IMDb > Evolution (2001) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Evolution
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Evolution More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 39:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 389 reviews in total 

77 out of 93 people found the following review useful:

Loved the Creatures

8/10
Author: dreamseq from Tasmania, Australia
11 June 2004

A lot has been said about what's good and bad in the movie. I won't revisit those comments. I thought the creatures were creative and hysterical.

Sure they weren't logical or realistic, but they were fun in a fantasy sort of sense. I enjoyed the watching the entire alien "ecosystem" evolve.

Fortunately, I'm the kind of person that understands a movie made to be predominantly a comedy doesn't require scientific accuracy, nor should the audience expect it. It was intentionally silly.

One last thing. I thought David Duchovny did a great job playing a character that had a wry, dry sense of humor. He wasn't exactly a straight man, but it was clear to me, he was laughing at the world.

Rating, I gave it 8/10 because it entertained me AND my wife, something many movies can't do.

Was the above review useful to you?

72 out of 84 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly fun!

7/10
Author: mattymatt4ever from Jersey City, NJ
10 June 2001

I can't say I suspected much from the previews. I anticipated another lame comedy and a cheap imitation of "Men in Black." "Evolution" can be compared to "MIB" in certain aspects, but it breaks new ground.

I can't give a really scientific review, because quite frankly I was too busy laughing to weigh out the pros and cons. This is a great popcorn movie! (Metaphorically speaking, I was eating nachos) There are scary moments involving slimy creatures, so chances are if there are any females with you--they will be clinging onto your arms.

Ivan Reitman is the famed director of the "Ghostbusters" movies, and "Evolution" has much of the same charm and quirky sense of style and humor. David Duchovny (who really has a good sense of humor off-camera, but happens to get stuck with mostly serious roles) is terrific in a looser role that enables him to flaunt his knack for comedy. Of course, Orlando Jones is the funniest in the bunch. He has a terrific scene in which a bug crawls inside his skin and doctors have to get it out...rectally. I have to say, that was the highlight of this offbeat comedy and had me on the floor! Julianne Moore plays the clumsy assistant. I can't say I found her role all that humorous. Her pratfalls are pretty lame and predictable. But that minor hint of cheap slapstick didn't ruin the overall experience.

"Evolution" is great fun from start to finish (a very interesting finish with an innovative product placement)! Sure, it's all low-brow, but it works and the crude humor is tamed down to a tolerant level (Well, compared to the average contemporary comedy). This is not a movie to be studied or analyzed or discussed for hours at a time. Just sit back and HAVE SOME FUN!!! Because chances are (considering previous 2001 releases) you won't be having this much fun at the movies in quite a while. I could be wrong, but better to be safe than sorry.

My score: 7 (out of 10)

Was the above review useful to you?

90 out of 124 people found the following review useful:

Great Googa Mooga!

10/10
Author: JakeManhattan from Right Here
11 June 2001

Okay, this may surprise you, but, this film is way better than every one says it is. It's hilarious. It is kind of like Ghostbusters, well its alot like Ghostbusters, but who didn't like that one? I'm sick and tired of movies going down thanks to bad reviews, hint hint look around at some of these. People, if you've read this far it may already be too late to catch the next showing of EVOLUTION however go see it asap. Dan Aykroyd alone is worth seeing in this flick. In my opinion this is one of the best of the year.

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 69 people found the following review useful:

"Buggy" Fun

7/10
Author: Jaime Burchardt (jburchardt@yahoo.com)
12 June 2001

When I first read about Evolution, the latest sci-fi scheme to come from DreamWorks, I was interested. A story about aliens with humor, not bad. Then when I read that Ivan Reitman, the BEST comedic director of the 80's and one of the best of all time was at the helm, I was thrilled. I mean, come on, after he was given duds like `Father's Day' and `Six Days, Seven Nights' to work with, isn't it about time that Hollywood gave him a project worth while (I won't even mention the bombastic disaster of `Junior'…oh, I just did)?

It begins with the introduction of Scott's character, Wayne Green, a wannabe fireman practicing for his fireman final (questionable at first, hilarious in the end). Then he gets an unexpected visitor - a meteor, carrying alien organisms hits the heart of the Arizona desert. After a community college science professor, Ira Kane Duchovny, working with one screwed up screen name)and his eccentric geologist buddy, Harry Block (Jones) discover the meteor, they find that the `bleeding' rock starts to create these weird alien creatures and soon they begin to multiply. Kane's nemeses, Gen. Woodman (Levine) and the military get involved, things get too out-of-control, so it's up to the teaming of Kane, Block, Green and government scientist Allison Reed (Moore) to stop the evolution.

If you're a Reitman fan, the plot of this could make you go in expecting some kind of tribute to both `Ghostbusters'. In a way it is, and is that a bad thing? Hell no! If you liked, or even loved (like me) `Ghostbusters', I can bet my clean pair of boxers that you'll get a hoot out of `Evolution'. But of course any film must maintain some distance from the films its being compared too, and `Evolution' does that. The characters and situations are different, atmospherically. Duchovny turns in a `cool' performance, by that meaning he wasn't Mr. Badass or Mr. Laugh-a-Minute, he was just, well, Duchovny and that itself is always pleasing to watch. Jones is his usual funny self, delivering some funny lines. Moore's ability to do just about anything comes in handy here, playing the hottie-yet-clumsy love interest. Scott's acting resembles the other roles he's done in the past, and I've come to appreciate that (that thing he does w/ his eyebrow is getting funnier every time). Can't say the same for Levine; his cliché performance as the bad-guy-who-doesn't-listen character gets annoying fast.

