A Man Apart (2003) Poster

(2003)

User Reviews

Add a Review
136 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
7/10
Not spectacular, but pretty good
tenten7620 October 2004
One of those films which I don't think the current IMDb score (5.4) actually captures.

It's a bit formulaic - ex-bad-boy super-DEA agent gets the bad guy, pays with the life of his nearest & dearest, and goes out for revenge. Even I saw the reveal at the end coming way-off (I rarely do), but I still really enjoyed this film.

I thought it was very well plotted and paced; Vin Diesel played it gruff, but mostly low-key (no huge sobbing moments, or tearful walks on the beach, which was refreshing). His character, along with that of his friend, were fleshed out into more-rounded human beings than the usual action hero & sidekick. The enemies were straight out of 'the Big Book Of Drug Dealers and Cartel lackeys', but Timothy Oliphant was amusing and well played, as ever (also a great turn in The Good Girl).

And I found the violence viscerally satisfying & gritty, without being seriously glorified, or venturing (too far) into Bad Boys style Hollywood explosions, helicopter gunships, LA car chases etc.

Most surprising of all (to me) is that Vin agreed to grow his hair out a little - as you would in an extended hospital stay - and roughen up his otherwise clean shaven / macho male model looks. Wandering around with the goatee, he reminded me more of the guy out of Cypress Hill.

Kudos also goes to the ending. It could have finished two scenes earlier than it did, but the tying up of loose ends wasn't done in an overly sentimental or triumphant way, which was similarly refreshing.

Good screenplay, good acting (in a pretty standard film like this), and mostly avoiding the really obvious clichés of plot & character. I really enjoyed it. On the scale of revenge movies - it's not as good as Mel Gibson's remake of Payback, or The Rock in the remake of Walking Tall. But it would hold its own alongside them in a collector's box set.
44 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Not Vin's Greatest Movie
Angelusgirlever18 April 2006
I watched this movie a few days ago, i have to admit it's different from Vin's other movies, the story did not make much sense in some parts,it felt a little overcooked in others., and slow paced in the middle. While the movie had the explosions, gun fights and car chases, I felt that it was not about the violence/revenge as much as it was about Vin's character mourning his wife's death and choosing to do so in anger, it was his way of screaming, letting the world hear his pain.

The thing that really effected me is the relationship between Sean and Stacey, the connection they had, even though we did not see much in the beginning of the movie, i felt that they had a strong bond. The acting - in between the violent scenes is not half bad, specially Vin's scene at the hospital, it's heart breaking. It is a good start for Vin in to do more " human " normal everyday roles, we have to respect the guy for that.
21 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Decent action film
stamper22 February 2004
Lately, i do not watch too many ‘old-fashioned' action films like this. This has mostly to do with the fact that action films are somehow always the same. The only things that can make an action film decent are not too many corny scenes and some comedic elements. Take for instance Cradle 2 the Grave, which I saw a couple of weeks back. Now the action was pretty OK, there were some funny elements, but there were some stupid things as well (such as a corny ending). Or Bulletproof Monk, which was a bit corny overall. While A Man Apart is certainly not a good film, it is one of the better ‘old school' action films I've seen lately. The acting is decent, there are no corny elements and there is a good mix of emotion / softness and action. The film might not be suited for the big screen, but it does well as a rental (BTW: the film was shot between 2000 and 2001 and got shelved at first). The film certainly has some interesting elements and is better than most of Seagal's or Van Damme's new films. I was not disappointed to have rented it.

6,75 out of 10
31 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Concerning the action, starts off fresh but by the end is just getting repetitive!!!
jtindahouse4 July 2005
A Man Apart is nothing special but after the first 15 minutes I didn't think I'd be saying that in my comment. It starts off really well, exciting, good characters and it was moving along nice and quickly. While the good characters and the moving along kept up throughout the movie, the most important thing didn't - the excitement. The action sequences just became like Vin Diesel's acting voice - exactly the same the whole movie. The director tried his best to vary it (bombs, choking .etc) but these things never seemed to have any effect, for what reason I don't know. Also the storyline was unbelievably predictable.

There are a lot of action movie out there, a lot - you're not going to find anything new in this one.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
A Man Apart doesn't set itself apart from other vigilante movies
view_and_review26 March 2007
When I rate a movie or give my opinion of a movie, I try my best to compare it to other movies like it. For example, if it is a drama about family, I use other dramas about families as a benchmark. "A Man Apart" is definitely a vigilante film. Sean Vetter's (Vin Diesel) wife was murdered and he is out to find the killer. If you want a reference for a vigilante film, see just about any Charles Bronson movie, or some of the movies with Sylvester Stallone, Arnold Schwazzenegger, or Steven Segal. One of my personal favorite vigilante movies is the Denzel Washington starred "Man on Fire".

Comparatively, "A Man Apart" doesn't quite match up. Whether it was how the movie was done, or it was Vin Diesel, I didn't quite feel the pain of Sean when he lost his wife. This type of movie is dependent upon the drive of the main character and getting the audience to understand or feel that same drive. Sure, most of us would understand a man seeking revenge or justice for the wrongful death of his wife, but the character still has to have some type of charisma or believability. Vin Diesel is too one dimensional to show a wide range of emotions, and there weren't enough scenes showing the bond between Sean and his wife for me to be too upset when she was killed. In the end, the movie was about a vigilante seeking justice who I wanted to succeed, but I was still indifferent about.
20 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
A misfire in every way.
Trajanc9 April 2003
Ok performances, adequate to poor directing, a frequently nonsensical script, inconsistent cinematography, and ambitions that far outreach the filmmakers grasp. This film is passable entertainment for the hardcore action crowd but it offers nothing new and nothing that is really good. The promise that Vin Diesel showed in Boiler Room and other earlier pictures is being wasted in unremarkable films like this.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Pretty good
movieman_kev1 October 2003
Vin Diesel is MUCH better in this drama/action film then he was in his last action film, "XXX". His performance as a broken man who just lost his wife to drug dealer, & his violent crusade against said criminals, while not original in the least, does captivate you. As far as action movies go, this one can hang with the better of them. The action doesn't mix too well with the drama though...

My Grade: B-

Eye Candy: 2 topless women, 1 erotic dancer (Former Man Show Juggy, Paula Harrison) in see-through cloth

Extras: 7 Deleted Scenes (the first having 1 more topless chick, the 7th being an extended version of the aforementioned Juggy's dance) ; Trailers for (of all things)Run, Ronnie, Run & Highwaymen
36 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
It's Narc meets XXX
pingu-19 September 2003
This movie is alright for a gritty action film because it reminds me of the grittiness of Narc with the action sequences of XXX. The acting of Vin Diesel as a DEA agent is going out for revenge after his wife was murdered is good and alright and the acting Larenz Tate as his partner is alright as well.

Overall, I find this movie a good gritty action flick to entertain yourself any time.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Spending 90 minutes with your head in a vice is better
marbleann26 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
BAD ACTOR ALERT! What can I say? I was home on my birthday sick and snowed in. Nothing was on cable, 200+ channels and not a thing on. So what does one do but check out one of the HBO, SHO MAX Direct station which are already paid for. I searched for something, anything and I found it..."A Man Apart" and a DMX movie. The DMX was actually a surprise and was very entertaining, which is all I was asking for..to be entertaining. This movie was not. First I want to say that I am not a big Vin Deisel fan, the man just can't act, simple as that. Now I have seen decent movies with him it though. This was not one of them. Apparently DEA officers make enough money to live on California beach front property. Now I live in NY so I don't have the exact cost of what it takes to live on beach front land but I can tell you it probably is not something a law enforcer cannot afford...being a daughter of one I can attest to that. Well all the DEA officers are gathered there for a party. Later on that night a few night crawlers burst into his apartment...right off the ocean..doors unlock and kill his wife and only injures him... You see he wakes up guns blasting and saves himself but not his wife. I feel the only reason we were treated earlier to the party was establish he loved his wife. You know the scenes...once you see them you know she is a goner. a few weeks later he awakens in the hospital with his best friend (poor Larenze Tate what happened to his career) Larenz's wife and his boss at his side. In my experience one always wakes up from these episodes 3 in the morning when no one is around not even the nurses. He has no idea his wife is dead and when he finds out we get the "I can really act scene" he tries to break out of his IVs and starts yelling her name etc we are treated to a flashback of them..he still can't act. Vin wants revenge and he is going to the top to get it. Well this turns out to be some twisty movie that I believe they made up while going. Heck I'll tell so some other soul doesn't waste 90 minutes out of their life. Seems like a person called Diablo is the killer. But he is not who we think he is. He is really the older guy in prison who actually puts a hit out on his family to gain Vins trust. THe first guy old Vin approaches about his wife's death. Seems that he only wanted the wife dead so he could work with Vin. If you look back at the scene the wife dies it wasn't even sure she would die. If they were there to hit his wife they would of made sure she was dead before they were through. So these were one of those "Made while the went scene." You see the man wants to get transfered to minimum security so he can escape during the transfer. Don't waste your time with this dreck. The DMX movie is like watching Scorcese next to this. The only reason I did not give this movie a 1 is because of Larenz Tate, his career is picking up again with Ray etc...I enjoyed just seeing him.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Action Packed to the Limit, a spectacular thriller.
IamtheRegalTreatment13 April 2003
This movie was so intense that even though my friends were trying to lure me away from the screen, I just couldn't. I was locked on to the movie screen, watching everything that went on. Vin Diesel did a terrific job as the main role in this movie. He showed intensity, emotion, fear, jealousy, and heart through-out the whole picture, it was just inspiration.

The movie starts out with a special police force designed to be cops that looked like they hated cops at the same time, to break into a party of drug dealers and stop the corporation. Their mission was successful while entertaining. After, Sean Vetter (Vin Diesel) and his wife Stacy (Jacqueline Obradors) throw a celebration party at their beach house. The party ends, and we see them asleep in their beds. We hear movement outside of the sliding glass door by the bedroom, Sean wakes up, opening his eyes once the door is silently open. "GET DOWN!" yells Sean to his wife as the two men at the door pull out their guns and start to fire. Sean grabs his pistol and tries to shoot them both down, as he is shot in the ribs. He runs outside after them, and shoots one of them down before he can escape. Sean walks over to him, yelling at him about coming into his house, as he shoots him once again while he is already down on the ground. He asks who he is, demanding an answer. The only thing the man says is, "You will never stop Diablo." and then dies. Sean runs back into his bedroom telling his wife to call 911. She is still lying on the ground. He picks her up and puts her on the bed. He then asks if she's ok, and she keeps repeating over and over, "I'm ok....I'm ok" Sean dials 911 on his cell phone and when a woman answers, he doesn't even speak, because he is watching his wife die in his arms. The woman on the phone keeps saying, "I can't hear you sir, please speak up." but Sean doesn't, then the screen turns completely white.

This is only the beginning of this almost 2 hour picture. Through-out the rest, Sean is determined to find this so called Diablo and finish him off. I gave this movie a 10, and I rarely do that, but it deserves that rating. I enjoyed sitting and watching it, as it moved from scene to scene. I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I did.
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Below average...
buiger4 May 2007
A slightly below average movie. The film starts off well enough, but it soon gets entangled into scores of clichés as old as the cinematic art itself. Another drawback in this motion picture is Diesel's acting (mind you, I had just praised his work in 'Knockaround guys' a couple of days ago). It is not up to par, he does not manage to inspire any feeling for his character in the viewer, thence we cannot sympathize with his pain. The plot itself is a cliché in it's own way, there is nothing new there to awaken our curiosity, and considering that the screenplay, production, camera and Direction are all nothing more than average, we are left with a product that will not remain in our memories for very long.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
It just DOES NOT delivery
cafesmitty6 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
The premise of the movie is that Vin Diesel is a law-enforcement officer for the DEA. After making a successful bust in Mexico and putting the head of the cartel in jail, a new group of drug lords start appearing on the scene, killing off all the opposition. Unfortunately Diesel is on the hit list also but instead of killing him, they killed his wife... and thus the movie gets rolling... sort of.

A Man Apart previews try to lead you to believe you are going to see a film about a guy on a rampage with nothing to lose. But the movie is flat, flat, flat. Diesel is BORING in this movie. The rage he "supposedly" feels inside is tepid on screen. And, lord helps us, when he is "acting" anguished. I mean, this is NOT his vehicle. Denzel is better in Man on Fire and even The Rock is better in Walking Tall. Diesel shows absolutely no heat. The director isn't sure on what type of film he wants to shoot. He doesn't ever let go of the leashed. Even in one of the films "so-called" pivotal scene when Diesel beats down a guy bragging about an earlier kill, its forced at best. The scene doesn't work because Diesel doesn't really look all that upset and the henchman is wretched (as they say in England). But of all the failures in this film, the ending is the biggest failure of all and it is quite quite stupid. Unless you are a fan of Vin Diesel, I would skip this film. Lucky for me I saw it on one of the pay cable channels.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This movie is the making of Vin Diesel as a serious action star
davideo-216 April 2003
STAR RATING:*****Unmissable****Very Good***Okay**You Could Go Out For A Meal Instead*Avoid At All Costs

The action genre,at the moment,is lacking in a lot of departments.Decent scripts,good dialogue,and youngblood.With supremos Stallone and Schwarzenegger now in their 50s and the likes of Van Damme and Lundgren in their early 40s,a new,younger tall,muscle bound star was needed to fill the void and fill in the woodwork.Diesel is personified with these characteristics,with the appropriate wooden drawl to go with it (though as this film proves,the man is a fine actor too),and hence stood out as the perfect individual to fulfil this task.

Unfortunately,his early scripts were a hodgepodge of bland,empty dross such as xXx and Pitch Black.This left the discerning action movie goer worried,in this day and age,he might never wow as much as he might have had he been around in say,the early 90s or late 80s.

But with A Man Apart,he blissfully casts aside such worries,for this is a taut,fully engaging actioner,with a thumping good soundtrack.A riveting opening sequence is a great teaser for what's to come.F Gary Gray,director of the Kevin Spacey/Samuel L Jackson thriller The Negotiator,rolls proceedings along nicely,with some neat,visually impressive action sequences to go with the surprisingly intricate plot.He also makes the wise decision to give his leading man Diesel some engaging dialogue to work with as well as giving him loads of opportunites to flex his muscles and act tough.Sure,there are a few cliches and the plot does become a little far fetched towards the end,but all in all,this is probably the film of Diesel's I've most enjoyed and I'm sure will finally cement him in the premier league of A list Hollywood action stars.***
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Man With Heart...
Christopher Lachcik25 May 2007
I just sat down tonight and finally watched a movie that I have been wanting to watch since the day I saw the trailer back in 2003. I don't know why, but ever since then I've been wanting to see this movie and tonight I finally saw it. It was different than I thought it would be, I saw it as a "Four Brothers" feel, but Vincent just made it a unique and action packed movie with a couple "saw it coming" twists. I love Vin's acting and there were no superhero moments, no fake CGI scenes, or any "Mission Impossible" crap. It was all true to life, real, and it made you feel a lot for the main character, Sean. You're in his shoes, you're following in his footsteps and you know the pain this man was going thru the entire movie.

"You got no mud flaps on your car..."
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
A script apart
Jexxon30 April 2005
Strictly by the numbers action piece in the vengeful cop genre. Diesel is an ex-gang thug who now works a cop. After taking down a big crime boss, his wife gets murdered and Diesel goes out looking for whoever did it.

This is one of the things that bothers me. Diesel doesn't really know who's behind the hit (nor does the audience), so what follows is basically watching Diesel going round asking questions, seemingly at random, stumbling upon clues that make little sense. It's like the screenplay wasn't quite finished, so they made up scenes as they went along. The result is long stretches of pointless talking, with random shootouts every now and then.

There's nothing spectacular about anything that happens, or concerning the film's look in general. Moreover, it's hard to sympathize with Diesel's character when he himself doesn't seem to care about the safety of those around him. The films mixes violent action scenes with broad comedy in a way that simply doesn't work.

The story just unfolds without explaining what's going on. The ending, for example, just happens, and doesn't feel like it belongs to the rest of the film at all. Diesel's acting skills come up short, as does most others as well to be fair. Only Timothy Oliphant seems to be having a good time, and he's really the only thing worth watching. [1/10]
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Nothing special. And I mean, NOTHING.
TheOtherFool4 November 2004
Maybe it's too harsh to call 'A Man Apart' a downright bad movie. But the truth is, the movie hasn't got a single thread of originality, great acting or a decent story to provide.

Sean Vetter (Vin Diesel) is a streetwise, tough ass cop who's hunting down one of the biggest Mexican druglords, played by Geno Silva. When the drug-syndicat in their turn try to kill Vetter, they mistakenly shoot his wife. As a result, Vetter is set out for justice and revenge.

Leave it to Vin Diesel to do the rough part, but his emotional role is completely snowed under. He's no Charles Bronson, that's for sure. Add the dubious and stereotypical bad guys and tough cops, and you got yourself a barely OK revenge flick.

For the people who aren't fan of Diesel or of the tough cop driven over the hill kinda films, I would advise against watching this rather mediocre flick.

4/10.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Rather uninspired revenge thriller.
Paul Andrews5 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
A Man Apart starts in Mexico where the DEA raid a bar & capture drug lord Memo Lucero (Geno Silva), back in the US & Memo Lucero is looking to spend the rest of his life behind bars. However removing one drug lord just means another can take his place, the mysterious Diablo picks up where Lucero left off & is even more brutal & unforgiving as he tries to have DEA agent Sean Vetter (Vin Diesel) killed but only ends up wounding him & killing his wife Stacy (Jacqueline Obradors) which makes Vetter very, very angry & out for revenge. Vetter sets his sights on Diablo as the drug lord plans to flood California with cocaine & those who were involved in killing his wife...

This American German co-production was directed by F. Gary Gray & is a gritty revenge thriller in the same vein as Man on Fire (2004) which were presumably shot at the same time, to be honest while A Man Apert is alright overall I thought it was rather forgettable. There's nothing in the script that we haven't seen countless times before, some cop annoys some bad guy who kills a member of his family/partner/friend for revenge & then in turn the hero himself then seeks revenge. The plot is fairly standard stuff about powerful Mexican drug lords & those who fight them, however the script is rather rather weak & there's a puzzling climax where the identity of the mysterious Diablo is never really revealed despite the entire film being about him. Was it all a set-up to get Memo out of prison? If so the script failed to mention it, was Diablo still alive at the end? Who knows, not the audience that's for sure. I mean just who the hell was this Diablo? Why did he try to kill Sean Vetter when it was Memo who had a grudge against him? Why not try to kill the DEA agents? It feels like A Man Part was either badly written, it lost something from script to screen or New Line Cinema cut large chunks of narrative out. At one hour & forty five minutes long A Man Apart is quite slow at times & with a wimpy climax that doesn't really bring closure to anything & even ditches the traditional fight between the hero & villain for supremacy I find it hard to see just who A Man Apart was made for.

Another disappointing aspect of A Man Apart is the action, or to be more accurate the lack of it. Sure there's a couple of by-the-numbers shoot-outs, an exploding & a few fights but it's pretty low key stuff. I am sure the decision to keep it low key & gritty was deliberate but it just makes for a forgettable film all round. New Line Cinema was forced to change the title to A Man Apart from El Diablo as Blizzard threatened to sue as one of their popular games was already called El Diablo & they didn't want this below average film tarnishing their game or ruining any potential future film deals or adaptations.

With a supposed fairly modest budget of about $36,000,000 I now know why there's a lack of decent action, there wasn't enough money to pay for it. The acting is alright, Vin Diesel can't act but is a decent action star although there's not much action here.

A Man Apart is a bit of a uninspired mess that doesn't quite know if it wants to be a serious thriller or an all out action film but satisfies as neither, the plot isn't that clear & answers just lead to more questions & the action is also surprisingly tame & understated. Overall it's not a terrible film but not one that I particularly enjoyed all that much.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great acting
Methodless_Man28 October 2003
Vin Diesel has shown ME that he can act in Boiler Room, so when I saw XXX and Fast and the Furious I knew it wasn't him, it was the plotless scripts. Now that I've seen this movie, I can be reassured. Vin Diesel has really worked hard with his character, minor details which make it human really have brought the story to life.

The story itself is a very good one, which has you rooting for the protagonists the whole time.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Non-stop action adventure
brett chatz15 December 2004
For the most part, this Hollywood blockbuster serves its purpose of entertaining adrenalin junkies the world over. Congrats to Diesel on another pulsating performance and his co-stars in bringing this cinematic chase to life. As with many similar pictures, certain characters lack depth and credibility but the special effects are truly worth every second of screen time. Vin Diesel plays his signature tough-guy superhero kamakazi hell-bent on revenge and metering out retribution. Hats off to the producers and the director of this explosive action hit. Vin is going to bleed his tough-guy persona for as much as he get get from it, risking being typecast as another action hero who will ultimately fade away, much like Van Damme, S Seagal and Sly Stallone to name but a few.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This movie blows
faceword31 March 2003
Saw this in a Sneak Preview in San Francisco tonite.

Look, I love cheesy action movies like XXX or Fast & The Furious, that deliver exactly what they promise - good stunts, white&black characters, good action, etc.

This movie attempted and failed for that. It sucked. And it made no sense. The action was weak, so the director fell back on gore. Acting was terrible.

And the final plot twist made absolutely no sense at all on any level.

Don't see this. Ever.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Let's count down the clichés shall we?
oneguyrambling17 December 2010
Aaaahhh Vin Diesel. I have seen him on Jay Leno and Conan O'Brien and I swear he is a poorly programmed robot. I mean most of the time he looks and acts human, but these weird inexplicable tics come up often enough that something is not quite right.

