WrestleMania XI (1995) Poster

(1995 TV Special)

User Reviews

Add a Review
6 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
DIESEL RULES
Big Movie Fan1 May 2002
In the main event of WrestleMania XI WWF Champion Diesel defended the belt against accomplished wrestler Shawn Michaels. Diesel was quite good as champion during 1995 and he put on a good match against Shawn Michaels.

The undercard for this event was truly great. Razor Ramon and Jeff Jarrett had a good match (those two always had chemistry in the ring). The ever popular Undertaker did his usual burial, this time pinning the monstrous King Kong Bundy. And Tag Team champions The Smoking Gunns put on an entertaining match against Yokosuna and Owen Hart. Bret Hart elevated Bob Backlund to a decent match as well.

Lex Luger and Davey Boy Smith made an appearance too as The Allied Powers. They beat identical twins Jacob and Eli Blu. The Allied Powers had so much potential which the WWF never exploited.

There was the usual celebrities such as Salt N Peppa and the beautiful Pamela Anderson to make this a memorable event.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Not well remembered
bh_tafe38 March 2009
Warning: Spoilers
LT wrestled, best friends collided and a former champion sought revenge in this under rated Wrestlemania which still wasn't all that great. This was the last Wrestlemania before the WWE bought in the monthly In Your House PPVs and in some ways represented the end of an era.

We start off with a fairly meaningless match as the Allied Powers (Lex Luger and the British Bulldog) defeated the Blu Brothers (Jacob and Eli). In the space of a year Luger had gone from having a WWE title match at Wrestlemania X to curtain jerker at Wrestlemania XI. Bulldog had gone from nearly winning the rumble to the same lowly position. Jacob and Eli should have been happy to be on the card. Nothing match with no story. I don't think Luger spent much longer in the WWE.

The second match was a rematch between Intercontinental Champion Jeff Jarrett, accompanied by the Roadie (or as he'd be better known later, the Road Dogg) taking on the man he'd defeated to win the title, Razor Ramon, accompanied by the 1-2-3 Kid. These two had another nice little match, which Ramon was about to win until the Roadie interfered, drawing a DQ and allowing Jarrett to retain his title.

The next match was the continuation in a rivalry between the Undertaker and the Million Dollar Corporation. Bundy had stolen Undertaker's urn at the Royal Rumble after Taker had beaten Irwin R Shyster and it was now in the possession of Ted DiBiase. Undertaker took back his urn, but is was then stolen again by another member of the MDC Kama. Despite losing his urn, the Undertaker was still able to pull out the win in a pretty ordinary match.

The next match saw the Smoking Gunns (Bart and Billy) defend the WWE Tag Team Titles against Owen Hart and a mystery partner. Owen had gone to great pains to keep the identity of his partner a secret, and with good reason. It was none other than former WWE Champion Yokozuna. Zuna had disappeared after losing a casket match to the Undertaker. Despite a strong fight the Gunns were no match for Hart and Yokozuna, who won a passable match to win the tag team titles, with hart pinning Billy.

The next match was an improvement on most of what we'd seen as Bret Hart faced Bob Backlund in an I Quit match with Roddy Piper as the guest referee. Hart had lost the title to Backlund in a submission match after Owen Hart had interfered and then talked his mother into giving up on Bret's behalf when Backlund had Bret in the Cross face Chickenwing. Bret got some revenge here, defeating Backlund with the chickenwing in a decent match.

It was now time for the big WWE Championship match between former friends Diesel and Shawn Michaels. Now originally Shawn was supposed to be escorted to the ring by Pamela Anderson, but had to settle for Jenny McCarthy instead as Pam came out with Diesel. Shawn also had another giant bodyguard Psycho Sid come out with him to stand ringside. The story here was that Diesel had been Shawn's bodyguard for over a year and they'd even won the tag belts together. But Shawn turned his back on Diesel after Survivor Series 1994 when Diesel had blamed him for the loss. Not long after that Diesel had won the WWE Title and Shawn the Royal Rumble. These two put on the best match of the night and one of the better matches of the 90s, with Sid costing Shgawn the match, inadvertently distracting the referee as he went for a pin. Diesel was able to recover and hit the jack knife powerbomb for the win. Shawn was not very happy with Sid after this match.

This brings us to the main event of the evening with Bam Bam Bigelow taking on volatile NFL legend Laurence Taylor. Bigelow had insulted Taylor at the Royal Rumble. Taylor wanted an apology. Bigelow told him to get in the ring and earn it. They had a match here. Taylor won. It was about what you'd expect and Wrestlemania XI was finished.

The main questions going forward were what was next for Hart with Backlund vanquished and Owen busy? What would happen between Shawn and Sid, and who would be the next challenger for Diesel's crown?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A serious step up
Ethan Martin14 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
1st Match: The Allied Powers vs The Blu Brothers. An alright start, nothing bad, but not nearly as good as Owen/Bret from the previous year. At least Luger had a better match than his atrocity at Wrestlemania X. Rating: 3/5

2nd Match: Razor Ramone vs Jeff Jarrett, WWF Intercontinental Championship. Is it that hard to have an ending to a title match at Wrestlemania that doesn't end in a DQ? The match is good up to that point, but having a DQ to a title match on your flagship show is so lazy it hurts. Rating: 2.5/5

3rd Match: Undertaker vs King Kong Bundy. For a match so short, it covers all the Undertaker bases pretty well. "The Streak" wasn't even a thing back then, so it's understandable that it wasn't a blockbuster. Rating: 3/5

4th Match: The Smokin' Gunns vs Owen Hart and Yokozuna, WWF Tag Team Championships. The match is good for basically being a squash, I'm just getting' real sick of Owens "I'm better than my brother" gimmick. We get it Owen, you beat your brother a year ago, give it a rest, it's getting really annoying. Hopefully him winning the tag titles'll shut him up for at least 1 PPV. Rating: 3.5/5