A lot of the film makes me question what it is, and really what it could have been. The script, penned by three writers, was originally written as a sci-fi THRILLER, not a sci-fi comedy. There were a lot of laughs, but because of the script's origin, there could have been more. But considering the script was originally a sci-fi thriller, the filmmakers, including Reitman, did a great job. Can't say much for the ending, though: the ending looks and feels like a meshed-up result of what-could-have-been, and from that mushiness, the filmmakers poked at and took at least some of the good elements. Thank god the film is a comedy; if it was its original idea, the ending would have been disastrous.

`Evolution' is a overall crowd-pleaser with nice special effects and makeup (those dead aliens looked great). It's a few laughs and comedic situations short of comedic greatness, but look on the bright side-Reitman is back in his lovable kick-ass form. He's tapped into the present and how most comedies are made, but he didn't dare forget his roots: there is a sequence in the film where Duchovny, Jones and Scott chase down a flying creature in a mall. The three, equipped with shotguns, dispose of it in true Ghostbusters style. And with me being a big Ghostbusters fan, I fell in love with the it, plus its the best scene in the film. (The trio singing after their battle; nice touch).

GRADE: B+

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 78 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious

10/10
Author: lje32677 from San Diego, California
9 June 2001

It has been ages since I've seen a movie that I laughed so hard it brought tears to my eyes, this one did. It was hilarious, I highly recommend it to anyone who just wants to laugh. I intend to purchase it as soon as it comes out onto video.

Was the above review useful to you?

50 out of 72 people found the following review useful:

Excellent! Great fun!

10/10
Author: shannara0 from Houston, TX USA
11 June 2001

"Evolution," starring David Duchovny, Orlando Jones, Seann William Scott and Julianne Moore, is a terrific fun summer romp. A meteorite crashes to Earth, bringing with it microscopic alien organisms that rapidly begin evolving and threaten humanity's very existence. Enter our heroes, two community college science professors Ira Kane (Duchovny) and Harry Block (Jones). They investigate the meteorite, take samples and Kane quickly realizes what is going on. But the Army has been monitoring Kane's work ever since he was drummed out of the USAMRID because of a tremendous mistake he made. They try to take over the situation, but don't really know what they're doing. CDC scientist Allison (Moore) at first works with the Army on the project, but soon realizes that it's Kane who is making the most sense.

The whole movie is done as a comedy and the jokes are fast, furious and really funny. The chemistry between the leads is fantastic. Special effects -- the alien creatures -- rocks. Don't miss this one!

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

This is Under-rated!

7/10
Author: FiendishDramaturgy from .: Fiendish Writings in the Dark :.
31 May 2007

While this film is far from a masterpiece, Evolution deserves better ratings than it currently enjoys here at IMDb. The cast and crew contribute superior work, and the storyline is quite inventive. The premise has been done a few times before, however, it has never been done quite as well as the treatment it receives here.

Alien spores land here on Earth and begin to wreak havoc.

I found this highly entertaining, cleverly witty, with a slick production quality which tends to draw in the audience, who finds its members laughing, sometimes in spite of themselves. You won't WANT to like this. There is a large amount of juvenile humor, which usually would detract from a work such as this, but this is a sci-fi comedy that WORKS.

Again, it's no masterpiece, but it IS clever and fun, in spite of the sophomoric humor.

It rates a 7.3/10 from...

the Fiend :.

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Funny

8/10
Author: joeward100 from Sidcup, Kent
22 August 2001

Evolution is a step up from most gross-out comedies. With a nice idea for a plot, it starts off quite serious before the stars show their comic talents off. David Duchovny has good comic timing that hasn't really been tapped before, Orlando Jones is far better here than in Double Take and Say It Isn't So and Seann William Scott is a damn fine comic actor who uses his goofy charm to his advantage. Julianne Moore's constant falling over isn't funny, but you can't have everything. It's a shame that it flopped in the US, because it's really good. The special effects are decent, the turns are likeable and the script is loaded with sharp wit. OK, maybe some jokes go dead but seeing Orlando Jones getting lubricated after a bug enters his body and Scott singing to a flying monster in a mall is reason enough to go see this excellent summer blockbuster.

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

A fun special effects movie

8/10
Author: Chidiock from Independence, MO
21 June 2001

This movie makes no pretensions--it's a simple, fun summer movie full of special effects. The cast handles its duties in a professional manner, and there are enough laughs to keep you entertained throughout the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

43 out of 66 people found the following review useful:

Ghostbusters + MIB = Evolution: Funnest movie of the Summer!!

10/10
Author: mgayoso
11 June 2001

So far, this has to be the funnest movie of the summer. Director Ivan Reitman got MIB & Ghostbusters and smashed them together and found himself a perfect comedy. The cast works perfectly and the Aliens were amazing. Great Special FX. If you want to have a blast at the movies, don't miss this one.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 39:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history