IMDb > "FLCL" (2000) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"FLCL"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"FLCL" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 10:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]
Index 97 reviews in total 

68 out of 82 people found the following review useful:

The greatest anime of all time.

10/10
Author: lvlln from Massachusetts, USA
5 December 2002

At first glance, FLCL seems like a foolish attempt at putting too much randomness into an anime. Indeed, it's impossible to summarize the show without making it sound completely stupid: "It's about an alien woman who hits a boy with a guitar, and robots start popping out of his head." Yeah, that's gonna make people want to see it (not). But then again, it's also one of the most artistically perfect pieces of work ever.

The best short summary I can come up with it is that it's a coming-of-age story about a wacky woman who takes advantage of a 12 year old boy. But that doesn't explain half of it. It perfectly molds hidden themes into a beautiful story. The style of this anime is incredibly unique. It completely departs from the classic realistic anime style, and seems to emulate more American cartoons by not letting the characters show very exaggerated characteristics at times.

While it indeed is filled with craziness, there is an obvious and very strong structure to the plot. Every scene is intimately connected to every other scene, and it works perfectly. There are inherent themes about love, friendship, jealousy, and the discovery of all those as one grows up. I've read someone write that watching FLCL is like falling in love for the first time again, and it's a great description. After all, as a coming-of-age story, those are the feelings that the main character Naota is going through himself.

The music is simply the best in anime, period. Every major sequence has rock music by The Pillows in the background, and every time, it seems to fit perfectly with the scene. While the music is excellent by itself, it strengthens the emotions that FLCL is trying to deliver in those scenes.

At just 6 episodes, it's short. But because of its shortness, the plot structure is incredibly tight, allowing it to have such great connections within. FLCL is simply an excellent work of art. Don't look at it as the best anime ever created. Look at it as a beautiful piece of art that chose anime as the medium to deliver itself in.

Was the above review useful to you?

40 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

robots, rock and roll, and the essence of growing up

Author: gray_pixel from Richmond
8 February 2004

this is what dreams are made of.

FLCL is a 6-episode japanese anime production that impresses and entertains beyond explanation. those who find their way through it's layering of bizarre beauty will realize what it truly is: the greatest thing ever.

FLCL, also known as Fooly Cooly or Furi-Kuri in Japan, centers around Naota, a Japanese kid whose beloved older brother has recently moved to America to play baseball. As if that wasn't hard enough for him, he now finds his brother's shattered (and much older) girlfriend Mamimi latching onto him for support. In the midst of it all, Naota (or as Mamimi calls him, ta-kun) finds his already troubled life turned on its side as a strange girl named Haruko rides into town on a Vespa scooter and smacks him on the head with her trusty, electric-blue, motorized Rickenbacker bass guitar. From here, things spiral into a wonderful insanity.

If the plot seems odd so far, you will probably find yourself in a few seizures by the end. In the first episode, a TV-headed robot sprouts out of an anxiety-fueled horn that grown on Naota's head. After an amazing battle, this robot comes to live with Naota and does his laundry. Things like this happen every day in the world of FLCL.

Unfortunately, this may be a bit too much for some. But those who enjoy it will be thoroughly rewarded by the cleverly weird plot advancements and hilarious visual gags. And if you sift through it all, you'll find something even more amazing: a wonderful story of growing up that, despite it's giant robots, is moving and easy to relate to. Kids who want to be adults, adults who can't grow up. These heavy topics line this gorgeous show and add a stirring quality to it.

Besides the content of the show itself, the production of FLCL is absolutely mindblowing. Sickly slick animation coupled with an amazing musical backdrop provided by Japanese punk-rockers The Pillows proves to be a winning combination. The English dub is very impressive as well, especially for Haruko.

It is unfortunate that FLCL's 6 episodes are spread out onto three expensive DVDs, because it limits people's access to it. Thank god for Cartoon Network, which periodically plays FLCL on it's adult swim block. And while i'm not exactly advocating piracy, i would suggest going to whatever lengths you need to see FLCL.

FLCL has affected me more than any other movie or show i've ever seen, animated or otherwise. Those who lack the open mind to filter through the madness will find the show to be quirky if nothing else. But on every level, FLCL is a truly mind-blowing achievement.

Oh, and you may be wondering about the title. Fooly-Cooly? Yeah. No one else knows either.

FLCL

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

Once is not enough

Author: Belinda Blackrose from Blue Island Illinois
14 October 2004

When I was watching FLCL for the first time, I had no idea what was going on. I'd never seen anything like it. So, the movie started switching gears from sweet and tragic to insane and funny, it really took me by surprise. Basically, I was holding on 'till the end because I wanted to know what it was all about. But even without that, it rocked. You may not be entirely sure at some moments why or how, but it rocks. The story starts off in a town that reminds one of one's own home town. The kid's are depressed, bored, and pretty much just drag themselves out of bed in the mourning. The adults are hyper, child-like and very annoying to the children of the town. But then she shows up. Like some kind of pop-metal not quite evil not quite good bubble gum haired goddess shows up and turns reality into chicken soup. This woman and the main character are somehow tied together through a story that involves sex, baseball, aliens, robots, secret government organizations and an underlying message about growing up and finding who you are.

The first time you watch it, you will not get it. I didn't, and most other people don't. When it's over, you only think about the crazy parts that made no sense, and you don't remember the deeper and sometimes creepy moments that kind of puts everything together. And even if you were able to get it the first time (*cough* not gonna happen.) this movie moves you more every time you watch it. It's the kind of thing you want to see again. It's extroadinarilly good. If you have an open mind, a little time, and feel like your out of place with the world (I'm betting you do. Everybody else does) then you will love this movie. Whether or not you understand it

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Animation unlike any you have seen before

10/10
Author: Christopher Aaby Sørensen (christopher_aaby) from Denmark
2 September 2005

I don't give out high grades to just anything, and I've watched an enormous amount of animation, both US, European and Asian. That being said, FLCL is the most interesting, eye-catching and exciting animation I've ever seen.

It's always difficult to capture a masterpiece in words. Instead of even attempting this, I'll just say what's already been said: The anime is incredibly hard to follow - some would say that it's full of infinitely deep philosophical implications, others would say it's just nuts. I for one have watched it many, many times, and can safely say that it IS coherent... but also very complex. It's like a lighthearted David Lynch anime.

The animation in itself is stunningly beautiful, both the visual- and sound-side. The vast amount of locations, characters, difficult angles and huge total-shots is more awesome than many top-level animated movies. As for the soundtrack, there has been released almost two hours of fabulous, original music for this series, despite that it is only 6x25=150 minutes long! That almost makes it a 6-episode music video, and still they pull it off.

There aren't any cons to this anime. It may be a bit much for the uninitiated or casual watcher, but just watching it, without really following it is a magnificent journey in it self. The voice acting, the character design, the setting, everything just comes together to form an anime unlike any you have seen before.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

Attitude with a bass

10/10
Author: InzyWimzy from Queens, NY
9 August 2003

My all time favorite anime series. It's difficult to explain and must be seen to enjoy its creativity and cleverness. This is one of best ways to show the strides GAINAX is making as well as other greats like Evangelion, Gunbuster, and others.

Almost everyone in this series undergoes change especially Naota. I finally watched episode 5 and 6 and I never picked up on the role of Naota's brother. How about lefties, sour and sweet, or mild or spicy?? "Brittle Bullet" may be my new favorite...how can you not be amazed by its final scene and the rich color schemes. Haruko is epitome of female anime coolness and she looks so creepy with that smile and no eyes! Mamimi's manic self always brings a laugh and who wouldn't want their own Canti? Great secondary characters who just add more to the richness of the story. And a heavy emphasis on EYEBROWS. The show is linear but tangents are strewn throughout which makes this a great series and repeated viewings. I probably still won't get it, but I think it's meant to kick back, relax, and enjoy the show. Also, FLCL would not be the same without the Pillows soundtrack which fits perfect with the show. The end credit sequence makes you want to get a vespa.

For those who enjoy originality, terrific tunes, and just so bizarre it's tasty anime to munch up.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Yeah, it takes some gettin' used to...

8/10
Author: Vegita, Guardian Of Destiny (VegitaBOD@aol.com) from My home
27 March 2002

FLCL (short for "Furi Kuri", although I really have no clue how or why) is a highly stylized show. It's light-speed flow of dialog train-wrecks with the multitude of visual accompaniments in a strange combination of storytelling and all-out madness. There's no denying it, Furi Kuri will almost assuredly make you say "What the **** did I just watch?" I won't try to convince you of anything but that fact, nor do I feel anyone should. The show was made to warp minds while telling a tale - yes, there IS a plot underneath all this insanity - and cover as many genres, as many styles and subjects and tastes as possible. It is madcap entertainment, that's for sure.

Any attempts to cover the storyline for this series feel as if they'll ultimately end in failure, primarily because saying too much would spoil the plot...and you can't tread very far without toeing that line. Therefore, I'll make an attempt at telling what I can, trying not to spoil anything.

::takes a deep breath::

Naota is a sarcastic, smart-alec 12-year-old with a distaste for bitter drinks and sports a baseball bat at all times. He lives with his father and grandfather, and has a strange friendship with his older-brothers' girlfriend, Mamimi. Naota generally finds life boring in his town, a run-of-the-mill city with nothing out of the ordinary ever happening (despite the fact that there is a giant factory at the edge of town, a factory in the shape of a giant iron). This dull life changes when, for no apparent reason, a pink-haired girl named Haruko shows up on a moped...and proceeds to plow right into Naota, sending headlong into an adventure he would most likely prefer to avoid. With the entrance of Haruko into Naota's life, everything - not just his everyday life, but everything else around the entire city - seems to become even stranger and stranger. Naruko apparently has some strange obsession with Naota, one that requires the occasional beating with a guitar (aw, heck...she does that to everyone).

That's a fairly loose run-down of the series. However, the focus seems to be very, VERY far removed from such down-to-earth elements as "Following a steady plot" or "developing characters"; instead, Furi Kuri seems to lampoon anything and everything it can, from basic elements of life and society to American Television (yes, there is a South Park section in the series). It flows so quickly you feel as if you're being overwhelmed, yet at times the show appears to slow down, just enough to let the poor audience barely catch up...and then speed off again, taunting the viewers with its very appearance.

How can a show be so cruel in its simple execution? Imagine a fairly normal scene of Naota reminiscing about his older brother (whom has gone to America to play Baseball). Naota then proceeds to walk into his kitchen, discovering Haruko has appeared at his house. Without any warning the show shifts into hyperdrive, transforming into a moving manga (Japanese black-and-white comic), telling the next few scenes with crazed voice acting and rapid camera movement, mimicking a person reading such a publication. There are moments when the show will shift to cliched Anime moments (the "gun-fight" camera, with characters flying about and spraying bullets) back to normal time simply because it WANTS to. The show is driven by a madman, driving to make madmen of us all. ...and yet somehow the show is comprehensible after a few viewings, subtle moments once misunderstood now coming in clear(er). You get the feeling of several layers of meaning coming from all angles, several topics being touched upon, the show proving that it is more than just a crazy attempt at randomness in entertainment. The last episode, while lacking any true "tying up of loose ends" at least brings all events of the past to a pseudo-close, bringing an understanding to the basest wackiness exhibited.

Usually, I find myself enjoying shows that are able to combine elements into powerful scenes - Cowboy Bebop is a good example of this, splicing wonderful jazz and rock with the action pacing of each section of the series. Furi Kuri, however, throws this concept right out the window, apparently making the attempt at clashing anything and everything they can without wholly losing its sanity in the process. The music, performed by J-Pop (J-Rock?) group "The Pillows" has a rock/punk edge to it, yet feels easygoing and fun to listen to. This music almost seems out of place when taken in conjunction with the wild action and oddities that are viewed; large fights take place with simple guitar-riffs in the background, appearing as an attempt to downplay the action as nothing more than a childs' imagination.

One could probably get away with calling this show a visual representation of a childs' imagination, actually. It only has boundaries where it sees fit, it plays whatever music it wants to whenever it wants to, and it jumps from topic to topic as if it suffers from ADHD and has ingested a few bowls of sugar. The people may stay the same (for the most part), but everything else defies logic, reality, and reason. Despite its extremely varied existence, I enjoyed the series immensely, and suggest it to anyone who wants to experience...well, anything. It doesn't single out certain topics - like love, friendship, actions, self-depricating humor - instead opting to tackle them all and mush them together into 20-minutes of super-phrenic television. If you don't enjoy the absolute craziness of FLCL, then you should at least respect it for its ability to throw caution (and most everything else) to the wind and go with whatever it feels like doing. Hey, since when has 6 episodes of dementia been this fun?

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Puts You Back 90 Bucks- $89.99 Of It

10/10
Author: jinjos from United States
28 January 2005

I stayed up late one night when my friend told me to "Change the channel to Cartoon Network, FLCL is on". I asked him what it was and he told me it was an anime show. I told him to die, but then he said that "You'll like it"...FINE.

Episode Four: Full Swing. An epic. from the opening to the closing of this slightly sexually over-toned episode to the end, I was GLUED to the television. For 30 minutes, moans and screams and...jeez. It was what I imagine an acid trip would be. I love it.

3 days later I had my money ready to buy all three dvds, which was gonna set me back ninety dollars. Psh. 2 episodes a DVD. So why is it worth only 89.99 of that ninety? The booklet and subtitles. The subtitles are the LITERAL translations from Japanese, while the actual dubbing is superb and fits well in overall. It would have been nice though to have the captions from what I was really hearing. The booklets are kinda hit and miss because they made a mistake in the first one and "made up" for it in the second one spending over 3 pages with some boring talking about stuff that people in general just don't care about.

I digress. Buy it. Love it. Pick up the Cd's too. The music is superb and is a great influence for rock and roll bands.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

the most insane anime ever?

9/10
Author: deepion from London, England
21 January 2005

when you start to watch this anime, it won't be long before you go... "what the heck!?". of course, this is exactly what it wants you to do. there is no use trying to understand it, and there is no point you getting upset about it. if you don't like it, don't watch it. this is an anime which stretches your imagination, as well as the boundaries of animation. this is one of the most beautifully animated shows i have seen and without a doubt the most charming. the wonderful mix of characters and weird story, along with a cruel and wicked sense of humour and craziness makes for one outrageous anime which will not disappoint. a must view, just make sure to not give up on it, after a few viewings, you'll start to notice new things and realise what a true masterpiece this really is. you want something really different? fed up with all the usual rubbish? you can't get further from reality than FLCL.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Total Riot

Author: Chris Henry from Canada
21 June 2003

This is the most original anime I have ever seen in my life! It's totally insane, really fast and hysterical. Full of pop-cultural references and giant robots. Great action sequences and a top-notch soundtrack provided by JPop band The Pillows. The one thing I noticed the most is the distinct animation style, which actually changes randomly. The first and last episode feature a mind-blowing and dizzying manga sequence where pages from the manga are animated.

This is totally original, anyone who calls themselves a fan of anime should check this one out.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

My favorite anime series

10/10
Author: Lee-Valencia from San Antonio, Texas
4 September 2004

I am not a huge fan of anime, as I have only seen this series, Cowboy Bebop, and Trigun, but this is my favorite.

Set in an urban, Japanese town called Mabase, FLCL is a zany, frenetic, wild, and hilarious look of the events following the arrival of Haruhara Haruko. Naota, the series' main character, says that nothing ever changes in Mabase. It always stays the same. But Haruko is about to shake things up a bit...

Story - 9/10 Although some may be confused and bewildered after a first time viewing, the series presents more than what is shown on the surface. It is fun and fast, and carries the theme of "maturity" throughout. The theme is developed through Naota's experiences with Haruko as he learns what it means to just live life as a kid.

Animation - 10/10 Sporting some of the craziest scenes ever, the quality doens't get much better than this. Frequent style changes can be startling, but help the pace of the story.

Music - 10/10 Is it possible to give a score higher than 10? Well if it is, then the Pillows have won my vote.

Overall - 10/10 This series may cause the "hate it or love it" reaction in many, but I think that it will be more liked than hated. If you are a fan of anime, or want to take a crazy trip through 6 amazing episodes, this is your series.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 10:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history