IMDb > American Pie 2 (2001) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
American Pie 2
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
American Pie 2 More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 44:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 433 reviews in total 

48 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

Why does everyone hate this so much?

7/10
Author: MovieAddict2016 from UK
31 August 2005

I'll be first to admit that I hate teen comedies in general and typically frown upon most of them - I didn't even like "There's Something About Mary" too much, although I'm not sure it's really a "teen" film.

I own all three "American Pie" films on DVD because they are one of the few teen series whose characters seem real and you actually feel empathy for. They're not awkward characterizations of real people without emotions - the movie takes time setting up their personalities, quirks, etc., and then places them in embarrassing situations. For example, the movie "Swingers." That telephone call Favreau makes is a painful experience for the viewer. Would it have been so painful if we hadn't gotten to know him throughout the movie? "American Pie" is kinda like that. It works well because of the characters. It's crude, yes. It's crass, very. It's sexist, maybe. But that's how guys are. It doesn't exploit these elements as many teen sex comedies do - some are moderately entertaining (like the Johnny Depp film "Private Resort") but unbelievable and basically just lots of skin. "American Pie" is better, one of the best of its genre.

Everyone seems to hate the first sequel, which was released in 2001, a couple years after the original. Jim (Biggs) returns from college and hangs out for the summer at a beach house with his best pals. But with Stiffler (Seann William Scott) there, it's not too easy because they soon end up in more embarrassing situations.

This movie is very similar to the original and normally I have a problem with this. Basically all the scenes are "updates" on scenes that existed in the original. E.g. the lesbian strip over the walkie-talkies, the incident with the glue, the whole thing with Stiffler's mom and Finch.

Nevertheless it is effective, entertaining and funny. The characters are given more room to develop and believe it or not, I think I like this better than the first film. (The third is probably my favorite, if only for the focus on Stiffler and the introduction of Fred Willard, one of the great character actors of our time.) "American Pie 2" is somewhat recycled and some people may find it one of those "pointless" sequels, but I liked it, and this is coming from a guy who typically loathes these films - so considering I'm giving this seven stars, that says quite a lot. Either I'm out of my mind or there's something about these films that's just more accessible and likable than others in their genre.

Was the above review useful to you?

52 out of 78 people found the following review useful:

As good as the first

10/10
Author: twist1980 (twist1980@aol.com) from Seattle, WA
18 August 2001

To make things blunt, I laughed my butt off. I went and saw the movie downtown Seattle the night it opened at the Cineplex Odean at midnight...that was the best crowd I've ever seen a movie with. I could usually tell what was coming, but I was still shocked when it actually happened. I'm usually pretty conservative when it comes to movies, but the American Pie movies have been two of my favorite movies ever. The second movie takes over at the end of the first year of college. The first scene can be figured out by seeing the previews, but there were still a lot of surprises in the movies.

There are a lot of great scenes at Stifler's party, and I was surprised to see that not only were the main characters back, but most of the supporting characters were back as well (remember the two guys from the M.I.L.F. scene?....they were in the second movie as well). Even Stifler's brother is in the movie.

The movie is pretty shocking, but still very funny, I think my favorite part involved Petey. I think everyone needs to see this movie, from junior high aged and older...its destined to be a classic.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Decent sequel

7/10
Author: mattymatt4ever from Jersey City, NJ
1 February 2002

I saw the movie in theaters and laughed out loud. Now, I rented the DVD. I can't say I got as many laughs as the first time, though, and I started to notice more flaws. At first I thought this movie was better than the original. Now I'm not sure. They both have great redeeming qualities that pretty much balance the scale.

The two films movie at a similar rhythm. In the original, we opened with Jim's Dad walking in on him while masturbating. In the sequel, he walks in on him while he's having sex, only it's taken to the next level with the girlfriend's parents walking in as well. And we have the keg party, with a Steadicam shot following Stiffler around, who yet again gets into a mishap with bodily fluids. And of course, in homage of the famous Nadia scene from the original, we have the guys walking in on two lesbians.

The laughs are still there, and there are some genuinely funny moments. I don't want to give them away, though the previews and some of the other reviewers probably already did.

The cast still got it. Eugene Levy steals the show yet again as Jim's Dad. I do have to say, Stiffler's character got a little too obnoxious at times. It's often funny to hear his foul-mouthed insults, but by the hundredth time you hear him use the word "f**kface" it gets kinda old.

I'm always going to hold the "American Pie" movies several notches above the standard gross-out teen comedies, because they have zest and originality. Not to mention they're done in a professional manner. The gags are as intelligent as they are crude, and delivered with exquisite timing. And to top it off, it's a heartfelt film that is not literally all about getting laid. I thought the original had more heart to it, but the sequel also has its heart in the right place.

The music is great. The soundtrack is full of really cool songs, including "Smooth Criminal" by Alien Ant Farm. And be sure to check out the unrated DVD special edition. The commentary is cool and--unlike with the first "American Pie" unrated edition--there is some bonus footage worth checking out. The lesbian scene is extended significantly. In the theatrical version, there was only a brief nudity, but you get to see much more in this version.

I'm still not sure if I would consider this movie better than the first, but it is one sequel that lives up to the original--and that's saying a lot!

My score: 7 (out of 10)

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Another Brilliant Slice of Pie

8/10
Author: mjw2305 from England
15 January 2005

I don't think this movie would work, if you haven't seen the first. It relies too much on characters and story from the first encounter set one year earlier.

This said it is a great sequel that simply picks up where the last film left off, it retains all the characters from the first film and places them in equally embarrassing and hilarious situations.

Slick, funny and entertaining

If you've missed it, then check it out, but see American Pie first

If you like it then see 'Road Trip' and 'Old School' as well

8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A satisfying second slice

8/10
Author: hall895 from New Jersey
9 September 2005

Well here we are, back for more of the same antics we got in American Pie. There may be a sense we've seen this all before but somehow American Pie 2 really works. All the characters we know and love (or hate) from the original are back and they're constantly being placed into outrageous situations which will inspire gut-busting laughs. Even though we're going back over much of the same territory, the sequel is more consistently and explosively funny than the original. What could have easily been a pointless, unnecessary sequel actually manages to be something fresh, funny and appealing.

As with the original the Jason Biggs character of Jim is the glue holding the film together. Everything revolves around him in one way or another. Where in the original film each of the main male characters came with his own romantic storyline this time around Jim takes center stage. Most of the female characters have been shunted to the sidelines here with Shannon Elizabeth, Tara Reid, Mena Suvari and Natasha Lyonne being mere bit players. Their absence doesn't hurt at all and may actually help by making the story more focused. This one's all about the boys with Jim and friends renting a summer home following their first year of college. Back for more hilarity are Chris Klein as Oz, Eddie Kaye Thomas as the increasingly bizarre Finch and Thomas Ian Nicholas as the comparatively dull Kevin. And even though none of the others like him the script finds a way to contrive to get Seann William Scott's juvenile, vulgar, obnoxious Stifler tossed into the mix. Where the other guys might go to the edge of what is appropriate Stifler is always willing to go careening over the edge and his antics are a hoot.

If you thought nothing could be more embarrassing than what happened to Jim in the original film, just wait. And along to heighten the embarrassment is Jim's father, played wonderfully by Eugene Levy, who in trying to help inevitably just makes things worse. And the one female from the original who actually has a major role here, Alysson Hannigan as Michelle, also does a great job. Oh, the wacky things that go on at band camp. With a slew of familiar characters moving from one hilarious situation to the next, all backed by a winning soundtrack, American Pie 2 succeeds in equaling and even surpassing the original.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Not much plot, but who cares, it's funny

Author: MLDinTN from TN
17 August 2002

I liked this movie and got a lot of laughs out of it. It wasn't as good as the original, but then again, most sequels aren't. This movie is basically several funny skits all thrown together. And some of the jokes are just repeats from the original, but others are new. So, that's why this comedy works.

But, why did they even bring the girls back from the original except for Michelle. Vicky, Nadia, Heather, Jessica added nothing to this movie. Each one of them only had a couple of lines. The guys are what makes it work. Jim and Stifler are the funniest of them all. And Jim's dad is great too.

FINAL VERDICT: It's funny. It's raunchy. Its got lesbian and porn scenes. What more could you ask for from a comedy!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Not as flat as some may think

8/10
Author: stamper from The Netherlands
2 December 2001

First of all, this is (of course) a film for people who want to laugh (mainly at others screwing up). Especially Jim (Jason Biggs) seems to get himself in the most embarrassing situations over and over again. But there are other funny moments too, with the Stifmeister (Sean William Scott), Ozzy (Chris Klein), Kev (Thomas Ian Nicholas) and Finchy (Eddie Kaye Thomas). Mainly the film is about what moves people my age and any other age most, the opposite sex. All that obsessing and wondering about the other (does he / she like me, do I love him / her?) is really greatly portrayed and realistic. Of course the people in the film are all not too shabby looking and there are some sick and perverted moments in the film, but you really have to look at the bigger picture. You have to look past the babes, the booze and the parties. You have to look past that ‘every guy's perfect summer' and see that this film is not about sex, it is not about being sexy and cool. This film is about being whoever you are, being true to yourself and your friends, but most of all it is about love. I mean the latter thing may not be true for all characters in the film (e.g. Steve Stifler), but it sure concerns the ‘main characters' life (Jimbo's life). The rest of the film is however pure fun and freedom, that any college student hopes to get. I sure hope my first summer of being in college will rock like that. Can't wait to see the sequel. And again, I do not think I have to force someone to make a sequel.

8 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A base, but moral, tale.

Author: tatf5 from England
17 August 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Caution: spoilers.

Before I begin, a few points about taste and suitability. Firstly, this film is crude, childish, and by many people's standards obscene: it features bare breasts, swearing and numerous attempts at pre-marital sex. Secondly, if you were expecting Citizen Kane, they you have bought the wrong video. Direction and cinematography are not the main aims of this work of art. Humour, however, is.

And it is funny. Puerile, base, vulgar and unkind, but funny. Characters get things jammed up their bottoms, glue hands to genitals, and more. It is like a Donald McGill seaside postcard, enlarged and moved to America.

The plot is simple: five friends sit in a beach-house planning a party, each with his own girl problems to solve come party time. Next door are two pretty, tactile ladies who might be lesbians. Comedy ensues.

The film divides itself between our hero, Jim, preparing for the arrival of a Russian girl who he believes to be a "sure thing", and the others in the house. There are two serious subplots: one of the friends has a girlfriend who lives far away, and another is trying to get back with his ex.

Much of the comedy relies on whether you can stand the characters and stomach what happens to them. The odious Stifler, for instance, seems too much a bully to be likable, and the scenes where he is humiliated gain something from this. Jim, on the other hand, is basically decent, and whilst laughable, we want him to succeed.

I found the two serious subplots of little interest: I am older than the ideal age-group, and they don't really seem very applicable to me now. Were I 18, they might well do, although they do weigh the comedy down. Also, perhaps deliberately, the character chasing his ex appears simply wretched rather than likable. Still, viewers may learn something.

Which brings me onto the fact that this film is, basically, moral. Forget the sex and farting jokes: at base, the film is broadly correct about the way men and women behave, and falls on the side of decency. The central relationship between Jim and Michelle (an excellent turn from Alyson Hannigan, at once weird, funny and sympathetic) is sweetness with a thin veneer of crudity, and shows the real heart of the film. Excellent also is Eugene Levy as Jim's Dad, embarrassing and hilarious, but protective and sincere.

For silly, throwaway entertainment, this scores highly. If you are a vicar or Pauline Kael, don't bother, but if you are looking for a film that is simple fun, this does well. The characters and subplots make it uneven - I often ended up waiting for the action to switch to better characters - but there are moments of real hilarity so long as you can tolerate the rudeness that comes with them.

This film will inevitably offend and disgust more prudish viewers, but for someone willing to watch silly vulgarity without throwing all moral sense to the wind, it is one of the classics of its type. Besides, morality is what you make it. To my mind, compared to the gross, gloating, sado-masochistic excess of The Passion of The Christ, it seems wholesome indeed.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

not as good as the first pie

Author: Jamie_Seaton from United Kingdom
10 August 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

they always say sequels are worse than there originals and i will definitely agree with this one. i think because they had made a blockbuster out of the first one that they quickly put together a second without really thinking about it

the film is still very funny but just doesn't have the vibe of what the first one had. plus the whole band camp part was boring. the cast are still pretty good, seann william scotts character "stifler" still makes me laugh. he's the saviour of this film i think.

everyone still should watch this because it is still an OK film............. 5/10.........j.d seaton

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

American Pie 2

6/10
Author: Jackson Booth-Millard from United Kingdom
9 March 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The first film was a big box office hit and a highly successful teen movie, and many of the fans must have been thrilled that every member of the cast of the original were coming back for a sequel, from director J.B. Rogers (Say It Isn't So). Basically Jim Levenstein (Jason Biggs), Chris 'Oz' Ostreicher (Chris Klein), Kevin Myers (Thomas Ian Nicholas) and Paul Finch (Eddie Kaye Thomas) have all returned to their hometown in East Great Falls, Michigan after finishing their first year of college, and naturally they attend the party hosted by still oversexed Steve 'Stifmeister' Stifler (Seann William Scott), but this is cut short by the police. With nowhere to party because of the police Kevin finds out that there is a beach house in Grand Harbor, Michigan, so the four friends, plus Stifler for rent, pack their bags and make themselves comfortable, finding work as painters and decorators to pay the rent and prepare for the big party. Kevin is feeling awkward with ex-girlfriend Victoria 'Vicky' Lathum (Tara Reid) back in town and he feels may want to get back with her. Oz is missing girlfriend Heather (Mena Suvari) who is away in Spain and they keep their relationship going with attempted phone sex. Finch have discovered the sexual art of Tantra to keep in his desires as he waits patiently for the opportunity to possibly get with his goddess, Stifler's Mom (Jennifer Coolidge). Jim is worried because Nadia (Shannon Elizabeth) will be returning, and he feels his lack of sexual experience will put her off, so he seeks sex tips and advice from his prom date Michelle Flaherty (Alyson Hannigan). Stifler is fascinated to see that the painted house owners Danielle (Denise Faye) and Amber (Lisa Arturo) may be lesbians, and with Jim and Finch he breaks in to find his proof, and they return and catch them they decide to mess with the boys, giving them homosexual acts in exchange for them doing it, e.g. the girls kiss if the boys kiss, and for a while they go with it. Jim's confidence problems only get worse when Stifler provides him lubricant, and distracted by pornography he unintentionally grabs super glue he used earlier to masturbate, and he ends up with his hand glued to his penis, the other to the porn video, at hospital, supported by his Dad (Eugene Levy) he is told there will be swelling for a while, and he is shocked to see Nadia arriving early. While preparations for the big party get underway, Jim has Michelle pretend to be his girlfriend until everything is ready and he has all the tips he needs, and with his penis back to normal they fake breaking up on the day of the party. So the party gets underway, Kevin is crushed Vicky has a boyfriend, Finch disappointed earlier that his goddess was not coming spends his time talking philosophically to various women, Oz has Heather surprise him having taken an early flight, and Jim lets Nadia down saying that he realises he has feelings for Michelle. The party is a big success, all the guests drinking and dancing with joy, with Jim and Michelle becoming boyfriend-girlfriend, Kevin and Vicky happy as friends, Oz and Heather still happy together, and Stifler ecstatic in bed with Danielle and Amber who turned out to be bisexual, even Chuck 'The Shermanator' Sherman (Chris Owen) scoring with Nadia. The end sees the boys packed and ready to go home, promising that if they can they will do the same again every summer, and Finch is happy to say Stifler's Mom, real name Janine, pop by and pick him up to go and have sex again. Also starring Natasha Lyonne as Jessica, Molly Cheek as Jim's Mom, Justin Isfeld as Justin - 'MILF' Guy #1, John Cho as John - 'MILF' Guy #2, Eli Marienthal as Stifler's Brother, Casey Affleck as Tom Myers, Joelle Carter as Natalie, Bean's Larry Drake as Natalie's Dad, Lee Garlington as Natalie's Mom and Austin Powers' Kevin Cooney as Doctor. The cast are still as likable as ever, Biggs more foolish than before, Thomas weirder with his holding in of an orgasm, Scott much more foul-mouthed and sex-obsessed, and Levy in his moments still amusing and embarrassing. The story is simple, just teens getting back together to drink a lot, have sex and party hard, but the slapstick and dialogue jokes still work when they need to, the highlights are Stifler being peed on, the terrible trumpet playing, the phone sex scene, the lesbian fun and the super gluing, it is a fun comedy. Good!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 44:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history