He laughs way too hard at the tiniest joke, as if wanting to say "I get that it's a joke", he sometimes claps and bends at the waist to express just how much he gets it. He agrees with everything that the interviewer says with total seriousness, often when the interviewer is basically reading the back of the DVD cover back at him:

Interviewer: "Well Vin, in this film your name is Zack Largo, and you play a…"

Vin: "Yes. Spot on Conan. My name is Zack Largo, even though in real life it isn't! How about that? The director told me this is standard practise. You've done your research haven't you?!?"

And of course I have painted myself into a corner here with the analogy, Vin's acting is…. Well…

Robotic.

The man doesn't say his lines as much as he recites it:

And.Then. We. Will. Go. To. Dinner. Understood?

All this is why A Man Apart is so apt for Vin, as it seems to be written by scriptwriting robot V2.4, and directed by a guy who followed an index rather than a standard plot structure.

– - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - – - -

Cliché #1 - Vin and his team are not your average cops.

Vin and his team are closing in on a dangerous criminal in Mexico.

Cliché #2 – You never really stop the bad guy when you it appears that you nail him early in the film.

When dangerous criminal #1 lands in prison (hey Vin always gets his man) it is business as usual, as he continues to run sh*t from the inside.

Cliché #3 – Dangerous criminal #2 is more vicious and ruthless than Dangerous Criminal #1.

A new bad guy, dangerous criminal #2 arrives on the scene and starts aggressively taking turf, killing everyone in his way.

Cliché #4 – He swears revenge, whatever the cost.

Vin loses someone close to him.

Cliché #5 – The hero can't act because he is restrained by the law.

Vin gets close to a bad guy. Real close. They talk and trade insults and threats.

Cliché #6 – The Hero is the only one who gets the blame.

There is a shootout with Vin and a bad guy. Many cops are killed, some bad guys and civilians. Everyone is shooting.

Vin is turfed from the force.

Cliché #7 - The Hero goes "off-the-radar" to nab Dangerous Criminal.

He will avenge the death of his wife and solve the case regardless of the cost.

Cliché #8 – Does the Hero "really care too much?" Vin's "not your average cop-buddies" disregard all procedure and legality and help him.

Cliché #8 – Lots of people get gunned down, justice gets served to those that deserve it.

A necessary cliché… Vin and his buddies do years of police work in about a week by ignoring protocol and the law. Most of all Vin does it all his way. Shucks, I just wish there were more like him.

Final Rating – 6 / 10. The dialogue is often laughable, the tone too serious for what is essentially a shlocky effort and the clichés are abundant.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
ehhhh....
mrsknoll3 February 2006
I may have liked this movie more if I hadn't coincidently watched it immediately after Man on Fire, with Denzel Washington. The most basic plot principle is pretty much the same: loved one killed by Mexicans, man's heart broken, seeks revenge at all costs... Standing alone, A Man Apart was probably a decent flick. Put it after the powerful performance of Denzel in Man on Fire and there's no comparison. For me, it's like The Others - if you've seen the Sixth Sense, Others is simply not as good as it would have been had you not seen Sixth.

As a Vin Diesel fan (not necessarily for his acting ability, however), I wasn't impressed. Vetter, his character, is no Riddick. Riddick is a real ass-kicker; Vetter simply doesn't seem as natural at it.

There's nothing particularly impressive with the direction or cinematography - nothing eye-catching or intriguing about any of the shots. Sometimes a worn-out plot line can be saved by cinematography, soundtrack or outstanding acting - none of which were in this film.

I wouldn't say it's a bad movie, but I wouldn't tell you to run right out to Blockbuster and rent it. I would, however, tell you to pick up Man on Fire or even Traffic.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Correction to previous comment
hjourdenjackson14 May 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Vin Diesel plays DEA agent Sean Vetter sent to Mexico to help arrest the leader of the largest drug cartel supplying the US. His name is Memo Lucero. After Lucero is arrested, Vetter and his fellow officers celebrate at his beach side home. That night, Vetter and his wife are shot; she is killed, and her burial takes place while Vetter is in the hospital recovering. It turns out that a new guy is rising to take the place Lucero left empty when he was jailed. El Diablo is the one responsible for the hit on Vetter and his wife, and the rest of the film is spent chasing down El Diablo. In another comment, Memo Lucero is consistently incorrectly called Ramon Cadena. Other than that, I agree... the film is full of bad clichés... cop goes renegade after the murder of his significant other, but can't really get anything accomplished until the top cops take his gun and badge. It's incredibly formulaic. That said, I've seen worse, and it's a decent diversion.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews