Really Rosie (TV Movie 1975) Poster

(1975 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Add a Review
11 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
9/10
My kids are still singing
ewrski6 October 2006
My children just love this. After a long time, a friend of ours had the video (we live overseas) and we saw it again. Everyone (and I mean everyone) was singing along. Not a great story perhaps but just a great collection of wonderful music geared toward adults. As my 10 year old sits in the bath right now, she is singing Pierre at the top of her lungs. Is this what these shows should be about! Making children happy and helping their imaginations. Well, IMDb says 10 lines so 10 lines it is. 30 years later and I do not see one Disney soundtrack even coming close to the talent and beauty of Carole King's work and Maurice Sendaks story. I have to say.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
a total joy from start to finish
MisterWhiplash24 February 2016
As a child, this was one of the shorts that I played a lot (it came in one of those clamshell cases as part of a series, another with it was The Snowman for example). It didn't really sink in that Maurice Sendak was the creative force behind it (aside from Carole King, who is unmistakable in the lead role), but seeing it today it's so Sendak's work that it works as the kind of musical other side of what he could do from Where the Wild Things Are. Where that had lots of monsters and adventure, this is more grounded in the urban area, with kids singing along and playing with the big-hatted/flamboyantly dressed Rosie - and it also comes, from what I've read, from books by Sendak, so it makes sense he would want to spear-head the direction of the TV special.

I think that a big part of the enjoyment for me was the songs. They're catchy and memorable, but they also have things that kids can relate to: Chicken Soup with Rice is something kids like, and when the one kid whines "I Don't Care!" it inspires one of the songs that has stayed with me for my entire life: a story of what happens if you keep repeating 'I don't care' over and over to the things you don't want to try or do. If you don't take to the songs as a kid then it might not stick with you, but the combination of animation that has a quality that is all Sendak's - a little rough but also warm at the same time, an odd combination but that was the artist and author for you - and the music, worked for me many times over, as it seems to have for other generations of kids (whether you were born in 1970 or 1980 or 1990).

Is it perfect? I don't know, but it's all about the joys of being expressive and being a child and not holding too much inside - enjoying life, in other words, which was one of Sendak's chief concerns. It's jubilant, soulful and, in its unassuming way, masterful. I hope to show my children this special one day.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
it might as well sing until September
Lee Eisenberg10 January 2016
When the writer/singer of "I Feel the Earth Move" teams up with the author of "Where the Wild Things Are", you know you're in for something good. And "Really Rosie" is just that. Carole King had written a number of songs for other performers, having sung only a few personally, but this is one of her high points. She provides the voice of a woman who fancies herself a star and sings songs about it to the children in her Brooklyn neighborhood. Each character has a song, in fact.

I first learned of "Really Rosie" when I was in fifth grade and my class was putting on a production of it. We listened to the songs on the soundtrack - side 2 had some songs that weren't in the special - but changed one of the lines in "Alligators All Around" to avoid racially insensitive lyrics. We watched the movie, but only got about two thirds of the way through. My task in the production was operating the flood light, but I was having braces put in the day of the performance, so naturally I was in no condition to operate any machinery. I later watched the class's production on the video that they made of it.

The main point is that "Really Rosie" is one of the greatest animated TV specials ever. A fine achievement for both Carole King and Maurice Sendak. And remember, always care!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Maurice Sendak and Carole King deliver alchemize their talents to deliver a classic for all to enjoy!
jentb9 June 2001
I still have my original vinyl copy of the album which I played nearly to death as a child. Thankfully it has been remastered on CD and there are used copies of the video out there.

If you missed it as a child, it's not too late.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Sweet Nostalgia!
Banquo1321 May 2003
Much to my surprise, this show (along with other Maurice Sendak works) is finally available on DVD; the two stories I enjoyed the most were "Pierre" and "Chicken Soup with Rice." I cannot honestly comment on the others in the show ("Alligators ALl Around" and "One was Johnny"). Carole King's whimsical songs are still very singable and are just a lot of fun!

I recall being caught up with the music from this when I was in 1st grade; my teacher had a tape and I listened to it incessantly, singing along...with headphones on! :) My parents liked hearing about that one..but I digress.

The animation for the show is a bit stilted (no worse than any Anime' I've seen!), but the stories and the encouragement for kids to use their IMAGINATIONS is certainly welcomed! Of course, with "Pierre" you get the obligatory message ("CARE!!")and that's fine. The story is told with so much whimsy and frivolity that the moral is kind of a surprise reminder by the end!

Once again, if the video of this is not for you, then at least check out the songs or the books individually. They are worthwhile on their own. Imagine my surprise when I grew up from 1st grade and found out that Carole King was famous for songs OTHER than those from "Really Rosie"! What a cool surprise.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
This half-hour animated television special wasn't really rosy, in my opinion. Still, it was a alright movie
ironhorse_iv2 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Originally, aired on CBS TV in February 1975, this animated television special, written and directed by Maurice Sendak feels somewhat uncompleted, to me. First off, if you take off, your rose-colored nostalgia glasses for a second. You would notice that two, highly different books are adapted, for this special. First off, there is 1960's Sign on Rosie's Door, a book that tells the story of a young girl, being replaced by a female lounge singer. Then, there is 1962's Nutshell Library, a 4-volume boxed book set collection contains an alphabet book, a book of rhymes about each month, a counting book, and a cautionary tale. In my opinion, the two stories are way too diverse to try to combine. A wannabe movie star, living near a family of anthropomorphic alligators. Clearly, this special didn't make, for a very logical story. Still, I have to give, the special, some credit, for trying. In this special, Rosie (Voiced by Carole King) is having auditions for the neighborhoods kids AKA the Nutshell Library Kids to star, in her exaggerated movie version of her life. Only to find out, that they want to tell, stories about themselves. Without spoiling the special, too much, the various types of interpretations is indeed jarring to watch. It made for a very confusing, and unsteady watch, because the two stories don't mixed well. I don't know, where the film is going for. The special start out, saying it's about Rosie, but it's really not. You don't see, any of the supporting characters from the book. Unless, the girl, standing near Rosie is Kathy. However, they don't address her name. Honestly, where in the hell is Kathy, Sal, Pudgy, and Dolly? Where is the Magic Man? What happen to Rosie's alter ego, Alinda? I get that, Rosie will being hanging out with the Nutshell Library Kids in this special, but, this TV special needs some characters from Rosie's book, as well. Instead, of being a movie about Rosie. It's felt more like a series of miscellaneous educational sequences, under a very tinny-plot audition thread. It's so thin that the special, abandoned it, toward the end. This give the special, a very lacking ending conclusion. I really felt, that certain critics have, really overlook this. Another problem with this special, is the traditional animation. A lot of the hand-drawn animation, doesn't flow, right in this special. Some of the sequences were oddly-timed. Whenever, there was a transition in cells frames, the character's height, color, and even, the movement wouldn't synched right, making very clunky animation. Even, when the characters are on a certain cell frame. They were still, missing some frames of motion. This really became jarring, whenever, a character speaks. The voice-acting, somewhat doesn't match, what's happening on screen. One of the worst things in this special is the musical sequences. They were missing backgrounds. Where were they? It feel, so cheaply made. Not only that, but the special was also, omitted, a lot of cool songs that came from, Carole King's soundtrack. Where were the songs: "Avenue P", "My Simple Humble Neighborhood", The Awful Truth" & "Such Suffering"? Maurice Sendak, the well-known artist and author-illustrator of this special did help, write the lyrics. So what happen to those songs? How come, they didn't make the cut!? I guess, they were cut, because the animation was so hard to produce. Still, the songs that we, indeed got, weren't that bad. The song, 'Really Rosie' was amazing, sung. I love Carole King's singing voice, however, she doesn't really sound, like a pre-teen girl. 'One was Johnny" was a great counting song, but it was a bit weird, that Johnny wanted to eat everybody, there. Another song that was alright was 'Alligator All Around'. It's a wonderful song, still used in pre-school, to get kids, to remember, their ABCs. Songs that I didn't like, were "Pierre', "Screaming and Yelling", and 'The Ballad of Chicken Soup", because they were really annoying, loud, repetitive or way too depressing. The voices here are the typical shrill and strident noises made by adults on stage trying to imitate kids. They all sound mean and angry. It's horrible! Some of the song lyrics seem so inappropriate for children. Who in their right mind, would make kids, so paranoid about choking on Chicken Soup or having lions eat you up!? Talk about nightmare fuel. While, I hope it was made, with the means, of causing no harm. I have to say, that a bit sadistic for Maurice Sendak. I guess, if you're childhood was affected by the death of many of his family members during the Holocaust. Your story would be, a little grim, as well. Still, for the most part, Really Rosie is alright watch for your children. However, it's a bit dated. So, it might not, be very entertaining toward your children. Overall: It's an excellent learning tool, worth checking out. However, just note, that first half, is so much, better than the latter so this 1970s TV special, is a 50/50 watch. Every rose has it thorn.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
We watched this in kindergarten
Buddha_in_hell18 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I was introduced to this cartoon when I was 5 in school. I always thought Rosie was an old bag lady! Hah!

Rosie always seemed like the perfect "babysitter" for the kids. Her way of teaching them the alphabet was used by my school in a performance for the principal. I do remember being creeped out by Pierre and Chicken Soup. The idea of a kid dying was really upsetting for a five year old. Even though it was just storytelling, I can't help thinking there was a better way to present this in a children's movie.

Otherwise, I loved this movie. The songs really stuck with me and to this day I can sing them almost verbatim. My partner thinks I'm crazy, but I don't care. Gave this a 7, only because I found out that there are actually other songs that weren't included. Bummer.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Bearable watch, but the music is king
Warning: Spoilers
"Really Rosie" is an American animated short film from 1975, so this one is already over 40 years old. It runs for a bit under half an hour and is one of the rare occasions where prolific children's literature author Maurice Sendak (Where the Wild Things Are) also directed his own material. The outcome is decent and Sendak also has a minor voice acting part in here. The 1970s sure weren't a revelation in animation really and neither is this one here, but looks-wise it is sub-par too I guess. The highlight, however, is the singing by Emmy nominee Carole King, who voices the title character. As a whole I would say this was a fairly pointless movie, but still fun at times. The songs are really catchy from start to finish and the characters are somewhat interesting overall. To really appreciate it, however, you probably must have come across this one as a child and really have some memories linked to it. It's a close call, but I give it a cautious thumbs-up. Worth checking out if you like old animation.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I loved it when I was a kid, and I still love it now!
ejamc3 November 2016
I had a copy of this video when I was a kid and used to watch it all the time! It was my first exposure to the awesomeness that is Carole King, and further proof of the awesomeness of the late great Maurice Sendak! I highly recommend this movie to both kids and adults, both for the educational and musical value it has! Screaming and Yelling may seem superfluous, but it's not terrible, Carole still does a great job, as usual! Also, fun fact, her two daughters were back up singers on the album! I've heard that she's lost her talent in recent years, but I don't want to know about it, because I want to think of her as I've heard her, perfect and pure!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Soundtrack better than the movie
penny-11925 June 2006
SOOO many memories. This is actually "before my time" since I'm a child of the 80's, but my mother got me the record, and singing Alligators all around (and Pierre, and Chicken Soup and Rice, and One was Johnny, and pretty much everything on this album!) was all part of my childhood experience. I stumbled across the CD on amazon.com, and started talking about it to my boyfriend, who surprised me with the CD. LOVED IT! Cant wait to share it with my own kids one day. If this is a lovely reminder of your childhood, as it is for mine, I would definitely recommend picking up a copy of the CD--after all, you're in it for the songs, not the images (although those don't hurt, and I suppose brainwashing the next generation to really appreciate Really Rosie may require some visual stimuli).
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
The ONE Special CBS Showed That I Didn't Care If I Missed
Clownbird12 August 2006
I like Maurice Sendak's work. I mean, who doesn't like Where the Wild Things Are?

And Carole King never bothered me too much.

But pair them together and you end up with this lame special that CBS aired at least a handful of times, from the unfortunate feel-good / let's-use-our-imaginations / "Free To Be You and Me" era of the mid-1970s.

I think you had to be a little rich girl living in Manhattan to appreciate this yawner of a cartoon. Or maybe you had to be a little rich girl living in a suburb of New York. Because all the girls in my class were singing the mostly forgettable songs the next day. Then it was back to their overpriced and equally pretentious Shel Silverstein books.

Having said that, the song "Chicken Soup with Rice" has stayed with me all these years. I'm not sure if that's a blessing or a curse.

All I know is if this thing was on at eight p.m., I'd play with my Legos until it was over and come back to the TV set at 8:30 for the infinitely superior Rikki Tikki Tavi.
2 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews