IMDb > Enough (2002/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Enough
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Enough More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 231 reviews in total 

66 out of 94 people found the following review useful:

Extremely Enjoyable!!

Author: Dantzr from Muskegon, MI
27 May 2002

First off...why does the fact that this movie deals with spousal abuse and a woman smart enough to run and hide automatically make it a ripoff of "Sleeping with the Enemy"? Because "The Count of Monte Cristo" has swordplay, does that make it a ripoff of all of the Zorro movies, or the Robin Hood movies? Does the fact that Spiderman is a Marvel Superhero make it a ripoff of "The X-Men"? Of course not. And only the very basic storylines make "Enough" and "Sleeping..." similar at all. Let me illustrate...

In "Sleeping with the Enemy", Julia Roberts plays a weak willed woman who stays with her mentally abusive husband until she finally has enough and leaves when she gets the chance to fake her death. Julia never changes...always the weak willed, scared out of her gourd hiding wife.

In "Enough", Jennifer Lopez plays a strong minded woman who decides to leave her abusive husband as soon as she finds out what he is really like. Jennifer never changes either...but in this case she maintains her strength, and although scared out of her gourd also, she sets out to confront him in a physical battle...his forte usually.

This movie was great entertainment. Anyone who says they felt this was a total yawner, with no tension at all is too critical. This is what entertainment is about. This was a great way to spend 2 hours as far as I am concerned.

Ms Lopez is becoming a better actress with each film. But, as far as the female actresses go in this flick...the little girl who portrayed Jennifer's daughter out-acted everyone else...male or female. Two thumbs UP for this little lady!!

Was the above review useful to you?

43 out of 65 people found the following review useful:

loved it

10/10
Author: tuula611
29 January 2003

What's everybody's problem? This movie realistically portrayed domestic abuse and had a great plot, acting, everything. The end scene is the best, in my opinion. maybe it is just a chick flick, but it does a good job of drawing you in and keeping you there, my emotions ran high.

Maybe people should stop looking at movies so critically and look at them for what they are - a way to gain understanding of other people's lives and issues like domestic violence, which is society's problem, not just the victim's.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

A psychotherapist's view.

9/10
Author: Chris Kidwell, Sr. (thezgrp@mindspring.com) from Chattaooga, TN
28 May 2002

My approach to most movies is a bit different. As a therapist, I try to see how true the movie's life situations and story lines are. "Enough" set the stage in the first 10 minutes. The process of the abuse follows very well how it goes in reality ... the denial ... the male determination to be in charge ... not wanting to go to a shelter ... not wanting to put her husband in jail ... the dad fooling the child into beliving what a good guy he really is ... the attitude of the male "what are you going to do about it"... the getting up the courage to run away ... the police telling her of the complexities ... the lawyer telling her that there is nothing he can do (legally)... the child witnessing or geting involved in the violence ... and so on. Over 70% of all murders of the woman by the husband occurs AFTER she goes to the authorities. NOW ... the ending is NOT realistic. But rather it is the ending that most wish would happen. I see these situations regularly. Domestic violence is (with rare exception) against the woman.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 59 people found the following review useful:

Ugh

1/10
Author: kintopf432 (kintopf432@hotmail.com) from St. Paul, MN
27 May 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

SPOILERS

I won't bother making jokes about this film's title, as it seems others have beaten me to that punch. Jennifer Lopez and her celebrated butt go on the run, trying to protect her little potato-dumpling-faced daughter from rich, violent, powerful Billy Campbell and his weaselly servant. If you think this sounds like a simplistic scenario, well, tough, because that's all ya get.

This `story' plods on from one `thrilling' episode to another, and the `conflict' is ultimately resolved in a way not exactly notable for its complexity: J. Lo takes kickboxing lessons from some kind of cross between Pat Morita, Louis Gossett, Jr., and Obi-Wan Kenobi; then she just breaks into Billy's house, kicks his ass and kills him! The end! To say this finale is morally ambiguous and simplistic is being very, very kind; but then again so is referring to this thing a film, and I've already done that, so who cares.

The style could accurately be described as soft-core-porn-without-the-sex, and someone should tell Michael Apted that nobody's interested in that. As for the cast, J. is her usual blank self, Billy Campbell sleepwalks through his cartoon-villain role, Potato Face is among the more irritating movie children in recent memory, Juliette Lewis continues her career degeneration, and man, does Fred Ward look old.

Final verdict: good for some laughs, but not many. 1 out of 10. Okay, I will indulge in one joke about the title: they should have dropped the e-n-o and just called it Ugh.

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 66 people found the following review useful:

Refreshing for some victims/survivors of abuse!

8/10
Author: Victoria from USA
7 January 2004

...who have had ENOUGH of turning the other cheek! I'm sure there are many abuse survivors out there who could identify with what she went through and wished they'd had the strength to follow in her footsteps. Kudos to someone's imagination of "what if I could fight back?"!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Love It !

Author: Tom Spearman from London England
9 May 2004

I love this movie, for a variety of reasons... Jennifer for a start gives it a green light in my book, and yes, while its is reminiscent of Sleeping with the Enemy, I find Slim much stronger than Julias character in that movie.... Michael APted is a brilliant director, and Juliette Lewis makes up the rest of a great cast. I was shocked when it went strauight to DVD in the UK, i saw a pirate copy from a friend who wokrs at Columbia, and I loved it , and raved about it for weeks...

It keeps me on the edge of my seat , and everytime I watch it, that first time Mitch hits Slim still makes me gasp. I whole heartedly recommend this film top anyone...

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Better than i expected

6/10
Author: mjw2305 from England
1 January 2007

Made in the same vein as 'Sleeping with the Enemy' Enough actually manages to entertain and be its own film quite easily. Slim (Jennifer Lopez) thought she was entering domestic bliss when she married Mitch (Billy Campbell), but after the birth of their first child; Mitch reveals his darker side and Slim goes on the run with their daughter.

Now hunted by her spouse, she finally has enough, and engages Mitch in a battle of wits and physical ability.

'Enough' is good entertainment and despite some minor flaws it has plenty of action, thrills and tension.

OK it's nowhere near the best thriller around, but its worth a look 6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

average enough

Author: mattkratz (themattk@hotmail.com) from Richardson, TX
2 August 2002

This movie reminded me of Sleeping with the Enemy, with Jennifer Lopez playing a physically abused by her husband lady who first runs away and then fights back. Lopez does a credible job in her role, and the movie was pretty good. I loved her martial arts training scenes. You might like this movie if given the chance.

** 1/2 out of ****

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

Am I the only person who realizes how awful this movie is?

1/10
Author: Steven Moses from United States
12 September 2007

I appreciate a good "bad movie". If a movie is bad enough, it can be fun to watch. This movie, however, is SO bad that you can't even enjoy it's awfulness. I mean seriously. I'm *very* patient for bad movies, in many cases i love them, but this may very well be the absolute worst movie I've ever seen, and not just because of the terrible supporting actors.

In all sincerity, pornography typically has better writing and directing than this, and the plot makes more sense. The real paradox about this film; despite being disorganized and random, it somehow manages to be totally predictable.

For those who haven't seen it, the basic plot is that a WONDERFUL guy marries j-lo and gives her everything she wants. 5 years into the marriage, his pager goes off, and she looks at the number instantly comes to the conclusion that he's cheating on her. She decides to leave in the middle of the night while he's asleep in the room, rather than during the hours and hours he's away during the daytime. So he decides to kick j-lo in the face a bunch of times, which doesn't leave a scratch on her. The rest of the movie is basically him pursuing her.

So she runs away, and he chases after her, trying VERY visibly and publicly to kill her. By "publicly" i mean doing things like... knocking down total strangers to run up to a bus she's on, then pounding on the side of the bus while screaming something to the effect of "I AM GOING TO KILL YOU AS SOON AS I CATCH YOU BITCH"... or kicking in hotel room doors... or sending goons to vandalize the place she's living at, who delight us by delivering gripping and thrilling lines like "Hey Bitch, do you know what it feels like to die because you are so stupid?". In fact, i think the word "bitch" occurs once for every 3 spoken lines.

The characters fail to achieve even a meager 2 dimensions; even cartoon villains are more conflicted than these characters. The "bad guys" (i.e. men) are 100% evil and unremorseful, and the "good guys" (i.e. girls) are perfect and pure in their motivations.

If you enjoyed this movie, be sure to also catch Troll 2 and Panic Room and Road Rage. I enjoy terrible movies, but this was just above and beyond terrible.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

My review

10/10
Author: clarerodriguez21 from United States
14 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Clarissa Rodriguez Movie Review 9 November 2012

"Self Defense is not Murder"

"Punch, kick, slap!" Not exactly what any mother or wife has in mind when marrying the man that's supposed to be the man of her dreams. The movie Enough I must say is one of my all-time favorite movies ever made. Jennifer Lopez plays a woman named Slim who gets married to a man, Mitchell, who she thinks is the one. After birthing their child Gracey, Mitchell begins to have affairs. Not liking the situation she is in once she finds out about the affairs she confronts her husband which leads to a brutal beating. She then finds the courage to leave after consulting her best friend Ginny, and then it becomes a massive task for Slim to keep her daughter and herself out of harm's way. She then comes up with a brilliant plan to get Mitchell alone after training with a defense teacher. He won't give up on getting his daughter back and also won't give up on trying to get Slim back so she ends up killing Mitchell for the sake of her life and the life of her off spring. This movie reaches out to all women in my opinion. It lets you know that it isn't OK to harm woman. It also in some sort shows that woman have a right to leave the relationship if it ever becomes too toxic for the wife or the child involved.

This movie connects with the world in ways that make me admire the movie even more. It is not morally correct to cheat and beat your spouse after they have given you everything. I loved the characters in the movie. Joe was one of my favorites. He played as the ex-boyfriend of slims who was still in love with her. Joe is an example of the moral man in this world. He helped slim and her daughter as much as he could. That's what a real man should do, he most definitely shouldn't hit you much less be disloyal to you. Yes, Mitchell had money so if he was sent to jail he would automatically get bailed out. Ladies don't let money be the prime factor that scares you into staying with the man that beats you, just because he is rich doesn't justify violence.

I enjoyed the end the most when she plotted against her soon to be ex-husband. She broke into his house and found his weapons then put letters in his drawer to indicate she was coming to talk about custody over Gracey. They day he came home she was waiting for him and she planned that he would attack her and she would defensively fight back and kill him. In my opinion the training she got was impeccable. The techniques that were taught to her saved her life and ended the pro-longed nightmare coming up ahead of her due to the fact they had a custody hearing. I also liked how the movie appealed to the emotions of slim having her father leave her and then later on in the movie he ends up helping her get through this because of how much he was not in her life to begin with. In real life situations outside of a movie people always have others that will help you. This moment lets women know it is OK to confide in loved and even friends like Jenny and Phil. A little message to the men out there who find it OK to hit women why don't you watch this movie and get the hint.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history