IMDb > Enough (2002/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Enough
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Enough More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 231 reviews in total 

60 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

Extremely Enjoyable!!

Author: Dantzr from Muskegon, MI
27 May 2002

First off...why does the fact that this movie deals with spousal abuse and a woman smart enough to run and hide automatically make it a ripoff of "Sleeping with the Enemy"? Because "The Count of Monte Cristo" has swordplay, does that make it a ripoff of all of the Zorro movies, or the Robin Hood movies? Does the fact that Spiderman is a Marvel Superhero make it a ripoff of "The X-Men"? Of course not. And only the very basic storylines make "Enough" and "Sleeping..." similar at all. Let me illustrate...

In "Sleeping with the Enemy", Julia Roberts plays a weak willed woman who stays with her mentally abusive husband until she finally has enough and leaves when she gets the chance to fake her death. Julia never changes...always the weak willed, scared out of her gourd hiding wife.

In "Enough", Jennifer Lopez plays a strong minded woman who decides to leave her abusive husband as soon as she finds out what he is really like. Jennifer never changes either...but in this case she maintains her strength, and although scared out of her gourd also, she sets out to confront him in a physical battle...his forte usually.

This movie was great entertainment. Anyone who says they felt this was a total yawner, with no tension at all is too critical. This is what entertainment is about. This was a great way to spend 2 hours as far as I am concerned.

Ms Lopez is becoming a better actress with each film. But, as far as the female actresses go in this flick...the little girl who portrayed Jennifer's daughter out-acted everyone else...male or female. Two thumbs UP for this little lady!!

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 53 people found the following review useful:

Ugh

1/10
Author: kintopf432 (kintopf432@hotmail.com) from St. Paul, MN
27 May 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

SPOILERS

I won't bother making jokes about this film's title, as it seems others have beaten me to that punch. Jennifer Lopez and her celebrated butt go on the run, trying to protect her little potato-dumpling-faced daughter from rich, violent, powerful Billy Campbell and his weaselly servant. If you think this sounds like a simplistic scenario, well, tough, because that's all ya get.

This `story' plods on from one `thrilling' episode to another, and the `conflict' is ultimately resolved in a way not exactly notable for its complexity: J. Lo takes kickboxing lessons from some kind of cross between Pat Morita, Louis Gossett, Jr., and Obi-Wan Kenobi; then she just breaks into Billy's house, kicks his ass and kills him! The end! To say this finale is morally ambiguous and simplistic is being very, very kind; but then again so is referring to this thing a film, and I've already done that, so who cares.

The style could accurately be described as soft-core-porn-without-the-sex, and someone should tell Michael Apted that nobody's interested in that. As for the cast, J. is her usual blank self, Billy Campbell sleepwalks through his cartoon-villain role, Potato Face is among the more irritating movie children in recent memory, Juliette Lewis continues her career degeneration, and man, does Fred Ward look old.

Final verdict: good for some laughs, but not many. 1 out of 10. Okay, I will indulge in one joke about the title: they should have dropped the e-n-o and just called it Ugh.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 56 people found the following review useful:

loved it

10/10
Author: tuula611
29 January 2003

What's everybody's problem? This movie realistically portrayed domestic abuse and had a great plot, acting, everything. The end scene is the best, in my opinion. maybe it is just a chick flick, but it does a good job of drawing you in and keeping you there, my emotions ran high.

Maybe people should stop looking at movies so critically and look at them for what they are - a way to gain understanding of other people's lives and issues like domestic violence, which is society's problem, not just the victim's.

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

A psychotherapist's view.

9/10
Author: Chris Kidwell, Sr. (thezgrp@mindspring.com) from Chattaooga, TN
28 May 2002

My approach to most movies is a bit different. As a therapist, I try to see how true the movie's life situations and story lines are. "Enough" set the stage in the first 10 minutes. The process of the abuse follows very well how it goes in reality ... the denial ... the male determination to be in charge ... not wanting to go to a shelter ... not wanting to put her husband in jail ... the dad fooling the child into beliving what a good guy he really is ... the attitude of the male "what are you going to do about it"... the getting up the courage to run away ... the police telling her of the complexities ... the lawyer telling her that there is nothing he can do (legally)... the child witnessing or geting involved in the violence ... and so on. Over 70% of all murders of the woman by the husband occurs AFTER she goes to the authorities. NOW ... the ending is NOT realistic. But rather it is the ending that most wish would happen. I see these situations regularly. Domestic violence is (with rare exception) against the woman.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Tense and enjoyable

7/10
Author: Andreapworth from United States
7 November 2009

I'm not sure why some viewers compare this with "Sleeping with the Enemy", although there are some similarities, however small.

This is a a story that starts with a fairy-tale wedding, then a birth and all seems to go well. But then Slim finds out that her husband is seeing someone else. Of course, he reassures her that she's the only one that matters.

Then, when physical abuse starts, you know she's got to get out. Which she does, with some difficulty. And she starts to run from place to place, always knowing he's somehow tracking her.

The part I most enjoyed was seeing Noah Wyle play a creepy guy, so different from the roles he usually plays.

And then the end, with Slim getting martial arts training and sneaking into his home to prepare to "finish him", which she does by happenstance. I don't usually enjoy that type of violence, but was happy to see a woman stand up for herself and her child.

Enjoyed it a lot!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Better than i expected

6/10
Author: mjw2305 from England
1 January 2007

Made in the same vein as 'Sleeping with the Enemy' Enough actually manages to entertain and be its own film quite easily. Slim (Jennifer Lopez) thought she was entering domestic bliss when she married Mitch (Billy Campbell), but after the birth of their first child; Mitch reveals his darker side and Slim goes on the run with their daughter.

Now hunted by her spouse, she finally has enough, and engages Mitch in a battle of wits and physical ability.

'Enough' is good entertainment and despite some minor flaws it has plenty of action, thrills and tension.

OK it's nowhere near the best thriller around, but its worth a look 6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Am I the only person who realizes how awful this movie is?

1/10
Author: Steven Moses from United States
12 September 2007

I appreciate a good "bad movie". If a movie is bad enough, it can be fun to watch. This movie, however, is SO bad that you can't even enjoy it's awfulness. I mean seriously. I'm *very* patient for bad movies, in many cases i love them, but this may very well be the absolute worst movie I've ever seen, and not just because of the terrible supporting actors.

In all sincerity, pornography typically has better writing and directing than this, and the plot makes more sense. The real paradox about this film; despite being disorganized and random, it somehow manages to be totally predictable.

For those who haven't seen it, the basic plot is that a WONDERFUL guy marries j-lo and gives her everything she wants. 5 years into the marriage, his pager goes off, and she looks at the number instantly comes to the conclusion that he's cheating on her. She decides to leave in the middle of the night while he's asleep in the room, rather than during the hours and hours he's away during the daytime. So he decides to kick j-lo in the face a bunch of times, which doesn't leave a scratch on her. The rest of the movie is basically him pursuing her.

So she runs away, and he chases after her, trying VERY visibly and publicly to kill her. By "publicly" i mean doing things like... knocking down total strangers to run up to a bus she's on, then pounding on the side of the bus while screaming something to the effect of "I AM GOING TO KILL YOU AS SOON AS I CATCH YOU BITCH"... or kicking in hotel room doors... or sending goons to vandalize the place she's living at, who delight us by delivering gripping and thrilling lines like "Hey Bitch, do you know what it feels like to die because you are so stupid?". In fact, i think the word "bitch" occurs once for every 3 spoken lines.

The characters fail to achieve even a meager 2 dimensions; even cartoon villains are more conflicted than these characters. The "bad guys" (i.e. men) are 100% evil and unremorseful, and the "good guys" (i.e. girls) are perfect and pure in their motivations.

If you enjoyed this movie, be sure to also catch Troll 2 and Panic Room and Road Rage. I enjoy terrible movies, but this was just above and beyond terrible.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 60 people found the following review useful:

Refreshing for some victims/survivors of abuse!

8/10
Author: Victoria from USA
7 January 2004

...who have had ENOUGH of turning the other cheek! I'm sure there are many abuse survivors out there who could identify with what she went through and wished they'd had the strength to follow in her footsteps. Kudos to someone's imagination of "what if I could fight back?"!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

average enough

Author: mattkratz (themattk@hotmail.com) from Richardson, TX
2 August 2002

This movie reminded me of Sleeping with the Enemy, with Jennifer Lopez playing a physically abused by her husband lady who first runs away and then fights back. Lopez does a credible job in her role, and the movie was pretty good. I loved her martial arts training scenes. You might like this movie if given the chance.

** 1/2 out of ****

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

If you liked Sleeping With The Enemy and Safe Haven you will enjoy this flick

6/10
Author: lisafordeay from Ireland
5 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have been a fan of Jennifer Lopez since 1999, and I saw her in a lot of movies from Monster In Law,to Maid In Manhattan,heck I even seen Angel Eyes and that was good.

Enough is a 2002 thriller starring Jennifer Lopez and it tells the story of a hardworking waitress named Slim who got tangled up with some guy who was hitting on her,while a handsome man played by Billy Campbell saves her from the guy that was hitting on Slim(and this all happened really quick BTW). First she met the guy at the café/diner where she worked,than she got married to him and then she had a CHILD with him all in the 15 minute intro into the film. But as Slim thinks that her marriage to Campbell's charcther is a life full of bliss,it all turns sour when he starts hitting her violently,forcing her to take her daughter and go on the run,but when he catches up with her again,she goes to San Francisco and Michigan where in one of her trips on the run she meets a former friend of her's called Joe and changes her name to Erin.

But as she is enjoying her new life with a new identity and hairdo will her psychopath husband find her and will she be able to fight back and get rid of him from her life altogether?

Bottom line I seen this twice before but I forgot it and I seen it again a few days ago for the second time and quite frankly it wasn't a bad movie. The acting was good,the story was good and the climax at the end was also great. My main issue with this film is the beginning where it says HEY ENOUGH,TO HAVE AND TO HOLD,RUN ETC.

Overall I'm giving it a 6.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history