "punches" someone its obvious his fist does not come within 9 inches of the person's face.

For both intended and unintended comedy, this is movie definitely deserves a "solid" rating.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Funky spoof

8/10
Author: Geordie-4 from Redlands, California, USA
24 June 2002

Very funny spoof of blaxploitation films. The characters' names (Sistah Girl, Conspiracy Brother, Smart Brother etc.) are clues that the filmmakers want to make this a straight parody and satire of blaxploitation films. The actors play the humor straight fortunately. If they didn't, this film would be well over the top. As it is, the parody is quite sharp and on target. This is a great film to see if you want to escape the pressures of everyday life and just want a break from the daily grind. It is very funny and good-natured. Very enjoyable.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

generally diverting comedy

Author: Roland E. Zwick (magneteach@aol.com) from United States
22 June 2002

Sort of like `Austin Powers' with a soul-man attitude, `Undercover Brother' is a fun, high-spirited romp that showcases the talents of a number of fine comic talents, not the least of which is Eddie Griffin, who appears in the title role as a throwback to all the big-haired black crime fighters of the 1970's. The film has some fun with the long established notion of `The Man,' the mythological white dude who supposedly spearheads a conspiracy to keep the black man down. In this film, `The Man' runs an actual secret organization dedicated to the cause of eliminating all the `black' elements that have managed to infiltrate modern pop culture to such an extraordinary degree.

`Undercover Brother' might have been a funnier film had it not chosen to play it so safe when it came to lining up its satirical targets. Almost as if afraid to offend anyone, the film never really gets down and dirty into the nitty-gritty of its subject matter. Nevertheless, the film displays an impressive energy level that compensates for this overall blandness, and the film as a whole exudes such an air of infectious goodwill that one can't help but come out liking it. The movie is also blessed with a cast that is just bursting with good-natured enthusiasm. In addition to Griffin, `Undercover Brother' features Chris Kattan, Denise Richards, David Chappelle, Aunjanue Ellis, Neil Patrick Harris, Chi McBride, Billy Dee Williams and even the legendary James Brown playing himself. Given the sometimes-spotty nature of the John Ridley screenplay – which displays oodles of energy but whose lines rarely achieve the level of hilarity – the contribution made by this highly talented cast cannot be underestimated. The director Malcolm D. Lee doesn't bring a very distinctive visual style to his work, but he does know how to keep the pace moving at an appropriately light-warp speed. The musical soundtrack also contributes a great deal to the high-spirited nature of the film.

`Undercover Brother,' though far from being the biting social satire it had the potential to become, nevertheless generates enough semi-hearty laughs to make it worth checking out.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Solid! entertainment...

Author: Arthur-23 from Vancouver, Canada
4 June 2002

From the opening scenes through the closing credits, you know you're in the Twilight Zone. "Undercover Brother" is a hilarious movie that requires a big audience but is better, and much more clever than other spoofs of recent years. For anyone familiar with the 'blacksploitation' movies of the '70s, from Shaft to worse things like Cleopatra Jones, you'll howl at this, with its references to virtually every film ever made in the 1970s and '80s, with allusions to a whole Chevy full of diverse film icons, from the likes of Danny Glover (of Lethal Weapon fame) to Jim Kelly's (only good performance in) Enter the Dragon. Afros, 1970s big body Cadillacs, car chases, James Bond, James Brown (!), General Colin Powell (courtesy of Billy Dee Williams), and fried chicken are all equal targets in this side-splitting spoof directed by Spike Lee's younger cousin, Malcolm D. Lee (no joke!). In this film, everyone is 'kung fu fighting' on the streets of Toronto(?!?). This is a fun movie that rates a 9/10! SO-LID!!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

It's a comedy, and I thought it was very funny

9/10
Author: Colin R. Glassey from Bay Area, CA USA
3 June 2002

This is not a drama, its a comedy. For me, good comedy has to be funny but not stupid. I really enjoyed this film. It didn't insult my brain and parts of it were really, really funny. Speaking as someone who grew up in the 70s, I found the music was especially enjoyable and added a great deal to the film.

Some highlights: the golf-cart chase, the cat fight between Sistah and White She Devil, and the ad for the General's chicken. There were many more funny moments.

Behind the humor, some serious points about race relations were raised (and quickly shot down). In its small way, this film is an indicator of improved relations between blacks and whites in the United States. The film pokes fun at just about every racial stereotype you can think of and is fairly even-handed. I think its a good sign when writers can poke fun at both sides.

Acting was good, especially Aunjanue Ellis (Sistah), the only capable operative in the B.R.O.T.H.E.R.H.O.O.D. Denise Richards was great looking (as usual). Eddie Griffin, the lead, was good, but seemed a bit "flat" at times.

Its worth pointing out that without a decent grasp of black culture and racial stereotypes, this movie won't be as funny. I don't expect this film to age well, but for 2002, this is good fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Funny as Hell

7/10
Author: Mark Schuber (phishphood0420@yahoo.com) from Missouri
1 June 2002

I just saw this movie and DAMN it is funnnnnnnnnnyyyyyyyy, so much better than "Austin Powers but with soul" I mean it is SOLID gold, I mean I've seen Griffin do some good movies like Foolish & Double Take but this movie takes the cake, great movie and one of the few that the ads don't show the best parts of the movie; SOLID

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 19: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history