5th Match: Bob Backlund vs Bret Hart, "I Quit" match with Rowdy Roddy Piper as the Special Guest Referee. This isn't the best "I Quit" match I've seen, but I'm pretty sure this is the first one, so I'm willing to cut them some slack. This is way better than their match at Survivor Series the previous year. But then again, getting shot would be better than that match. Backlund loses without actually saying "I Quit", which is disappointing, but again, I'll cut them some slack. At least it wasn't one rest hold for 10 minutes. Rating: 3.5/5

6th Match: Shawn Michaels vs Diesel, WWF Championship. This is easily the match of the night. Great back and forth action, the two guys' styles compliment each other, and I liked that Nash won. Had there been less interference, this probably would've been a serious contender for "Match of the Year". Rating: 4.5/5

7th Match: Bam Bam Bigelow vs Lawrence Taylor. I'm of the opinion that is the main event of a PPV isn't a World Title match, it better deliver, and then some. Thankfully, this does. Taylor obviously wasn't a wrestler, but he actually put out a great performance. The crowd's super into the match, and it gave the WWF some serious media attention. A win, win, win situation if you ask me. Rating: 4/5

Final Rating: 7 out of 10. A serious step up from Wrestlemania X, even if the first three matches are OK at best. It's not as good as other Wrestlemanias I've seen, but it's a step in the right direction to be sure.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Bad event.
amanwhorocks12 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
1. British Bulldog/Lex Luger Vs. Jacob/Eli Blu 5.5/10

2. Intercontinental Title Match: Champ-Jeff Jarrett Vs. Razor Ramon Decent match with DQ ending. 6/10

3. King Kong Bundy Vs. The Undertaker - Undertaker always has got super stiff wrestler like opponents. The matches suffer from that. This feud was quite boring 5/10

4. WWF Tag Title Match: Owen Hart/Yokozuna Vs. Champs-The Smoking Guns - Solid match, new champs. 7/10

5. Submission match: Bob Backlund Vs. Bret Hart - We have to look on multi idiot Backlund and Piper (as referee) simultaneously. That hurts hard. Fortunately the match wasn't too long. 5/10

6. WWF Heavyweight Title Match: Shawn Michaels Vs. Champ-Diesel -Shawn is class better athlete than this woodman Diesel, he can't even Gorilla-press him up. Oz retains. For Shawn 5/10

7. LumberJack Match: Lawrence Taylor Vs. Bam Bam Bigelow - One of the comedy matches that I don't like. For Bam Bam 4.5/10

Remember previous WM? That was event! This was pure sh*t.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
This is one of the very worst Wrestlemanias, I ever saw!
ironhorse_iv8 April 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I have saw some pretty good Wrestlemanias like X-Seven, and 28, but I have saw some pretty dreadful ones like 7, IX and 27. Wrestlemania XI was downright awful. Showcase of the immortals; more like the showcase of B-List celebs. WWE focus more on the guest stars that were at the show more than the wrestlers that wrestle for them year long. Not only did Lawrence Taylor get the top billing of the show when Diesel and Shawn Michaels should have, but there were a number of celebrities taken over the show to the point, that they had nothing to do with wrestling. For a show that supposed to focus on targeting, it's wrestling fans; we got instead Baywatch's bimbo Pamela Anderson, tween heartthrob Jonathan Taylor Thomas, and scary Jenny McCarthy. Oops, I forgot about Nicholas Turturro from NYPD Blues. I forgot he was a celebrity, too. You probably forgot that, too. Musical guests Salt 'N' Pepa was there to sing the song or two for LT. It was celeb-mania. The match between Lawrence Taylor and Bam Bam Bigelow brought the WWF mainstream press coverage which they kinda needed at the time. Wrestling was in an all-time low due to the steroids scandal. Then there was the venue, WWE at the time was really hurting as well. It went from selling outs large stadiums to hosting its biggest PPV in an arena connected to a shopping mall in Hartford, CT. Yes, the mall, a place you can go get Orange Julius, Panda Express, and shop a bit at Forever 21, then go see Wrestlemania. To make matters worse, the whole event was plagued by technical difficulties, which was evident in the very first minute of the live broadcast when the microphone picked up only the last few seconds of Vince McMahon's introduction of America 'The Beautiful'. Throughout the show, the microphone goes in and out. The matches weren't that great. Allied Powers, the infamous pairing of Lex Luger and the British Bulldog whom their respective countries' flags on their crotches against the Blu Twins, the hillbillies managed by Uncle Zebekiah AKA Zek Coulter. The match was badly botched as Lex slammed his opponent onto the Bulldog's head at one time. Intercontinental Championship Jeff Jarrett(Champion) vs. Razor Ramon was a mediocre match with a bad ending. Undertaker vs. King Kong Bundy was limited movement due to how big these wrestlers are. Tag Team Championship Smoking Guns (Champions) vs. Owen Hart & Yokozuna- Second best match of the evening that's not saying a lot. The next match was Quit Match Bret Hart vs. Bob Backland. Great match, but nobody says 'I Quit' here, I heard a choking sound, but it wasn't words. WWF Championship Diesel (Champion) vs. Shawn Michaels was pretty good, but limited with botches moves. Bam Bam Bigelow Vs Lawrence Taylor is what you might have though a pro-wrestler VS football player would have been. Unpleasantly. Conclusion- I own all of the WrestleMania's and in my opinion (as well as the opinion of many others) this is the worst WrestleMania ever. Give it a watch if you want to, but in my opinion, just watch a highlight video or something.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews