IMDb > Killing Me Softly (2002) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Killing Me Softly
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Killing Me Softly More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 101 reviews in total 

61 out of 85 people found the following review useful:

Razzie material

5/10
Author: George Parker from Orange County, CA USA
27 January 2003

"Killing Me Softly" tells of a couple who has sex, gets married, and then has problems because she (Graham) grows increasingly suspicious of him (Fiennes) whom she never really got to know before the marriage (duh). On the downside, the film has a thin story full of plot holes and implausibilities with ponderous music which is always off target and a perfectly awful school girl performance by Graham. On the upside, it's a good shoot with good camera work and lots of Graham skin. Overall, "Killing Me Softly" is a classy loser only for the less discerning viewer who wants a little suspense (very little) to zone to. (C)

Was the above review useful to you?

61 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

Future Camp Classic

4/10
Author: Maciste_Brother from the rock
8 May 2003

I rented and watched KILLING ME SOFTLY on DVD and giggled throughout the movie. It's so unintentionally funny, and silly and stupid and pointless, that I'm sure people in the near future will look back at this as camp. The film stars Heather Graham and Joseph Fiennes. Heather's character goes though a number of things or does things that are totally divorced from logic. She marries a man she hardly knows and the rest of the film is spent on her trying to know her husband's suspicious past. (If Heather's character had tried to get to know him first before marrying him there wouldn't have been a movie). Heather's role is funny and oddly endearing at the same time. She tries so hard but the whole thing is so silly that her efforts are all for naught. In EVERY scene, Heather is seen with her big doe-like eyes, dropping her clothes at any given moment, looking totally befuddled. The scene when the reporter faxes her the strange messages at her office, which is supposed to be filled with apprehension, is very funny. As is the scene when Heather pretends to be a reporter from The Guardian. Or the scene when Joseph ties her down on the kitchen table, which is simply priceless. Heather, bound to the table, doesn't look terrified or stressed, she looks bored and annoyed. The entire scene is truly out of this world. After seeing it, I wondered "What was that all about?" If your new husband ties you up on the kitchen table and starts going crazy, well, there's a good chance that the marriage won't last long. As for Joseph Fiennes, well, he looks, hmm, weird. I think the director was intimidated by Joseph. It seems the director didn't know how to film him at all. And because of this, his character/performance is WAY over-the-top.

The story (or lack thereof) is so obvious, the moment the "villain" appears on screen I knew it. The revelation of the villain's motives made me laugh out loud. It's supposed to be shocking and twisted but it had me in hysterics. Add to this the fact that the director literally took the meaning of title and applied this to the film's script/action, and everything about this film ends up looking truly silly. Everything is treated just so softly (like when Heather is tied to the table). Imagine a S&M movie directed with the soft touch of a bunny rabbit.

Many scenes look like they were rushed (the mountain climbing scenes). In one scene, you can see Fiennes looking straight at the camera for a split second. The direction is not really good. The look of the film is sometimes interesting. Some scenes where cool but the whole ultra-hip look of the film will positively date it in a matter of years. The office where Heather works looks like a place where the Teletubies would feel at home. Everything about KILLING ME SOFTLY is hilarious. It's pure camp.

Was the above review useful to you?

51 out of 83 people found the following review useful:

Damn Sexy!

8/10
Author: Jackie
5 November 2003

This movie was sexy, yet a little disturbing.

Heather Graham portrays an American who recently moved to London. She has a nice, safe relationship with her boyfriend, an Englishman who is very reliable. You can tell that they are both comfortable with each other, but because of that their romance has died off and has made things quite boring. One day, she encounters Adam, a mysterious man on the street. The looks they give each other are lustful and very intense. What chemistry! The looks itself were sexy and erotic! And can I just say...Joseph Fiennes is one helluva sexy man! Oh my goodness! He can play the hopeless romantic in Shakespeare in Love and the dangerous rugged type in this film.

Well anyway...they get involved in a very obssessive, sexual relationship. They get right down to business...the scenes are like whoa! Sexy Sexy Sexy! Eventually, all the lust turns into love. However, they know very little about each other which drives Graham's character, Alice, mad. Unexpected secrets are revealed...and believe me! they BIG secrets...which starts to crumble their affair.

I liked this movie a lot! It's not Oscar worthy...but its worth your time. This movie has a lot to offer...romance, sex, lust, drama, thrill, and most of all...entertainment!

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 76 people found the following review useful:

An embarrassment

Author: bobc-14 from San Francisco
7 May 2004

One of the worst movies I've seen in a very long time. Heather Graham can't act. If the part called for a bimbo, then maybe she fit the bill. She's almost as bad an actor as Raquel Welch was early in her career.

It goes to show what a bad script and direction can do to an actor like Joseph Fiennes who was so good in "Shakespeare in Love" and "Elizabeth". It would be hard to imagine that the good actors in this film didn't know it was a turkey when they were making it.

This film almost is in the category of so bad it's good. I did chuckle from time to time at some of the ludicrous dialog and scenes. But, if you're looking for that type of movie, a much better choice is "Beyond the Valley of the Dolls".

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Killed Me Slowly

Author: Matthew (mkolowski@aol.com) from hatboro, pa
4 June 2003

Killing Me Softly W/ Heather Graham Rating: DUD

The main reason I picked this movie was because it was unrated and had Heather Graham in a starring role. Would that translate into hot love making scenes? YES! I no longer have to use my imagination to see what she looks like having sex with no clothes on. Aside from that, the movie totally blew chunks. Plus, she's not really a great actess if you haven't noticed. But if your looking for a semi-porno movie without the shame of actually renting one, this is IT!

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Trash

2/10
Author: gina1177 from Germany
14 January 2008

Firstly, a look on the bright side: You might like this movie if you are in the mood for some trash thriller with outstanding awful performances of otherwise capable actors in a nice setting with a pretty and well-dressed Heather Graham. It could also deliver some funny embarrassing moments if watching this movie on a first date. Thus it scores 2 points.

Watching this movie in a theater at a sneak preview and thus knowing nothing about it, the ridiculous mixture of plot, dialogues and attitude of the main characters lead us to the misinterpretation that we were seeing a satire. Only after about 20 minutes we realized that it was just a stunningly bad thriller. We still had some fun and good laughs. I wonder what it takes to make an actor like Joseph Fiennes to play so poorly. Maybe he, too, thought this was meant to be a satire.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Never boring but oh-so-predictable.

5/10
Author: gridoon
11 May 2003

"Killing Me Softly" has one of those scripts that just don't give the audience a break - not only does it set up an improbable situation, but the big "twist" at the end is also mind-numbingly predictable (unless perhaps you haven't seen a thriller before in your life). The chemistry between the two leads is also lacking; Fiennes brings some physical magnetism to his role but as far as his acting is concerned, he's an inexpressive bloke, while Heather Graham is ALL TOO expressive - she overemphasizes every emotion her character is supposed to feeling by making faces at the camera. Besides, she's not even that attractive; even her co-star in this particular film, Natascha McElhone, blows her out of the water in that department. In spite of all that, Chen Kaige's direction is good, and he creates some suspenseful moments. So I give the film a generous "** out of 4" rating.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Thriller with some sex.

8/10
Author: arcadia1 from United Kingdom
9 August 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I really feel that I have to defend this movie after the ripping it has gotten here. I watched the film without knowing anything about it, and I really enjoyed it. Heather Graham was easy on the eye, and Joseph Fiennes was suitably dark and brooding. I think that the sex scenes, probably allowed people to view this as a cheap skin flick, which is a pity. They probably should have gone further to ensure that Fiennes was viewed as a sadist, and therefore very capable of killing. There was plenty of tension, and the music was suitably Hitchcockian.

If anything, Joseph Fiennes character was too laid back towards the end. As the tension was mounting, more could have been made of the fact he appeared to be a murderer. Instead he was allowed to sit back and protest his innocence. I think had it been a Hitchcock film we would have been in no doubt he had done it, until the end. The sister could have been a really sinister character, but again lacked any development. I am not blaming the actors for this, it is obviously the script. Heather Graham is a better actress than people are giving her credit for here. I think with the lack of development in the Fiennes, and sister characters, she was left to carry the film alone, which she did admirably. I would recommend this film, just watch without prejudice. Incidenally, I married my wife after six days, and without knowing anything about her. We are still married after 32 years, so perhaps Heather was not so crazy, as stated in some of the earlier reviews.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

A good movie, unjustly prosecuted by the critics...

6/10
Author: buiger from Monaco
16 January 2007

I fail to understand why all the critics are coming down on this film with such vicious fury. Granted, this is not a Hitchcockian masterpiece, but please, give the movie a break. The same critics give decent marks for movies which are really way below this one, and sometimes even to pure trash, as long as they have a good Hollywood pedigree. Well, this one may not have the proper pedigree, but I nevertheless found it to be a very decent thriller, one that kept me interested and on edge most of the time, had a plausible story, and one whose ending was not totally predictable (which is more than you can say for most thrillers nowadays).

All in all, a good evenings entertainment for adults, well worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Heather Graham, with all her (ahem) bountiful talent and charms.

Author: TxMike from Houston, Tx, USA, Earth
18 August 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

OK, everyone seems to be trashing this movie, but it isn't that bad. Implausible? Yes! But Graham and Feinnes do credible jobs and we see plenty of Graham skin, which is very nice skin, as actresses go. Much better than Kathy Bates in About Schmidt. Graham plays an American working in London, Feinnes is a famous mountain climber and hero, but has a dangerous look. They become attracted to each other and the fun begins. Not a good movie, not a bad movie, a nice 100-minute diversion that is more entertaining than many.

some MAJOR SPOILERS follow, please read no further, OK??

Most implausible, Graham and Feinnes make eye contact one morning as she goes to work, she sees where he goes, they meet, take a cab ride to his place (actually, his sister's, we learn later), have wild sex, knowing nothing about each other. And she was already in an apparently committed relationship with a nice, but dull, Brit. The wild sex happens often, we see plenty of Heather, we learn that her left breast is measurably larger than her right, she gets cautionary notes, "How much do you really know about him?", he sees her assaulted by a petty thief, runs him down, beats him viciously, they get married quickly, she knows he has a temper, begins to suspect he is really a bad guy, finds out a former girlfriend has been missing several months, she and his sister go to dig, they find body, turns out sis is the killer, she and Feinnes had an incestuous relationship when they were children, she wanted to posses him, killing any women who become close. For some unknown reason Graham and Feinnes end up splitting up.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history