IMDb > Gayniggers from Outer Space (1992) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Gayniggers from Outer Space More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 49 reviews in total 

104 out of 125 people found the following review useful:

Momentous Event In Film History!

Author: Devon from Bahamas
8 September 2003

This masterpiece is nothing short of genius! I swear as God is my witness I honestly can't imagine why I haven't heard this film's praises sung from the day it was released. It melds the earthy, rough-hewn special effects of Doctor Who with the subtle cultural commentary of Orgazmo, and a touch of comic styling a'la Platoon thrown in just for good measure.

I won't delve too deeply into the plot here, since many of you haven't seen this work of art yet, but I can say that it is not an odiously long film, and the acting is top-notch. It whisks the viewer on a whirlwind journey from the Ukraine to Germany to Beijing to the farthest reaches of outer space on the backs of five heroes risking everything to save the planet Earth.

Tantalized? You should be. I *highly* recommend this film to everyone (even children), and would admonish readers not to trust any critic that says otherwise.

Was the above review useful to you?

78 out of 89 people found the following review useful:

It's about context, people...

Author: booneh from United States
6 December 2004

Okay, people come on this site and comment that it is sexist, racist (especially towards Asians) and homophobic. Yes, it is; I won't deny that. But you know what? It's also a comedy. It's a parody of those awful porno films from the 70's (back when they tried to have plots) and also those terrible, xenophobic sci-fi films in the 50's. Some 50's film has similar, racist content and it is called "camp", but some film is made years later parodying that genre by being blatant about it, and it is labeled racist.

At least this movie isn't serious about it's political incorrectness. The whole film is basically a joke, from the horrendous dubbing to the tinfoil set pieces. The budget and quality is no better than a student film. How anyone can get offended is beyond me. Feel free to laugh; it's natural.

This is not Oscar quality material, but I had to smile at a few parts that were just so wrong (like the Asian women being overdubbed with someone just squealing unintelligibly into a microphone). It's good for maybe a chuckle or two, but nothing beyond that.

It's only 25 minutes long and not worth any amount of money to watch. If the title intrigues you, watch it just for curiosity sake. If the title offends you, stay away cause it gets worse and it won't redeem itself.

Was the above review useful to you?

61 out of 66 people found the following review useful:

I hardly know what to say...

Author: Joe Farrell from United States
5 February 2005

In the singularly titled "Gayniggers From Outer Space," Cpt. B. Dick and his crew of gay crusaders from the planet Anus, a member in good standing of the Federation of Gay Planets, happen upon a remote and primitive world called Earth, whose surface is inexplicably covered with dangerous "female creatures." Anything at all could be going on down there, perhaps even the dreaded "kissing" our heroes have read about! For the sake of Earth's men, the Gayniggers decide to dispose of the female creatures and show the planet the error of its ways.

This isn't a comedy as you would usually expect to find one; you can't sit down alone and expect to be entertained much by it. This is the sort of thing that you need to get a few friends together for (preferably numbering no female creatures among them), so you can all sit around and laugh at the sheer absurdity of it all: at the pocket-change sets and special effects, at the ship computer's Speak&Spell voice, at the impossible characters, and of course, simply at the fact that someone actually created a film called "Gayniggers From Outer Space." I find that I haven't a clue how to rate this numerically, given how huge a departure it is from more conventional movies, but it's worth seeing at least once if you can find it.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Actually Pretty Funny

10/10
Author: cptchipjew from Los Angeles, USA
27 April 2004

I thought Gayniggers from Outer Space was quite amusing. Yes, the jokes are somewhat immature, but we all need some of that in our lives from time to time. For those of you with an open mind that don't want to think that much, and are adult enough and lacking the pretentiousness to actually admit you like a movie like this, it really is a lot of fun packed into 25 minutes.

Also, for those who accuse the movie of both homophobia and racism, I would like to point out that 3 of the stars, including Coco P. Dalbert are gay. And of course, everybody is black. Like I said before, if you can be open-minded, this movie is quite enjoyable.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Greatest cult film ever!

10/10
Author: kilogram-1 from A Gay Universe!
5 February 2005

I can understand it not winning an Emmy because it's a foreign film and they are generally ignored except for "Best Foreign Film," as well as the fact that it has the word "GayNig ger" in the title which would have offended the family audience viewing the Emmys on TV. Don't be fooled: this movie is not racist; the phrase "Gaynigger" doesn't have the same connotations in Denmark. This film is an excellent satire of not only the dull turn science fiction had taken in the past decades, but also a satire of racial and sexual relations. This movie is a vehicle for showing how much alike we all are--black or white, man or woman--in spite of what seems to be an offensive title, bad acting, and terrible special effects. However, the attention to technical detail allows me to only conclude that these flaws are deliberate insertions to further the parodic nature.

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

cheap but awesome

Author: the_majestik_moose from wisconsin, usa
3 April 2003

Even though this movie is only about 23 minutes long, it was great. 5 "gayniggers" who come from the planet Anus come to earth to eliminate the women population and create an all male, gay society. With names like D. Ildo and Sargeant Shaven Balls and classic stereotypes, this hard to find sci fi spoof is worth the time to watch even though it is near impossible to find. Good luck!

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Very cool, surprisingly.

9/10
Author: usernameundecided from Austin TX
28 September 2003

I saw this listed for download and I immediately thought, "God, that sounds dreadful." The title makes it sound like the film sets out to shock and be completely offensive only for the hell of it. Then, out of curiosity, I looked it up here on IMDb. I was surprised that it had so many comments in the message boards, so I downloaded it and gave it a chance. May I say this is one of the most entertaining short films I have ever seen. Granted the character names, and a few other jokes, *are* pretty simple minded on the surface, but I think they work when everything is fit together. The narration and music (I LOVED the music!) set a great tone. There are so many small touches -- the Mr. Spell voice, some hilarious imagery, the misspelling of "Beijing" -- that make the whole thing work wonderfully. It also did a great job of giving a 70's kind of feel. I don't think this movie's purpose is to offend. I found it endearing even. I'm glad I gave it a chance.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A timeless classic.

10/10
Author: tanolin from United States
12 June 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This film could have been made at any point in history -- but it wasn't until the early 1990s that such a cast and crew found each other and created such a piece. Such a masterpiece. That's what this film turned out to be, against all odds. And that's much how the theme of the movie is. The benevolent protagonists of the film are vastly outnumbered, and against all odds, they turn the planet earth into a place where men can be men. It sounds so simple -- and perhaps it is.

Gayniggers from Outer Space goes against a number of things we've learned. Just like a victim of chronic shock torture can scarcely believe he's not suffering anymore after it's over, the men from this film emerge into an accepting and understanding world -- a world with a memory of where it's been still lingering, no doubt. But the Gayniggers... they leave an ambassador behind to ease the transition into a better life for every man, just as the greatest saint in history would console the most despondent and lost soul. But this film burdens itself not with any theological issues as such, but rather with the utterly existential.

That delivers us to the next point. It is of little doubt that the cast of this film was utterly satisfied with their performance -- the fact that most of them never sought another role attests to this. Indeed, when they all die, they will leave behind a legacy -- a gift, truly, to the future generations. They set an example to us all, merely by being in the film. Most of us will never endow humanity with such a treasure, but it's almost as if they're nudging us and smiling, while saying something like, "It's alright. We took care of some of the heavy lifting for humanity. But we've got your ass -- any time you need us, just remember us. We're there, watching over you."

And so it is. A classic was born.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

universal male domination!

5/10
Author: ichy from sweden
3 May 2003

This is a very funny short film about some men from outer space who are traveling trough the universe to secure the male race from the evil female forces. The movie is very low budget, probably ment to be, and is not to be taken very seriously. Havent we all thought lame and prejudice things about the other gender wether we are male or female? Well i think this movie is for you guys who have had bad experiences with the other sex, you will love it, i did :) Also the title "gay niggers from outer space" is simply hilarious and worth the watch just because of it.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Yes m8

10/10
Author: detroit_techno from Southampton, England
20 April 2003

Only the politically correct will hate this film. Everyone else who isnt tied up to this society destroying line of thought will give this short film an easy 10. Some of the one liners that come out of it are complete classics and deserve to be shown on domestic TV as soon as possible, preferably before 9pm.....

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history