IMDb > Har Dil Jo Pyar Karega... (2000) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Har Dil Jo Pyar Karega... More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

9 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Quite silly... Good Songs... Preity and Rani are beautiful...

4/10
Author: Peter Young from Earth
23 December 2007

The film has nothing special to offer, except for very very melodious songs by Anu Malik, two beautiful girls (Preity Zinta and Rani Mukherjee), who, at that point of time, were reasonably newcomers, and today, both are the top actresses in India. It was nice to watch the film, as an entertainer, and there are some funny scenes. But the film does not have some novel script which can capture you.

Salman makes his part very well. As an actor whose mission in this film is to make people laugh, he knows how to combine this aspect with some emotional expressions, such as that when Preity informs him about the new car the family gifted him, and he feels offended about that.

Preity is very beautiful and there is something irresistible about her on-screen. The role may not have required histrionics from her, but she does her job effectively.

Mukherjee gets very little scope and doesn't make any impact. The first three quarters feature her lying on bed, and the remaining one introduces her as a good human being and caring sister, too typical and boring.

Watch it if you are a fan of Salman, Preity and to some extent Rani, and want to have some good two-three hours, but don't watch it if you expect to see a good, or even an average film. 4/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A film about sacrificing love.

10/10
Author: husnain ali from London, England
28 September 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A great film. I think everything was good about it, the acting,the songs and the storyline. You PROBABLY THINK THAT I'M always saying good stuff about all the films i comment on because the truth is I don't really have anything bad to say about these films because their just so good.In the film Preity Zinta and Rani Mukherji are like sisters and they both like Salman Khan but Salman Khan likes Preity Zinta. Salman Khan and Rani Mukherji get married and Salman Khan just can,t refuse. Preity Zinta acts as she does not like Salman Khan. Near the end Rani Mukherji finds out that Salman Khan and Preity Zinta like each other she sacrifices her love and stops from Preity Zinta sacrificing her love for her sister and Salman Khan and Preity Zinta get together at the end of the film.

Was the above review useful to you?

A good movie.

10/10
Author: deepprsd from India
21 November 2011

An awesome movie at its time. Indian movies were the usual stereotyped ones during 90's.Though many good directors tried many good and different movies they did not succeed.The movies had to have a hero who fights villains and saves his mother or the heroine in the end.It was when romantic movies without villains were a refreshing treat.Many such movies did very well at the box office.This movie stands good for its own time.The songs are awesome.The casting was very good cause during the release it created a big hype for casting two leading female actors together. The story is good.It was a hit.It kindles up the memories for everyone who had watched it during its release.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

While You were Sleeping

8/10
Author: Biswajit Tripathy from India
1 March 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie is the remake of yet another Hollywood one "While You Were Sleeping".

Raj played by Salman Khan is a singer who is struggling to make it big in Bollywood. He meets a lot of people but no result. One night while coming back to his home he witnesses an accident. Raj goes to find out a girl in wedding Saree. The girl was still breathing. Raj takes her to a hospital. The girl belongs to Oberois a very wealthy family goes to Comma. Can she everything, hear everything, but won't be able to speak or move any part of his body.

Her parents are proud and grateful of Raj and they believe that Raj is Romi i.e., the person for whom Pooja ran away from the house and they accept him as the groom too. Raj reluctantly agrees to this. He thoughts of a plan to fulfill his interest of becoming a singer. That was until he meets Jahnavi, sister of Pooja. He falls in love with Jahnavi. His life changes after that for better of course.

Pooja gets well. Raj marries Jahnavi. And they live happily thereafter.

A lot of peoples were not very happy watching movie, but somehow the movie has impressed me a lot.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Har Dil Jo Pyar Karega!!!!

10/10
Author: ladyindahouse_3 from United States
23 January 2007

i watched this movie and i HAAAVE TO SAY!! that people who haven't watched this movie should buy the DVD.the movie was GREAT 10/10 for me!!the songs were good!!the plot and the love triangle was good!!I wasn't really into Bollywood !! i didn't know who Salman khan and Preity Zinta were!! but i decided to watch the movie and i LOOVE IT!!i saw the movie and i started watching more Bollywood films !!WATCH IT! it's WOORTH WATTCHHING!!decide for yourself!! i thought it was great and you might like it to!!I LOOOOVE this movie SOO MUCH!!Salman and Preity are one of my most FAVOURITE COUPLE!!the story starts off with Salman wanting to become a singer. After a while though he decides things are not going very well he decides to leaves.UUNTILL he saves a young girl from DEATH!!her family is glad and thinks he is her husband!the young girl has a sister(Preity Zinta}!! i would explain the story more in depth but it's better if you watch it!!JUUST watch the movie!! is all i can say!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Very good!

7/10
Author: Ana-33 (tandon@tandon.screaming.net) from London, England
27 August 2000

Har Dil Jo Pyar Karega is a nice film. Salman Khan always an excuse to take off his shirt. He was okay but in some scenes he was being silly. Other than that he was fine. Preity Zinta was very good. Rani Mukherjee was good aswell.

It starts off with Raj (Salman Khan) coming from Goa to Mumbai in search of a singing career. He stays with his friend Abba (Neeraj Vohra). One day he saves a bride from being crushed by a train and the girl is called Pooja (Rani Mukherjee) and rushes her to hospital. Her family think he's Pooja's husband, Romi. He goes along with it all. He meets Pooja's best friend who's like a sister to Pooja, Jahnvi. Raj falls for her immediately. The two hang out together and she learns the truth about Raj and learns that Raj is mad about her and she loves him too. The two get together. Pooja comes home and she can't move she can only hear. Later she recovers and also goes along with the plan of him being Romi. She's madly in love with him. Jahnvi learns this and she begs Raj to marry Pooja. What happens? Does Raj marry Pooja? Or does he go off with Jahnvi? Watch to find out.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

awful & boring movie

Author: himanshu-tushar6 from India
4 April 2013

yet another boring movie by khan>> he overacts !!! he jumps like a monkey!! he romance like he does not want!! he was totally influence by the miss world

the heroine have not but sacrifice each other for lousy & childish hero the music is good but the song gar am Chi Ki Pail by any milky pathetic & disaster. the other actor are also junk & troubled actors which only want that how the movie ends & they will go to home to attend their relatives now I want to say you if u have some time to bore & you blood pressure is high so watch this movie it works.!! kindly stay away from the movie if I have negative rating I will give it .

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A 50-50 Film

Author: KishilovesRaniMukherjee from Florida
30 September 2001

Raju (Salman Khan) is a singer hoping to get a singing career.He goes to Bombay,stays with his friend,and tries to make things happen.But then one night,a car flies out of nowhere and lands on a railroad track,and the first thing he sees is bangles,which means she is a wife.Then he saves her (Pooja,played by the wonderful Rani Mukherjee) and is now labled as Pooja's husband.

One of Pooja's relatives Monty,does not believe that he is really Romi,who Pooja married,but Pooja's friends father befriends him so he doesnt get into trouble.Pooja is in a coma for a few days,and her sister-like friend Janvhi (Preity Zinta) comes from America to stay with her.Then Raj falls in love with her,and vice versa.Then Pooja gets out of a coma,and falls in love with Raj!But,a twist.......HAR DIL JO PYAR KAREGA (EVERY HEART THAT FALLS IN LOVE)

Rani Mukherjee is the saving grace of this film that only gets mature by the second half.It is very foolish and has no meaning.But the fact that it was a hit in India,makes you wonder.The songs are mostly boring and stupid,besides the title track and 'Piya,Piya'.Go see it if you can handle a movie that is a little better than Pootie Tang,which was just dumb.3 out of 5

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

But the songs are so good

8/10
Author: Thomas Diemer (itd01@hotmail.com) from Metairie, La
14 August 2006

I have to admit I have NOT seen the movie but I want to comment on it. The last comment really trashed the movie. I have seen several of the songs on the smashing EROS International DVD Chart Toppers and they are fantastic. Really hard driving music and dancing. Even if the rest of the movie would turn out to be garbage, these hot songs would be the magic mushrooms on top of the dung hill. Iwould buy or see this movie for the songs alone. But then its the music and dance that I love about Bollywood movies. And while we are at it - check out Chart Toppers - forty five songs - four hours of Indian MTV with no commercials. Char Tppers from Yas Raj films is another excellent Bollywood musical compilation.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

A good story but.....

9/10
Author: starlite-3 from Canada
4 September 2000

Har Dil Jo Pyaar Karega has all the ingredients needed to make this movie a hit. A great cast as well as songs.

The movie starts out with Raj (Salman Khan) going to Mumbai from Goa hoping to make it big in the music industry. But he finds out that things aren't as easy as they seem to be and he ends up staying at his friend's place. One night, he witnesses an accident and ends up saving the life of Pooja (Rani Mukherjee). Her family thinks that Raj is Pooja's husband as she left home to marry the guy she loves. Raj is not given a chance to explain but then he realizes that this is the opportunity he's been waiting for because her family was very rich. Pooja ends up in a coma but she can hear and see whatever is going on. Pooja's best friend, Jhanvi (Preity Zinta) comes in from the US after hearing about her accident and she meets Raj. She falls for him but doesn't do anything because she thinks that Raj is Pooja's husband. After she finds out that it is not true, she starts to fall in love with him. In the meantime, Pooja has also started falling in love with Raj and when she wakes up from her coma, she identifies Raj as her husband although that is not true.

The rest of the story deals with how the situation is resolved and who finally gets Raj. It is a pretty good movie, but the first half was too long. There is only one song in there which I really like, and that is 'Piya Piya'. The acting done by both the actresses was excellent! As for Salman, he overdoes it in some scenes and he really should think about getting another dress designer for himself! But, other than that, it is a watchable movie. Fans of Rani and Preity should definitely watch this movie!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history