IMDb > Horse Crazy (2001) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Horse Crazy More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Excellent movie!

9/10
Author: (makeuphair) from USA
9 April 2002

We loved this movie! The setting was beautiful, with soft white horses against a backdrop of red rock and blue sky. It's perfect blend of humor, suspense, and fantasy, make it a show everyone will enjoy watching, no matter what their age!!! A must have!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A fun movie to watch

6/10
Author: larrybaker from United States
27 January 2005

I found this movie to be a delightful entertainment of the innocence of children. It is full of surprises and interspersed with situations that make for laughter. As with most children's movies it is a little far fetched for reality but not for imagination. The horses are something to behold and the scenery is beautiful. It is a story of the determination of three youngsters to accomplish their goals of having a horse and facing obstacles that would stop a lot of adults mainly because if "having common sense". Innocence and naivety make for not giving up. The three youngsters play well against each other as they show three different types of people that come together for a common purpose. This is not a movie for the so called sophisticated but is an enjoyable movie to watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A most excellent adventure

9/10
Author: Roger Moncrief (rogerm3163@gmail.com) from Jacksonville, FL
18 October 2003

This is a very enjoyable flick for the whole family. One young boy, who requires the continuous close supervision of his younger sister, dreams about horses constantly.

When a young "Texan" shows up in his class with a rope and the teacher says that mustangs run wild in Nevada and then he discovers his older brother is driving to Nevada, the die is cast.

I gave this flick a nine.

Roger Moncrief

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Crazy for Horse Crazy

9/10
Author: get-harvey from United States
30 April 2006

A nice break from the typical children movies that main stream Hollywood studios churn out. A well acted, funny, kid's crime drama that should please adults as well as most kids ten and under. Especially those kids who love horses and what kid does not love horses! The plot provides a couple of bumbling bad guys, a trio of enterprising young hero's, and a scenic desert landscape to go along with the horses. I could find few faults with this off-Hollywood production. Some might complain the plot is a overly simplistic, but that is as it should be for a movie aimed at young kids. Besides the movie gives us a more character depth than most kids movies when it comes to the three young protagonists. You cannot go wrong with this film. Check it out.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Good Movie

9/10
Author: crazy_for_horses1189 from United States
28 December 2006

This movie is great!!!I love how a 7 yr old &, two 8 yr old's can out wit...and outsmart two full grown men!!!it is a movie for people of all ages!!!The part that took the downfall was Brad & Andi KISSING!!! (EWWWWWW!!!!!) But the rest was great except Carl's(the bad guy without the eye patch) TEETH!!!! Has he ever met a dentist??? (laughs) I mean he also ALWAYS wears a hat too,but the movie was G.R.E.A.T!!! I love the ending it is so cool(I won't tell though!!!)So you are gonna have to see for yourself ...overall I give this movie a 9 in the scale cause the movie IS a great movie for kids ages 1-100,000!!!!! the good thing is that there IS a good and happy ending (fur sure)!!!!!!!Of course the parts I told u about were icky but it is definitely a great movie so I hope you can see this movie sometime or come to my house.......not really of course!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

a gotta see movie

10/10
Author: lynniag from United States
14 March 2005

great movie, i watched this movie with my two grandsons, ages 5 and 8. we all laughed, fretted, and chose sides. it was remarkably entertaining for both young and old alike. the actors were perfect for the characters they portrayed. the movie has a good plot and the morals behind it were visible to all eyes, at least so in our opinion. the scenery is great, made my grandsons want to visit there, wherever there is. i would very much like to see more movies like this come out for the benefit of all, very seldom does a child in this day get to see a truly GOOD movie. it is a movie i will buy because it is a movie that i know we will never tire of watching. not just for boys, the girls will love it too!!!!!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Enjoyable clean movie for the whole family

10/10
Author: matthewroller from Portland, OR
11 October 2002

My daughter stood riveted to the screen during the entire movie, and as a family we really enjoyed the movie, we kept commenting to ourselves how amazing it was to see a good clean movie where the characters were not exaggerated, but were actually believable. The backdrops were fantastic, what a beautiful desert.

Was the above review useful to you?

Really liked it

8/10
Author: max843 from United States
5 December 2012

Really like it. Originally tuned in because it was playing on MoviePlex and they show movies uncut, with NO ads!

But the gorgeous scenery kept me watching. I'm a senior citizen and in the 1960s liked everything as outrageous as possible. I've mellowed. Mysteries are my favourite, ever since childhood.

Thought this was a good contrast to all the computer-generated fare available today as well as the blood and guts kids love to watch! A good family film - and love the horses.

I think IMDb should go back to allowing shorter reviews. :) With twitter and lack of time, people don't spend as much time reading as in the past. Just a thought.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Light entertainment at it's best...

4/10
Author: dwpollar from Evansville, Indiana USA
27 September 2002

1st watched 9/26/2002 - 4 out of 10(Dir-Eric Hendershot): Light entertainment at it's best is what this good-intentioned low-key children's adventure is. The main problem with this film is that the moment's where your heart should go out to the kids, it doesn't. It just seems like there was no intention to really grab us at any moment in the film. The director seemed happy with just letting us grin and wait for the happy ending, which of course, was inevitable. The villains were typical goofballs, which definetly didn't help. The best parts of the movie came from the kids interactions, especially the sister, played by Dallin Christenson who plays a hardcore motherly-type youngster who always seems to know what's best for her brother. The story was basically about a young boy following his dream of capturing a wild mustang in Nevada and bringing it home as a pet(yeah, right). The mis-adventures that happen along the way encompasses the plot. Ok, so this is simple kids entertainment, but not the best of simple kids entertainment that I've come across.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not much good about it

Author: drew16 from United States
11 July 2011

Terrible acting by everyone, plus a ridiculous yet predictable plot made film not worth watching. Younger children, ages 8 and younger might like this, but anyone older sure won't. I watched this with a large group of children aged 9-13, and not a single one, out of over 70 kids, liked it. They were all asking to leave and do something, anything else. It was so bad that it was funny for the first half hour, but then it dragged on and on at a very slow pace. The dialouge was poorly written, and the acting of the children was atrocious. I could see what was coming next 15 minutes away. Overall, this film was poorly written and directed and will not be enjoyed by any one older than eight.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history