RoboCop versus The Terminator (Video Game 1993) Poster

(1993 Video Game)

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Best ever RoboCop game
gothamite276 February 2005
I played this for the Genesis/Megadrive, and man did I love it! It was more of a RoboCop game as opposed to a Terminator game, but it still kicked ass! The game is based on a Dark Horse Comic of the same name. In an unusual turnout, the game actually turned out to be better than the comic itself! This is possibly because the game follows an easier plot (what with it being a low-budget 16-bit game and all).

When you move RoboCop, he moves LIKE RoboCop, and when you shoot, he looks the same as in the movies! Also, when you shoot humans (not Terminators), they blow up in a bloody mess! It's madness! The only downside to this game is that its impossibly difficult and I was only able to finish it with the help of some cheat codes. Nevertheless, if you can find it, get RoboCop-V-Terminator! It's far better than any of the other RoboCop games!
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bloodier than Mortal Kombat
Gideon4020 July 2001
Robocop vs. The Terminator is probably the Sega Genesis's most blood soaked side scroller game. Of course, they also made it for the Super NES, but i prefer the Genesis version because of its realistic violence. Since Nintendo doesn't allow any blood in their games, enemies when killed simply disappear in an explosion, but in the Genesis version, enemies visably get blown into a spray of blood and gore. Comparing the blood content in this game with gore-notorious game Mortal Kombat is like comparing Soldier of Fortune with Counter Strike. Robocop vs. Terminator has also got some of the coolest techno-music i've ever heard.

This is one of the games that deserves to be remade for today's consoles like the ps2 and the DC(yes, the DC).
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Heath McKnight22 June 2005
I played this game on Sega so much in 1993 and 1994, it was sick. Around Christmas 1993, when visiting my father, my best friend and I wrote down a secret code from some magazine, so we wouldn't have to buy it, and continued playing. Great game, along with the first Jurassic Park game.

If you happen to have an old Sega console, see if you can pick up the game on eBay, and just have a blast. I'm sure there are walk-thrus and such on the net. Esp. that code I mentioned!

Also, this is based on the comic of the same title, written by RoboCop 2/3 and Sin City writer, Frank Miller (a legend in the comics field) and drawn by Walter Simonson, another legend. The comic was heavily hyped, after the success of Dark Horse Comics' Aliens vs. Predator in 1991, but was a little bit of a disappointing read. Maybe my expectations were too high.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Shawn Watson29 April 2004
This game was probably one of the most violent and bloody I have ever played. Even by modern standards. But it was absolutely impossible to finish. And I played it with the infinite lives cheat too and it still took hours and hours.

The premise of the game came from the Dark Horse comics of the same name in which Robocop's technology is linked to Cyberdyne. In order to stop the technology (and even himself ever existing) Robocop must travel to the future and defeat Skynet. But not before taking on zillions of T-800s and T-1000s first.

One of the coolest features of the game were the power-ups that modified Robocop's armour or game him massive new weapons. And you needed them as you were under constant assault from all directions. The Sega Genesis version was the best as the Super-Nintendo had all the blood cut out of it. I hope one day this is reprogrammed for the PC.

Virgin sure did a great job of making the comic book into a game and how cool would it be to have a Robocop vs Terminator movie. It would surely be the greatest thing ever!!!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
ross robinson12 November 2003
Robocop VS. The Terminator i think was a fantastic game to play. This was released for the Sega Megadrive, a computer that was released in the 1980's. I enjoyed playing this game. I think it is a great idea to bring 2 action characters into one. Now in 2003 they have brought 2 serial Killers in a movie together. I give this game 10 out of 10.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I remember playing this on a little console system when it was released...
MovieAddict20168 August 2003
A fun game that manages to be addictive. Not exactly fascinating by today's standards, but still a full-blooded action game. Should be remade for the newer consoles with better graphics, I'd definitely buy it. 4/5 stars -

John Ulmer
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
RoboCop vs. The Terminator!
Movie Nuttball26 April 2005
RoboCop vs. The Terminator is one of the one of the coolest action video games! The characters, the action, and the sure thrill of adventure makes this game a fun non-stop playing time! Below is a brief look how I think the game is!

Game Play: The game play is very good. There is really basic controls here and is easy to perform. Novice gamers should have a good time here!

Graphics: The graphics are wonderful especially for the Super Nintendo and Sega Genesis. The backgrounds are really beautiful! Difficulty: The game is easy but as it goes on you find out that it will become more difficult!

Music: The music is great! Just fantastic catchy tunes through out the game! In My opinion its some of the best music ever in a video game!

Sound: The sound is great. Nuff said!

Overall: I have always loved RoboCop vs. The Terminator! If you like excellent adventure games, shooters, and more then I strongly recommend you play this game!

To purchase this video game check out!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Fun, Scary, Challenging
Daniel (TERMINATOR180)7 August 2001
This game has everything you could want in a videogame. In this review, I am referring to the Sega Genesis version, not the Super Nintendo. The graphics are great, the blood is fun to watch, ED-209 and Cain are frightening when you see them on the game, the weapons are fun, including ED-209's Gun, which you can attach to your arm.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Best Robocop game ever.
fullenw16 June 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I've played the SNES and Sega version of this game.

SNES:Other than the 1st board this game is rather difficult to complete.

One thing that makes the 1st board worth playing is that you get to fight ED-209. Throughout the game you get different guns including Robocops beretta killing T-8oo's, the T-101, there are even some female terminators that look like the TX.

Sega:The sega version owns the SNES version. I played the entire sega game its kind of like Robocop 1 and 2 combined. You get to fight Robocop 2 aka Cain. You get to fight Ed-209. To top that off you battle T-800s and other machines from Termianator. You get at least 2 weapons. At the beginning you start with Robocops beretta but eventually you'll find new guns to use. The Sega version also has blood.

I'd recommend both but I highly recommend the sega version more. The sega version owns all Robocop games. However the bosses can be difficult to kill especially on the sega version.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Awesome game
Vampenguin13 May 2006
I love this game. I recently dug the ol' Sega Genesis out of the attic, and this was one of the first games I played once I got it hooked up. Was one of my favourites as a kid, played it for hours on end, getting nowhere but still having a blast. The weapons are cool, the story is great, the blood looks awesome...I cant think of a single bad thing to say about this game. Robocop is perfect compared to the movies: he movies the same, looks the same, even holds his gun the same way. I do wish we would have seen a bit more Terminator, but the later levels give us quite a lot so I cant complain. This games really does have it all, it even punishes you for cheating! If you cheat, the final boss is quite literally impossible to defeat. It's worth it though, because damn is it fun to plow through enemies in God mode. Overall, this is just an all-out fun action game, I love it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews